HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

80.2% Overall Rating

512 out of 555 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.36
  • Breakfast USD 4.85

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 94.3% 232 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 640 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

512 out of 555 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, restaurant was delicious, bar was cheap, beds were huge and comfortable, bathroom was clean, shower was good, air con/ heating was good.

Disliked: Thin walls, can be quite noisey at night, staff in restaurant rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 10 min walk to people square. Clean rooms!. Very nice staff that always have a smile to share :)

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joao Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in an 8-bed dorm, beds were comfy and warm and lockers huge. In a great location, walking distance to most of the big attractions and loads of convenience stores. Internet was strong.

Disliked: The cafe breakfast menu consists of coffee or a ham sandwich! Not great. The rooftop is cold and dark during the day (in winter) and there isn't another lounge area. Some staff didn't have great English skills; couldn't direct me to the airport. They also didn't honour the HostelBookers rate I'd booked and tried to charge me a higher price which took a lot of arguing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is awesome here. Good location, close to metro, walking distance to People Square, Bund, Old City, NanJing RD. Really helpful staff, they booked train ticket for me and helped me to get a SIM card for my phone, most of them speak good english. Nice rooftop bar with cheap drinks. BBQ on every Friday, really delicious and cheap. I will stay here again without any doubt.

Disliked: Hair dryer is allways occupied when i want it, may be u need put one for each room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Genevieve O' Connor

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the room

Disliked: The staff at times seemed like they weren't bothered about helping us, also the breakfast selection wasn't great.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: design, part of the staff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. I originally reserved for 3 nights and ended up coming for 2 - got refund with no issue. Booked a private room, got a big room with a private shower, good value for money.

Disliked: Room design could have been slightly better, but hey - can't complain for the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeannie Mark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012 Jeannie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful, knowledgeable and even remembered me from when I stayed there in November. The room they gave me was exactly what I needed. good value and private.

Disliked: One day the hot water didn't work, but it was repaired within a day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, right beside People's Square. Very friendly staff (even the cleaners), and super clean.

Disliked: The hot water is on short supply. If you want to take a shower in the morning, wake up early.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pearl Leung

Alone

City break

06 February 2012 Pearl would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is close to People's square, the metro, the bund and East Nanjing Road. It's in the heart of town. Bedding feels clean, floors are clean, bathroom's tidy. Supplies toilettries which is something that most hostels don't do, it was something nice to have. Towels are clean and new ones are provided everyday. Staff are good and helpful. I've stayed at their single and double room - both sizes are fairly sized.

Disliked: Not major to complain about except for VERY weak water pressure in the shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Rachel Hew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The bar upstairs on the rooftop is really good and friendly with cheap drinks. The restaurant at the bottom is also really good. The staff are friendly, we were able to change rooms when we weren't happy. There is a nice character around the hostel. Good location.

Disliked: The dorms are very very small and the shared bathroom was really dirty with no toilet paper provided or soap. But it's very cheap so I suppose you get what you pay for.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really well placed hostel for exploring, most interesting places being easily reached by foot. Helpful and friendly staff. The room was pleasantly big, clean and warm (freezing outside) with a modern en-suite. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: All was good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Theresa Goldsmith

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: loved the roof top terrace and the fact it had a lift, the location was perfect in every aspect.......ease to find, ease of access to shanghai itself

Disliked: the noise in the local area was quite bad in the early hours

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double room I stayed in was basic but very clean, the maids came in every day and left new towels/ toilet roll etc, and the hotel staff couldn't be faulted. They were so helpful and friendly, and there was always somebody available 24 hours a day. They couldn't do enough for us - big thumbs up for the staff!

Disliked: The one and only thing I disliked was that the alarms on the room doors were a bit temperamental. Our door alarm kept going off as we were trying to leave our room and it took a lot of opening and re-shutting to eventually get it to stop!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upstairs common room/bar was good. Helpful staff

Disliked: The shower took a good 3 minutes to get hot, the toilet seat wouldn't stay up and there was no toilet paper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: nigh everything was good, service, rooms, food, people, bar

Disliked: hard chinese mattresses, but they seem to be a given everywhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Hay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were good and helpful, bar/chill area is nice. Great Location.

Disliked: Not much, little disjointed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timo Rapp

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything's just great! Our "two little beds" were kingsized and totally comfortable, the room was really good. The staff was so helpful and nice, we really don't have anything to complain about!

Disliked: Timo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom, friendly staff, great restaurant downstairs with excellent pao mo!

Disliked: Nothing. No problems at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, and helpfulness of staff.

Disliked: The smell in the hallways and rooms- a mix of smoke and mold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, very clean, nice little restaurant on 1st floor.

Disliked: Only thing I would request would be a safe in the room!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Walton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Dumpling restaurant is fantastic and the bar on the roof is very cheap and a great place to meet fellow travelers.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Kleij

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Good room, everything very clean. Very helpfull staff, Excellent rooftop bar with nice staff. We did our laundry here. Good value for the money we paid. The room wall were a bit thin, so when on the 2nd night a drunk Chinese couple got back to their room they kept us awake for the rest of the night. that was most annoying. We talked to the staff about this. They immediatelly offered us another room and spoke to the Cinese couple. Everything in order the night after. Nice Chinese restaurant downstairs. Good food. Excellent location!

Disliked: A bit noisy