HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

#108, HaMi Road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 72%

Location 72%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 72%

Location 72%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 82%

Showing 21-23 of 23 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the cleanliness.

Disliked: Location from sub way.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Near to the subway station and far enough away from the city center to make it quieter.The common area is well set up for making conversations.

Disliked: The locker keys have been lost recently.I ended up carrying my backpack,although it was very light,it would have been nice to lock up my valuables.The front desk offered to watch my things,but I declined.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, including those cleaning ladies. I like the painting wall on the 3rd floor, very interesting and full of characters. Very convenient location, close to Line 2, which link the most tourist sites in big Shanghai.

Disliked: nothing particular

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: De manager was erg behulpzaam. Hij beantwoordde al onze vragen. Zijn Engels was erg goed! Geen idee waar sommige andere reviewers over spraken, want ook de meiden konden Engels. Misschien is de staf veranderd?

Disliked: Niets.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Helpfulness and understanding, though the hotel should organize english courses for their staff

Disliked: no breakfast, foreign company in the 2nd floor

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really like to stay in the Blue Mountain "Bund" branch, but have had only a night in Shanghai and was arriving and leaving from Hongqiao train station. So I gave the HQ hostel a closer look.It is more of a hotel then a hostel. There is virtually no space where you could enjoy your evening and the sofas are located next to reception and entrance door...Most of the "inhabitants" seem to be long term guests, which I am cool with as I know the prices for an appartement in Shanghai and the salary you might expect after graduating.Location is pretty close to the subway and to Hongqiao, so if you are only looking for a cheap place to sleep you found the right one. Otehrwise continue your journey for another 15 minutes and stay at the Bund BM...

Disliked: See above. It doesn't have any flair at all.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Sibyl, Aco, jud

Disliked: USA

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is 5 minutes walking from a subway station

Disliked: The stuff was unhelpful, some of the stuff was helpful but other was totally unhelpful and they didn't talk english at all.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the subway

Disliked: unhelpful stuff

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: decent value for money

Disliked: triple family room has no windows. it's rather stuffy.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability