HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Beehome International Youth Hostel Shanghai

Hostel

NO.210 Lane 498, Dongchang Road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 84%

Staff 75%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 23:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 84%

Staff 75%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location can't be any better. It is just a stone's throw away from the gigantic towers of lu jia zui, which you can see from the hostel yard.I arrived very late from the airport at about 2 in the night. Reception was closed, but when I knocked the guy sleeping inside woke up and checked me in. That was really great. Wifi was working well too. Facilities are basic but alright.

Disliked: I can only speak of the dorm in the ground floor and in summer time. Luckily I just stayed one night, but really I was so disgusted by the mouldy walls. The air was very stingy, though the ac was working well. If you're just looking for a bed it might be fine. But no nice experience.Well try not to go in rainy season in any hostel in china maybe. If you have to, avoid ground floors

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We got a triple room and it was close to the metro in the financial district.

Disliked: Questions customer service, one girl actually rolled her eyes at me when I asked a question. No maps?!? And no help with finding anywhere to go, good job it wasn't our first time in Shanghai. Don't bother staying here, no atmosphere you could definitely find somewhere better.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is convenient, patio is cozy. The room is larger than I expected.

Disliked: Staff is not kind. When I asked the way to destination, her advised nothing, just said "I don't know.".I've stayed many youth hostels in China, most hostel staffs are friendly and kind. In cases like this, they check the website at once and gave me advice.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The WiFi was fast and stable. Earliest check out was 0600, but it was still OK to check out when I knocked on the door 0530 (we agreed on this the evening before). It is close to the metro line that takes you to the Maglev, the fast-train to Pudong airport.

Disliked: The given direction from Hongqiao Airport is not the easiest one. The easiest is to take metro line nr. 2 (green) from airport to the Dongchang Road Station.The hostel is not brand new. It was started in 2010 and with a lot of guests it has its wear and tear.There is a RMB 100 deposit for key which is not specified on the web.Unable to use own lock on lockers.Friendly and helpful english-speaking staff was not helpful as she did not know anything about when the metro operated, the price of a taxi nore did she speak good english. She barely spoke and understood english.The beds are not comfy. They are hard as other cheap chinese beds. Comfy beds are to be soft. I was not able to sleep the one night I was there.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: none

Disliked: it is very cold. i would dislike to go there. never.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: This place was exactly what I needed and wanted and more. For location--virtually at the base of Shanghai's tallest buidings, in the financial district--it's a wonder it doesn't cost more. The rooms are clean, even unexpectedly nice. The place itself was cozy--walled in from the main street, with a small patio and outside-air hallways. Two of three staff I spoke with were exceptionally friendly and helpful. To top it off there were cats roaming all about, and even these were friendly. A little white furry one ("everyone loves him," the young woman at the desk told me) refused to let go of me when I tried to take him off my lap.

Disliked: Directions about where the subway is could be clearer, and briefer. It would also be very helpful to have a Chinese address, so foreigners can snap a picture and show it to a taxi driver.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was really close to the subway, in a nice quiet area and was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the downtown areas but they were easily accessible by subway

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: clean, almost everything worked as it should.the staff was friendly.

Disliked: after the toilette-flush you had to play with the mechanism to make the waterbox getting refilled again.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability