HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

81.0% Overall Rating

511 out of 554 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.38
  • Breakfast USD 4.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.26 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

511 out of 554 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great singles at a reasonable price!

Disliked: No real complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was greate. Good location, clian room, helpfull staff. And very good price.

Disliked: No

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beds were hard but ok

Disliked: ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Though the entrance lobby does not look impressive, but the room facilities and services meet the expectations in term of cleanliness, space and security. They have a roof garden which enable me to meet other tourists to share tour experience.

Disliked: I heard utensils- washing sounds and people - chatting voices at around 1.30 am dawn from my room. I checked with the staff the next day and I was informed that the noices came from the nearby restaurant. I understand that was not within their control.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011

Liked: A mediocre hostel. Conveniently located and that's all.

Disliked: Extremely unfriendly and poorly informed service at the reception. The toilet constantly clogged up. Poor internet connection. Very thin walls in the room – you could even hear snoring from the next room, let alone the constant parties. The night hours are virtually non-existent in this hostel! Better wear ear plugs if you plan to stay there. Watch out for the restaurant at the hotel! We ordered and paid for three dishes. Got only two. When we asked for the missing one, the waiter just took our bill away and never returned. Later the staff claimed we had been served and ate all the three dishes. Dreadful service that treats customers like dirt!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, fabulous roof terrace with free internet and free WiFi. Nice genuinely chinese restaurant on the first floor.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Legowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: everything was ok

Disliked: everything was ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the middle of the centre

Disliked: the bed were pretty hard, but the rooms were clean and nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar is really a good and relax place to meet friends there. The staff taught me Chinese . It's really a good place for a foreigner to stay there.The breaskfast which provided there is nice. They are very friendly. They always try their best to help you when you need help. The room is clean . And it is very convenient because of the good location.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and big room, helpful, kindly and helpful staff. Great, cheap and beautiful roof-top bar. Lots of tours and acrobatics. Near to subway station, People`s square, the bund, franch concession. etc. It is the best hostel i have been.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David French

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good facilities and on the surface they covered everything that you wanted and expected. The roof top bar was a great idea but in cooler weather was kind of deserted when we were there. The food quality in the restaurant downstairs was great. Guys who checked us in were fantastic and very chipper!

Disliked: That chipper-ness didn't really last and after check in it kind of turned to apathy. The service was pretty average and not very friendly. The restaurant staff were almost rude....almost.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty average hostel really. Best part about it is the location. Safe place, lockers in the rooms and showers work well. Staff are generally friendly, apart from one woman who was kinda rude when we arrived. But the rest f them would write stuff in mandarin for us.

Disliked: No towels for dorms...even if you are willing to pay for washing. Beds are seriously hard even by chinas standards Lack of real common room...so not an amazing place to meet people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wing Chung Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Wing Chung would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and easy to locate.

Disliked: My room doesn't have windows.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perhaps it was the timing but we hardly met anyone foreign there. not that i missed foreigners, but it is definitely a way to find & exchange information and in that i found the place a bit lacking.

Disliked: there was nothing to dislike but the site won't let me leave this box blank...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i go a lot of time and i like so much, the staff is very nice , speak english and all the time try to helpfull and with its location you can go walk to the most important turistic places and in the same street there are a lot of restaurants and the subway is very near around 5 minutes.

Disliked: anything, i went 7 times and all of them were well

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Bek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Really big room, bery nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing, I liked it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, and value for money.

Disliked: grey towels-use some bleach!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & Bright Great location

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karen Ng

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro. Big rooms. Good Value for money! Also they were taking care of a little ginger kitten while I was there

Disliked: No real complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! Rooms were very clean and comfortable. There was own hot&cold water automat in the private room and more than enough hot water in th showers. Bar on the rooftop is wonderful and staff was more than helpfull. We were around China about a month and this was probably the best guesthouse we stayed!!

Disliked: I have nothing to complain.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Helmut Adam

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Helmut would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location.

Disliked: It was rather cold everywhere in the building. The heating in the rooms worked via ac. We were travelling in a group. My friends had a private three bed room which was ok. I had a private single bed room. The first two nights I had a room in the second floor. It was so small - that I had troubles to open the door when my luggage was in the room. There was also a weird smell and the air condition kept doing strange noises - although it was switched off. During the second night - I woke up due to strange noises in the ceiling. It took me some time to release the cause: there were mice or rats in the intermediate wall – no joke! So I went to the reception to complain. They were aware of this problem and after some demanding I got a two bed room in the 4th floor. This room was ok - but I had to leave it on the next day. I got, however, another private single bed room - also in the 4th floor. This room was luxurious compared to my first single bed room! So take care not to get a single bed room in the first floor – the rooms in the 4th floor seemed ok.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located Friendly staff

Disliked: Bar was closed in the morning. Rats in the corridor...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Garson

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic. The room was well-kept, a good value for the money.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't have a lot of communal spaces. There is an upstairs, outdoor bar area that was pretty cool, though it was too cold to spend long periods hanging out here, so you wouldn't run into many people. Perhaps you could meet more people in warmer weather.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011

Liked: Great location, clean rooms, secure lockers

Disliked: No mattresses on the beds, just a few sheets on the wooden base. Poor atmosphere, unhelpful staff for booking tours. Not a good place to meet other travellers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathalia Chicaeme

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Nathalia would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central. You could go all touristic places by walking. Room was nice and clean.

Disliked: Room was too cold and it didn't have heater. They didn't make the room.