We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.210 lane 490 Dongchang Rd, Pudong Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200120

75.9% Overall Rating

52 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

"The WiFi was fast and stable. Earliest check out was 0600, but it was still OK to check out when I knocked on the door 0530 (we agreed on this the evening before). It is close to the metro line that takes you to the…"

Read all Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Hidden Garden Youth Hostel
7.33 USD

Hostel 74.3% 109 reviews
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 73.9% 17 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
19.56 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 91.8% 92 reviews
Shanghai Naza International Youth Hostel
10.59 USD

Hostel 76.5% 37 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 79.5% 233 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
11.41 USD

Hostel 88.7% 249 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

52 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 56 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2015

Liked: The WiFi was fast and stable. Earliest check out was 0600, but it was still OK to check out when I knocked on the door 0530 (we agreed on this the evening before). It is close to the metro line that takes you to the Maglev, the fast-train to Pudong airport.

Disliked: The given direction from Hongqiao Airport is not the easiest one. The easiest is to take metro line nr. 2 (green) from airport to the Dongchang Road Station. The hostel is not brand new. It was started in 2010 and with a lot of guests it has its wear and tear. There is a RMB 100 deposit for key which is not specified on the web. Unable to use own lock on lockers. Friendly and helpful english-speaking staff was not helpful as she did not know anything about when the metro operated, the price of a taxi nore did she speak good english. She barely spoke and understood english. The beds are not comfy. They are hard as other cheap chinese beds. Comfy beds are to be soft. I was not able to sleep the one night I was there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

chanil park

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2015

Liked: none

Disliked: it is very cold. i would dislike to go there. never.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Carpenter

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 November 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: This place was exactly what I needed and wanted and more. For location--virtually at the base of Shanghai's tallest buidings, in the financial district--it's a wonder it doesn't cost more. The rooms are clean, even unexpectedly nice. The place itself was cozy--walled in from the main street, with a small patio and outside-air hallways. Two of three staff I spoke with were exceptionally friendly and helpful. To top it off there were cats roaming all about, and even these were friendly. A little white furry one ("everyone loves him," the young woman at the desk told me) refused to let go of me when I tried to take him off my lap.

Disliked: Directions about where the subway is could be clearer, and briefer. It would also be very helpful to have a Chinese address, so foreigners can snap a picture and show it to a taxi driver.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the subway, in a nice quiet area and was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the downtown areas but they were easily accessible by subway

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, almost everything worked as it should.the staff was friendly.

Disliked: after the toilette-flush you had to play with the mechanism to make the waterbox getting refilled again.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location for travelling to Pudong Airport.

Disliked: Shared bathroom in dormitory room was not clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Edward Horne

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

13 January 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Great location on Pudong side, very close to metro so easy to get anywhere.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zuzana Hlinková

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good, although it wasnt easy to find it (continue straight from exit 4, cross the street and then turn left to the tiny street, where the hostel is located). Its not like 2, minutes from the exit, rather 10.

Disliked: I was acommodated with 5 Chinese girls, who lived at the hostel. They were really nice, but I still had a feeling as if I disturbed somebody at his home.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Festl Anton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2013 Festl would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is convenient to metro, ferry and walking to Pudong sites. Did have a laundry area to dry clothes.

Disliked: - I saw very few other travellers,[other than my dorm-mates] so there seemed to be little meeting and greeting of any other travellers. I did see a few families with children - really??? The atmosphere was not welcoming or encouraging for people to visit or hang around. No lounge area. - Kitchen was not inviting for anyone to use. - unfortunately one person was a bad snorer - we all suffered for 2 nights.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rhys Berwick

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

14 June 2013

Liked: Very good location on Pudong, very close to the Oriental Pearl and IFC towers. 5 mins walk from Dongchang Road subway on line 2, making it easy to get from the airport. Rooms were cleaned everyday and sheets were clean.

Disliked: The water heater in the bathroom was broken on the day I arrived, and had not been fixed four days later when I left. Cold showers are not that pleasant. The internet speed was very slow and a poor wifi signal in the rooms, you have to go to the small communal area which was not ideal. In my room, there was a chinese who seemed to be living in the dormitory, who was smoking in the bathroom and out of the window despite the signs around the property. He was always sleeping or on the computer anytime of the day. He also made weird clicking noises as he slept! Bad luck for me... The was absolutely NO atmosphere in this hostel, really quiet and nothing to do or organised by the staff. If you just need a bed, this is the place, but if you expect to meet like-minded friendly people then look elsewhere...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stanley chiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 June 2013 stanley would recommend this property

Liked: it's a good location at pudong area in shanghai…

Disliked: stanley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan hamilton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 alan would recommend this property

Liked: A VERY WELL LOCATED PROPERTY LOCATED WITHIN 15 MINUTES WALK OF THE MAJOR HIGH RISE BUILDINGS OF SHANGHAI AND ALSO VERY GOOD STREET FOOD AVAILABLE NEAR BY-----GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN SHANGHAI WITH GOOD METRO CONNECTIONS

Disliked: I LIKE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS SHANGHAI HOSTEL

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private room

Disliked: no breakfast available even at the cafe downstairs of the hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large room, good location, nice building

Disliked: Nobody around, no atmosphere, not good for people hoping to socialise or meet others

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kathryn O'Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: -Friendly. I missed the turning and had to ring the hostel and he patiently talked me through the walk :) -The bathroom was in the room. -Bedding was clean and the duvet was amazing. - I stayed with lots of Chinese women who were staying long-term at the hostel... But they all spoke good English and were incredibly friendly (They helped with my Chinese homework

Disliked: -The bathroom could have been cleaner (bring flipflops)! -The bed was pretty solid... Definitely only something made for a few nights stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Roszkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013

Liked: Location is perfect. Just near Pudong and metro station. also it was clean hostel and staff was very nice.

Disliked: Atmosphere in my 8-person room was very bad. One guy was crazy - he spoke to himself, played warcraft all night, slept all day. Another one had terrible cought and was spiting and snoring all night. Only one dutch was very nice, others didn't even answer to hello !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of the Beehome and the fact that it was not super busy and crowded. My friends and I stayed there and all enjoyed the time. We feel like we got a great value for our money. We would stay there again.

Disliked: We needed to come back to our room in two different groups but there was only one key. After awhile of discussion, they agreed to just open the door for the 2nd group. I wished we had been issued at least two door keys.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is reall nice here, the location is quite alright, the staff was very helpful, when we left, got presents, the staff spoke English, had a lot of material on nice spots.

Disliked: The did not clean our bathroom, wi-fi did not work, only on the first day, when bathroom was finally cleaned, all our stuff was all over on each other, the wall was coming down at one spot, the staff did not answer my mail.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Gajewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: There was a guy in my dorm, who lives in this hostel...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is among the best in Shanghai.

Disliked: The common room is small and not really attractive, it's not too easy to get to know eachother with other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

matthew gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012

Liked: There are many people living at this hostel and they were all very friendly and we shared are photos and travel stories.

Disliked: No window screens and the windows were open most of the time in my dorm,so even with a sheet the mosquitos sucked away at my feet and legs,which kept me up half the night.Even the common areas are very open,so anytime of day had me scratching away.It wasn't a comfortable place to stay because of the mosquitos.The people were very helpful and pleasent.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed there for one night but I will definately stay at this hostel again as it is quiet and has character and a great atmosphere - room has it's own bathroom - lockers including a key are provided

Disliked: - Only cold water in the shower (maybe the heater was broken?) - Hard to find as I didn't read at the directions that it is in a backyard. - The beds are very loud when you move/go to bed. That's the only point that would prevent me from going back to this hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, easy to find

Disliked: The bar didn't offer anything for eating; the WiFi didn't work