HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 108, Hami Road, Shanghai, China 200335

71.8% Overall Rating

92 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Rafael disfrutar thinks…

"The showers in the room were nice and clean. The Staff was helpful. It was quite well located regarding the HongQiao Airport / Railway Station. Good place to stay for a few nights."

Read all Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.90 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 89.9% 166 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongmei
32.36 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
10.54 USD

Hostel 76.1% 1006 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 79.4% 186 reviews
Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

92 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rafael disfrutar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The showers in the room were nice and clean. The Staff was helpful. It was quite well located regarding the HongQiao Airport / Railway Station. Good place to stay for a few nights.

Disliked: Only Staircase to the rooms on the 2nd floor. Smaller Community Place next to the entrance.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: resonable price near hongqiao airport

Disliked: dirty cusion covers at the hall

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014

Liked: Close to subway

Disliked: Tiny rooms, dirty toilets. The air conditioner in our room wad spewing out black dust particles everywhere! Staff were nonchalant. No socialising area. Noisy cleaning staff from early morning. It's better to stay closer to city centre as a taxi back to hostel at night costs around 80 men and most taxi drivers struggle to find it!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Rao Naumaan Nasim Khan

Alone

Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2014

Liked: Location was good, as it was near to subway line 2.

Disliked: irresponsible behavior of receptioist and staff. Pets (like dogs) in the property, bothering guests a lot. Dirty and ugly highly mismanaged in terms of cleanliness.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed staying here. It was located in the middle of the suburbs away from the bustling downdown and the athmosphere was peaceful. The metro station was close by (5 minutes walk) and there was a cheap must visit hyper market on the way. The hostel's walls were full of drawings and writings of other travellers. We even got a free upgrade to a bigger room. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room for that price, very friendly staff, close to metro stop

Disliked: The common space was not very cosy, but still ok. A bit far from the city centre, but good value for money.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Shinya TOMOBE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Shinya would recommend this property

Liked: Location is neer by Line 2 Metro station and neer by Hongqiao Airport.

Disliked: I can't use my locker in the room.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014

Liked: I liked that they had rooms available and had a cheaper price. they allow you to draw on the walls in the halls and you get to see other peoples drawing skills.

Disliked: Unfriendly and unhelpful staff run down appearance inside and out have to change your own bedding no elevator; only broken stairs no friendly environment lack of other travellers giant hole in the window.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very good location if you want to be based near Hongqiao airport or train station, with direct access via metro line 2. The beds were actually quite comfortable, and bed-linen and towels were clean. It was good there was an air-conditioning unit to heat the room.

Disliked: The reception area looked as though it could do with a spruce-up and a good clean. The bedroom light did not give enough light for reading or sorting through your luggage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesper Hagel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2013 Jesper would recommend this property

Liked: When we first got there they didn't have the budget room we booked. So instead the upgraded us straight away to a double deluxe room, we didn't have to ask, argue or say anything. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Especially the girls Maggie in the reception that whenever we had a question (trains, food, locations) she would do her very best to make our stay wonderful. The drawback with the hostel is the location, but 15-20 minutes from central Shanghai isn't that much. Considering the very good staff, rooms and atmosphere it was totally worth it. We will be back here if we ever go Shanghai again. /Jenny and Jesper

Disliked: Nothing really. The location of the place, but thats just a small thing.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

John Field

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds (for China), plenty of showers/toilets, friendly staff but lacking in English language skills

Disliked: I arrived after the subway system had closed so getting there was a big problem as most of the directions on the website are oriented around the subway/underground syatem

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kara Serenius

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 August 2013 Kara would recommend this property

Liked: the wireless was good. beds were comfortable. locks for large cubbies for each occupant. There were alarms on each room as well. men and women seperate.

Disliked: The front staff did not speak much english. The bed I was offered was not made up. I had already settled in when I realized that there were no sheets, so I went to get some. The front desk lady would not give me sheets she made me move rooms at 12:30 at night and wake all the occupants of the new room. This was not very thoughtful on her behalf. Also the front desk woman made me climb up and down the stairs 3 times in order to get the right key to the new room. As I was very tired from my flight, this was not ideal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wally Trevino

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Wally would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness.

Disliked: Location from sub way.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

matthew gibb

Alone

Shopping

12 May 2013 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the subway station and far enough away from the city center to make it quieter.The common area is well set up for making conversations.

Disliked: The locker keys have been lost recently.I ended up carrying my backpack,although it was very light,it would have been nice to lock up my valuables.The front desk offered to watch my things,but I declined.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

huan wan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 huan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, including those cleaning ladies. I like the painting wall on the 3rd floor, very interesting and full of characters. Very convenient location, close to Line 2, which link the most tourist sites in big Shanghai.

Disliked: nothing particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

H. van Barneveld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 H. would recommend this property

Liked: De manager was erg behulpzaam. Hij beantwoordde al onze vragen. Zijn Engels was erg goed! Geen idee waar sommige andere reviewers over spraken, want ook de meiden konden Engels. Misschien is de staf veranderd?

Disliked: Niets.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness and understanding, though the hotel should organize english courses for their staff

Disliked: no breakfast, foreign company in the 2nd floor

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012

Liked: I really like to stay in the Blue Mountain "Bund" branch, but have had only a night in Shanghai and was arriving and leaving from Hongqiao train station. So I gave the HQ hostel a closer look. It is more of a hotel then a hostel. There is virtually no space where you could enjoy your evening and the sofas are located next to reception and entrance door... Most of the "inhabitants" seem to be long term guests, which I am cool with as I know the prices for an appartement in Shanghai and the salary you might expect after graduating. Location is pretty close to the subway and to Hongqiao, so if you are only looking for a cheap place to sleep you found the right one. Otehrwise continue your journey for another 15 minutes and stay at the Bund BM...

Disliked: See above. It doesn't have any flair at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sibyl, Aco, jud

Disliked: USA

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jose Maria Gonzalez Cogollor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Jose Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the subway

Disliked: unhelpful stuff

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

JOse Maria Gonzalez Cogollor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012

Liked: It is 5 minutes walking from a subway station

Disliked: The stuff was unhelpful, some of the stuff was helpful but other was totally unhelpful and they didn't talk english at all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

roberto bignotti

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 roberto would recommend this property

Liked: decent value for money

Disliked: triple family room has no windows. it's rather stuffy.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Martin Zobel

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2012

Liked: Staff was very helpful and kind.

Disliked: WC and shower were very smelly. Lounge was to small and dirty.