We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hidden Garden Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Shanghai, China 200120

74.1% Overall Rating

88 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/11/2014)

YUHAO WU thinks…

"Very nice environment and staff. Good communicating environment. Very near to Lujiazui financial centre. Good transportation."

Read all Hidden Garden Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please contact us in advance to tell about the exact arrival time if you would arrive later than the time you put on your booking. Otherwise your reservation will be invalid.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel
9.79 USD

Hostel 76.6% 62 reviews
Shanghai Naza International Youth Hostel
10.61 USD

Hostel 73.9% 41 reviews
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
9.79 USD

Hostel 73.0% 18 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
24.97 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
11.42 USD

Hostel 88.6% 105 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.98 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
13.06 USD

Hostel 88.9% 254 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
10.61 USD

Hostel 82.4% 234 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

88 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hidden Garden Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 107 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Joel Jokinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant common areas inside as well as outside, calm, a trusting atmosphere, staff very friendly, boiled water and hot shower and cheap dorms. The hostel isn't really that hard to find and the metro lines to go elsewhere are close by as well as a local marketplace, which we completely fell in love with.

Disliked: The main thing displeased us was the smell in the rooms and sometimes in the common areas as well. You get used to the smell, which is somewhere between the stink of sewage and cat pee, but it really does get to you. Another annoying thing were the hostel's animals (cats and dogs) running around free, entering rooms from doors and windows and bothering our breakfasts. The WiFi connection is really slow and it's hard sometimes to even send out e-mails.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice buildings, very green, has a very friendly atmosphere and staff were super-helpful!

Disliked: The hostel is hard to find - it's down an alleyway off the main road. A map or clearer directions would be helpful. Also, the shower pressure was very low.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011

Liked: Very cheap, has the basics, with a good large open community area.

Disliked: A minor mixup with the booked room was resolved, but the room had a lot of mould beside the bed. Also the staff were variable and sometimes rude and very inappropriate. Location is ok, but not well connected for tourist sites.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yoku hicy

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 September 2011 yoku would recommend this property

Liked: A good experience here with people there and met many friends.

Disliked: Everything is well here and you will enjoy the stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice helpfull staff!

Disliked: the smell in the room!! just ugly.. smells like mustiness ...=(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy Louise Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Amy Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, big dorm rooms

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly relaxed atmosphere, great staff

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marcu tay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2011 marcu would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean, TV in the private rooms. The aircon was working very well. There was a nice bag to hold all the maps that the previous tourists can leave behind for future tourists. Value for money .

Disliked: It was rather far from the Mrt. We suggest that in the directions, they should list down the buses that one can take from the mrt. it will be useful to have a map to list down all the nearby amenities. It will be very useful

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: warm living room and nice staff

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the metro station.clean and cheap,very value for money

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel's communal areas were really neat. The lounge area was large and very comfortable. Beer and food prices were extremely reasonable, especially breakfast. I would suggest this place for warm weather, as the coolest hang out area is outside. Also, their courtyard area has great sunbathing potential. Hot water was great in the rooms.

Disliked: It was located a little far from the subway, and there is not much immediately around it. Pudong is quite a hike from the hostel- I'd advise taking the metro. Additionally, the directions for the place are a little confusing. When you leave Exit 4 of the subway, make sure to TURN RIGHT on Pudong avenue, as the directions omit this crucial step. Our room smelled a little bad, like sewage. lastly, there weren't many people staying there when we were there, so it was not a fun atmosphere. While this all sounds negative, our stay here was overall good.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

sarah lawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 August 2010

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: from start to finish this place is a mess. the owner was rude and uncaring unless you were chinese. The rooms were overpriced and facilities were filthy both inside and out. the location was ok but quite far out of central shanghai and difficult to get to at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all in all a nice hostel, I enjoyed my stay very much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's cheap. expect just what you paid.bit far from metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Percival

12 May 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to come and relax after a long journey: with a friendly atmosphere, the staff here will help you with every request, and always with a smile.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are furnished simply but functionally. The place is all but posh, but has everything you need. All in all it is pricy and the staff is not so over-bureaucratic as has been exprerienced in other places (you ask for a LAN-cable - thay give it to you without deposit or receit). This establishes an atmosphere of trust which is quite nice. The situation of the hostel is a bit far from the station and the entrance really is "hidden" to a certain degree, but if you find it, you are welcomed by beautifull flowers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Shearer

29 March 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: You can't fault the place. Good mix of Chinese and Western Guests, nice dogs, very pretty chef.I would stay here again, and indeed, I am staying here again now.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 March 2010

Liked: We only stayed here one night out of the five we had booked. When we arrived the bed had not been changed in our private room. The shower was unacceptably bad compared to other hostels in China.They dont really have a kitchen - just a microwave and a rice cooker and you will need to bring your own cutlery and plates so cooking for yourself isn't really an option. They do offer quite nice big breakfasts for 20Y though. It is located (just about)in the pudong, which means travelling in to the centre and back everyday.We moved to a hostel near E.Nanjing road which was by far the best decision - much closer to everything and nicer for a minimal price differnence. It was also quite cold but we were staying in the middle of winter. I think staying there in the summer would be much better as they have a nice bar, a pool table, free interenet and nice lounges. It is all open air so will be lovely in the summer time.The staff were very very friendly and always happy to help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hostel - my favourite one in Shanghai

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they have two huskeys, to protect hostel in the night. (they don´t bark in the night) they build new facilities for the EXPO

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is new, a little bit hidden, very quiet. brand new billiard table with best cues I have ever had in a hostel till now.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.