We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

85.8% Overall Rating

528 out of 571 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.94 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 91.8% 243 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.39 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.73 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.94 USD

Hostel 88.6% 85 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

528 out of 571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 498 of 553 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really well placed hostel for exploring, most interesting places being easily reached by foot. Helpful and friendly staff. The room was pleasantly big, clean and warm (freezing outside) with a modern en-suite. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: All was good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Theresa Goldsmith

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: loved the roof top terrace and the fact it had a lift, the location was perfect in every aspect.......ease to find, ease of access to shanghai itself

Disliked: the noise in the local area was quite bad in the early hours

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double room I stayed in was basic but very clean, the maids came in every day and left new towels/ toilet roll etc, and the hotel staff couldn't be faulted. They were so helpful and friendly, and there was always somebody available 24 hours a day. They couldn't do enough for us - big thumbs up for the staff!

Disliked: The one and only thing I disliked was that the alarms on the room doors were a bit temperamental. Our door alarm kept going off as we were trying to leave our room and it took a lot of opening and re-shutting to eventually get it to stop!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upstairs common room/bar was good. Helpful staff

Disliked: The shower took a good 3 minutes to get hot, the toilet seat wouldn't stay up and there was no toilet paper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: nigh everything was good, service, rooms, food, people, bar

Disliked: hard chinese mattresses, but they seem to be a given everywhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Hay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were good and helpful, bar/chill area is nice. Great Location.

Disliked: Not much, little disjointed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timo Rapp

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything's just great! Our "two little beds" were kingsized and totally comfortable, the room was really good. The staff was so helpful and nice, we really don't have anything to complain about!

Disliked: Timo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom, friendly staff, great restaurant downstairs with excellent pao mo!

Disliked: Nothing. No problems at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, and helpfulness of staff.

Disliked: The smell in the hallways and rooms- a mix of smoke and mold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, very clean, nice little restaurant on 1st floor.

Disliked: Only thing I would request would be a safe in the room!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Walton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Dumpling restaurant is fantastic and the bar on the roof is very cheap and a great place to meet fellow travelers.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Kleij

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Good room, everything very clean. Very helpfull staff, Excellent rooftop bar with nice staff. We did our laundry here. Good value for the money we paid. The room wall were a bit thin, so when on the 2nd night a drunk Chinese couple got back to their room they kept us awake for the rest of the night. that was most annoying. We talked to the staff about this. They immediatelly offered us another room and spoke to the Cinese couple. Everything in order the night after. Nice Chinese restaurant downstairs. Good food. Excellent location!

Disliked: A bit noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff as well as brilliant location. Excellent in house restaurant.

Disliked: Internet was working well in the room. Bathroom facilities were of medium standard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Great atmoshere. Great Location.

Disliked: Awesome. Roof rulez.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah MacDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous staff with excellent English. They helped us with bus and train tickets, sim cards, directions, ordering food, etc. Lovely clean room with drinking water provided. Good internet access in rooms. Fantastic restaurant (maybe the most popular in all of Shanghai). Laundry service. Roof top bar. Again, the staff were great.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeanette makig-angay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011 jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: its location very near to metro and walking distance to people's square

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly

Disliked: ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Kirk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The rooms were spacious & clean. The hostel was safe. The staff were very helpful. The location was awesome. Could walk to almost everywhere. Hotel transfer was convenient!!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patricia smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 patricia would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, safe, convenient to the Bund and other attractions. The staff also offered suggestions on where to go and booked them for us. We loved the rooftop bar and the laundry service. They were very friendly especially the receptionists and bar staff.

Disliked: Nothing. I was happy with everything and would recommend it to my children and my friends. It was very safe for single travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,friendly staff.especially for the bar staff-crystal.nice rooftop bar. enjoy breakfast...

Disliked: the hostel can provide more convenient service.like bike hire.stamp sales...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: The bathroom of the 6 bed dorm room I stayed in was terrible. The sink was blocked, the toilet wouldn't flush and the shower only had burning hot water (no cold at all), so I couldn't shower. There were people "living" in the dorms for 4 months at a time, which was a bit uncomfortable and strange! The hostel lacked a backpacker atmosphere, I think it is more suited couples not solo backpackers. No toilet paper or hand soap provided in bathrooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all staff were helpful and friendly including the cleaners. location was great with a good quiet room. nice upstairs bar w cheap drinks. dowstairs restaurant tasty and good value

Disliked: internet sucked all over china not just this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Grace Mak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and great location! The restaurant below is fantastic, so cheap and so delicious! 3 people ate a big dinner with beers for 100 yuan. The Hostel is located on a great street for food if your into trying out all sorts of different Chinese food. You coul eat somwhere different for dinner every night.

Disliked: The shower had terrible pressure and it took a long time for the water to heat up. Apart from that it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof! Fast wi-fi!

Disliked: Non