We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

90.4% Overall Rating

544 out of 587 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2015)

MARK MCCULLUM thinks…

"Great location, with incredible food at the restaurant on the ground floor and at most other places on the street, we had a double private and it felt like a mid-range hotel. We were really impressed."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.37
  • Breakfast USD 4.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.41 USD

Hostel 82.3% 235 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.71 USD

Hostel 84.0% 206 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 87.0% 259 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
35.21 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
20.86 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.19 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 90.3% 109 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.63 USD

Hostel 79.7% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

544 out of 587 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 509 of 567 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous staff with excellent English. They helped us with bus and train tickets, sim cards, directions, ordering food, etc. Lovely clean room with drinking water provided. Good internet access in rooms. Fantastic restaurant (maybe the most popular in all of Shanghai). Laundry service. Roof top bar. Again, the staff were great.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeanette makig-angay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011 jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: its location very near to metro and walking distance to people's square

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly

Disliked: ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Kirk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The rooms were spacious & clean. The hostel was safe. The staff were very helpful. The location was awesome. Could walk to almost everywhere. Hotel transfer was convenient!!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patricia smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 patricia would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, safe, convenient to the Bund and other attractions. The staff also offered suggestions on where to go and booked them for us. We loved the rooftop bar and the laundry service. They were very friendly especially the receptionists and bar staff.

Disliked: Nothing. I was happy with everything and would recommend it to my children and my friends. It was very safe for single travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,friendly staff.especially for the bar staff-crystal.nice rooftop bar. enjoy breakfast...

Disliked: the hostel can provide more convenient service.like bike hire.stamp sales...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: The bathroom of the 6 bed dorm room I stayed in was terrible. The sink was blocked, the toilet wouldn't flush and the shower only had burning hot water (no cold at all), so I couldn't shower. There were people "living" in the dorms for 4 months at a time, which was a bit uncomfortable and strange! The hostel lacked a backpacker atmosphere, I think it is more suited couples not solo backpackers. No toilet paper or hand soap provided in bathrooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all staff were helpful and friendly including the cleaners. location was great with a good quiet room. nice upstairs bar w cheap drinks. dowstairs restaurant tasty and good value

Disliked: internet sucked all over china not just this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Grace Mak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and great location! The restaurant below is fantastic, so cheap and so delicious! 3 people ate a big dinner with beers for 100 yuan. The Hostel is located on a great street for food if your into trying out all sorts of different Chinese food. You coul eat somwhere different for dinner every night.

Disliked: The shower had terrible pressure and it took a long time for the water to heat up. Apart from that it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof! Fast wi-fi!

Disliked: Non

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location -- this place has got it. We loved how close it was to everything, we only used the metro twice and that was to head over to the Pudong area. Everything else we wanted to see (Shanghai Museum, Gardens, The Bund, shopping, eating etc etc) was within walking distance. The hostel is quite clean with fresh towels everyday, complimentary soap, shampoo, toothbrushes etc. The room has free drinking water which is a major bonus. I stayed on the 4th floor and the linens were clean, the bathroom very clean with western toilets and overall it was a good choice.

Disliked: The Internet was sketchy but I was able to connect in my room and on the second floor in the lounge. I wouldn't plan on doing any work here but it was good enough to check email and such. The windows and walls are extremely thin. Though our windows were closed we could hear everything outside from traffic to the neighbors next door conversations. It wasn't a big problem for us we're both heavy sleepers but count on it being pretty loud. Not a like or dislike, but plan on the beds just being box springs. We found that putting an extra blanket (there was an extra provided in the room) down before sleeping helped with the springs in our backs. We're American but live in China and our apartment has wood beds so this was a step up for us-- but just thought I'd mention it for those of you who are just traveling.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff's English was good compared to other places. They were very helpful. Nice atmospheric bar. Room very nice (double bed private)

Disliked: I handed in my washing and paid for it only to find out that they couldn't wash it. For some reason. We had to leave the next morning so had to travel minus clean clothes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location, very near to the Bund, People's Square, and Yu Yuan Park. All are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. For the price low price, this is great for a budget traveller. Also, the hostel is rather large, which makes for great social nights on the rooftop bar.

Disliked: The internet in my room did not work after the first night, and the though it was available on the rooftop, the speed is not very good. This may not be an issue for everyone, but for me it was a bit annoying - though I was still able to have limited access. Also the mattresses are very thin, which again, is something to consider.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size of room, very friendly stuff, great location, would stay here again

Disliked: water presure in shower low.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ho Chi Ng

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Ho Chi would recommend this property

Liked: i like the cheap price offered and the clean room with wifi

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke good english, dorms have ensuite bathrooms with clean, hot showers

Disliked: the mattresses are very very thin

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Roderick Holslag

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Roderick would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very suitable as a starting point to a lot of places for sightseeing, diner, laundry service, masage salons etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful to us and it was no problem to book an extra night.

Disliked: Not applicable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the city center. Friendly staff and clean looking room.

Disliked: The room looks very clean but stinky. I could not figure out where the smell come from. It must be from airconditioner or bathroom or bath drain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pecherskaya Nadezda

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Pecherskaya would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff was great and super helpful。 The hosel was very clean and the beds were verynice and big。 Food downstairs was good and the internet was free。 Location is amazing。 I basically liked everything。 Staying there again this weekend!

Disliked: Nothing, it was great

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gregory Daws

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: The poeple were friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi available, and skype worked. The rooms had everything you wanted. Lots of eating places close by. Near to metro. Good prices.

Disliked: Bookings tend to get mixed up, and your room may get given away before you arrive, even if you have advised an evening arrival time. Given a few days it all gets sorted out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to Renmin Sq., yet inexpensive. You get proper rooms with bathroom and toilet inside.

Disliked: It was a little bit unclean, and we had some bugs, but I guess you get what you pay for.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location with easy access to two central metro stops; helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Rooms facing the street were quite loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Auberge très bien située près de la place du peuple et dans une rue pleine de restaurants. Chambre propre et très fonctionnelle. Staff efficace et agréable.

Disliked: Un peu de bruit des klaxons la nuit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had a double room with a bathroom ,very very nice and modern. cleaned everyday and made our beds

Disliked: guys please my biggest advice is do not do any of the tours it advertises .even though they are cheap it is a completly waste of a day .we did the hungso tour.worst day iv ever had .,they take you to a wool factory and a tea factory ,u see absolutly nothing of hungso. the foood is revolting and my friend got sick freom it. the bus broke down. we left at 6.3am and didnt get home ti,ll 10pm that night ...biggest waste of money plz dont do it ,go there yourself it is very easy and will cost you the same. ps.. noone speaks english on thre tour