HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Old West Gate Hostel

Hostel | NO.115 Penglai Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 86

82.2% Overall Rating

34 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2013)

Robin Joensuu thinks…

"It is located faily central and about 10 min from the subway in an old small street away from major roads. Good enough for the price."

Read all Old West Gate Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 80.2% 555 reviews
Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 80.7% 52 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

34 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old West Gate Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is the place to be, right in the middle of the old town district.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

07 July 2013

Liked: The staff was very helpful and nice.

Disliked: The room itself was okay, but rundown. There wasn't anything bad about it, there are just nicer hostels for a similar value in Shanghai.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robin Joensuu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: It is located faily central and about 10 min from the subway in an old small street away from major roads. Good enough for the price.

Disliked: If you travel as a heterosexual couple, you can not live in the same dorm. When we asked for it, we got to stay in a tiny, smelly room without windows with two other guys. The female and male dorms were ok though. They didn't serve any food at all, but you can find a nice breakfast for a yuan or two on the street outside. Overall a nice stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this place made Shanghai awesome for us. Every time we left the old town we were disappointed. The place was really good for the price and being in the old town. The common room is really spacious and great that its non-smoking for a change, although we did find the cats really annoying, when you're trying not to get sick on your trip and they dive into your food. Good little courtyard rooftop table and chairs thing too, very relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: We had a room with ensuite on the 4th floor, and although cleaned every day really well, it must have been that usual China=India stagnant water/sewage stink that kind of made the bathroom seem gross. As someone else said, and as it still says in the ditections, from the pvg airport, DON'T try to get the bus from maglev station, it seemed impossible for us and we ended up getting the subway from there anyway, which you can get directly from the airport pretty cheap (compared to maglev).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Heinz

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2013 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Style and location, tugged away in an old-fashioned back-alley of Shanghai

Disliked: Seeing to the reasonable room rate there is nothing that I could complain about

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013

Liked: Was cheap.

Disliked: Staff don't speak very good English, not particularly helpful. Common area dark and cold. Toilet and basins do not drain very well.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katie Reeves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Female dorm was bright, clean with very comfortable beds. Good laundry area. Good location, walking distance to central shanghai. Nice communal area.

Disliked: Originally booked the 10 bed dorm. We walked in and promptly walked out and upgraded. There was more of the wall on the floor than the actual wall, filthy, blood stained tissues and mold and damp, dark and awful. Pay the extra and go for the smaller dorms, much nicer!! Communal bathroom area needs updating and a good clean!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My double ensuite room had new and impeccably clean bed linens; the air con heated the room sufficiently; bathroom facilities were new, and there were large towels and various toiletries as freebies. The common area downstairs is cosy and packed with guests well into the night, but the merriment does not carry upstairs and it was quiet to sleep. The neighborhood is fun and walkable and has many small shops, street food stalls and all conveniences. The subway is a 10-minute walk away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raluca Leustean

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Raluca would recommend this property

Liked: It is a cheap location to stay in Shanghai, the room was pretty cosy

Disliked: no internet in the room pretty far away from the metro station

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s very cheap...the balance between price and quality is OK

Disliked: The way to the underground

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Linda messing

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

14 October 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Private room was supplied with toiletries and towels. Very helpful staff - they texted me very clear walking directions from the Metro stop. Good communicative English. Card keys. Outdoor sitting area on second floor.

Disliked: I'm not a big fan of visitors scribbling messages on the walls - I guess it's become a popular practice. Hallway carpet was seriously stained in some places.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Hough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

IEVGENIIA DIADKO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 IEVGENIIA would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm atmosphere and quiet rooms - unbelievable for Shanghai old streets:) And one more thing: I had and accident two days before and asked the staff of hostel to tell me where is the closest hospital. Alan at reception took me to the hospital by himself and lead through all the unfamiliar procedures of registration in Chinese. That was really helpful and friendly!!!

Disliked: no clear route from metro station

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012

Liked: Nice clean room with air con & private bathroom, quiet street, friendly & helpful staff

Disliked: 17 minutes brisk trot from the nearest metro station (Laoximen), and in a totally Chinese area so no local restaurant menus in English. We ate too many salty noodles rather than hiking in the heat to the metro to find a better eating area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were comfortable with a nice bathroom. The staff was helpful and spoke good English. In addition, the restaurant on the first floor made it easy to get a good meal. Nice roof bar and good Internet access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012

Liked: None

Disliked: Staffs were not helpful enough. When asked the bus stop, or where to buy a city map , everytime he said "dunno" , without even any check. A shered bath room and toilet is quite dirty. Very small dormitoy room that you can even reach a bed beside from yours . Locations is rather far ,about 20minutes walk, from subway station.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky property with friendly staff. Nice sofas in the communal area and 2computers for internet access. Beds are good and there are lockers in the rooms, the staff give out padlocks to use if you need one.

Disliked: Rooms very damp with mould on the walls- the place smells due to this. Far from the city centre (but close to the old town+-). Only one shower and two toilets on the ground floor between several rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is easy to get to if you know what you are doing. The staff take some getting used to or else they appear to be a bit cold. Although the guy from Inner Mongolia is awesome and speaks very good English. Also the guy next door makes great breakfast fried things.

Disliked: Like I said, easy to get to if you know what you are doing. I got very, very lost and no one seemed to know where the place was. Also the hostelbookers page says you can take the maglev and then a bus, but doesn't specify? Dont take this option, just get on the metro from any place you are coming from. Also the place is mostly Chinese travelers so for a westerner it was hard to meet people and talk. Also the common room is a smoking zone and the couches and cushions all reak.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we got a private ensuite although our booking clearly stated shared bath. we love the room so much, it's cozy spacious enough with simple deco n have a high window towards the sky. wish we'd stay longer...

Disliked: fellow mate is cramp in a dorm. 9 people for a 6 male dorm booked. no locker room..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful and reasonably convenient location to subway stations.

Disliked: Nothing really.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. 10 minutes walk to two different subway stations. A nice 'alley' location in the back streets means you can see some local life easily.

Disliked: Cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Žan Anderle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Žan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, ok location (far from the metro but in walking distance of yu garden and the bund). Helpful and very friendly staff (while waiting in the common room i saw an old lady yelling at the receptionist for about 10min for something regarding the reservation (even though it was completely her fault) and the receptionist stayed very calm and handled the thing nicely. kudos).

Disliked: It could be nearer to the metro, but it's not that bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Todd Dell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff good music

Disliked: downstairs dorm where I slept was dark and damp

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katherine Alway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: fairly comfortable and friendly.

Disliked: smoking in the common room made it very difficult for me to be sociable with a sore throat. it could do with better directions, and also staff that can mark their workplace on the right place on the map. meanwhile, if you're coming in through shanghai airport make sure to pick up a free map - it's better than any i found in the city.