We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.210 lane 490 Dongchang Rd, Pudong Shanghai, Shanghai, China 200120

79.0% Overall Rating

50 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

"It was really close to the subway, in a nice quiet area and was clean and comfortable."

Read all Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Hidden Garden Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 72.9% 103 reviews
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 73.9% 17 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.1% 86 reviews
Shanghai Naza International Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 76.9% 36 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

50 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the subway, in a nice quiet area and was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the downtown areas but they were easily accessible by subway

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, almost everything worked as it should.the staff was friendly.

Disliked: after the toilette-flush you had to play with the mechanism to make the waterbox getting refilled again.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location for travelling to Pudong Airport.

Disliked: Shared bathroom in dormitory room was not clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Edward Horne

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

13 January 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Great location on Pudong side, very close to metro so easy to get anywhere.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zuzana Hlinková

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good, although it wasnt easy to find it (continue straight from exit 4, cross the street and then turn left to the tiny street, where the hostel is located). Its not like 2, minutes from the exit, rather 10.

Disliked: I was acommodated with 5 Chinese girls, who lived at the hostel. They were really nice, but I still had a feeling as if I disturbed somebody at his home.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Festl Anton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2013 Festl would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is convenient to metro, ferry and walking to Pudong sites. Did have a laundry area to dry clothes.

Disliked: - I saw very few other travellers,[other than my dorm-mates] so there seemed to be little meeting and greeting of any other travellers. I did see a few families with children - really??? The atmosphere was not welcoming or encouraging for people to visit or hang around. No lounge area. - Kitchen was not inviting for anyone to use. - unfortunately one person was a bad snorer - we all suffered for 2 nights.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rhys Berwick

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

14 June 2013

Liked: Very good location on Pudong, very close to the Oriental Pearl and IFC towers. 5 mins walk from Dongchang Road subway on line 2, making it easy to get from the airport. Rooms were cleaned everyday and sheets were clean.

Disliked: The water heater in the bathroom was broken on the day I arrived, and had not been fixed four days later when I left. Cold showers are not that pleasant. The internet speed was very slow and a poor wifi signal in the rooms, you have to go to the small communal area which was not ideal. In my room, there was a chinese who seemed to be living in the dormitory, who was smoking in the bathroom and out of the window despite the signs around the property. He was always sleeping or on the computer anytime of the day. He also made weird clicking noises as he slept! Bad luck for me... The was absolutely NO atmosphere in this hostel, really quiet and nothing to do or organised by the staff. If you just need a bed, this is the place, but if you expect to meet like-minded friendly people then look elsewhere...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stanley chiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 June 2013 stanley would recommend this property

Liked: it's a good location at pudong area in shanghai…

Disliked: stanley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan hamilton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 alan would recommend this property

Liked: A VERY WELL LOCATED PROPERTY LOCATED WITHIN 15 MINUTES WALK OF THE MAJOR HIGH RISE BUILDINGS OF SHANGHAI AND ALSO VERY GOOD STREET FOOD AVAILABLE NEAR BY-----GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN SHANGHAI WITH GOOD METRO CONNECTIONS

Disliked: I LIKE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS SHANGHAI HOSTEL

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private room

Disliked: no breakfast available even at the cafe downstairs of the hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large room, good location, nice building

Disliked: Nobody around, no atmosphere, not good for people hoping to socialise or meet others

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kathryn O'Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: -Friendly. I missed the turning and had to ring the hostel and he patiently talked me through the walk :) -The bathroom was in the room. -Bedding was clean and the duvet was amazing. - I stayed with lots of Chinese women who were staying long-term at the hostel... But they all spoke good English and were incredibly friendly (They helped with my Chinese homework

Disliked: -The bathroom could have been cleaner (bring flipflops)! -The bed was pretty solid... Definitely only something made for a few nights stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Roszkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013

Liked: Location is perfect. Just near Pudong and metro station. also it was clean hostel and staff was very nice.

Disliked: Atmosphere in my 8-person room was very bad. One guy was crazy - he spoke to himself, played warcraft all night, slept all day. Another one had terrible cought and was spiting and snoring all night. Only one dutch was very nice, others didn't even answer to hello !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of the Beehome and the fact that it was not super busy and crowded. My friends and I stayed there and all enjoyed the time. We feel like we got a great value for our money. We would stay there again.

Disliked: We needed to come back to our room in two different groups but there was only one key. After awhile of discussion, they agreed to just open the door for the 2nd group. I wished we had been issued at least two door keys.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is reall nice here, the location is quite alright, the staff was very helpful, when we left, got presents, the staff spoke English, had a lot of material on nice spots.

Disliked: The did not clean our bathroom, wi-fi did not work, only on the first day, when bathroom was finally cleaned, all our stuff was all over on each other, the wall was coming down at one spot, the staff did not answer my mail.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Gajewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: There was a guy in my dorm, who lives in this hostel...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is among the best in Shanghai.

Disliked: The common room is small and not really attractive, it's not too easy to get to know eachother with other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

matthew gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012

Liked: There are many people living at this hostel and they were all very friendly and we shared are photos and travel stories.

Disliked: No window screens and the windows were open most of the time in my dorm,so even with a sheet the mosquitos sucked away at my feet and legs,which kept me up half the night.Even the common areas are very open,so anytime of day had me scratching away.It wasn't a comfortable place to stay because of the mosquitos.The people were very helpful and pleasent.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed there for one night but I will definately stay at this hostel again as it is quiet and has character and a great atmosphere - room has it's own bathroom - lockers including a key are provided

Disliked: - Only cold water in the shower (maybe the heater was broken?) - Hard to find as I didn't read at the directions that it is in a backyard. - The beds are very loud when you move/go to bed. That's the only point that would prevent me from going back to this hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, easy to find

Disliked: The bar didn't offer anything for eating; the WiFi didn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. Internet services were provided. It was quiet despite being in a big city.

Disliked: No negative issues.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mariya Saifulina

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012

Liked: The staff people were mostly very nice. One person even borrowed 50 yuan for me until the next day when i could exchange my money.

Disliked: I've been to a hostel in Bangkok before and comparing it to Beehome, I should say, BeeHome hostel has several drawbacks. 1. no free Towels, you should buy them for 5 Yuan and later return. (When I arrived at the hotel at the reception i was told that there are no towels at all and i should buy at the market (it was 1am!!!). Later in the morning, I told about it to another receptionist and she kindly gave me towel for 5 Yuan. Probably the 1st guy just didn't know about towels... >..< 2. In the room the sink was not flushing water properly. This is why it was dirty most of the time. But the room service washed it every day, however never fixed the flush problem. 3. The cafe bar, although having menu for food items didn't have any, except for some drinks. 4. They put towels everywhere on the floor to keep floors always clean. However, it is not comfortable when one is pulling a heavy bag on wheels. 5. The electricity plugs were very few for a room with 6 beds, so girls had to take turns using them.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay right in Pudong, so it's the perfect thing to do if you're up for seeing some skyscrapers right in front of your window. I loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Close to everything. Clean room and toilet

Disliked: Toilet paper not provided. Some staffs are miserable and rude. Have to buy toilet papers and map. Bring ye own slipper. Only have 1 computer. Every morning around 6 there r ppl chatting n laugh loudly at d reception area. Bed r very stiff like sleeping on a piece of wood.