HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel

Hostel | NO.1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200003

76.6% Overall Rating

56 out of 66 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

"This hostel is very close to a subway station in a very central area of Shanghai. I liked that each day housekeeping came in to clean, which helped keep the shower area nicer. I liked that we had a way to do laundry,…"

Read all Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.24
  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.31 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.55 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 83.0% 176 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.16 USD

Hostel 91.5% 238 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Phoenix Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 83.9% 565 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

56 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 63 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is so friendly in this hostel. We all had a great time learning mandarin at night with people from everywhere around the world. Definitely recommend this hostel to backpackers or people who travel alone, great place to meet friends!

Disliked: The bed is just like a piece of wood without any mattress

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice and helpful, but a bit slow. Hostel is located near a Matro station, supermarket and fastfood. common area is nice and comfortable.

Disliked: Although it was written in the website that towels were free, I was said that they were for rent, and I was charged in 5Y. Room was ok, but not well cleaned, with cobwebs. there was no places to put or hang on your things in shower. impossile to shave since lights were so weak.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There's a lot of sofas where you can sit doing whatever you want, clean, quiet location.

Disliked: Only one out of the 3 showers (female side) worked perfectly, the cleaning ladies got in the room w/out knocking, not enough space to put everyone's luggage in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Rumley

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

28 January 2012 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Staff was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: A little cold in the winter but nothing to complain about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No problems with the dorms, lockers provided and you can also leave valuables at reception, good showers, big and comfortable bar with pool table and movies on the big screen most nights, lots of common area space, very friendly and helpful staff (unlike another highly rated hostel I stayed at in Shanghai), cheap supermarket conveniently located between the hostel and the subway stop, fridge/toaster/microwave available for guests to use, good mix of Western and Chinese guests.

Disliked: Nothing really. Some people said it was noisy, I disagree. You can hear the trains passing below but it's nothing. Just like hearing the wind outside for a couple of seconds. Seen comments about problems with the wi-fi too... it was fine for me. I've got nothing bad to say about this place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and close to most things via train or short walk. Free breakfast was also good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Really nice establishment.

Disliked: The rooms were not very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere in the lobby and the cafe is really cool, I would definitely go there again if i go to shanghai again..the double room was good furnished and designed..

Disliked: the dorm rooms are quite small .. and it was a bit noisy around, some people out of the hostel but just next to it make noise in the morning and doesnt let u sleep!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011

Liked: The furnishings and the idea of the interior design was good.

Disliked: Dusty and not very well maintained. The laundry area and washing machines were filthy. The wifi worked only intermittently. The air conditioning smelt brought in "smells of the streets" - from fried beansprouts to cigarettes, depending on the time of the day. The drainage didn't work well, so I was often standing in a pool of my dirty water while showering.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Olivia Bowden

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 June 2011

Liked: This hostel has some lovely looking areas - courtyard? garden area etc

Disliked: Patronising staff, non-helpful, damp room, not much light in room, not the best value for money in Shanghai

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 June 2011

Liked: Location and atmosphere are fairly nice.

Disliked: Very mildewy smelling room; staff refused to give me a different room. Air conditioning didn't work. Mosquitoes in room. Wi-fi so slow as to be unusable in the evening, but worked OK in the morning when fewer people were using it. I switched to another hotel after staying one night and lost part of my deposit.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is so beautiful, doble room wad the best i've ever stayed in China and the staff was so helpful

Disliked: It's a noisy place cos it' close to a subway station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Ramael

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: I was positively surprized by this hostel. It's very clean, the staff is very helpful and most of them talk decent english. Its location is surprisingly quiet in a pedestrian area next to the river, just one subway stop from People's Square. It has a nice lounge and a bit of a club where you can eat and drink, which feels very cosy. Free Wifi internet is available in all public places and the single rooms even come with a tv set. I would definetely go here again if I ever return to Shanghai.

Disliked: Nothing to declare here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was nice, the place is charming and the location is really convenient.

Disliked: The fact that there was no breakfast at 10 am

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very clean, good food, wonderful people, great price, and I highly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Yury Ovseenko

Alone

Business / conference

29 March 2011 Yury would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and atmosphere! Really just 3-5 Min. from the Subway-Station and about 15 Min. to walk from the city's center!

Disliked: It was not so really clean - and it's the only disappointment.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, quiet, peaceful, old shanghai feel, I want to be there again, and I want more people to know them.

Disliked: Nothing dislike there, just there should have more people, that will be perfect.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice rooms and bathrooms. We stayed in a 6 person dorm which had really good heating, beautiful lotus fabric wallpaper, lockers, bed light, comfy pillows. Showers are nice and hot with decent water pressure and both squat and western toliets abundantly available. Good pool table and bar area downstairs. The bar wasn't finished when we stayed and they weren't offering food other than packaged noodles yet however it was a nice spot to just hang out.

Disliked: The mattresses are very very thin. Staff at the desk don't speak great english and seem unable to answer basic questions. Laundry facilities do not include a tumble dryer so if you go in winter like we did you will have to hang your clothes strung everywhere around your room as there is nowhere to hang them. Internet is ridiculously slow and unreliable and there is only one computer available in the lobby. There is wifi but it drops our constantly. Maids seem to be constantly cleaning which is good because everything is really clean but bad because the floors are constantly wet in both the corridors and especially in the bathrooms. Also they just let themselves into the dorm rooms to vacuum at anytime after about 8am so if you wanted just one nice day to have a sleep in get a private room. No toliet paper provided.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sanne Kuipers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Sanne would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friend really appreciated the helpful staff in the hostel! Especially one of them, Linda, helped us by writing down Chinese words and phrases and pointing out things on the map. Besides the friendly and helpful staff the hostel was quite cozy and clean and very near the metro station Xinzha (2 min)! For the price it is a good choice!

Disliked: The only bad thing I can say about this hostel is that the matresses are very thin! It hurts a bit when you are laying on your side, so its not too comfortable. The blankets and pillows are okay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meggie Ukrainec

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2010 Meggie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, peaceful, fridnly staff, Although some staffs need improve English, always give me super sweet smile, and the room I stayed in had a squat toilet , when I told the staff, they changed room for me immediately, they really care about every guest, nice

Disliked: no complain

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John OConnell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Lots of construction. Not enough internet space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Clinton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 William would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've stay, the staff are so friendly, good location, nice room, the water is filtered water, but also have mineral water for sale, so it is okay, that is great. Special befero I went, they send a welcome e-mail to show me the map to the hostel, so sweet. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: No complain

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find, close to the metro, On suzhou creek so attractcive locale. its in a fantastic location for all the things I want to see In Shanghai plus a great 'old' local area nearby. The staff were extremely helpful and engaged in conversation with me many times which was not only informative but freindly too. There is a good common area where you can use the internet and meet people. No internet in the rooms but who wants to hole up in a room all day anyhow?????

Disliked: The downside is that the metro runs under the building so it can be a bit noisy on that level. Plus the dorm has no window. Apart from those factors everything else was good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that they offered Chinese food. The restaurant and lounge area were furnished nicely. The description to the hostel and the Chinese map were very helpful.

Disliked: When I booked the Private twin bed ensuite room, they told me that the deluxe room would have a better view. When I got to the hostel I realized that the room I had booked, had in fact no window at all which meant that the room smelt rather mouldy. This could be described a little more clearly. Another thing that I found inconvenient is that there was no separate shower cabin in the bathroom. The showerhead was located right next to the toilet and after taking a shower the whole bathroom turned into a pool. Maybe something you could expect from a youth hostel, but if I had known before, I might have booked a different room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel itself is very nice and on arrival the guy that checked us in was very friendly. The reception and internet area is very spacious and comfortable. Room very clean and comfortable beds. The hostel is very close to a metro station and only 1 stop away from People's square and Nanjing St.

Disliked: This has got to be the hardest hostel to find in China make sure you get good directions before arrival! The shower doors in the ladies bathroom are see through and have no locks plus two have big gaps between the doors.The rooms are very small not enough room for 6 backpacks plus small luggage.