HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

85.6% Overall Rating

525 out of 568 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.44
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 91.8% 243 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.33 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.71 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 88.5% 82 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

525 out of 568 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 497 of 550 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Xu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and comfortable, love the awesome restaurant attached.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darryl Harbourne-Bessant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Darryl would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well situated, clean and the staff were more than helpful highly recommended

Disliked: Darryl left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, just a little walk away from major attractions. The street where the hostel is located is full of restaurants that offer everything you might want to taste during your stay n China! And there are even place s to eat western food and all of them are so close!

Disliked: Me and my friend booked two beds in the 6 beds dorm but when we got there they said the beds were not free anymore, they had been given to someone else! They gave us another nice room shared with two other people. We had to move twice then.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located very central! Nice restaurant with very good Dumplings :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoy my stay here even though it was only one night, the dorm room is quite big and clean with private bathroom and air-con inside. Friendly staff , nice roofbar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Shapiro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms came with all the extra amenities one would expect of a hotel! Also the beds were more comfortable than all the other hostels we stayed in while in China and tge rooftop bar was great when the weather was nice.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tool location , friendly staff

Disliked: Bed was hard

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean, cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Nice rooftop bar. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeong Chee Yuen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Yeong would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, lot of eateries and friendly staff.

Disliked: 2nd floor room a little basic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeong Chee Yuen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Yeong would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, lots of eateries and friendly staff.

Disliked: 2nd floor room a little too basic.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, restaurant was delicious, bar was cheap, beds were huge and comfortable, bathroom was clean, shower was good, air con/ heating was good.

Disliked: Thin walls, can be quite noisey at night, staff in restaurant rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 10 min walk to people square. Clean rooms!. Very nice staff that always have a smile to share :)

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joao Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in an 8-bed dorm, beds were comfy and warm and lockers huge. In a great location, walking distance to most of the big attractions and loads of convenience stores. Internet was strong.

Disliked: The cafe breakfast menu consists of coffee or a ham sandwich! Not great. The rooftop is cold and dark during the day (in winter) and there isn't another lounge area. Some staff didn't have great English skills; couldn't direct me to the airport. They also didn't honour the HostelBookers rate I'd booked and tried to charge me a higher price which took a lot of arguing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is awesome here. Good location, close to metro, walking distance to People Square, Bund, Old City, NanJing RD. Really helpful staff, they booked train ticket for me and helped me to get a SIM card for my phone, most of them speak good english. Nice rooftop bar with cheap drinks. BBQ on every Friday, really delicious and cheap. I will stay here again without any doubt.

Disliked: Hair dryer is allways occupied when i want it, may be u need put one for each room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Genevieve O' Connor

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the room

Disliked: The staff at times seemed like they weren't bothered about helping us, also the breakfast selection wasn't great.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: design, part of the staff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. I originally reserved for 3 nights and ended up coming for 2 - got refund with no issue. Booked a private room, got a big room with a private shower, good value for money.

Disliked: Room design could have been slightly better, but hey - can't complain for the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeannie Mark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012 Jeannie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful, knowledgeable and even remembered me from when I stayed there in November. The room they gave me was exactly what I needed. good value and private.

Disliked: One day the hot water didn't work, but it was repaired within a day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, right beside People's Square. Very friendly staff (even the cleaners), and super clean.

Disliked: The hot water is on short supply. If you want to take a shower in the morning, wake up early.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pearl Leung

Alone

City break

06 February 2012 Pearl would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is close to People's square, the metro, the bund and East Nanjing Road. It's in the heart of town. Bedding feels clean, floors are clean, bathroom's tidy. Supplies toilettries which is something that most hostels don't do, it was something nice to have. Towels are clean and new ones are provided everyday. Staff are good and helpful. I've stayed at their single and double room - both sizes are fairly sized.

Disliked: Not major to complain about except for VERY weak water pressure in the shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Rachel Hew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The bar upstairs on the rooftop is really good and friendly with cheap drinks. The restaurant at the bottom is also really good. The staff are friendly, we were able to change rooms when we weren't happy. There is a nice character around the hostel. Good location.

Disliked: The dorms are very very small and the shared bathroom was really dirty with no toilet paper provided or soap. But it's very cheap so I suppose you get what you pay for.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really well placed hostel for exploring, most interesting places being easily reached by foot. Helpful and friendly staff. The room was pleasantly big, clean and warm (freezing outside) with a modern en-suite. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: All was good.