HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Soho People's Square Youth Hostel Shanghai

Hostel

NO. 1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 88%

Staff 75%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.26USD
  • Towel 0.82USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 88%

Staff 75%

Value 83%

Showing 11-18 of 18 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cute exterior, clean where it mattered ie. bathroom and bed.

Disliked: Room was a bit small, no sunlight, decorations tacky.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was good, facilities were good.

Disliked: I arrived late and they stated that my booking had been cancelled due to arriving after 6pm even though I had no previous knowledge of this. The staff did not apologise to me for this. The dryer was broken and damaged some of my clothes.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very conveniently located near a metro stop, not very expensive.

Disliked: The staff were somewhat cold, not exactly friendly or helpful. Many services, even basic things, incur an extra charge.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel is very close to a subway station in a very central area of Shanghai. I liked that each day housekeeping came in to clean, which helped keep the shower area nicer. I liked that we had a way to do laundry, however it was a little bit expensive. The cafe was nice to have but quite expensive as well. The staff at the desk were very helpful to me and patient with my poor Chinese.

Disliked: To open & close the lockers is very noisy, so I avoided doing it much because I would wake up my room mates. There was not very many plug outlets in the room, so sometimes it was difficult to get your phone/computer charged up overnight. The 4 bed dorm I stayed in did not have any kind of hand soap in the bathroom, which would have been nice. The hall community bathroom had hand soap so I was hoping ours would too.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: To hâve it s own ba thoron

Disliked: Matress really hard and not confortable at all

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location is good. Restaurant food is good.

Disliked: Hardest beds I've ever had to sleep on in China, and I've been travelling around China and working here for almost a year. Extra charge for lockers, automatic charge for late checkout, wifi won't work after checkout time unless you talk to the staff, they give you a card with an address to a different hostel when you arrive, I wouldn't stay here again unless everywhere else was fully booked.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff was SOOO nice! They spent time helping me look up directions and writing taxi slips to give to the driver in Chinese. The property is beautiful and the cats that wander around outside are so cute! This place has a lot of character.

Disliked: I guess it could get confusing if you don't walk in, but it seems like a lot of places are like that in Shanghai.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: When I checked in the guy behind the counter was so friendly and his English was great. Even the girl behind the bar was real friendly and so helpful.The bar area had a awesome layout with great food and drink and cheap too, pool table in middle with lots of tables around to sit and chat to other travellers. Very clean hostel, with great bathrooms and toilets.

Disliked: Bad nights sleep, cause the bed was hard. If it wasn't for the great service and atmosphere I would of check out immediately. Finding this place was difficult, even taxi driver found it hard.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location was great. I think the place is even nicer in the summer when all the common areas aren't so cold. The room was warm.

Disliked: The staff was very rude and unfriendly. They didn't help with anything, sometimes they didn't even answer a question.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability