HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 32.65USD
  • Breakfast 4.90USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

Showing 51-60 of 66 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap and the location was fairly good. You can walk to the Bund but it takes a little longer than suggested on Hostel Bookers.

Disliked: It was very dirty, and the atmosphere was rather depressing. Perhaps I came at the wrong time, but I have visited many hostels before, and I wouldn't recommend this place to other travelers.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: As an avid back packer and veteran foreign resident of China, I was very impressed by the level of service. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating. The room I had originally purchased had been overbooked and I was placed in a single room at no extra charge. The manager/owner of the roof top restaurant and bar, CeCe, was very friendly and hospitable. Overall, I will be making sure to stay at this hostel when I fly back into Shanghai.

Disliked: The only negative feedback I can make is....The bed sheets were not sanitary! I had stains ridden throughout the bed sheets.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Best part about this property is the rooftop bar. It's a great place to chill and escape the heat, there's internet, Cici and Fly speak great English and are amazing hosts, and they make a mean fried egg sandwich!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Feels like a summer camp, but with more poverty.

Disliked: Some places had a feet smell. But all of shanghai sometimes has a feet smell...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were excellent, very helpful booking tickets and giving advice. The roof top bar is a great place to meet people, it has a great atmosphere about it and the rooms were spacious.

Disliked: Bathroom not cleaned everyday but the cleaner happily changed my bed when I asked.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very good location near the subway and near the bund

Disliked: rooms are a bit old and quite small but that's okay for the price

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Buena situiación, personal amable, una terraza para relajarte y tomar unas cervezas con unas vistas increibles y junto a un restaurante de comida china de chuparse los dedos

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: The room was one of the nicest I had stayed in. The staff were really helpful and nice and the location was really good, as you were quite central and surrounded by lots of restaurants. A 15 minute walk away from the bund.

Disliked: Not much really. The atmosphere could have been slightly better.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The one exceptional thing about this property is the location. It is in the middle of Shanghai and close to everything a new visitor would want to see. The rooftop bar is nice, and the bar staff are friendly.

Disliked: The rooms could use a repaint and less battered furniture. Also, power-points were hard to find in my private room. The entrance and reception is small, and information is hard to find.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and value for your money. This hostel has a lot of negatives in my opinion. From the expensive bar upstaris to the deposits to the not so helpful staff. Try finding somewhere else to stay...

Disliked: 1. Bring your own towel! Mine somehow disapeared while I was out sightseeing and the staff refused to give me my 50RMB=$8. The most expensive cheap towel..2. The Bar upstaris is VERY EXPENSIVE and rips you off! 15RMB RMB for cheapest beer and 25RMB for a corona or bacardi. There is a mart next door that sells beer for 3RMB and bacardi for 13-15RMB. The food is expensive as well! Eat the subway or Mcdys instead...3. Wifi is ok and goes in and out sometimes....4. Staff was not very helpful in my opinion. I have experienced far better hostel service where the staff goes out of their way to help out their customers and make sure that they are satisfied5. You have to put down deposits. 100RMB for key card and 50RMB for a towel. Better not lose that key card or towel(if you need one)

Check Availability