We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

88.7% Overall Rating

539 out of 582 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2015)

"The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The hostel was located close to a major central metro station. The staff was also really helpful."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.60
  • Breakfast USD 4.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 79.5% 233 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.89 USD

Hostel 83.2% 189 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
11.41 USD

Hostel 88.7% 249 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
19.56 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 84.0% 656 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 91.8% 92 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.96 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

539 out of 582 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 506 of 563 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

haijo zwager

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 haijo would recommend this property

Liked: the staff whas helpfulness and friendly got atmosphere location exelent. we entjoy it

Disliked: noting

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is very convenient. In the 8 bed dorms there is usually enough space for all the luggage and the lockers are big.

Disliked: Often, there is no toilet paper in the toilets; one cannot throw the paper into the toilet, so maybe this is a bit on purpose. Someone in our dorm did it anyways and the toilet clogged. They were a bit slow with sending someone to solve the problem, such that the toilet was essentially unusable in one evening and morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Colleen Gillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms, nice bathrooms. Restaurant downstairs (not many vegetables), fairly helpful staff. Nice rooftop bar with Internet.

Disliked: Wifi in the rooms didn't work half the time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, this is a very nice hostel with a great rooftop bar, friendly vibe, easy to meet people. The rooms were clean and well sorted. Can't imagine a better location. Transit, walking, sights, it was perfect.

Disliked: Staff werent that helpful - were never very interested in doing anything other than answering basic questions and shrugging. Didnt speak english either. Lack of windows made for a bit of must, but as im mold sensitive, i didnt have any issues so it wasnt bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Wolff

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: the international atmosphere and friendly staff and casualness and paintings and writings on the walls

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amie Dolan

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 July 2012 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty average place. The triple room was clean and spacious, not bad value for money. Not many facilities for backpackers. They swapped our two double rooms for one triple when one person didn't come along with no problems. Friendly staff. The shanxi restaurant downstairs was good the first time we ate there but when we ordered scrambled eggs the next day both of my friends got sick straight afterwards. Good location.

Disliked: Needs a bit of a facelift..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Engel

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 July 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, even for very late check-in; clean room and spacious bathroom; quiet and good location (with plenty of dining options near by)

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

sigurd ranum ekås

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 July 2012 sigurd ranum would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Seperate bin for toilet paper, we had two private roons, in one the toilet clogged.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alejandro Hierrezuelo Crespillo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff, cleanliness... and a lift!

Disliked: everything ok

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Animals, rabbit and bird on the rooftop garden - great for my 2y old son

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sybill Lieber

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012 Sybill would recommend this property

Liked: It simply is a great place in Shanghai. Very centraly located. It has a great rooftop garden/bar that makes staying in busy Shanghai relaxing. I hope you'll be able to keep the character of this hostel as it will become more known. I found the staff very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Sybill left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a great location, staff is very friendly, get to meet other fellow travellers, and rooftop bar was great. The server on the roof-top bar is particularly nice

Disliked: Only that the AC Unit in the room I was staying was leaking. WIll reccommend again

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Eisen

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. Towels are changed frequently and water is Complementary in the rooms. The location is great and a perfect start for sightseeing tours as well as for enjoying the nightlife of SH. You can reach the bund and French concession easily and fast by metro or taxi. The roof top bar is very charming and beer is cheap :-)

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Sargent

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms in this hostel are excellent, it's more like a hotel. Staff were helpful in arranging our train tickets to Beijing and spoke excellent English. The location is also brilliant, with only a two minute walk to the tube station and 20 minute walk to both the Bund and Old Town.

Disliked: The only issue we had was that the toilet in our room was broken. It took several times mentioning it at reception and a night of using the toilet in the restaurant downstairs before someone finally came to look at it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing: Very friendly and helpful in every situation, and they always seemed happy to chat with us, even in the middle of the night. The roof top bar was great, really not as expensive as everybody says, we payed 20 RMB for a beer in a really nice atmosphere. The room was as clean as an 8 people dorm can be, the shower was great, location is not the best, but still very good and close to the metro and many cheap places to eat and drink (subways, starbucks, mcdonalds, an italian restaurant at the corner). I really enjoyed the stay and will definitely come back- finally found my favorite hostel in Shanghai!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah-jane Messum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Sarah-jane would recommend this property

Liked: If i could rate the helpfulness of the staff higher i would!

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, easy to reach from dashijie metro station. triple room was good - comfy beds and very spacious. good to have a rooftop bar too.

Disliked: bathroom could have been cleaner - as could the bathroom facilities on the top floor rooftop terrace!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is perfect if you're planning to spend many days exploring Shanghai. Amazing location, close to everything (including a metro stop!) and they have a great rooftop bar, which is great after a long day of sightseeing. The staff are super helpful and friendly, which is so important in making your stay enjoyable. Loads of travellers here too, which makes for a great atmosphere. Restaurant downstairs is amazing: great food for a low price.

Disliked: There is not really a wide variety of breakfast options available - nothing in the restaurant downstairs and a very limited selection at the bar. Of course this is only a very minor issue, however it can be frustrating going out 'searching' for breakfast first thing in the morning!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Enrique Avila Hernandez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: el personal es fantastico, el bar funciona bien y la camarera es muy gentil, las habitaciones son amplias y la limpieza bien... el precio algo subido si tomo como referencia los hoteles de Tenerife, pero es lo que hay por China, caro con respecto a la categoria...

Disliked: Enrique left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trevor kavanagh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms - friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothin

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Ayliffe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Not just the location. The dorm was comfortable and cleaned everyday which is better than a lot of hostels I've stayed in. The shower was also great (at least in the 8-bed dorm). Friendly staff, free internet and free water refills too. Great Value.

Disliked: No towel is OK but no toilet paper?? That's a pretty basic service for a hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyubov Volkova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Lyubov would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff and very clean room

Disliked: Lyubov left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice atmosphere and above all ideal location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. just a 10 minute walk to The Bund and a short walk or metro journey to peoples square. The rooms were clean and spacious and the shower was really nice. I would happily stay here again.

Disliked: The prices in the rooftop bar were quite expensive. We have been traveling for 5 months and still have another 5 months left so can't afford western prices however if your only stop is China or don't always expect to pay 'china prices' then the prices are okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.