HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

85.6% Overall Rating

524 out of 567 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.44
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.4% 178 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.17 USD

Hostel 92.6% 241 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.71 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 85.6% 652 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 88.5% 81 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

524 out of 567 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 497 of 549 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robyn Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftop bar and clean rooms. Good location very close to subway.

Disliked: Staff were unfriendly and never smiled. Cleaners were very noisy whenever they came in, even if people were sleeping.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It is within walking distance of People's Square, the Museum, Pedestrian Walk, and the Bund.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wright

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: A couple of days after my stay I found myself 'stranded' in Beijing for 12 hours between trains. Went to Dragon King and asked if they had a room. They didn't as they were fully booked. However, they let me hang about and even gave me a towel for a shower. When I asked what should I pay for this, they said nothing- happy to help. Wasn't this nice of them

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aafke Broertjes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Aafke would recommend this property

Liked: Clean nice room

Disliked: Aafke left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhang Yingyu

Alone

Relaxation/spa

25 May 2014 Zhang would recommend this property

Liked: The most thing that I love and I care about is the working staffs there are very friendly and hospitable. I tried many different kinds of hostels before and nothing is more important than feeling welcome and homely-like. They talk to me very often and ask me any improvement needed to be done in order to accommodate me better. One of the most good things is they won't give you the look if you don't feel like drinking in the bar.

Disliked: No kitchen room. Kind of inconvenient for someone like me who wants to cook sometimes. To be fair, they don't have that facility in most of the hostels in China.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location nearby many attractions of Shanghai. the hostel just finished the renovation as room facilities are perfect. i always stay in the dorm during my journey ,the bed is the most soft i have ever stayed. rooftop bar is good for drink and breakfast. friendly staff,i would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonas Koepke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, good location

Disliked: the staff is helpful but could be nicer, lots of constructions going on inside the building so it can be very noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service provided by Jacky, Snog & the team, newly upgraded room with modern design, much improved bath area with elderly friendly flooring, excellent location near to MRT, plenty of yummy eateries & minimarts around

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Claire Asher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The bar was nice and the staff there were really nice, the food was basic but very tasty. Location was pretty good.

Disliked: A bit difficult to find the place as the instructions are a bit complicated and I ended up getting quite lost and wandering around the area for half an hour or so before I found it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and super friendly staff.

Disliked: There's construction going on at the moment, it was noisy from 8am throughout the day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice.

Disliked: The only real common area is the rooftop bar, which is relatively small. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, kind, and patient. I loved the rooftop restaurant and bar, they had some great food!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Work / volunteering

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The single room was very clean and comfortable. There was a Shaanxi food restaurant next door. Om nom nom.

Disliked: There weren't any cats.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kieran Jury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere and really cheap with awesome location.

Disliked: ...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emily Dellit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are kept pretty clean and they have a nice if quiet rooftop bar. Really good local restaurant downstairs. It's also a great location 10 mins walk to people square and you can walk to most sites Yunnan nan lu is a popular street food / local food street as well so you get a little taste of the old shanghai here.

Disliked: They don't provide toilet paper in the rooms - ridiculous. Apparently it's one roll per week on dorm rooms but I've been here ten days and only seen one half roll.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great customer service

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013

Liked: Big lockers to store bags and close to the subway.

Disliked: Bathrooms were en suite and very dirty- the drain in the shower was clogged so you had 3 inches of still water with bugs and dirt floating in it. We notified the staff of the clogged drain and dirty bathroom but nothing was done. Common areas were very quiet... not a very social place (during our time there at least). All the lights were burnt out in the room... again, staff did nothing to fix the problem when notified. There are tons of hostels to stay at in Shanghai.... don't choose this one!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

DONNA MAY TAN

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2013 DONNA MAY would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the mtr station, mini mart, budget restaurants, foot massage salon, and a restaurant is located right inside the hostel in front of the elevator. The staff speaks English, and they have an airport pick-up service if you happen to land in the airport at midnight.

Disliked: DONNA MAY left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sherilyn Duckworth

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2013 Sherilyn would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar, including the coffee and breakfast sandwiches Room cleaned everyday Good location

Disliked: Some staff couldn't speak much English and therefore made it difficult for them to help us with info on the sites and getting around

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013

Liked: extremely good location foodstreets just outside the door restaurant to be recommended

Disliked: property was pretty much run-down bathrooms weren't clean for most of the time smells from the restaurant in the lower floors

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rune Tøttenborg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Rune would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good and the staff is friendly and helpful

Disliked: Don't like that there is badroom and toilet in the 6 and 8 persons dorms becauce i think it desturbs to much. If one is taking a shower the toilet can't be used and the other way around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jose Daniel Valdivia Navarrete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Jose Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not far from Bund, French concession area, Xintiandi, Nanjing Rd, People Square... Nice rooftop lounge area and nice staff. Also laundry service at good price.

Disliked: As most chinese hostels: toilet not working (this was even worse than most places not sucking almost anything at all), a little smelly old room and strange smell to humidity at the corridors of the floor I was staying.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Rueda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: Este hostel me ha fascinado, de los 4 hostel que visité en China, Este ha sido el mejor por la ubicación, limpieza, servicios. Queda a pocos minutos a pie de la famos calle comercial Nanjing lu, también se puede ir caminando a Peoplés Square, Schanghai Museum y al Bund. Por la calle del hotel hay pequeños restauranres y salas de masajes. El hostel tiene su propio restaurante, muy bueno! y en la 5 planta hay una cafetería-bar donde puedes conocer gente, atomar cerveza y.....conectarte a Facebook!!!!

Disliked: Todo perfecto!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Gee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay. Central location, clean and friendly... Roof top bar does the best cup Of coffee.... Would really recommend on a budget.. Take a city map none in hotel...

Disliked: Wall are slightly thin!!!!!