HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel Shanghai

Hostel

No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 68%

Location 66%

Safety 78%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Important Information

Please contact us in advance to tell about the exact arrival time if you would arrive later than the time you put on your booking. Otherwise your reservation will be invalid.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 68%

Location 66%

Safety 78%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

Showing 21-27 of 27 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very affordable place to stay. Offered a free beer on arrival and free breakfast. Room was clean and had its own private bathroom, which was also very clean. Close proximity to metro stop.

Disliked: Hard to find. Have to walk down a (not so nice looking) alley but then the hostel itself if drastically different and quite nice looking!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Air con in the rooms, nice comfy sofas and lots of books and DVD's

Disliked: We booked a mixed 6 bed dorm. On arrival they separated my partner and I in diferent rooms, male and female and 8 bed dorm. After a while we managed to get what we paid for.We were having breakfast in the tables that are in the common area_bar_reception.And the owner came up and said we could not eat our own food there and that we nees to go outside( 11 am, 40 degrees, 1 table outside, no parasol) i ask forthe communal kitchen or other area, he says they do not have.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Is a chinese alley, you can feel you are in a chinese neighborhood.

Disliked: It is far away from the bund...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the good environment, eg. garden and glass room etc.

Disliked: a little far from the city center.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: FOOD ,STUFF,ATMOSPHERE

Disliked: bo

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap double rooms

Disliked: Mouldy stinky bathroom. Location not ideal. Room felt not comfortable especially the bed.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly staff and super duper value for money

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap price. Friendly and helpful staff, fast free WIFI. Cheap drinks.Location as in being close to the river and the financial centre, famous TV tower, subway, shops and restaurants. We arrived late at Pudong Airport and paid around 175 yuan for a taxi.

Disliked: Very dirty. Whoever responsible has no sense of cleaning a bathroom whatsoever. Pubic hair, brown disgusting dirt everywhere, on the floor, in the shower, sink, toilet.In the context of the country (been in China for 4 months now) it's probably fine by Chinese standards. Just nowhere near Western standards of hygiene. It's a different world.If you come in winter, it's freezing all over the South of China (below the Yellow River), including Shanghai. Buildings are not properly isolated at all and when entering our private room at Hidden Garden it was about 5-10 degrees C (41-50 F.). Everything had gone so cold that it took about 5 hours for the room to get warm using the aircon.Location as in right next to a very poor (slums equivalent) alley.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the garden is really cool, and the atmosphere around reception area is quite cozy.

Disliked: the room quality is not that good, and the hallway didnt smell good, but its ok with this super cheap price.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The price was the only reason for stay here...

Disliked: Probably it's was the worst hostel that we stay in China. The staff was completely useless (except the girls) and unfriendly. The hostel don't have luggage room, a decent washing machine service and the bathroom of our room was smeely and not very clean (the first time we enter we find hairs of the previous guests in the shower). The location it's terrible, so far from the metro station and the street of the hostel it's kind of insecure at night. In brief, the hostel it's for chinese people, there's not an multicultural atmosphere and they don't offer any kind of activities or services.

Check Availability