HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai

Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 32.63USD
  • Breakfast 4.89USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 95%

Showing 81-82 of 82 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had a great stay, exactly what I expected for the price.

Disliked: Great location

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great location in the heart of the city, close the metro stations.

Disliked: people smoking in the downstairs lobby...smoke outside!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: EVERY THING!! I have been to this hostel 4 times and enjoy my stay there every time! The Staff are helpful and freindly!! The guy who works in the bar 'Fly' took us out to a market the first time we stayed and a few of the other guys have hepled us out when we have been looking for other places in shanghai! We have stayed in the 8 bedroom dorm and a twin room. Both great size's and good lockers. The bar up stairs is small but great place for pre drinking before a night out! We made loads of freinds every time we stayed from all over the world, so its a really sociable place!My freinds Mum came and visted us in shanghai and even stayed in the hostel with us! She thought it was a great place to, value for money and location.

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff. Heating in the room worked well and was needed! Clean rooms.

Disliked: The shower took a long time to heat up but was lovely once it got going.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, cleaned daily, decent restaurant downstairs

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to a metro station and in walkable distance of People's Square (where more metro lines connect). Can also walk to East Nanjing Road (next to P.'s Sq.) and even the Bund is only about 1.5 km away, which can still be walked but a taxi will be much quicker and is relatively cheap (there's no metro station for that).

Disliked: The air conditioner in my private room was rather old and noisy. Also, it could not warm up the room anymore once it was below ~5C outside. I set it to 30C and the highest level but it would reach 20C tops. Also, I heard rats(?) either in the floor or wall and in the ceiling. Never saw any (or traces of any), though. Oh, and the bathroom has one of those showers that have no separate tub but shares the floor with the rest of the room, i.e. after a shower the whole bathroom floor is a bit wet. Not under water, but not dry either.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect location! Nice rooftop terrace with bar, friendly and helpful staff, popular chinese restaurant in the building

Disliked: internet works on the terrace, but not in every room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! I had a nice 1-person room, with a clean well-equipped bathroom, at a great location in the city. I would recommend it even to my parents!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was the remote control of the TV, it showed only Chinese characters. After some random button presses, I messed up the system, and didn't get it to work any more :-). But given the fact that this was the only negative point, you can guess I had a great stay.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is a popular restaurant downstairs, and a convinience store next door which is handy.

Disliked: Shower and air conditioning did not work properly, but other than that the room was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The roof top patio was great!

Disliked: My Ipod Nano was stolen from my room. The manager was helpful but unable to put it back in my pocket....

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability