We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel

Hostel | NO.1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200003

78.4% Overall Rating

61 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

"This hostel is very close to a subway station in a very central area of Shanghai. I liked that each day housekeeping came in to clean, which helped keep the shower area nicer. I liked that we had a way to do laundry,…"

Read all Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.22
  • Towel USD 0.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.09 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
12.06 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.82 USD

Hostel 83.9% 202 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.86 USD

Hostel 88.9% 254 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.25 USD

Hostel 88.5% 585 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
10.45 USD

Hostel 82.4% 234 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
11.25 USD

Hostel 88.8% 106 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

61 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
74.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 68 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Clinton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 William would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've stay, the staff are so friendly, good location, nice room, the water is filtered water, but also have mineral water for sale, so it is okay, that is great. Special befero I went, they send a welcome e-mail to show me the map to the hostel, so sweet. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: No complain

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find, close to the metro, On suzhou creek so attractcive locale. its in a fantastic location for all the things I want to see In Shanghai plus a great 'old' local area nearby. The staff were extremely helpful and engaged in conversation with me many times which was not only informative but freindly too. There is a good common area where you can use the internet and meet people. No internet in the rooms but who wants to hole up in a room all day anyhow?????

Disliked: The downside is that the metro runs under the building so it can be a bit noisy on that level. Plus the dorm has no window. Apart from those factors everything else was good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that they offered Chinese food. The restaurant and lounge area were furnished nicely. The description to the hostel and the Chinese map were very helpful.

Disliked: When I booked the Private twin bed ensuite room, they told me that the deluxe room would have a better view. When I got to the hostel I realized that the room I had booked, had in fact no window at all which meant that the room smelt rather mouldy. This could be described a little more clearly. Another thing that I found inconvenient is that there was no separate shower cabin in the bathroom. The showerhead was located right next to the toilet and after taking a shower the whole bathroom turned into a pool. Maybe something you could expect from a youth hostel, but if I had known before, I might have booked a different room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel itself is very nice and on arrival the guy that checked us in was very friendly. The reception and internet area is very spacious and comfortable. Room very clean and comfortable beds. The hostel is very close to a metro station and only 1 stop away from People's square and Nanjing St.

Disliked: This has got to be the hardest hostel to find in China make sure you get good directions before arrival! The shower doors in the ladies bathroom are see through and have no locks plus two have big gaps between the doors.The rooms are very small not enough room for 6 backpacks plus small luggage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mostly the structure and the rooms! comfortable beds and nice showers. cheap prices.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Fosse

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Big and nice common rooms. looked new. friendly staff

Disliked: No wi-fi in rooms, and wi-fi access unstable and slow, like in many other hostels we've stayed at.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The airport to the hostel is very convenient, take the subway one euro . The room was comfortable, like the little cat ,so cute...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

martin quok

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 November 2010 martin would recommend this property

Liked: Location very good, very convenient, very convenient to the Bund and people square. Front desk service is very friendly, provide travel advice.it is funny place for us

Disliked: martin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Soho International Hostel is a good place, i meet a local people in there, he go to there take photo, and he said that this place is better than other~

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it's quiet yet convenient location

Disliked: It was not cleaned well. The room I stayed in had a squat toilet with combined shower. When I asked if we could switch rooms to one with a western toilet as my elderly parents could not use a squat toilet, there were no others available.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adelaide Adeline

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2010 Adelaide would recommend this property

Liked: Even I am stay there only one night,the hostel give me a unforgetable memory,the good location and nice decoration are realy recommended and it was the unique and best hostel i ever stayed.

Disliked: Adelaide left no negative feedback.