HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

83.9% Overall Rating

522 out of 565 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2014)

Ian Wright thinks…

"A couple of days after my stay I found myself 'stranded' in Beijing for 12 hours between trains. Went to Dragon King and asked if they had a room. They didn't as they were fully booked. However, they…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.46
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.74 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.7% 175 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.17 USD

Hostel 92.8% 237 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.35 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
20.45 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.55 USD

Hostel 87.3% 79 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

522 out of 565 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 495 of 547 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upstairs common room/bar was good. Helpful staff

Disliked: The shower took a good 3 minutes to get hot, the toilet seat wouldn't stay up and there was no toilet paper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: nigh everything was good, service, rooms, food, people, bar

Disliked: hard chinese mattresses, but they seem to be a given everywhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Hay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were good and helpful, bar/chill area is nice. Great Location.

Disliked: Not much, little disjointed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timo Rapp

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything's just great! Our "two little beds" were kingsized and totally comfortable, the room was really good. The staff was so helpful and nice, we really don't have anything to complain about!

Disliked: Timo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom, friendly staff, great restaurant downstairs with excellent pao mo!

Disliked: Nothing. No problems at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, and helpfulness of staff.

Disliked: The smell in the hallways and rooms- a mix of smoke and mold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, very clean, nice little restaurant on 1st floor.

Disliked: Only thing I would request would be a safe in the room!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Walton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Dumpling restaurant is fantastic and the bar on the roof is very cheap and a great place to meet fellow travelers.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Kleij

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Good room, everything very clean. Very helpfull staff, Excellent rooftop bar with nice staff. We did our laundry here. Good value for the money we paid. The room wall were a bit thin, so when on the 2nd night a drunk Chinese couple got back to their room they kept us awake for the rest of the night. that was most annoying. We talked to the staff about this. They immediatelly offered us another room and spoke to the Cinese couple. Everything in order the night after. Nice Chinese restaurant downstairs. Good food. Excellent location!

Disliked: A bit noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff as well as brilliant location. Excellent in house restaurant.

Disliked: Internet was working well in the room. Bathroom facilities were of medium standard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Great atmoshere. Great Location.

Disliked: Awesome. Roof rulez.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous staff with excellent English. They helped us with bus and train tickets, sim cards, directions, ordering food, etc. Lovely clean room with drinking water provided. Good internet access in rooms. Fantastic restaurant (maybe the most popular in all of Shanghai). Laundry service. Roof top bar. Again, the staff were great.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeanette makig-angay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011 jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: its location very near to metro and walking distance to people's square

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly

Disliked: ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Kirk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The rooms were spacious & clean. The hostel was safe. The staff were very helpful. The location was awesome. Could walk to almost everywhere. Hotel transfer was convenient!!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patricia smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 patricia would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, safe, convenient to the Bund and other attractions. The staff also offered suggestions on where to go and booked them for us. We loved the rooftop bar and the laundry service. They were very friendly especially the receptionists and bar staff.

Disliked: Nothing. I was happy with everything and would recommend it to my children and my friends. It was very safe for single travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,friendly staff.especially for the bar staff-crystal.nice rooftop bar. enjoy breakfast...

Disliked: the hostel can provide more convenient service.like bike hire.stamp sales...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: The bathroom of the 6 bed dorm room I stayed in was terrible. The sink was blocked, the toilet wouldn't flush and the shower only had burning hot water (no cold at all), so I couldn't shower. There were people "living" in the dorms for 4 months at a time, which was a bit uncomfortable and strange! The hostel lacked a backpacker atmosphere, I think it is more suited couples not solo backpackers. No toilet paper or hand soap provided in bathrooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all staff were helpful and friendly including the cleaners. location was great with a good quiet room. nice upstairs bar w cheap drinks. dowstairs restaurant tasty and good value

Disliked: internet sucked all over china not just this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Grace Mak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and great location! The restaurant below is fantastic, so cheap and so delicious! 3 people ate a big dinner with beers for 100 yuan. The Hostel is located on a great street for food if your into trying out all sorts of different Chinese food. You coul eat somwhere different for dinner every night.

Disliked: The shower had terrible pressure and it took a long time for the water to heat up. Apart from that it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof! Fast wi-fi!

Disliked: Non

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location -- this place has got it. We loved how close it was to everything, we only used the metro twice and that was to head over to the Pudong area. Everything else we wanted to see (Shanghai Museum, Gardens, The Bund, shopping, eating etc etc) was within walking distance. The hostel is quite clean with fresh towels everyday, complimentary soap, shampoo, toothbrushes etc. The room has free drinking water which is a major bonus. I stayed on the 4th floor and the linens were clean, the bathroom very clean with western toilets and overall it was a good choice.

Disliked: The Internet was sketchy but I was able to connect in my room and on the second floor in the lounge. I wouldn't plan on doing any work here but it was good enough to check email and such. The windows and walls are extremely thin. Though our windows were closed we could hear everything outside from traffic to the neighbors next door conversations. It wasn't a big problem for us we're both heavy sleepers but count on it being pretty loud. Not a like or dislike, but plan on the beds just being box springs. We found that putting an extra blanket (there was an extra provided in the room) down before sleeping helped with the springs in our backs. We're American but live in China and our apartment has wood beds so this was a step up for us-- but just thought I'd mention it for those of you who are just traveling.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff's English was good compared to other places. They were very helpful. Nice atmospheric bar. Room very nice (double bed private)

Disliked: I handed in my washing and paid for it only to find out that they couldn't wash it. For some reason. We had to leave the next morning so had to travel minus clean clothes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location, very near to the Bund, People's Square, and Yu Yuan Park. All are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. For the price low price, this is great for a budget traveller. Also, the hostel is rather large, which makes for great social nights on the rooftop bar.

Disliked: The internet in my room did not work after the first night, and the though it was available on the rooftop, the speed is not very good. This may not be an issue for everyone, but for me it was a bit annoying - though I was still able to have limited access. Also the mattresses are very thin, which again, is something to consider.