HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 30.07USD
  • Breakfast 4.51USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

Showing 51-50 of 50 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved this place. Great location and it is good for meeting people and partying, or even just roaming the city on your lonesome. Great city, great hostel. Thanks!

Disliked: Wifi wasnt great in our room.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooftop bar is the place to be, even if you don't stay in the hostel. You will meet lots of other travelers there. Cici and Fly... you guys are great. The place has a nice atmosphere overall and a good priced restaurant on the ground level. Location was great, walking distance to most sights! The area around the hostel is very interesting with tons of food options. People there are nice and you meet a lot of Westerners to party with! Lockers are provided and if you don't have a lock you can pay a deposit to get one.

Disliked: The maid did a shit job, sorry. Even for a cheap hostel I was disappointed. She would clean the bathroom upon request, but little effort was made to keep the room itself clean. Hair and dust everywhere, especially under the beds was disgusting!! Some of the girls working downstairs have poor English which was frustrating at times. Expensive and unprofessional laundry services and the air conditioning broke several times during my stay. Toilet paper is not supplied and the toilet also kept breaking. Many of the bed lights also didn't work.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap and the location was fairly good. You can walk to the Bund but it takes a little longer than suggested on Hostel Bookers.

Disliked: It was very dirty, and the atmosphere was rather depressing. Perhaps I came at the wrong time, but I have visited many hostels before, and I wouldn't recommend this place to other travelers.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: As an avid back packer and veteran foreign resident of China, I was very impressed by the level of service. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating. The room I had originally purchased had been overbooked and I was placed in a single room at no extra charge. The manager/owner of the roof top restaurant and bar, CeCe, was very friendly and hospitable. Overall, I will be making sure to stay at this hostel when I fly back into Shanghai.

Disliked: The only negative feedback I can make is....The bed sheets were not sanitary! I had stains ridden throughout the bed sheets.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Best part about this property is the rooftop bar. It's a great place to chill and escape the heat, there's internet, Cici and Fly speak great English and are amazing hosts, and they make a mean fried egg sandwich!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Feels like a summer camp, but with more poverty.

Disliked: Some places had a feet smell. But all of shanghai sometimes has a feet smell...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were excellent, very helpful booking tickets and giving advice. The roof top bar is a great place to meet people, it has a great atmosphere about it and the rooms were spacious.

Disliked: Bathroom not cleaned everyday but the cleaner happily changed my bed when I asked.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very good location near the subway and near the bund

Disliked: rooms are a bit old and quite small but that's okay for the price

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Buena situiación, personal amable, una terraza para relajarte y tomar unas cervezas con unas vistas increibles y junto a un restaurante de comida china de chuparse los dedos

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: The room was one of the nicest I had stayed in. The staff were really helpful and nice and the location was really good, as you were quite central and surrounded by lots of restaurants. A 15 minute walk away from the bund.

Disliked: Not much really. The atmosphere could have been slightly better.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability