We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hidden Garden Youth Hostel

Hostel | No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Shanghai, China 200120

71.2% Overall Rating

88 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2015)

Matthew gibb thinks…

"It isn't too far from the subway. This was a great place to feel just like a local person. While walking down the alley to the place quite a few abandoned chairs litter the way. Most people in…"

Read all Hidden Garden Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please contact us in advance to tell about the exact arrival time if you would arrive later than the time you put on your booking. Otherwise your reservation will be invalid.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Shanghai Beehome Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 75.8% 63 reviews
Shanghai Naza International Youth Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 73.9% 41 reviews
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 70.3% 20 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
20.79 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 90.3% 109 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.60 USD

Hostel 79.7% 45 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
11.72 USD

Hostel 87.0% 259 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 82.3% 235 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.2%

Overall Rating

88 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hidden Garden Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 109 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sanoj gafoor

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2013 sanoj would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and super duper value for money

Disliked: sanoj left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ralf Evers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, good location

Disliked: not so clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ralf Evers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel

Disliked: not so clean

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alfredo Donadio

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013

Liked: The price was the only reason for stay here...

Disliked: Probably it's was the worst hostel that we stay in China. The staff was completely useless (except the girls) and unfriendly. The hostel don't have luggage room, a decent washing machine service and the bathroom of our room was smeely and not very clean (the first time we enter we find hairs of the previous guests in the shower). The location it's terrible, so far from the metro station and the street of the hostel it's kind of insecure at night. In brief, the hostel it's for chinese people, there's not an multicultural atmosphere and they don't offer any kind of activities or services.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price. Friendly and helpful staff, fast free WIFI. Cheap drinks. Location as in being close to the river and the financial centre, famous TV tower, subway, shops and restaurants. We arrived late at Pudong Airport and paid around 175 yuan for a taxi.

Disliked: Very dirty. Whoever responsible has no sense of cleaning a bathroom whatsoever. Pubic hair, brown disgusting dirt everywhere, on the floor, in the shower, sink, toilet. In the context of the country (been in China for 4 months now) it's probably fine by Chinese standards. Just nowhere near Western standards of hygiene. It's a different world. If you come in winter, it's freezing all over the South of China (below the Yellow River), including Shanghai. Buildings are not properly isolated at all and when entering our private room at Hidden Garden it was about 5-10 degrees C (41-50 F.). Everything had gone so cold that it took about 5 hours for the room to get warm using the aircon. Location as in right next to a very poor (slums equivalent) alley.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jess lu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2012

Liked: the garden is really cool, and the atmosphere around reception area is quite cozy.

Disliked: the room quality is not that good, and the hallway didnt smell good, but its ok with this super cheap price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Worthy

Disliked: A little long checking time

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean room, good value for the price.

Disliked: The location is not great, quite far from town.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice little retreat from Shanghai - well kept courtyard area and nice little common area

Disliked: The road to get there is grubby - not a massive problem though. Dorms look very basic - glad we booked a private double.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012

Liked: there were washing mashines and the tv was good

Disliked: It smelled heavily of desinfectant in the hallways, it smelled of dogs in the reception area and it smelled of toilet in the rooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

luis javier olarte ruiz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 luis javier would recommend this property

Liked: Esta bien ubicado, la entrada no es la mejor pero estando adentro se siente uno muy bien

Disliked: Hay cuartos con humedad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sigita Zukaite

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Sigita would recommend this property

Liked: the girls of the staff were very helpful with everything (I cannot say same about the guys of the staff). The 6-bed dormitory was quiet, had bathroom inside and lockers.hostel has nice area to hang out. and if you like animals, there are few small size dogs and few sweet cats. and there are tasty and cheap places to eat around.

Disliked: I stayed 5 days a dormitory and they cleaned the bathroom only after first 4 days! it was super dirty! they also should put warning info on the wall about "teas hops scam" as few foreigners were tricked into it and had to pay over 800 yuans, which means there are still some travelers not aware of this scam. I also did not like that there were more chinese than foreigners at this hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Robert Beveridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: After walking down a dodgy looking back alley I came to the end thinking the hostel would look just as considerably bad, but luckily I was very surprised. Nicely segregated and sits inside a nice cosy backyard, equipped with a huge lounge area and home cinema. 5 minutes walk to subway and they have enough DVD's to sink a cruiseliner if you're bored one evening. Very good valued hostel for money. Rooms aren't too bad either, shower unit is standard and beds are fine for the prices standards.

Disliked: I arrived and realised that I appeared to be the only Westerner at the hostel. Although this is not the hostels fault and I might just have arrived at the wrong time, if you're also a Westerner and are looking to meet others then you may be dissapointed. You will have to sort your washing out yourself. Staff are quiet, not as friendly as I usually encountered but are helpful when you ask them for any help. In no way rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIBATA ICHIYO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 SHIBATA would recommend this property

Liked: staff is friendly , there is a big yard and lots of DVD movies

Disliked: SHIBATA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

WESTER JDRDI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 WESTER would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good place , close to fujiazui financial district

Disliked: WESTER left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zuleika Sc hwarz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2012 Zuleika would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet hostel, lobby and courtyard to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Located in the Pudong area - a bit of a way to the city center though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gemma Webb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012

Liked: Staff were helpful, I was able to cancel my second night and got my money back.

Disliked: The Hostel was not in a great location. Although it is a 10 minute walk from the Subway you feel like you are in the suburbs of the city. The lounge area was dingey and not very welcoming and although they have a nice conservatory area outside it was full of people smoking. The Hostel seemed very popular with Chinese guys who were looking for jobs in the city. As a girl travelling by myself I did not enjoy it or feel particuarly secure. There was no where to meet other like minded travellers and not really many westerners staying there. The bunk beds looked like they were made for children as the ladder was very small, they were't particuarly stable and not very roomy or comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MCEVOY BENJAMIN

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 MCEVOY would recommend this property

Liked: it is a cozy hotel

Disliked: MCEVOY left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Patterson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, lovely courtyard and cute dogs. Quite a good price for a private ensuite double and it was a nice room. Helpful and friendly staff. Great place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joaquin Sanchez Mariño

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012 Joaquin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really nice. The staff is very helpful and cool. We stayed four nights. It has a beautiful garden where u can have some drinks. Internet is everywhere, they have lots of networks around the property.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHABANE SAMY

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 September 2012 CHABANE would recommend this property

Liked: i had a nice stay here , good public area and people

Disliked: CHABANE left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MARODSZ AGATA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 MARODSZ would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel , it is worthy to stay

Disliked: it is a little moist

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Heinecke

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I like the backyard and shared room for hostel guests. It gives so much cozy and lovely decorated space for meeting people, chit chatting and enjoying. The atmosphere is so nice. It contributes a big amount to beautiful cross-cultual encounters and communication.

Disliked: The bathroom is a kind of dirty and not very user friendly. Nothing to hand a towel or a small board where to put your stuff while taking a shower.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YING CHUN CHEN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 YING CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: very nice fellows there , a cozy hostel

Disliked: YING CHUN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHOMA SATO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 SHOMA would recommend this property

Liked: that is best memory in my life , before i was leaving a day early , we have a beer party , almost everybody got drunk and threw up . i miss all there.

Disliked: nothing