HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel

Hostel | NO.1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200003

77.9% Overall Rating

54 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

"This hostel is very close to a subway station in a very central area of Shanghai. I liked that each day housekeeping came in to clean, which helped keep the shower area nicer. I liked that we had a way to do laundry,…"

Read all Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.24
  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 80.2% 555 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

54 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 61 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Roberts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very conveniently located near a metro stop, not very expensive.

Disliked: The staff were somewhat cold, not exactly friendly or helpful. Many services, even basic things, incur an extra charge.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very close to a subway station in a very central area of Shanghai. I liked that each day housekeeping came in to clean, which helped keep the shower area nicer. I liked that we had a way to do laundry, however it was a little bit expensive. The cafe was nice to have but quite expensive as well. The staff at the desk were very helpful to me and patient with my poor Chinese.

Disliked: To open & close the lockers is very noisy, so I avoided doing it much because I would wake up my room mates. There was not very many plug outlets in the room, so sometimes it was difficult to get your phone/computer charged up overnight. The 4 bed dorm I stayed in did not have any kind of hand soap in the bathroom, which would have been nice. The hall community bathroom had hand soap so I was hoping ours would too.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: To hâve it s own ba thoron

Disliked: Matress really hard and not confortable at all

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013

Liked: location is good. Restaurant food is good.

Disliked: Hardest beds I've ever had to sleep on in China, and I've been travelling around China and working here for almost a year. Extra charge for lockers, automatic charge for late checkout, wifi won't work after checkout time unless you talk to the staff, they give you a card with an address to a different hostel when you arrive, I wouldn't stay here again unless everywhere else was fully booked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was SOOO nice! They spent time helping me look up directions and writing taxi slips to give to the driver in Chinese. The property is beautiful and the cats that wander around outside are so cute! This place has a lot of character.

Disliked: I guess it could get confusing if you don't walk in, but it seems like a lot of places are like that in Shanghai.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Brian Vassallo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2013

Liked: When I checked in the guy behind the counter was so friendly and his English was great. Even the girl behind the bar was real friendly and so helpful. The bar area had a awesome layout with great food and drink and cheap too, pool table in middle with lots of tables around to sit and chat to other travellers. Very clean hostel, with great bathrooms and toilets.

Disliked: Bad nights sleep, cause the bed was hard. If it wasn't for the great service and atmosphere I would of check out immediately. Finding this place was difficult, even taxi driver found it hard.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. I think the place is even nicer in the summer when all the common areas aren't so cold. The room was warm.

Disliked: The staff was very rude and unfriendly. They didn't help with anything, sometimes they didn't even answer a question.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not far from numerous tourist attractions

Disliked: shower room is small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

katie mooney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 katie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, people's square and nanjing road are easily walkable in about 15 minutes. The place looks cool decoration wise, cool bar area and good wifi.

Disliked: We got there 2 hours after check in started to be told our room wasn't ready, we could leave out bags in the room and wait half hour. 40 minutes later the room is still the same, with another guests food and dirty laundry all over the floor in a very tiny room. Mold on my pillow and the room could do with a good clean. Bathrooms are very dimly lit so you can't see much at all and no locks on shower cubicles! Suppose its good for the price we paid!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012

Liked: They common rooms are nice and welcoming. There is a loaded bar and pool table that is pretty active.

Disliked: The cleaniness of the bathrooms and rooms were below average. They brand themselves as being environmentally conscious, but it's more like being extremely cheap. The bathrooms are so dimly lit, you can barely see yourself in the mirror. Also, you get what you pay for. Literally. They will charge you for anything that you want from shower sandals, towel, locker key (you can't even use your own lock to secure your belongings), etc. Maybe it's just me, but I've found that other hostels in China offer these things for free and have cheaper rent to boot.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Mejias

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: very nice communal area. nice rooms. all rather clean and nice

Disliked: email confirmation is only in English address. This is no good what so ever. No one could help and we got pointed in all directions. Best tip: South in chinese is Nan. Without knowing this you will not find the hostel and willl get told to cross the river and all sorts.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lluís Miquel Garcia Sota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Lluís Miquel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay in Shanghai, cheap, quite modern and good atmosphere at the bar

Disliked: Lluís Miquel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HANQIANG LIN

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 October 2012 HANQIANG would recommend this property

Liked: It's friendly and comfortable here.

Disliked: Not yet.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HELEN SMITH

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 HELEN would recommend this property

Liked: meals, friendly staff

Disliked: location. not close too city centre

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Austin King

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a beautiful old building not too far from the sights, and right near line 1 of the Metro. The bar is great, with high exposed brick walls, a pool table, and comfy seating. Tsingdao large bottles were ¥10, and when I was there they were 3-for-2. The bar food is delicious and not overpriced (though I can only speak for the Chinese pork dinner).

Disliked: They have bicycles for rent but they are quite expensive, requiring a steep ¥800 cash deposit and charging ¥50 per day.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. It was near the subway station one stop from People's square which was great. The roof terrace was great and the outside patio was also a nice place to chill.

Disliked: I had booked a 4 person dorm and was given a 6 person dorm without many of the things in good condition. No towel was provided as promised. The wi-fi reception was a bit dodgy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location fairly close to the center. Stayed in a few different dorm rooms during my stay and all of them were nice and tidy. Staff was helpful. Bar had a nice atmosphere with a high ceiling and brick wall, showing movies on a big screen every now and then.

Disliked: Wanted to extend my stay, but the person at the counter told only more expensive rooms were available, so I took one of those for one night. Later I checked at Hostelbookers and a dorm was also available. Don't know what that was about, if HB has their own quota or something. During winter (beginning of February) the common areas were a little bit cold, nothing extreme though, just put on more clothes and you'll be fine. The Wifi was occasionally weak inside the rooms. The signal was better in the common room and bar.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THe staff was really nice and try to help me. They are not good english speaking but try to help and understand. Location is easy to access main load and bond in Shanghai. I walk all day touristic area and it was fine and not far from the main attraction. And near hostel got a cheap food.

Disliked: I booked 4 dorm room but I got 6 dorm room when I arrived the reason was full booked. I try to changed but I couldn't and they said price is same as well. so better to book cheapest one I think. And the bed was really uncomforterble. it was really flat hard wooden bed. Toilet in privite room was not really clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012

Liked: helpful staff, e.g., changing our arrival day was allowed immediately.

Disliked: no window room is depressing, there is constant noise on the 2nd floor coming from the air-conditioner system on the roof - which turns on/off automatically randomly, also during the night, which woke us up. also there was constant noise of vacuum cleaners during the mornings. overall it seemed like a war zone after a few nights, a disappointment for the price and considering the ratings on hostelbookers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonas Kubilius

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: The room was large and beds were nice.

Disliked: There was some annoying noise coming from the ceiling as if a rat was scratching constantly... when we complained, we were told it's the water heating system -- whatever that is supposed to mean. So we just had to up with the noise which was not really cool.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ka Yee Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Ka Yee would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and nice.

Disliked: They failed to provide pillowcase and gave me a small tower instead. The bed was not very confortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIN YING CHARM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012 SIN YING would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful here, strong wifi here, clean enough atmosphere is great, i love the living room

Disliked: location is quite far from metro station.. with walkable distance for 15 mins.. hard to find the hostel..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is so friendly in this hostel. We all had a great time learning mandarin at night with people from everywhere around the world. Definitely recommend this hostel to backpackers or people who travel alone, great place to meet friends!

Disliked: The bed is just like a piece of wood without any mattress

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice and helpful, but a bit slow. Hostel is located near a Matro station, supermarket and fastfood. common area is nice and comfortable.

Disliked: Although it was written in the website that towels were free, I was said that they were for rent, and I was charged in 5Y. Room was ok, but not well cleaned, with cobwebs. there was no places to put or hang on your things in shower. impossile to shave since lights were so weak.