HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

80.2% Overall Rating

512 out of 555 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.37
  • Breakfast USD 4.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.26 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

512 out of 555 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Ayliffe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Not just the location. The dorm was comfortable and cleaned everyday which is better than a lot of hostels I've stayed in. The shower was also great (at least in the 8-bed dorm). Friendly staff, free internet and free water refills too. Great Value.

Disliked: No towel is OK but no toilet paper?? That's a pretty basic service for a hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyubov Volkova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Lyubov would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff and very clean room

Disliked: Lyubov left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice atmosphere and above all ideal location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. just a 10 minute walk to The Bund and a short walk or metro journey to peoples square. The rooms were clean and spacious and the shower was really nice. I would happily stay here again.

Disliked: The prices in the rooftop bar were quite expensive. We have been traveling for 5 months and still have another 5 months left so can't afford western prices however if your only stop is China or don't always expect to pay 'china prices' then the prices are okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Toro Acelas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 May 2012 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the room was big.

Disliked: In the restaurant they didnt offer international breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, amazing location. What really made the difference is how helpful the staff are. One staff member used his personal phone to make sure my train reservation was right and then walked me out to the street to wave me down a taxi. He even asked the driver to try and hurry because I might be late. I made the train!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Evgeny Aseev

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Evgeny would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, rooftop bar with cheap drinks, air conditioning works perfectly.

Disliked: Room was not so clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie McKinley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the Phoenix hostel were very friendly and helpful. The location is close to all the sights and very good places to eat right outside your doorstep. Would definitely stay here again if I returned to shanghai. I had a single room which was perfect to catch up on sleep. Very quiet and nice room with bathroom.

Disliked: Could improve their breakfast selection and also breakfast is not included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lubos kovac

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2012 lubos would recommend this property

Liked: great place staff location rooftop small terace service post cards stamping collecting tours...........warmly place, clean, good rooms furnished, go there........Lubos

Disliked: lubos left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, good wifi, nice bar and restaurant.

Disliked: Not as many people hanging out at the bar as I expected. No TP in the dorm bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yeonsuk Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Yeonsuk would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfulness staffs and clean!! and you can use airport pick-up service.

Disliked: I felt not good just one thing is a little noisy from outside sometimes at night. if you want visit there, you should have prepare earplugs or you can use tissue paper :D

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THe location is pretty central to all of shanghai. The staff was also very friendly with helping us plan our days apand nights.

Disliked: When we arrived they told us they overbooked one of the mixed dorm beds, so they offered to upgrade us to a private ensuite for two people. But the bed was tiny for two people. But they kept the price the same saying they upgraded us. The next day we asked if we could be in the same room for all four of us, they told us yes, that we could share a private room with two queen beds with ensuite bathroom for the same price to make up for the previous night. Yet when we prepaid for the second night, and got to the room it was two beds just like the previous.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No towels, sometimes wifi didn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Xu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and comfortable, love the awesome restaurant attached.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darryl Harbourne-Bessant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Darryl would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well situated, clean and the staff were more than helpful highly recommended

Disliked: Darryl left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, just a little walk away from major attractions. The street where the hostel is located is full of restaurants that offer everything you might want to taste during your stay n China! And there are even place s to eat western food and all of them are so close!

Disliked: Me and my friend booked two beds in the 6 beds dorm but when we got there they said the beds were not free anymore, they had been given to someone else! They gave us another nice room shared with two other people. We had to move twice then.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located very central! Nice restaurant with very good Dumplings :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoy my stay here even though it was only one night, the dorm room is quite big and clean with private bathroom and air-con inside. Friendly staff , nice roofbar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Shapiro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms came with all the extra amenities one would expect of a hotel! Also the beds were more comfortable than all the other hostels we stayed in while in China and tge rooftop bar was great when the weather was nice.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tool location , friendly staff

Disliked: Bed was hard

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean, cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Nice rooftop bar. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeong Chee Yuen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Yeong would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, lot of eateries and friendly staff.

Disliked: 2nd floor room a little basic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeong Chee Yuen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Yeong would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, lots of eateries and friendly staff.

Disliked: 2nd floor room a little too basic.