HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai

Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 32.60USD
  • Breakfast 4.89USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 88%

Value 95%

Showing 21-30 of 82 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It is within walking distance of People's Square, the Museum, Pedestrian Walk, and the Bund.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean nice room

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: The most thing that I love and I care about is the working staffs there are very friendly and hospitable. I tried many different kinds of hostels before and nothing is more important than feeling welcome and homely-like. They talk to me very often and ask me any improvement needed to be done in order to accommodate me better. One of the most good things is they won't give you the look if you don't feel like drinking in the bar.

Disliked: No kitchen room. Kind of inconvenient for someone like me who wants to cook sometimes. To be fair, they don't have that facility in most of the hostels in China.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great location nearby many attractions of Shanghai. the hostel just finished the renovation as room facilities are perfect. i always stay in the dorm during my journey ,the bed is the most soft i have ever stayed. rooftop bar is good for drink and breakfast. friendly staff,i would recommend this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean rooms, good location

Disliked: the staff is helpful but could be nicer, lots of constructions going on inside the building so it can be very noisy

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location and super friendly staff.

Disliked: There's construction going on at the moment, it was noisy from 8am throughout the day.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent service provided by Jacky, Snog & the team, newly upgraded room with modern design, much improved bath area with elderly friendly flooring, excellent location near to MRT, plenty of yummy eateries & minimarts around

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much! All the room renovation is finished now and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
You've been so grateful when you were here, Jacky,Snog and all the phoenix staff will miss you.
Thank you again.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff was very helpful, kind, and patient. I loved the rooftop restaurant and bar, they had some great food!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Work / volunteering

Liked: The single room was very clean and comfortable. There was a Shaanxi food restaurant next door. Om nom nom.

Disliked: There weren't any cats.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The bar was nice and the staff there were really nice, the food was basic but very tasty. Location was pretty good.

Disliked: A bit difficult to find the place as the instructions are a bit complicated and I ended up getting quite lost and wandering around the area for half an hour or so before I found it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability