We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

84.6% Overall Rating

531 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

Roy Delaney thinks…

"As it was our first stop in China we were a little nervous about finding the place. But it was easy to find, and fantastically located right by People's Park, and on one of the best food streets in…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.7% 181 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.1% 86 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

531 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 501 of 556 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kin yin lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 kin yin would recommend this property

Liked: It close proximity to the Metro station, ease of getting food, and short distance to people park, and Yuyuan.

Disliked: Air conditioner not as cool as it should during the hot days.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kenneth Heng

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2013 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good place for its price.

Disliked: Kenneth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Simpson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful, cici & fly especially. Location was good, comfortable decent rooms good food!

Disliked: The street workers banging at 7am!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Lukey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar was great. Good place to meet people and a view of the city.

Disliked: Our room was a bit pokey, but it worked. Other rooms seemed a bit more spacious, so it might have been the luck of the draw.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karl-Heinz Ring

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Karl-Heinz would recommend this property

Liked: There was no place better for me and my wife - in the centre of Shanghai

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location right in the heart of Shanghai, easy walk to metro and museum. Comfy and warm beds and clean. Great rooftop bar/ restaurant and the breakfast sandwich is not to be missed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacious rooftop bar with good breakfast, many tables + fast wifi. people are friendly but relaxed. all-Chinese bar staff are friendly + always introducing you to other guests, will even help you learn Chinese. beds are very clean, spacious locker. really great cheap Xian restaurant on the 1st floor. 1 block from metro + People's Square, walkable to Old Town + Bund.

Disliked: bathroom is dirty: mold on shower wall, floor needs a good scrubbing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm room was comfortable, quiet and clean, good price for Shanghai.

Disliked: Laundry service was very expensive, more than 50 RMB for a load and not professional, took a day and a half and half my clothes were still damp when I collected them, also they got someoneone else's clothes mixed in. Better to provide self-service machines. Bar would have been better if they had some cheaper local beers as well as expensive imports.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Kolodina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing here. Location, accomodation, bar in the roof.. I`ll definitely stay here next time. Really good place!

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellant and the staff in the rooftop bar were really helpfull. I would gladly stay at this hostel again if i return to Shanghai.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: ery clean- no bathroom smells. Close to everything. Water dispenser in room. Non-slip mat in shower.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Conneely

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop garden is amazing as well as the cafe downstairs

Disliked: They don't provide free water, from a filter when you are staying in a dorm. :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nina Sjoblom

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: EVERY THING!! I have been to this hostel 4 times and enjoy my stay there every time! The Staff are helpful and freindly!! The guy who works in the bar 'Fly' took us out to a market the first time we stayed and a few of the other guys have hepled us out when we have been looking for other places in shanghai! We have stayed in the 8 bedroom dorm and a twin room. Both great size's and good lockers. The bar up stairs is small but great place for pre drinking before a night out! We made loads of freinds every time we stayed from all over the world, so its a really sociable place! My freinds Mum came and visted us in shanghai and even stayed in the hostel with us! She thought it was a great place to, value for money and location.

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marijn Witte

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Marijn would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel! I stayed seven nights and every morning I enjoyed going up to the rooftop bar for coffee and a delicious sandwich! Met some great people there. Also I really loved the friendly staff working there! Had nice conversations with them! The nice girl working there (Cici) even helped me carrying my luggage to the metrostation...How sweet is that! :-) I totally recommend this hostel as it is also in a great convenient location. Metrostation is just around the corner! Loved my stay + hope to come back one day! All the best to the great people working there!!!

Disliked: Didn't really like my first room (as it was very small and didn't provide an outside view) but was able to change to a nicer room after just 1 night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2013

Liked: Very good location, nice bar, nice atmosphere, staff spoke very good english.

Disliked: Broken things in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location surrounded by a lot of restaurants. Room standard ok given the price they charge. No quilt was provided and it was cold at night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 March 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: the staff

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ci Ci and Fly who operate the roof top bar are top notch people, very friendly and helpful! Breakfast is up there is a great deal and as a fellow traveler has written on the wall, the coffee is better than starbucks, which I know isnt saying much, but the coffee is the best we found in the local vicinity. Got dumplings downstairs too!

Disliked: nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location in the heart of the city, close the metro stations.

Disliked: people smoking in the downstairs lobby...smoke outside!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Evans

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay, exactly what I expected for the price.

Disliked: Great location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cleaned daily, decent restaurant downstairs

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff. Heating in the room worked well and was needed! Clean rooms.

Disliked: The shower took a long time to heat up but was lovely once it got going.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to a metro station and in walkable distance of People's Square (where more metro lines connect). Can also walk to East Nanjing Road (next to P.'s Sq.) and even the Bund is only about 1.5 km away, which can still be walked but a taxi will be much quicker and is relatively cheap (there's no metro station for that).

Disliked: The air conditioner in my private room was rather old and noisy. Also, it could not warm up the room anymore once it was below ~5C outside. I set it to 30C and the highest level but it would reach 20C tops. Also, I heard rats(?) either in the floor or wall and in the ceiling. Never saw any (or traces of any), though. Oh, and the bathroom has one of those showers that have no separate tub but shares the floor with the rest of the room, i.e. after a shower the whole bathroom floor is a bit wet. Not under water, but not dry either.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elena Anishchenko

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 November 2012 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, there is an elevator

Disliked: the enter is not so noticeable + i don't like the conditioner in our room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location! Nice rooftop terrace with bar, friendly and helpful staff, popular chinese restaurant in the building

Disliked: internet works on the terrace, but not in every room