HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China 200021

80.1% Overall Rating

205 out of 231 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

"It is great that rooms have no windows at all so that it is quiet. Very central location."

Read all Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 574 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.1% 86 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 78.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

205 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 206 of 219 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location, clean, good food

Disliked: to the subway its a bit far, its not a problem when u have no luggage, but the way from the subway to the hostel with luggage it really annoying, the stuff at the reception also could be friendlier

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is great that rooms have no windows at all so that it is quiet. Very central location.

Disliked: The place is not clean. I stayed there for a week and only the trashbin in our room was emptied but it was neither swept nor mopped once. On top of the cupboards were big layers of dust. The showers are really dirty in the evening and seem not to get cleaned during the day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Cute little double room -Good location with nice chinese neighbourhood

Disliked: -There was some construction work, which was quite noisy during the night and the early morning. - Luggage room didn't seem save.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good.

Disliked: the room is average. Because there is no window to the outside, the air inside is bad. other stuff is oK.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff / Location

Disliked: No window in the rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Schmolck Natalie

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Schmolck would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the hostel. Although it is highly recommended to install some more windows or at least air refreshing tools. Besides the not-so-fresh-air the hostel is nice, well-located, the staff is really helpful and the wifi works well.

Disliked: Schmolck left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helped us with all requests we had. For this price you cannot expect more.

Disliked: Bad air in the whole hostel because there are no windows. There is a lot of mould on the walls.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, central

Disliked: It is a floor on a big building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Horne

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good location

Disliked: I don't really have anything to dislike about it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

GULAB UPADHYAY

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 GULAB would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: no vegeterian food variety

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service, large livingroom/bar with nice selection of food and drinks.

Disliked: Small, dirty shared kitchen without cutlery, pots or plates.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Clean facilities.

Disliked: The windows are thin so there's a lot of noise coming through. A/C doesn't work well. Luggage storage room did not have a lock on it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was quite friendly and helped us with our questions. Location near to People's Square was great, everything could be reached by subway within short, even by walking. Our room was quite big and we had windows and could see daylight (not all hostel rooms provide windows with access to fresh air).

Disliked: The windows weren't really shut, it was a bit freezy and no heating. Our room hadn't been cleaned once during our stay (4 days), only rubbish bin had been emptied. As the hostel is right beside a huge market for locals, it was very noisy in the morning, but interesting to watch people though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, new, friendly, nice lounge area, central location tucked away in a quiet street..

Disliked: air conditioning not working, i went to another place for a week and came back to find that its still not fixed (but they provided a fan).. using the washing machine costs 11 RMB, compared to other hostels that only charge 5RMB.. No TV provided, that apparently is broken as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Su

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2012 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good bathroom, warm atmosphere.

Disliked: Location is not so well, 10min maybe more from subway.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our double room was very beautiful with a big window and had also a window in the bathroom. The Hostel itself is 20min away from the Bund, and 10min away from the Shanghai museum, the food street is only 5min away. You can use the self-service kitchen with fridge and freezer.

Disliked: The WiFi was very weak, even in the public areas. The noise from the street was a pain, especially in the morning. The bar/cafeteria was closed, so that you didnt meet others guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, liked how it was decorated, great location in central Shanghai, friendly staff who spoke English

Disliked: Rooms were quite stuffy as had no window & air conditioning didn't seem to work properly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Location! Good value for your money!

Disliked: No aircon in the common room on 3rd floor

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Valeria Esther Goitea

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012

Liked: I do not really like it.

Disliked: Every day I had to go to reception to ask for toilet paper because otherwise, the garbage that was thrown in the bathroom or in the same room no one stirred. If you do not bring your computer are lost ... for being a long journey and I have not taken my security computer and Hostel provides computers for information only. After several requests, one of the girls at the desk gave me his own computer. She told me that the building next door had a place with computers but when I went they asked me to scan my passport to give me one!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vural GORGUN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Vural would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Very comfortable double bad with 4 feather pillows. Big room and comfortable bathroom. Internet is just ok but not for watching football matches online:) 10-15 mins walking distance to the peoples square but peoples square is the less secure place in Shanghai so it better to be careful when walking back to the hostel in dark.

Disliked: There is a bed smell right in front of the hostel so it is anoying everytime. And also it is little noisy in early in the mornings for the rooms on the street side.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012

Liked: good location

Disliked: the staff are not smart. The AC was out of service after the typhoon, they just ask us to bear to sleep in the dorm that as hot as oven!!! The staffs were not helpful on solving our uncomfortable. They did ask one of my roommate to check out and ask her to find another hostel without any compensate.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Great location.Confortable beds.Clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012

Liked: Customer left no positive feedback

Disliked: - unhelpful staff, couldn't answer basic questions about the metro, airport buses and medical facilities -staff had limited English, seemed inept and unwelcoming - very hard beds in dorm - no free breakfast, common tv area, bar or restaurant as advertised - faulty washing machine - no lines to hang laundry, it was in a store room - common area used as local trades smoking and drinking lounge with the manager. -over booked, four people had to sleep in the common area - reception area constantly had a bad smell - toilets unclean and smelly - bad security, can open door to rooms without key card (wave hand in front of sensor) and dorm room by walking through the window - AC doesn't cool the room - all rooms on third floor up stairs ( no elevator) - overall the hostel didn't have a social feel and would be hard to meet fellow travelers

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012

Liked: - fast internet through the building -plenty of showers and basins -close to two metros and 2km from the bund - close to ya'an road food street - much better to stay in a double room than dorm, comfy bed with six pillows and pretty decor

Disliked: - unhelpful staff, couldn't answer basic questions about the metro, airport buses and medical facilities -staff had limited English, seemed inept and unwelcoming - very hard beds in dorm - no free breakfast, common tv area, bar or restaurant as advertised - faulty washing machine - no lines to hang laundry, it was in a store room - common area used as local trades smoking and drinking lounge with the manager. -over booked, four people had to sleep in the common area - reception area constantly had a bad smell - toilets unclean and smelly - bad security, can open door to rooms without key card (wave hand in front of sensor) and dorm room by walking through the window - AC doesn't cool the room - all rooms on third floor up stairs ( no elevator) - overall the hostel didn't have a social feel and would be hard to meet fellow

The property's response is...