HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

79.8% Overall Rating

513 out of 556 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Claire Asher thinks…

"The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The bar was nice and the staff there were really nice, the food was basic but very tasty. Location was pretty good."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.37
  • Breakfast USD 4.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.9% 164 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 94.3% 232 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.26 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 640 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 84.6% 66 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

513 out of 556 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 488 of 539 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to Renmin Sq., yet inexpensive. You get proper rooms with bathroom and toilet inside.

Disliked: It was a little bit unclean, and we had some bugs, but I guess you get what you pay for.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location with easy access to two central metro stops; helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Rooms facing the street were quite loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Auberge très bien située près de la place du peuple et dans une rue pleine de restaurants. Chambre propre et très fonctionnelle. Staff efficace et agréable.

Disliked: Un peu de bruit des klaxons la nuit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had a double room with a bathroom ,very very nice and modern. cleaned everyday and made our beds

Disliked: guys please my biggest advice is do not do any of the tours it advertises .even though they are cheap it is a completly waste of a day .we did the hungso tour.worst day iv ever had .,they take you to a wool factory and a tea factory ,u see absolutly nothing of hungso. the foood is revolting and my friend got sick freom it. the bus broke down. we left at 6.3am and didnt get home ti,ll 10pm that night ...biggest waste of money plz dont do it ,go there yourself it is very easy and will cost you the same. ps.. noone speaks english on thre tour

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yury Kamenir

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Yury would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the place

Disliked: It's a hostel, not a 5-star hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luca Ulcelli

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 August 2011 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, very clean, drinkble water in room, perfect position.

Disliked: Some noise from outside if you have the room to the side opposite the street.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excel·lent. Our room (a private double one) was quite good, too, and big!

Disliked: The bar has not much offer for breakfast, and nothing to dinner. The staff didn't help us as well as other people from other hostels

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very nice, clean and comfortable; staff was very helpful. The best: the roof top bar. I would go back; and I definitely recommend it.

Disliked: The single room was a little bit expensive for a hostel; but then, hostels are not fond of single rooms, so it's OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most staff were helpful, friendly and English speaking, doing more than required to make our stay enjoyable. 'Snog' on reception was awesome. Rooms were clean. Bar and restaurant available. Good location near to metro. Clothes washing and drying was helpful. Drinking water dispenser in room was a bonus. Dumpings in restaurant are recommended.

Disliked: Given shredded towels with holes in and almost split in half. Huge rat living above our bathroom making lots of noise. Restaurant staff lacked basic English and often unfriendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the hotel itself was very pleasant. Staff for the hotel very helpful.

Disliked: The hotel is connected to a restaurant where I found the wait staff to be unhelpful and difficult to work. Their demeanor was off putting when I tried to ask for help in English.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good englisch perfect location nice atmosphere

Disliked: Cleanliness not so perfect, found cocroach on the bed!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to peoples square, nice roof top bar, efficient laundry service

Disliked: super hard beds, basically a wooden plank with at cotten sheet. no towels. lacked atmosphere it was a hotel converted into a hostel. laundry service is a little expensive at 25rmb a machine

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joyce Chow

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Joyce would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to major sights in Shanghai. Very clean, double room was like staying in a hotel. The staff seemed helpful, though we didn't stay very long in Shanghai. Great value in Shanghai, highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very good, it is closed to centre of the city, everything was clean, friendly staff, nice terrace on the roof.

Disliked: Nothing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Amanda Vincent

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean room with view of pearl tower. Effective aircon Really nice bathroom with hot showers. Staff spoke a little english too and did their best to help us. 24hr reception was good as we arrived very late.

Disliked: Location was not great, but only 5/10 mins and you get to a metro. No leaflets or maps for free to help you on what to see and do in reception. Very expensive laundry service. Next door neighbours rather noicey at 7am but got us up early i suppose lol.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie d'Arcy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic - walking distance to Nanjing Rd/the Bund/the subway. Loved the restaurant downstairs - great dumplings, 'Chinese sloppy joes' and cheap wine. Roof terrace had beers for only 20 yuan. mini water cooler in the room (a must in a very hot July!). got wifi in the room too. met some very nice americans who told us about a great club on a fridaynight called Murals - 100yuan all you can drink :D. Would return!!!!

Disliked: On the 4th floor...our room was adjacent with the roof terrace of the neighbouring building and some of their windows. Had to keep our curtains closed a lot of the time

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly well located. Good A/C and isolated windows.

Disliked: Uncomfortable bed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011

Liked: only the great location. but all the rest is very disapointing

Disliked: dirty toilets, and very unhelpful and unprofessional staff. specially the assistant manager. the owner (lady) is ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar is great, as is the first floor restaurant (be sure to try the dumplings!).

Disliked: Room was small, bathroom was really small. Also, a bit of an odor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cichocki tomasz

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 July 2011 cichocki would recommend this property

Liked: All was good, restaurant street helpful, location to bund and old town- great. Two metro station - perfect

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel. perfect value for the money.

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Desni Fellows

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011

Liked: It was close to the tube station. The beer is cheap and the balcony is nice

Disliked: They were unable to help us buy train tickets, some staff did not speak any English, so there was a big language problem, The breakfast was expensive and not at all good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for one night and it got the job done. It's close to convenience stores, multinational fast-food chain stores, and some bakeries, and the tube. The front desk people are very friendly.

Disliked: The wifi internet is free of charge - but during the peak time when everyone's using it, it's very, very slow. It took me few minutes to open an email. But when everyone's off to sleep, the internet is much faster. The bed was unnecessarily hard but I personally didn't mind.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carolina Betancourt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: overall its a good place. the location is just great, but the dorm matresses are EXTREMELY HARD...

Disliked: matresses