HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

80.2% Overall Rating

512 out of 555 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.36
  • Breakfast USD 4.85

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

512 out of 555 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful, very good location (can go by walk to most attractions), good restaurants at the door, very clean, large bathroom

Disliked: a little noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at The Phoenix Hostel just one night, giving ourselves a day in Shanghai before catching an international flight. The hostel is in a good location, with places to eat, and convenience-shops, all around. Finding Subway Sandwich, and patisserie's, just around the corner from the hostel was a big hit with the children! The hostel is also well-sited to get out and about in Shanghai. Hostel staff are very friendly, helpful and informative. The rooms are large, bright, airy and clean, as are the bathrooms. We had a 3-bed room at the front of the hostel. Towels and bed-linen were white and clean. My only complaint would be that the A/C in our room was very old and so did not really do the job to keep us cool. In the other room of our party, it worked well however. I liked the fact that the hostel is located in a small "real" street, and Shanghainese live just opposite. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends on a budget.

Disliked: The air-conditioner in our room was old and did not work properly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: Location, friendly staff, good instructions how to reach the hostel

Disliked: When we arrived, they didn't have a room for us (we changed the booking 8 days prior to arrival and they forgot to made a note despite their comfirmation via email). They offered us a spare room where the air-con was leaking but working. We thankfully took it. They also forgot to mention that the toilet was broken. They showed me where the toilets are and when I opened the door there were 2 giant rats. One jumped in the toilet immediately and the other one wanted to run away but I slammed the door first. The next day we got our room (1st floor) but we have listened to the rats running in the shafts above our room during all our stay (5 nights). The shower was hot occasionally. It's not a problem in the summer but it might be in the winter. Walls in the room are dirty, bed is horribly squeaky. We would not recomment a stay here – We're sure there are hostes in Shaghai where you don't need to listen to rats' races.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Bad smell at second floor. Very humid air at the room 2006. Bad looking room, very small. All too expensive to book tickets ( they charge 10prosent of the value for t stow minutes service.) some staff very bad in English. We complained when we got someone else's clothes back from the laundry service, and the girl in the reception denied to take the clothes and said it was our problem! Honestly - when laundry service screw up- it is not the guests problem. It is rather a big problem for the hostel since other guests have lost their expensive clothes! The reception girl actually said we could throw the clothes away. I was shocked! This happened on June 25th- girl with short hair.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Amanda Isberg

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location: right in the center of Shanghai. It was very close to two metro stops and within walking distance to many great restaurants. I particularly loved the dumpling place on the corner a couple of doors down from the hostel. The people I met at the hostel were also very nice. I also liked that there was free drinking water (even if I had to go down two floors to find it).

Disliked: All of the bathrooms at the hostel were ensuit to the dorms. I never saw or could find evidence that someone had cleaned the bathroom. There was never any soap, toiletpaper, towels, and the floor and sink area were always filthy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

haijo zwager

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 haijo would recommend this property

Liked: the staff whas helpfulness and friendly got atmosphere location exelent. we entjoy it

Disliked: noting

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is very convenient. In the 8 bed dorms there is usually enough space for all the luggage and the lockers are big.

Disliked: Often, there is no toilet paper in the toilets; one cannot throw the paper into the toilet, so maybe this is a bit on purpose. Someone in our dorm did it anyways and the toilet clogged. They were a bit slow with sending someone to solve the problem, such that the toilet was essentially unusable in one evening and morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Colleen Gillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms, nice bathrooms. Restaurant downstairs (not many vegetables), fairly helpful staff. Nice rooftop bar with Internet.

Disliked: Wifi in the rooms didn't work half the time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, this is a very nice hostel with a great rooftop bar, friendly vibe, easy to meet people. The rooms were clean and well sorted. Can't imagine a better location. Transit, walking, sights, it was perfect.

Disliked: Staff werent that helpful - were never very interested in doing anything other than answering basic questions and shrugging. Didnt speak english either. Lack of windows made for a bit of must, but as im mold sensitive, i didnt have any issues so it wasnt bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Wolff

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: the international atmosphere and friendly staff and casualness and paintings and writings on the walls

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amie Dolan

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 July 2012 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty average place. The triple room was clean and spacious, not bad value for money. Not many facilities for backpackers. They swapped our two double rooms for one triple when one person didn't come along with no problems. Friendly staff. The shanxi restaurant downstairs was good the first time we ate there but when we ordered scrambled eggs the next day both of my friends got sick straight afterwards. Good location.

Disliked: Needs a bit of a facelift..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Engel

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 July 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, even for very late check-in; clean room and spacious bathroom; quiet and good location (with plenty of dining options near by)

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

sigurd ranum ekås

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 July 2012 sigurd ranum would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Seperate bin for toilet paper, we had two private roons, in one the toilet clogged.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alejandro Hierrezuelo Crespillo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff, cleanliness... and a lift!

Disliked: everything ok

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Animals, rabbit and bird on the rooftop garden - great for my 2y old son

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sybill Lieber

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012 Sybill would recommend this property

Liked: It simply is a great place in Shanghai. Very centraly located. It has a great rooftop garden/bar that makes staying in busy Shanghai relaxing. I hope you'll be able to keep the character of this hostel as it will become more known. I found the staff very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Sybill left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a great location, staff is very friendly, get to meet other fellow travellers, and rooftop bar was great. The server on the roof-top bar is particularly nice

Disliked: Only that the AC Unit in the room I was staying was leaking. WIll reccommend again

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Eisen

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. Towels are changed frequently and water is Complementary in the rooms. The location is great and a perfect start for sightseeing tours as well as for enjoying the nightlife of SH. You can reach the bund and French concession easily and fast by metro or taxi. The roof top bar is very charming and beer is cheap :-)

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Sargent

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms in this hostel are excellent, it's more like a hotel. Staff were helpful in arranging our train tickets to Beijing and spoke excellent English. The location is also brilliant, with only a two minute walk to the tube station and 20 minute walk to both the Bund and Old Town.

Disliked: The only issue we had was that the toilet in our room was broken. It took several times mentioning it at reception and a night of using the toilet in the restaurant downstairs before someone finally came to look at it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing: Very friendly and helpful in every situation, and they always seemed happy to chat with us, even in the middle of the night. The roof top bar was great, really not as expensive as everybody says, we payed 20 RMB for a beer in a really nice atmosphere. The room was as clean as an 8 people dorm can be, the shower was great, location is not the best, but still very good and close to the metro and many cheap places to eat and drink (subways, starbucks, mcdonalds, an italian restaurant at the corner). I really enjoyed the stay and will definitely come back- finally found my favorite hostel in Shanghai!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah-jane Messum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Sarah-jane would recommend this property

Liked: If i could rate the helpfulness of the staff higher i would!

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, easy to reach from dashijie metro station. triple room was good - comfy beds and very spacious. good to have a rooftop bar too.

Disliked: bathroom could have been cleaner - as could the bathroom facilities on the top floor rooftop terrace!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is perfect if you're planning to spend many days exploring Shanghai. Amazing location, close to everything (including a metro stop!) and they have a great rooftop bar, which is great after a long day of sightseeing. The staff are super helpful and friendly, which is so important in making your stay enjoyable. Loads of travellers here too, which makes for a great atmosphere. Restaurant downstairs is amazing: great food for a low price.

Disliked: There is not really a wide variety of breakfast options available - nothing in the restaurant downstairs and a very limited selection at the bar. Of course this is only a very minor issue, however it can be frustrating going out 'searching' for breakfast first thing in the morning!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Enrique Avila Hernandez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: el personal es fantastico, el bar funciona bien y la camarera es muy gentil, las habitaciones son amplias y la limpieza bien... el precio algo subido si tomo como referencia los hoteles de Tenerife, pero es lo que hay por China, caro con respecto a la categoria...

Disliked: Enrique left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trevor kavanagh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms - friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothin