HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

84.6% Overall Rating

531 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

Roy Delaney thinks…

"As it was our first stop in China we were a little nervous about finding the place. But it was easy to find, and fantastically located right by People's Park, and on one of the best food streets in…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.1% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

531 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 501 of 556 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joyce Chow

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Joyce would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to major sights in Shanghai. Very clean, double room was like staying in a hotel. The staff seemed helpful, though we didn't stay very long in Shanghai. Great value in Shanghai, highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very good, it is closed to centre of the city, everything was clean, friendly staff, nice terrace on the roof.

Disliked: Nothing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Amanda Vincent

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean room with view of pearl tower. Effective aircon Really nice bathroom with hot showers. Staff spoke a little english too and did their best to help us. 24hr reception was good as we arrived very late.

Disliked: Location was not great, but only 5/10 mins and you get to a metro. No leaflets or maps for free to help you on what to see and do in reception. Very expensive laundry service. Next door neighbours rather noicey at 7am but got us up early i suppose lol.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie d'Arcy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic - walking distance to Nanjing Rd/the Bund/the subway. Loved the restaurant downstairs - great dumplings, 'Chinese sloppy joes' and cheap wine. Roof terrace had beers for only 20 yuan. mini water cooler in the room (a must in a very hot July!). got wifi in the room too. met some very nice americans who told us about a great club on a fridaynight called Murals - 100yuan all you can drink :D. Would return!!!!

Disliked: On the 4th floor...our room was adjacent with the roof terrace of the neighbouring building and some of their windows. Had to keep our curtains closed a lot of the time

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly well located. Good A/C and isolated windows.

Disliked: Uncomfortable bed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011

Liked: only the great location. but all the rest is very disapointing

Disliked: dirty toilets, and very unhelpful and unprofessional staff. specially the assistant manager. the owner (lady) is ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar is great, as is the first floor restaurant (be sure to try the dumplings!).

Disliked: Room was small, bathroom was really small. Also, a bit of an odor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cichocki tomasz

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 July 2011 cichocki would recommend this property

Liked: All was good, restaurant street helpful, location to bund and old town- great. Two metro station - perfect

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel. perfect value for the money.

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Desni Fellows

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011

Liked: It was close to the tube station. The beer is cheap and the balcony is nice

Disliked: They were unable to help us buy train tickets, some staff did not speak any English, so there was a big language problem, The breakfast was expensive and not at all good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for one night and it got the job done. It's close to convenience stores, multinational fast-food chain stores, and some bakeries, and the tube. The front desk people are very friendly.

Disliked: The wifi internet is free of charge - but during the peak time when everyone's using it, it's very, very slow. It took me few minutes to open an email. But when everyone's off to sleep, the internet is much faster. The bed was unnecessarily hard but I personally didn't mind.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carolina Betancourt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: overall its a good place. the location is just great, but the dorm matresses are EXTREMELY HARD...

Disliked: matresses

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accesible to almost all areas

Disliked: I dislike is just that when I amde a booking, thought it wont be a mixed dorm but turned out it is.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: it is actually a hotel rather than hostel....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great singles at a reasonable price!

Disliked: No real complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was greate. Good location, clian room, helpfull staff. And very good price.

Disliked: No

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beds were hard but ok

Disliked: ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Though the entrance lobby does not look impressive, but the room facilities and services meet the expectations in term of cleanliness, space and security. They have a roof garden which enable me to meet other tourists to share tour experience.

Disliked: I heard utensils- washing sounds and people - chatting voices at around 1.30 am dawn from my room. I checked with the staff the next day and I was informed that the noices came from the nearby restaurant. I understand that was not within their control.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011

Liked: A mediocre hostel. Conveniently located and that's all.

Disliked: Extremely unfriendly and poorly informed service at the reception. The toilet constantly clogged up. Poor internet connection. Very thin walls in the room – you could even hear snoring from the next room, let alone the constant parties. The night hours are virtually non-existent in this hostel! Better wear ear plugs if you plan to stay there. Watch out for the restaurant at the hotel! We ordered and paid for three dishes. Got only two. When we asked for the missing one, the waiter just took our bill away and never returned. Later the staff claimed we had been served and ate all the three dishes. Dreadful service that treats customers like dirt!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, fabulous roof terrace with free internet and free WiFi. Nice genuinely chinese restaurant on the first floor.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Legowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: everything was ok

Disliked: everything was ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the middle of the centre

Disliked: the bed were pretty hard, but the rooms were clean and nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar is really a good and relax place to meet friends there. The staff taught me Chinese . It's really a good place for a foreigner to stay there.The breaskfast which provided there is nice. They are very friendly. They always try their best to help you when you need help. The room is clean . And it is very convenient because of the good location.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and big room, helpful, kindly and helpful staff. Great, cheap and beautiful roof-top bar. Lots of tours and acrobatics. Near to subway station, People`s square, the bund, franch concession. etc. It is the best hostel i have been.

Disliked: nothing