HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 84%

Location 78%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.30USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 84%

Location 78%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 88%

Showing 11-20 of 35 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: I didn't see much of the hostel, but it seemed nice enough.

Disliked: My boyfriend and I booked a room two weeks in advance for this property. When we arrived we were told our room had been given away and they were offering for us to stay in a tent (on a very cold night) instead. Obviously we were quite annoyed by this especially as they seemed to imply this was our fault because they had tried to call earlier but we hadn't picked up the phone (we'd been at work all day and then travelled to shanghai). However, after we expressed our annoyance they did seem to try and make up for it, they got us a room in a local hotel instead and paid the difference and also repaid me my deposit, as well as offering us a free breakfast the next day.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location, not far from city center

Disliked: Constant noise (the school is around and they play music every day starting 8 am. Besides that people often return drunk late night)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It´s a great chillout area, nice und friendly people´s there.it´s not far to the metrostration!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere in the lobby is really chilling and they offer a wide selection of dishes and drinks in reasonable prices. Our room was amazing especially the bathroom. The staff is very helpful and they change your towels every day! It's conveniently located close to the metro and a lovely park. A lot of options for cheap and good food in the area

Disliked: My room had some mold behind my bed.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: location is great!,

Disliked: a bit of mold on the wall but nothing too bad.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Not much

Disliked: - Slow internet- Worn down- Cold- No place to sit late at night

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: New, modern. The private rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are the best we've seen in a hostel.

Disliked: The front desk staff was not helpful and often did not seem to know what we were even asking. There is no map of the area or anything provided. You cannot bring other drinks into the bar area, and even when we were just passing through to our room got yelled at for doing so. Wifi was also painfully slow.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very nice building/rooms/athmosphere. The location is nice, but quite a long way from the subway station, if you have a lot of luggage, on the outskirts of the French Consession.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I loved the peaceful atmosphere! I have been to Shanghai several times and always stay somewhere new, but I may now have found my "spot"! It is quite accomplishment to find somewhere like this - an oasis - within such a hectic city! I loved my deluxe room (with terrace!). I felt like I was in Bali, I'm not joking!

Disliked: There was a miscommunication about whether or not I could book train tickets there (you can indeed). Also, it's a little walk from the metro, HOWEVER, once there you're very well connected.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect place to experience busy Shanghai. Great modern, relaxed and comfy hostel. Something like a little island in this huge city. Location looked a bit far away on the map but the metro connection is great (direct lines to the airports, bus station, city center) and in Shanghai you have to take public transportation to get from a to b anyway. Definitely recommendable!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability