HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 64%

Safety 78%

Staff 83%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Important Information

Please contact us in advance to tell about the exact arrival time if you would arrive later than the time you put on your booking. Otherwise your reservation will be invalid.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 64%

Safety 78%

Staff 83%

Value 77%

Showing 21-26 of 26 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The courtyard area is quite nice

Disliked: Despite reserving a particular room online, I was told when I arrived that all that was available was a bed in the 12-bed dormitory. The beds are the flimsiest I've ever come across. The walls of the dormitory are made from thin glass, and the dormitory is surrounded by a wooden walkway to the bathroom - the end result is that you hear every single step of the steady crowd going to and from the bathroom. The place is fine if you speak some Chinese, but it might be difficult to communicate with the staff if you only know English. The location is pretty inconvenient too.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: place

Disliked: it was dirty

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had character.

Disliked: It's not near the metro, nor restaurants.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: WIFI works well from your room, a lot of other cheap hostels don't have this. The room was okay. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Very basic, extremely low water pressure in my shower and the bathroom had a bad smell. All power and heat shut off if you don't have your card key in, so when you come back at night you may be freezing. I didn't see one other foreigner here, this is definitely not the place to stay at if you're looking to meet people.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very affordable place to stay. Offered a free beer on arrival and free breakfast. Room was clean and had its own private bathroom, which was also very clean. Close proximity to metro stop.

Disliked: Hard to find. Have to walk down a (not so nice looking) alley but then the hostel itself if drastically different and quite nice looking!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Air con in the rooms, nice comfy sofas and lots of books and DVD's

Disliked: We booked a mixed 6 bed dorm. On arrival they separated my partner and I in diferent rooms, male and female and 8 bed dorm. After a while we managed to get what we paid for.We were having breakfast in the tables that are in the common area_bar_reception.And the owner came up and said we could not eat our own food there and that we nees to go outside( 11 am, 40 degrees, 1 table outside, no parasol) i ask forthe communal kitchen or other area, he says they do not have.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Is a chinese alley, you can feel you are in a chinese neighborhood.

Disliked: It is far away from the bund...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the good environment, eg. garden and glass room etc.

Disliked: a little far from the city center.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: FOOD ,STUFF,ATMOSPHERE

Disliked: bo

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap double rooms

Disliked: Mouldy stinky bathroom. Location not ideal. Room felt not comfortable especially the bed.

Check Availability