HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai

Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 32.60USD
  • Breakfast 4.89USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 95%

Showing 71-80 of 82 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was amazing here. Location, accomodation, bar in the roof.. I`ll definitely stay here next time. Really good place!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: There was no place better for me and my wife - in the centre of Shanghai

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: ery clean- no bathroom smells. Close to everything. Water dispenser in room. Non-slip mat in shower.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The location is excellant and the staff in the rooftop bar were really helpfull. I would gladly stay at this hostel again if i return to Shanghai.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Rooftop garden is amazing as well as the cafe downstairs

Disliked: They don't provide free water, from a filter when you are staying in a dorm. :(

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very good location, nice bar, nice atmosphere, staff spoke very good english.

Disliked: Broken things in the room

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice location surrounded by a lot of restaurants. Room standard ok given the price they charge. No quilt was provided and it was cold at night

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: location

Disliked: the staff


The property's response is

Dear Guests:
Thanks for your stay in oustel. and please be a littele obejective for your reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel! I stayed seven nights and every morning I enjoyed going up to the rooftop bar for coffee and a delicious sandwich! Met some great people there. Also I really loved the friendly staff working there! Had nice conversations with them! The nice girl working there (Cici) even helped me carrying my luggage to the metrostation...How sweet is that! :-)I totally recommend this hostel as it is also in a great convenient location. Metrostation is just around the corner! Loved my stay + hope to come back one day! All the best to the great people working there!!!

Disliked: Didn't really like my first room (as it was very small and didn't provide an outside view) but was able to change to a nicer room after just 1 night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Ci Ci and Fly who operate the roof top bar are top notch people, very friendly and helpful! Breakfast is up there is a great deal and as a fellow traveler has written on the wall, the coffee is better than starbucks, which I know isnt saying much, but the coffee is the best we found in the local vicinity. Got dumplings downstairs too!

Disliked: nil

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability