HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 108, Hami Road, Shanghai, China 200335

70.7% Overall Rating

90 out of 107 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/06/2014)

"We really enjoyed staying here. It was located in the middle of the suburbs away from the bustling downdown and the athmosphere was peaceful. The metro station was close by (5 minutes walk) and there was a cheap must…"

Read all Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Kingtown Hotel Hongqiao
48.55 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 90.1% 163 reviews
Kingtown Hotel Hongmei
32.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
12.16 USD

Hostel 77.4% 1003 reviews
Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 79.5% 185 reviews
Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Jitai Hotel
16.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

90 out of 107 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 102 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff really friendly and helpful, place was very clean

Disliked: Although near a metro was a bit far from The action.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so lovely, thanks girls!!, room was so big, next to subway, and cheap! perfect!

Disliked: .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location to the SHA airport!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value! We stayed in the budget private double. (It was also the last available budget private double--don't know if they're all the same or not). This room is not what I would call "spacious" at all. Yet considering the price and that we only needed the room to sleep in, I have no problems with that, actually. Quite clean. There was still a cabinet for storage and small TV. Plenty of showers. Towels provided. Bed was comfortably soft and comfortably big enough for two adults.

Disliked: The water in the shower was definitely warm, but still not hot enough to my liking. Not really a big problem. Also, the small window in our room still managed to let in a lot of light, so if you like pitch darkness when you sleep, you should bring an eye mask.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms with wifi and kettle facilities. The staff were very helpful and had great knowledge of the local area.

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice comfy and clean place, close to metro so easy to move around the city. Really good value for the money.

Disliked: At the same time it is really far from the centre, so you have to be back before the metro line closes (about 23), but it wasn't a problem as it was so cold you wouldn't stay longer in the city. It is not really about hostel, but winter I guess - there was no hot water for a day, which was inconvenient, but all was good on the second day. No proper heating in the hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Beverley Powell

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2012 Beverley would recommend this property

Liked: My room was small but adequate. The staff were really helpful. Overall a good value for money hostel which is easy to find from the airport via the metro.

Disliked: There was no hot water the night I stayed but the staff organised a room in an another hostel next door for us to shower in, which was good. No food available but they do sell snacks.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle Roderick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: only shanghai hostel relatively close to Hongqiao airport

Disliked: a man appeared to be living long term in the room we were allocated. His clothes were hung everywhere including over our beds. There was therefore very little space to put our bags and the room looked like it had not been cleaned in a very long time.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dean Finch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: The room was good and the wifi worked well. Location was fine, and easy to find from the metro.

Disliked: everything was ok. Not great, but ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fiona Turnbull

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: it was very close to the metro station - made getting to the airport a breeze

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Stafford

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

15 December 2011 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, nice, well decorated, spacious, visually attractive room, free wifi in room, helpful english-speaking staff

Disliked: no complaints

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It is located close to the subway stop and since it is away from the center of the city the prices is a bit cheaper.The common area is set up in such away that it is easy to engage fellow travelers.

Disliked: The heating system in the room could not be controlled.I left my room door open to allow the heat to disipate.It appears that there is a central heating system that has been set too high for the rooms making the temperature uncomfortable.This was in contrast to the lobby,where the doors could benefit from some simple weather proofing.With the gaps in the glass doors it made the lobby drafty.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riccardo maggioni

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Riccardo would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location (only 15 min by subway from the center), cheap beer. overall good value for the money!

Disliked: no window in the double room, but not too bad for a couple of day (actually the time you should spend in Shanghai)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, clean, conviniently located

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap for shanghai standards

Disliked: it could use some renovation

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011

Liked: The girl at the desk try there best.

Disliked: - the room that was booked was not availeble. - bedroom was not clean. - shower was old and not clean. - getting no sleep because there were people visiting guests in night. - guests & housekeeping shouting at the hall. - we've staid there for 5 days and there was no option to solve everything - waste of our money and didn't get sleep, so we won't recommend anyone

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to metro, you can wash and dry clothes cheaply and our room was large and comfortable. free internet access

Disliked: no food available except snacks and drinks. not much leisure space

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location to Hongqiao Airport and Railway Station is excellent. About the airport terminals: there are two terminals, and each has a different subway stop! Make sure you know which terminal to go to. About the hostel, they were willing to change the dorm room for a private room if I paid the double room price. Since no one else had reserved the dorm room (4 beds) but me, I could have it all for the double room price.

Disliked: Nothing was wrong. Everything was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: accomodation was quite good and all the facilities,staff was quite helpful...

Disliked: nothing much.....

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tomas Borecky

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Despite the long distance to the centre, it has very good and fast subway connection to every parts of the city

Disliked: the location

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Talia Kear - Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room, good size.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't in the greatest condition. The shower curtain was very old and the pipes were rusting. However, it worked fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. Although the hostel is not IN the city, it has wonderful metro access and getting anywhere is very easy. The rooms (double) are very spacious and clean.

Disliked: The common room is basically the entry hall and always crowded in the evening with a movie going on, too. Hence there is little space for everyone and it's noisy so you can't read very well. Internet is up in the rooms though, too. I don't know how much common space there is in the dorms since we only made use of our double room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shannon Piccinin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful counter staff, free wi-fi, close to the metro, clean, safe (elecronic key to enter room), movie played in lounge every night, quiet side street, great value for money.

Disliked: Wi-fi only accessible from lounge area, a little on the outskirts of Shanghai (but they're cheap, so who cares), small rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011

Liked: The closest hostel to HongQiao train station, which makes it useful when planning train trip next morning. Quite clean, nice Staff, decent looking inside

Disliked: Too far from downtown, no credit card terminal, small lobby, small rooms, clean but stinky toilets, small toilets, cheap but still not very good value for money, valuable objects left in front desk are exposed on shelves, I didn't found wifi,