HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

#108, HaMi Road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 70%

Location 71%

Safety 81%

Staff 82%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 70%

Location 71%

Safety 81%

Staff 82%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 20 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to subway

Disliked: Tiny rooms, dirty toilets. The air conditioner in our room wad spewing out black dust particles everywhere! Staff were nonchalant. No socialising area. Noisy cleaning staff from early morning. It's better to stay closer to city centre as a taxi back to hostel at night costs around 80 men and most taxi drivers struggle to find it!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location was good, as it was near to subway line 2.

Disliked: irresponsible behavior of receptioist and staff. Pets (like dogs) in the property, bothering guests a lot. Dirty and ugly highly mismanaged in terms of cleanliness.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We really enjoyed staying here. It was located in the middle of the suburbs away from the bustling downdown and the athmosphere was peaceful. The metro station was close by (5 minutes walk) and there was a cheap must visit hyper market on the way. The hostel's walls were full of drawings and writings of other travellers. We even got a free upgrade to a bigger room. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is neer by Line 2 Metro station and neer by Hongqiao Airport.

Disliked: I can't use my locker in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice room for that price, very friendly staff, close to metro stop

Disliked: The common space was not very cosy, but still ok. A bit far from the city centre, but good value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked that they had rooms available and had a cheaper price. they allow you to draw on the walls in the halls and you get to see other peoples drawing skills.

Disliked: Unfriendly and unhelpful staffrun down appearance inside and outhave to change your own beddingno elevator; only broken stairsno friendly environmentlack of other travellersgiant hole in the window.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It has a very good location if you want to be based near Hongqiao airport or train station, with direct access via metro line 2.The beds were actually quite comfortable, and bed-linen and towels were clean. It was good there was an air-conditioning unit to heat the room.

Disliked: The reception area looked as though it could do with a spruce-up and a good clean.The bedroom light did not give enough light for reading or sorting through your luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: When we first got there they didn't have the budget room we booked. So instead the upgraded us straight away to a double deluxe room, we didn't have to ask, argue or say anything. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Especially the girls Maggie in the reception that whenever we had a question (trains, food, locations) she would do her very best to make our stay wonderful. The drawback with the hostel is the location, but 15-20 minutes from central Shanghai isn't that much. Considering the very good staff, rooms and atmosphere it was totally worth it. We will be back here if we ever go Shanghai again./Jenny and Jesper

Disliked: Nothing really. The location of the place, but thats just a small thing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the good comment ! very kind and cute guests ! wish you have a good trip in China !
If chance ,welcome to shanghai again ! and you're welcome to Blue Mountain youth hostel !

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable beds (for China), plenty of showers/toilets, friendly staff but lacking in English language skills

Disliked: I arrived after the subway system had closed so getting there was a big problem as most of the directions on the website are oriented around the subway/underground syatem

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability