We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Hostel | 6F, No. 350, South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China 200001

87.0% Overall Rating

247 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/06/2015)

"The service is good, especially the people at the counter are very kind. Also it is near the subway station and all other sightseeing sites of Shanghai, even though it is a little bit difficult to find the hostel at…"

Read all Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.69 USD

Hostel 84.2% 205 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
20.79 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 90.3% 109 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 82.3% 235 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 90.4% 587 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
35.09 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
46.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 70.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

247 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 233 of 252 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Open-air roof patio, pool table, handwashing laundry sinks free to use.

Disliked: On the 6th floor of a building containing other hotels and offices - requires an elevator or stairs. Wifi in the common area was bad if not terrible - no wifi in mixed dorms only private rooms. Had to ask the front desk to turn on the Air Conditioner in a mixed dorm as they hold the remotes for it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abedin Rafique

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 August 2015 Abedin would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the bund, nice terrace, friendly staff.

Disliked: Abedin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michal Zachar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with bar and curtains around each bed

Disliked: Only foreigners, cant find Chinese person in there

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service is good, especially the people at the counter are very kind. Also it is near the subway station and all other sightseeing sites of Shanghai, even though it is a little bit difficult to find the hostel at first time. However overall, I am satisfied for this price.

Disliked: There were many flies in the shower room. Also there were no breakfast menu for one person.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Matthews

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2015 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Entire floor for the hostel, with great facilities. Always people around to meet from all over the world. Staff were great as they put the football match on the projector even though it started at 3am and finished at 5am.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joana Colaco

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Joana would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and clean

Disliked: Joana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Powers

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2015 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have stayed at over my travels to Europe, Asia and Central America. I traveled to Shanghai for work/travel and the staff went over and above to help. The staff is extremely kind and willing to help with anything. They have a bar with cheap beer, a pool table, as well as a good central room to meet others for solo travelers like myself. Thanks a ton to Clara, Shirley and Liu (sorry for what I am sure is botched spelling). You guys made this trip a blast. Wish you all the best! No doubt I'll stay at this hostel again.

Disliked: Nada. Well...maybe free beer would help....but then I might just be getting greedy... Nothing to dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JUNGHYUN RYU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 JUNGHYUN would recommend this property

Liked: 저렴하고 위치 좋고 직원들이 친절함 (Cheap, good location and staff friendliness)

Disliked: 전반적으로는 깔끔해 보이나 방 청소 상태가 맘에 들게 깨끗하지는 않았음 (Room Cleanliness is normal. not perfect)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, just a short walk to get to the metro, Nanjing rd. and not too far to walk to the Bund.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean, the floor inside the rooms were dirty and the showers weren't clean. The common room has a bar, the girl who was working at the bar knows nothing about drinks, I ordered a gin and tonic and she didn't know what I was talking about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice, clean and spacious. It has nice areas to meet other travelers. And for a hostel the beds are comfy! The location is also good and easy to find.

Disliked: Nothing, I liked it! I was also here a year ago. Good place!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2015

Liked: Beds are comfortable, lockers provided. Communal area was comfortable. Communal showers and toilets were pretty average.

Disliked: The staff were rather unhelpful. They seemed really uninterested in helping us out. This really put a damper on our trip as we were hoping for a bit of hostel staff help in oder to make our trip happen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, central, friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common area had nice, large indoor and outdoor areas. I liked the music they played in the common area and it was not too loud. Location was good, just a few minutes from Nanjing E rd metro station.

Disliked: I had top bunk and so I noticed that the bunks were a bit loosely assembled such that it would shift when I climb on to it, which is not good. If you go to the toilet or shower, your feet will probably get dirty if you are not wearing shoes or socks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ralf Biemer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Clean. Central, friendly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: not much to do

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location. Great, friendly people.

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOHAMMED SAQIB

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 August 2014 MOHAMMED would recommend this property

Liked: Located at the Bunk, the prime tourist spot of Shanghai. Got amazing company to explore Shanghai :)

Disliked: MOHAMMED left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrik Raheb Khallo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 August 2014 Patrik would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: only a few mins to the main shopping street, the room is good and clean.

Disliked: The shower room and toliet is really bad, the whole hostel only got 7 shower rooms and toliets. Not enough hot water and the toliet is super stink. The female staffs are much more friendly to the western visitors.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, large lockers in rooms + free locks

Disliked: With such a high ranking I was expecting a little bit more. Toilets and showers are used by everyone (no male/female separation) and are just opposite some of the rooms (noisy). Also rooms do not have windows, so air inside is not too good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: A few more 'comfy' chairs would be nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Colville

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 June 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice view of the city from the room. Hot water in the showers.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Layla Abdulaziz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Layla would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, the common room was a good place to meet people, clean facilities and plenty of shared toilets/showers.

Disliked: You can only access the internet in the common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff. Facilities. Layout.

Disliked: WiFi only in common room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HOI YAU

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 HOI would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and nice staff, try their best to solve my problem and no matter how trouble we are, they keep try to help us. thanks!!

Disliked: I would be more happy if the room has more decoration coz i dont like the pale wall of my room.