We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 108, Hami Road, Shanghai, China 200335

76.7% Overall Rating

96 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Filip Kierzek thinks…

"They missed our reservation on HostelBookers for bunk beds so they upgraded us to private rooms for same price."

Read all Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
46.81 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 84.2% 183 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongmei
33.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
12.50 USD

Hostel 80.8% 1027 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 80.1% 190 reviews
Asset Hotel - Shanghai
28.76 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 72 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

96 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 108 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tomas Borecky

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Despite the long distance to the centre, it has very good and fast subway connection to every parts of the city

Disliked: the location

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Talia Kear - Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room, good size.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't in the greatest condition. The shower curtain was very old and the pipes were rusting. However, it worked fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. Although the hostel is not IN the city, it has wonderful metro access and getting anywhere is very easy. The rooms (double) are very spacious and clean.

Disliked: The common room is basically the entry hall and always crowded in the evening with a movie going on, too. Hence there is little space for everyone and it's noisy so you can't read very well. Internet is up in the rooms though, too. I don't know how much common space there is in the dorms since we only made use of our double room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shannon Piccinin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful counter staff, free wi-fi, close to the metro, clean, safe (elecronic key to enter room), movie played in lounge every night, quiet side street, great value for money.

Disliked: Wi-fi only accessible from lounge area, a little on the outskirts of Shanghai (but they're cheap, so who cares), small rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011

Liked: The closest hostel to HongQiao train station, which makes it useful when planning train trip next morning. Quite clean, nice Staff, decent looking inside

Disliked: Too far from downtown, no credit card terminal, small lobby, small rooms, clean but stinky toilets, small toilets, cheap but still not very good value for money, valuable objects left in front desk are exposed on shelves, I didn't found wifi,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Great showers and toilets. They must be cleaned like 20 times a day VERY CLEAN! Was a quiet hostel and its on the metro line 2, so very easy to get places. We stayed in a double room, it was a good size and good value.

Disliked: cant think of anything. It was a good hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John OConnell

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap private room.

Disliked: Not flexible with check-out times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the place, the staffs and the cleaness.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Reykhtman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the SOFT bed!!! Bright, large room, friendsly staff, close to the metro station, safe...

Disliked: When traveller leaves the guide book behind as it is not needed and wanting to share it with other travellers, the staff places the price on it and resells it. I have never seen done this way before and I did not like it... Unreliable WiFi and lift does not work, would like to have some help with the luggage up the stairs.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010

Liked: We rented a budget room, but because of the broken heater, we got to stay in a double room, untill the heeter was fixed. That was good service!

Disliked: The broken heater, the broken microwave, broken toilet, horrible shower (unless you take the public shower) Beds way to Hard ! No personality at all, and generally it was cold everywhere at this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness was very good staff was extreamely friendly and open

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

james caffrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 james would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, beds were good

Disliked: not much atmospjere really, not a great location either

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
City break

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Building's not new, but there's good atmosphere, actually spacious rooms, and really helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people.

Disliked: Far away from Pudong Airport (PVG) and had to pay RMB 260 to get there by taxi because the maglev and metro close by 11PM.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a

Disliked: a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people. big and clean

Disliked: little bit far from city

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacquelyn Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2010 Jacquelyn would recommend this property

Liked: I love the showers! I know this might sound silly, but so many places don't have hooks for your clothes, or no holders for shampoo, etc. But this shower is perfect! Also, good washing (clothes) facility! Finally got to do my laundry! Staff is really really great!

Disliked: Missed having a kitchen, but, what the heck! Who wants to cook anyway!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2010

Liked: clean, 24hr receptiom and left luggage service

Disliked: i dont think the hostel is close to the subway as it claims on website. it takes like 10~15 mins instead of 5 mins. Beside, this hostel was hotel before and it locates in the 3rd floor, making it weird to walk from reception to the room on 3rd floor. The cheapest price is 80rmb one night in 7 ppl shared room (the websites claims 6 ppl), but actually you can find a single room to live in Nanjing West Rd. with the price of 70rmb so consider the price, service and location there's no reason to live in this hostel unless you want to meet lots of people on the sofa.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 September 2010

Liked: .

Disliked: .WAAAY OFF, and they dont accept card, don´t help out with booking tickets, the rooms are the smallest one´s i´ve ever seen, and ive been to a lot of hostels...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near to the metro station, only about 8-10 minutes walk.

Disliked: The room is small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stella anyaogu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 stella would recommend this property

Liked: The satff were extremely helpful and more than happy to go out of their way to give you a hand.

Disliked: Location is a little out of the center of Shanghai- overall howerver, not too bad.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: small room,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesome.

Disliked: The location and the noise of the other backpackers present.