We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

84.6% Overall Rating

532 out of 575 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/12/2014)

James Ballardie thinks…

"Excellently located hostel near excellent food street. Walkable to lots of Sights and metro lines. Has a lift! And a cool little bar upstairs. The Shaanix restaurant on the ground floor is so good!"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.7% 181 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
15.59 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 91.5% 91 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

532 out of 575 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 502 of 556 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lubos kovac

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2012 lubos would recommend this property

Liked: great place staff location rooftop small terace service post cards stamping collecting tours...........warmly place, clean, good rooms furnished, go there........Lubos

Disliked: lubos left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, good wifi, nice bar and restaurant.

Disliked: Not as many people hanging out at the bar as I expected. No TP in the dorm bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yeonsuk Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Yeonsuk would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfulness staffs and clean!! and you can use airport pick-up service.

Disliked: I felt not good just one thing is a little noisy from outside sometimes at night. if you want visit there, you should have prepare earplugs or you can use tissue paper :D

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THe location is pretty central to all of shanghai. The staff was also very friendly with helping us plan our days apand nights.

Disliked: When we arrived they told us they overbooked one of the mixed dorm beds, so they offered to upgrade us to a private ensuite for two people. But the bed was tiny for two people. But they kept the price the same saying they upgraded us. The next day we asked if we could be in the same room for all four of us, they told us yes, that we could share a private room with two queen beds with ensuite bathroom for the same price to make up for the previous night. Yet when we prepaid for the second night, and got to the room it was two beds just like the previous.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No towels, sometimes wifi didn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Xu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and comfortable, love the awesome restaurant attached.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darryl Harbourne-Bessant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Darryl would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well situated, clean and the staff were more than helpful highly recommended

Disliked: Darryl left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, just a little walk away from major attractions. The street where the hostel is located is full of restaurants that offer everything you might want to taste during your stay n China! And there are even place s to eat western food and all of them are so close!

Disliked: Me and my friend booked two beds in the 6 beds dorm but when we got there they said the beds were not free anymore, they had been given to someone else! They gave us another nice room shared with two other people. We had to move twice then.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located very central! Nice restaurant with very good Dumplings :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoy my stay here even though it was only one night, the dorm room is quite big and clean with private bathroom and air-con inside. Friendly staff , nice roofbar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Shapiro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms came with all the extra amenities one would expect of a hotel! Also the beds were more comfortable than all the other hostels we stayed in while in China and tge rooftop bar was great when the weather was nice.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tool location , friendly staff

Disliked: Bed was hard

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean, cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Nice rooftop bar. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeong Chee Yuen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Yeong would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, lot of eateries and friendly staff.

Disliked: 2nd floor room a little basic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeong Chee Yuen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Yeong would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, lots of eateries and friendly staff.

Disliked: 2nd floor room a little too basic.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, restaurant was delicious, bar was cheap, beds were huge and comfortable, bathroom was clean, shower was good, air con/ heating was good.

Disliked: Thin walls, can be quite noisey at night, staff in restaurant rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 10 min walk to people square. Clean rooms!. Very nice staff that always have a smile to share :)

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joao Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in an 8-bed dorm, beds were comfy and warm and lockers huge. In a great location, walking distance to most of the big attractions and loads of convenience stores. Internet was strong.

Disliked: The cafe breakfast menu consists of coffee or a ham sandwich! Not great. The rooftop is cold and dark during the day (in winter) and there isn't another lounge area. Some staff didn't have great English skills; couldn't direct me to the airport. They also didn't honour the HostelBookers rate I'd booked and tried to charge me a higher price which took a lot of arguing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is awesome here. Good location, close to metro, walking distance to People Square, Bund, Old City, NanJing RD. Really helpful staff, they booked train ticket for me and helped me to get a SIM card for my phone, most of them speak good english. Nice rooftop bar with cheap drinks. BBQ on every Friday, really delicious and cheap. I will stay here again without any doubt.

Disliked: Hair dryer is allways occupied when i want it, may be u need put one for each room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Genevieve O' Connor

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the room

Disliked: The staff at times seemed like they weren't bothered about helping us, also the breakfast selection wasn't great.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: design, part of the staff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. I originally reserved for 3 nights and ended up coming for 2 - got refund with no issue. Booked a private room, got a big room with a private shower, good value for money.

Disliked: Room design could have been slightly better, but hey - can't complain for the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeannie Mark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012 Jeannie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful, knowledgeable and even remembered me from when I stayed there in November. The room they gave me was exactly what I needed. good value and private.

Disliked: One day the hot water didn't work, but it was repaired within a day.