We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

84.6% Overall Rating

531 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

Roy Delaney thinks…

"As it was our first stop in China we were a little nervous about finding the place. But it was easy to find, and fantastically located right by People's Park, and on one of the best food streets in…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.1% 86 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

531 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 501 of 556 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Grace Mak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and great location! The restaurant below is fantastic, so cheap and so delicious! 3 people ate a big dinner with beers for 100 yuan. The Hostel is located on a great street for food if your into trying out all sorts of different Chinese food. You coul eat somwhere different for dinner every night.

Disliked: The shower had terrible pressure and it took a long time for the water to heat up. Apart from that it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof! Fast wi-fi!

Disliked: Non

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location -- this place has got it. We loved how close it was to everything, we only used the metro twice and that was to head over to the Pudong area. Everything else we wanted to see (Shanghai Museum, Gardens, The Bund, shopping, eating etc etc) was within walking distance. The hostel is quite clean with fresh towels everyday, complimentary soap, shampoo, toothbrushes etc. The room has free drinking water which is a major bonus. I stayed on the 4th floor and the linens were clean, the bathroom very clean with western toilets and overall it was a good choice.

Disliked: The Internet was sketchy but I was able to connect in my room and on the second floor in the lounge. I wouldn't plan on doing any work here but it was good enough to check email and such. The windows and walls are extremely thin. Though our windows were closed we could hear everything outside from traffic to the neighbors next door conversations. It wasn't a big problem for us we're both heavy sleepers but count on it being pretty loud. Not a like or dislike, but plan on the beds just being box springs. We found that putting an extra blanket (there was an extra provided in the room) down before sleeping helped with the springs in our backs. We're American but live in China and our apartment has wood beds so this was a step up for us-- but just thought I'd mention it for those of you who are just traveling.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff's English was good compared to other places. They were very helpful. Nice atmospheric bar. Room very nice (double bed private)

Disliked: I handed in my washing and paid for it only to find out that they couldn't wash it. For some reason. We had to leave the next morning so had to travel minus clean clothes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location, very near to the Bund, People's Square, and Yu Yuan Park. All are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. For the price low price, this is great for a budget traveller. Also, the hostel is rather large, which makes for great social nights on the rooftop bar.

Disliked: The internet in my room did not work after the first night, and the though it was available on the rooftop, the speed is not very good. This may not be an issue for everyone, but for me it was a bit annoying - though I was still able to have limited access. Also the mattresses are very thin, which again, is something to consider.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size of room, very friendly stuff, great location, would stay here again

Disliked: water presure in shower low.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ho Chi Ng

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Ho Chi would recommend this property

Liked: i like the cheap price offered and the clean room with wifi

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke good english, dorms have ensuite bathrooms with clean, hot showers

Disliked: the mattresses are very very thin

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Roderick Holslag

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Roderick would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very suitable as a starting point to a lot of places for sightseeing, diner, laundry service, masage salons etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful to us and it was no problem to book an extra night.

Disliked: Not applicable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the city center. Friendly staff and clean looking room.

Disliked: The room looks very clean but stinky. I could not figure out where the smell come from. It must be from airconditioner or bathroom or bath drain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pecherskaya Nadezda

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Pecherskaya would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff was great and super helpful。 The hosel was very clean and the beds were verynice and big。 Food downstairs was good and the internet was free。 Location is amazing。 I basically liked everything。 Staying there again this weekend!

Disliked: Nothing, it was great

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gregory Daws

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: The poeple were friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi available, and skype worked. The rooms had everything you wanted. Lots of eating places close by. Near to metro. Good prices.

Disliked: Bookings tend to get mixed up, and your room may get given away before you arrive, even if you have advised an evening arrival time. Given a few days it all gets sorted out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to Renmin Sq., yet inexpensive. You get proper rooms with bathroom and toilet inside.

Disliked: It was a little bit unclean, and we had some bugs, but I guess you get what you pay for.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location with easy access to two central metro stops; helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Rooms facing the street were quite loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Auberge très bien située près de la place du peuple et dans une rue pleine de restaurants. Chambre propre et très fonctionnelle. Staff efficace et agréable.

Disliked: Un peu de bruit des klaxons la nuit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had a double room with a bathroom ,very very nice and modern. cleaned everyday and made our beds

Disliked: guys please my biggest advice is do not do any of the tours it advertises .even though they are cheap it is a completly waste of a day .we did the hungso tour.worst day iv ever had .,they take you to a wool factory and a tea factory ,u see absolutly nothing of hungso. the foood is revolting and my friend got sick freom it. the bus broke down. we left at 6.3am and didnt get home ti,ll 10pm that night ...biggest waste of money plz dont do it ,go there yourself it is very easy and will cost you the same. ps.. noone speaks english on thre tour

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yury Kamenir

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Yury would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the place

Disliked: It's a hostel, not a 5-star hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luca Ulcelli

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 August 2011 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, very clean, drinkble water in room, perfect position.

Disliked: Some noise from outside if you have the room to the side opposite the street.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excel·lent. Our room (a private double one) was quite good, too, and big!

Disliked: The bar has not much offer for breakfast, and nothing to dinner. The staff didn't help us as well as other people from other hostels

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very nice, clean and comfortable; staff was very helpful. The best: the roof top bar. I would go back; and I definitely recommend it.

Disliked: The single room was a little bit expensive for a hostel; but then, hostels are not fond of single rooms, so it's OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most staff were helpful, friendly and English speaking, doing more than required to make our stay enjoyable. 'Snog' on reception was awesome. Rooms were clean. Bar and restaurant available. Good location near to metro. Clothes washing and drying was helpful. Drinking water dispenser in room was a bonus. Dumpings in restaurant are recommended.

Disliked: Given shredded towels with holes in and almost split in half. Huge rat living above our bathroom making lots of noise. Restaurant staff lacked basic English and often unfriendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the hotel itself was very pleasant. Staff for the hotel very helpful.

Disliked: The hotel is connected to a restaurant where I found the wait staff to be unhelpful and difficult to work. Their demeanor was off putting when I tried to ask for help in English.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good englisch perfect location nice atmosphere

Disliked: Cleanliness not so perfect, found cocroach on the bed!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to peoples square, nice roof top bar, efficient laundry service

Disliked: super hard beds, basically a wooden plank with at cotten sheet. no towels. lacked atmosphere it was a hotel converted into a hostel. laundry service is a little expensive at 25rmb a machine