HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Soho People's Square Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

NO. 1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 88%

Staff 75%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.00USD
  • Towel 0.75USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 88%

Staff 75%

Value 83%

Showing 21-16 of 16 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, people's square and nanjing road are easily walkable in about 15 minutes. The place looks cool decoration wise, cool bar area and good wifi.

Disliked: We got there 2 hours after check in started to be told our room wasn't ready, we could leave out bags in the room and wait half hour. 40 minutes later the room is still the same, with another guests food and dirty laundry all over the floor in a very tiny room. Mold on my pillow and the room could do with a good clean. Bathrooms are very dimly lit so you can't see much at all and no locks on shower cubicles! Suppose its good for the price we paid!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They common rooms are nice and welcoming. There is a loaded bar and pool table that is pretty active.

Disliked: The cleaniness of the bathrooms and rooms were below average. They brand themselves as being environmentally conscious, but it's more like being extremely cheap. The bathrooms are so dimly lit, you can barely see yourself in the mirror. Also, you get what you pay for. Literally. They will charge you for anything that you want from shower sandals, towel, locker key (you can't even use your own lock to secure your belongings), etc. Maybe it's just me, but I've found that other hostels in China offer these things for free and have cheaper rent to boot.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place to stay in Shanghai, cheap, quite modern and good atmosphere at the bar

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It's friendly and comfortable here.

Disliked: Not yet.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very nice communal area. nice rooms. all rather clean and nice

Disliked: email confirmation is only in English address. This is no good what so ever. No one could help and we got pointed in all directions. Best tip: South in chinese is Nan. Without knowing this you will not find the hostel and willl get told to cross the river and all sorts.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: not far from numerous tourist attractions

Disliked: shower room is small

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Located in a beautiful old building not too far from the sights, and right near line 1 of the Metro. The bar is great, with high exposed brick walls, a pool table, and comfy seating. Tsingdao large bottles were ¥10, and when I was there they were 3-for-2. The bar food is delicious and not overpriced (though I can only speak for the Chinese pork dinner).

Disliked: They have bicycles for rent but they are quite expensive, requiring a steep ¥800 cash deposit and charging ¥50 per day.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great. It was near the subway station one stop from People's square which was great. The roof terrace was great and the outside patio was also a nice place to chill.

Disliked: I had booked a 4 person dorm and was given a 6 person dorm without many of the things in good condition. No towel was provided as promised. The wi-fi reception was a bit dodgy.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: meals, friendly staff

Disliked: location. not close too city centre

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: THe staff was really nice and try to help me.They are not good english speaking but try to help and understand.Location is easy to access main load and bond in Shanghai.I walk all day touristic area and it was fine and not far from the main attraction. And near hostel got a cheap food.

Disliked: I booked 4 dorm room but I got 6 dorm room when I arrived the reason was full booked. I try to changed but I couldn't and they said price is same as well. so better to book cheapest one I think.And the bed was really uncomforterble. it was really flat hard wooden bed.Toilet in privite room was not really clean.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability