We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

85.8% Overall Rating

528 out of 571 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.94 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 91.8% 243 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.39 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.73 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 78.2% 780 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.94 USD

Hostel 88.1% 84 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

528 out of 571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 498 of 553 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Seavey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how centrally located the Phoenix was and how accommodating the staff was.

Disliked: My bathroom smelled pretty bad most days. This is not uncommon in my experience but it isn't pleasant either.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica Vivian

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top patio was great!

Disliked: My Ipod Nano was stolen from my room. The manager was helpful but unable to put it back in my pocket....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftop bar! Good and cheap restaurant inside the hostel.

Disliked: Room had no windows, so it was quite wet and stinky.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marcin Goettig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012

Liked: Situated in the very centre of Shanghai

Disliked: The hostel is big, which negatively affects the atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Kendrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Use of computers was pretty good, roof top bar was cool. I liked the pet rabbit. Overall the place was good, I found an awesome restaurant quite close where I could eat every day.

Disliked: ...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, restaurant downstairs

Disliked: stayed in private room: dark room with mould.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nr subway and shopping, good local, cheap restaurant downstairs

Disliked: stayed in private room: room was dark and some mould. a bit run down and sad. staff assistance was mixed. some friendly, some unfriendly

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar was awesome and the staff that worked there were really nice. Laundry service was handy too.

Disliked: Room smelt quite bad sometimes. Seemed fairly quiet given it was the middle of summer when I visited - they claimed that the hostel was full though..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessica Hook

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very close to People's Square and so is easy to get around Shanghai. It also has a very nice roof top bar and a nice cheap restaurant downstairs. Good value for a single room in the middle of the city.

Disliked: Was kept awake most of the night with noises from things running around the floor boards / walls. I'm guessing mice / rats...maybe as they are doing some building work on the side i was staying. I didn't see any in the room or hostel but it did put me off staying again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Greenwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A very well kept hostel; good affordable restaurant and bar; reasonable prices; helpful staff with good knowledge of the city.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful with all the different questions I had and helping me to find the travel agent where I could buy my Japan Rail Pass. The staff on the rooftop bar aIs very friendly and I enjoyed spending time with them, teaching them French while they tried to teach me Chinese. Nice place, good location and I met some nice travellers also...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful, very good location (can go by walk to most attractions), good restaurants at the door, very clean, large bathroom

Disliked: a little noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at The Phoenix Hostel just one night, giving ourselves a day in Shanghai before catching an international flight. The hostel is in a good location, with places to eat, and convenience-shops, all around. Finding Subway Sandwich, and patisserie's, just around the corner from the hostel was a big hit with the children! The hostel is also well-sited to get out and about in Shanghai. Hostel staff are very friendly, helpful and informative. The rooms are large, bright, airy and clean, as are the bathrooms. We had a 3-bed room at the front of the hostel. Towels and bed-linen were white and clean. My only complaint would be that the A/C in our room was very old and so did not really do the job to keep us cool. In the other room of our party, it worked well however. I liked the fact that the hostel is located in a small "real" street, and Shanghainese live just opposite. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends on a budget.

Disliked: The air-conditioner in our room was old and did not work properly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: Location, friendly staff, good instructions how to reach the hostel

Disliked: When we arrived, they didn't have a room for us (we changed the booking 8 days prior to arrival and they forgot to made a note despite their comfirmation via email). They offered us a spare room where the air-con was leaking but working. We thankfully took it. They also forgot to mention that the toilet was broken. They showed me where the toilets are and when I opened the door there were 2 giant rats. One jumped in the toilet immediately and the other one wanted to run away but I slammed the door first. The next day we got our room (1st floor) but we have listened to the rats running in the shafts above our room during all our stay (5 nights). The shower was hot occasionally. It's not a problem in the summer but it might be in the winter. Walls in the room are dirty, bed is horribly squeaky. We would not recomment a stay here – We're sure there are hostes in Shaghai where you don't need to listen to rats' races.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Bad smell at second floor. Very humid air at the room 2006. Bad looking room, very small. All too expensive to book tickets ( they charge 10prosent of the value for t stow minutes service.) some staff very bad in English. We complained when we got someone else's clothes back from the laundry service, and the girl in the reception denied to take the clothes and said it was our problem! Honestly - when laundry service screw up- it is not the guests problem. It is rather a big problem for the hostel since other guests have lost their expensive clothes! The reception girl actually said we could throw the clothes away. I was shocked! This happened on June 25th- girl with short hair.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Amanda Isberg

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location: right in the center of Shanghai. It was very close to two metro stops and within walking distance to many great restaurants. I particularly loved the dumpling place on the corner a couple of doors down from the hostel. The people I met at the hostel were also very nice. I also liked that there was free drinking water (even if I had to go down two floors to find it).

Disliked: All of the bathrooms at the hostel were ensuit to the dorms. I never saw or could find evidence that someone had cleaned the bathroom. There was never any soap, toiletpaper, towels, and the floor and sink area were always filthy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

haijo zwager

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 haijo would recommend this property

Liked: the staff whas helpfulness and friendly got atmosphere location exelent. we entjoy it

Disliked: noting

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is very convenient. In the 8 bed dorms there is usually enough space for all the luggage and the lockers are big.

Disliked: Often, there is no toilet paper in the toilets; one cannot throw the paper into the toilet, so maybe this is a bit on purpose. Someone in our dorm did it anyways and the toilet clogged. They were a bit slow with sending someone to solve the problem, such that the toilet was essentially unusable in one evening and morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Colleen Gillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms, nice bathrooms. Restaurant downstairs (not many vegetables), fairly helpful staff. Nice rooftop bar with Internet.

Disliked: Wifi in the rooms didn't work half the time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, this is a very nice hostel with a great rooftop bar, friendly vibe, easy to meet people. The rooms were clean and well sorted. Can't imagine a better location. Transit, walking, sights, it was perfect.

Disliked: Staff werent that helpful - were never very interested in doing anything other than answering basic questions and shrugging. Didnt speak english either. Lack of windows made for a bit of must, but as im mold sensitive, i didnt have any issues so it wasnt bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Wolff

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: the international atmosphere and friendly staff and casualness and paintings and writings on the walls

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amie Dolan

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 July 2012 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty average place. The triple room was clean and spacious, not bad value for money. Not many facilities for backpackers. They swapped our two double rooms for one triple when one person didn't come along with no problems. Friendly staff. The shanxi restaurant downstairs was good the first time we ate there but when we ordered scrambled eggs the next day both of my friends got sick straight afterwards. Good location.

Disliked: Needs a bit of a facelift..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Engel

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 July 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, even for very late check-in; clean room and spacious bathroom; quiet and good location (with plenty of dining options near by)

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

sigurd ranum ekås

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 July 2012 sigurd ranum would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Seperate bin for toilet paper, we had two private roons, in one the toilet clogged.