We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

90.4% Overall Rating

544 out of 587 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2015)

MARK MCCULLUM thinks…

"Great location, with incredible food at the restaurant on the ground floor and at most other places on the street, we had a double private and it felt like a mid-range hotel. We were really impressed."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.41
  • Breakfast USD 4.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 82.3% 235 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.71 USD

Hostel 84.0% 206 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 87.0% 259 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
35.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
20.88 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.21 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 109 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.64 USD

Hostel 79.7% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

544 out of 587 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 509 of 567 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, good restaurant attached

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK MCCULLUM

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy

19 July 2015 MARK would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, with incredible food at the restaurant on the ground floor and at most other places on the street, we had a double private and it felt like a mid-range hotel. We were really impressed.

Disliked: Could have had better breakfast in their own bar, but doesn't really matter as so many choices on the street, also the laundry facilities were good but expensive.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zakupy
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonably good location, 2 minutes from metro, plenty of restaurants nearby. 10-15 minutes walk from Nanjing Road.

Disliked: At times a funny smell coming from the room (not sure if it was from the toilet, shower or outside). Toilet and shower cubicles were surrounded only by transparent glass which was kind of strange.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The hostel was located close to a major central metro station. The staff was also really helpful.

Disliked: Maybe the hostel was quiet when I stayed there because there wasn't much atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

11 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, newly renovated rooms, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadine Adler

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

19 January 2015 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really clean, I loved the shower (strong water pressure and hot!). The staff was very friendly and helped us with all our questions. The bar in the 5th floor is really nice (probably in summer even better!). Downstaires there is a good restaurant if you are tired from the day. The wifi ist good and stable. Very good location, you can walk to most of the imported spots or take the nearby subway....Just loved it!

Disliked: The bar is a little overpriced, but really just a little!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location: close to center.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Ballardie

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

10 December 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellently located hostel near excellent food street. Walkable to lots of Sights and metro lines. Has a lift! And a cool little bar upstairs. The Shaanix restaurant on the ground floor is so good!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roy Delaney

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

24 September 2014 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: As it was our first stop in China we were a little nervous about finding the place. But it was easy to find, and fantastically located right by People's Park, and on one of the best food streets in town. Lots of the city's headline attractions are in easy walking distance, and the restaurant downstairs is tasty and veg friendly. Excellent Chinese debut for us.

Disliked: It would have been nice if the folks turnng the floor below our room into a bar didn't start work at 7:30am!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Azahara Benitez Almarza

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

20 September 2014 Azahara would recommend this property

Liked: I slept in a dorm and they have huge lockers to keep your stuff.

Disliked: Is not very clean. They never clean under the beds and just mop occasionally.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy

19 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and the food in the restaurant on the groundlevel is realy good. Good internetco ection

Disliked: Not realy negative points, the prices in the terracecafe are a little high.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Biznes / konferencja

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Newly renovated and very clean rooms.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robyn Anderson

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy

16 August 2014 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftop bar and clean rooms. Good location very close to subway.

Disliked: Staff were unfriendly and never smiled. Cleaners were very noisy whenever they came in, even if people were sleeping.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It is within walking distance of People's Square, the Museum, Pedestrian Walk, and the Bund.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sam

Biznes / konferencja

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wright

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

04 July 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: A couple of days after my stay I found myself 'stranded' in Beijing for 12 hours between trains. Went to Dragon King and asked if they had a room. They didn't as they were fully booked. However, they let me hang about and even gave me a towel for a shower. When I asked what should I pay for this, they said nothing- happy to help. Wasn't this nice of them

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aafke Broertjes

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

16 June 2014 Aafke would recommend this property

Liked: Clean nice room

Disliked: Aafke left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhang Yingyu

Sam

Relaks / spa

25 May 2014 Zhang would recommend this property

Liked: The most thing that I love and I care about is the working staffs there are very friendly and hospitable. I tried many different kinds of hostels before and nothing is more important than feeling welcome and homely-like. They talk to me very often and ask me any improvement needed to be done in order to accommodate me better. One of the most good things is they won't give you the look if you don't feel like drinking in the bar.

Disliked: No kitchen room. Kind of inconvenient for someone like me who wants to cook sometimes. To be fair, they don't have that facility in most of the hostels in China.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

typu 'City Break'

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location nearby many attractions of Shanghai. the hostel just finished the renovation as room facilities are perfect. i always stay in the dorm during my journey ,the bed is the most soft i have ever stayed. rooftop bar is good for drink and breakfast. friendly staff,i would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonas Koepke

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

05 May 2014 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, good location

Disliked: the staff is helpful but could be nicer, lots of constructions going on inside the building so it can be very noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service provided by Jacky, Snog & the team, newly upgraded room with modern design, much improved bath area with elderly friendly flooring, excellent location near to MRT, plenty of yummy eateries & minimarts around

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Claire Asher

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

23 April 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The bar was nice and the staff there were really nice, the food was basic but very tasty. Location was pretty good.

Disliked: A bit difficult to find the place as the instructions are a bit complicated and I ended up getting quite lost and wandering around the area for half an hour or so before I found it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sam

typu 'City Break'

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and super friendly staff.

Disliked: There's construction going on at the moment, it was noisy from 8am throughout the day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice.

Disliked: The only real common area is the rooftop bar, which is relatively small. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, kind, and patient. I loved the rooftop restaurant and bar, they had some great food!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.