HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hidden Garden Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Shanghai, China 200120

70.2% Overall Rating

78 out of 96 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

Daniel Albain thinks…

"great location, much quieter than i expected from a place so close to downtown. very friendly and helpful staff"

Read all Hidden Garden Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel
8.10 USD

Hostel 80.7% 52 reviews
Shanghai Naza International Youth Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 75.5% 32 reviews
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
8.91 USD

Hostel 79.5% 12 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.65 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.10 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.91 USD

Hostel 82.2% 38 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.2%

Overall Rating

78 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hidden Garden Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 93 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: place

Disliked: it was dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Albain

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: great location, much quieter than i expected from a place so close to downtown. very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: it was hard to find. they could use better signage

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had character.

Disliked: It's not near the metro, nor restaurants.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Coreen Sauriol

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 December 2013 Coreen would recommend this property

Liked: WIFI works well from your room, a lot of other cheap hostels don't have this. The room was okay. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Very basic, extremely low water pressure in my shower and the bathroom had a bad smell. All power and heat shut off if you don't have your card key in, so when you come back at night you may be freezing. I didn't see one other foreigner here, this is definitely not the place to stay at if you're looking to meet people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Hopkins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 September 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable place to stay. Offered a free beer on arrival and free breakfast. Room was clean and had its own private bathroom, which was also very clean. Close proximity to metro stop.

Disliked: Hard to find. Have to walk down a (not so nice looking) alley but then the hostel itself if drastically different and quite nice looking!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lucia Puente Trevino

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: Is a chinese alley, you can feel you are in a chinese neighborhood.

Disliked: It is far away from the bund...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013

Liked: Air con in the rooms, nice comfy sofas and lots of books and DVD's

Disliked: We booked a mixed 6 bed dorm. On arrival they separated my partner and I in diferent rooms, male and female and 8 bed dorm. After a while we managed to get what we paid for. We were having breakfast in the tables that are in the common area_bar_reception.And the owner came up and said we could not eat our own food there and that we nees to go outside( 11 am, 40 degrees, 1 table outside, no parasol) i ask forthe communal kitchen or other area, he says they do not have.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tingting Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Tingting would recommend this property

Liked: the good environment, eg. garden and glass room etc.

Disliked: a little far from the city center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: FOOD ,STUFF,ATMOSPHERE

Disliked: bo

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013

Liked: Cheap double rooms

Disliked: Mouldy stinky bathroom. Location not ideal. Room felt not comfortable especially the bed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sanoj gafoor

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2013 sanoj would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and super duper value for money

Disliked: sanoj left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ralf Evers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, good location

Disliked: not so clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ralf Evers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel

Disliked: not so clean

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alfredo Donadio

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013

Liked: The price was the only reason for stay here...

Disliked: Probably it's was the worst hostel that we stay in China. The staff was completely useless (except the girls) and unfriendly. The hostel don't have luggage room, a decent washing machine service and the bathroom of our room was smeely and not very clean (the first time we enter we find hairs of the previous guests in the shower). The location it's terrible, so far from the metro station and the street of the hostel it's kind of insecure at night. In brief, the hostel it's for chinese people, there's not an multicultural atmosphere and they don't offer any kind of activities or services.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price. Friendly and helpful staff, fast free WIFI. Cheap drinks. Location as in being close to the river and the financial centre, famous TV tower, subway, shops and restaurants. We arrived late at Pudong Airport and paid around 175 yuan for a taxi.

Disliked: Very dirty. Whoever responsible has no sense of cleaning a bathroom whatsoever. Pubic hair, brown disgusting dirt everywhere, on the floor, in the shower, sink, toilet. In the context of the country (been in China for 4 months now) it's probably fine by Chinese standards. Just nowhere near Western standards of hygiene. It's a different world. If you come in winter, it's freezing all over the South of China (below the Yellow River), including Shanghai. Buildings are not properly isolated at all and when entering our private room at Hidden Garden it was about 5-10 degrees C (41-50 F.). Everything had gone so cold that it took about 5 hours for the room to get warm using the aircon. Location as in right next to a very poor (slums equivalent) alley.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jess lu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2012

Liked: the garden is really cool, and the atmosphere around reception area is quite cozy.

Disliked: the room quality is not that good, and the hallway didnt smell good, but its ok with this super cheap price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Worthy

Disliked: A little long checking time

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean room, good value for the price.

Disliked: The location is not great, quite far from town.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice little retreat from Shanghai - well kept courtyard area and nice little common area

Disliked: The road to get there is grubby - not a massive problem though. Dorms look very basic - glad we booked a private double.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012

Liked: there were washing mashines and the tv was good

Disliked: It smelled heavily of desinfectant in the hallways, it smelled of dogs in the reception area and it smelled of toilet in the rooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

luis javier olarte ruiz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 luis javier would recommend this property

Liked: Esta bien ubicado, la entrada no es la mejor pero estando adentro se siente uno muy bien

Disliked: Hay cuartos con humedad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sigita Zukaite

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Sigita would recommend this property

Liked: the girls of the staff were very helpful with everything (I cannot say same about the guys of the staff). The 6-bed dormitory was quiet, had bathroom inside and lockers.hostel has nice area to hang out. and if you like animals, there are few small size dogs and few sweet cats. and there are tasty and cheap places to eat around.

Disliked: I stayed 5 days a dormitory and they cleaned the bathroom only after first 4 days! it was super dirty! they also should put warning info on the wall about "teas hops scam" as few foreigners were tricked into it and had to pay over 800 yuans, which means there are still some travelers not aware of this scam. I also did not like that there were more chinese than foreigners at this hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Robert Beveridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: After walking down a dodgy looking back alley I came to the end thinking the hostel would look just as considerably bad, but luckily I was very surprised. Nicely segregated and sits inside a nice cosy backyard, equipped with a huge lounge area and home cinema. 5 minutes walk to subway and they have enough DVD's to sink a cruiseliner if you're bored one evening. Very good valued hostel for money. Rooms aren't too bad either, shower unit is standard and beds are fine for the prices standards.

Disliked: I arrived and realised that I appeared to be the only Westerner at the hostel. Although this is not the hostels fault and I might just have arrived at the wrong time, if you're also a Westerner and are looking to meet others then you may be dissapointed. You will have to sort your washing out yourself. Staff are quiet, not as friendly as I usually encountered but are helpful when you ask them for any help. In no way rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIBATA ICHIYO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 SHIBATA would recommend this property

Liked: staff is friendly , there is a big yard and lots of DVD movies

Disliked: SHIBATA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

WESTER JDRDI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 WESTER would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good place , close to fujiazui financial district

Disliked: WESTER left no negative feedback.