HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

#108, HaMi Road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 70%

Location 70%

Safety 82%

Staff 80%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 70%

Location 70%

Safety 82%

Staff 80%

Value 80%

Showing 21-18 of 18 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: When we first got there they didn't have the budget room we booked. So instead the upgraded us straight away to a double deluxe room, we didn't have to ask, argue or say anything. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Especially the girls Maggie in the reception that whenever we had a question (trains, food, locations) she would do her very best to make our stay wonderful. The drawback with the hostel is the location, but 15-20 minutes from central Shanghai isn't that much. Considering the very good staff, rooms and atmosphere it was totally worth it. We will be back here if we ever go Shanghai again./Jenny and Jesper

Disliked: Nothing really. The location of the place, but thats just a small thing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the good comment ! very kind and cute guests ! wish you have a good trip in China !
If chance ,welcome to shanghai again ! and you're welcome to Blue Mountain youth hostel !

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable beds (for China), plenty of showers/toilets, friendly staff but lacking in English language skills

Disliked: I arrived after the subway system had closed so getting there was a big problem as most of the directions on the website are oriented around the subway/underground syatem

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: the wireless was good. beds were comfortable. locks for large cubbies for each occupant. There were alarms on each room as well. men and women seperate.

Disliked: The front staff did not speak much english. The bed I was offered was not made up. I had already settled in when I realized that there were no sheets, so I went to get some. The front desk lady would not give me sheets she made me move rooms at 12:30 at night and wake all the occupants of the new room. This was not very thoughtful on her behalf. Also the front desk woman made me climb up and down the stairs 3 times in order to get the right key to the new room. As I was very tired from my flight, this was not ideal.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the cleanliness.

Disliked: Location from sub way.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Near to the subway station and far enough away from the city center to make it quieter.The common area is well set up for making conversations.

Disliked: The locker keys have been lost recently.I ended up carrying my backpack,although it was very light,it would have been nice to lock up my valuables.The front desk offered to watch my things,but I declined.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, including those cleaning ladies. I like the painting wall on the 3rd floor, very interesting and full of characters. Very convenient location, close to Line 2, which link the most tourist sites in big Shanghai.

Disliked: nothing particular

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: De manager was erg behulpzaam. Hij beantwoordde al onze vragen. Zijn Engels was erg goed! Geen idee waar sommige andere reviewers over spraken, want ook de meiden konden Engels. Misschien is de staf veranderd?

Disliked: Niets.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Helpfulness and understanding, though the hotel should organize english courses for their staff

Disliked: no breakfast, foreign company in the 2nd floor

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really like to stay in the Blue Mountain "Bund" branch, but have had only a night in Shanghai and was arriving and leaving from Hongqiao train station. So I gave the HQ hostel a closer look.It is more of a hotel then a hostel. There is virtually no space where you could enjoy your evening and the sofas are located next to reception and entrance door...Most of the "inhabitants" seem to be long term guests, which I am cool with as I know the prices for an appartement in Shanghai and the salary you might expect after graduating.Location is pretty close to the subway and to Hongqiao, so if you are only looking for a cheap place to sleep you found the right one. Otehrwise continue your journey for another 15 minutes and stay at the Bund BM...

Disliked: See above. It doesn't have any flair at all.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Sibyl, Aco, jud

Disliked: USA

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability