HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

80.2% Overall Rating

512 out of 555 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.36
  • Breakfast USD 4.85

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.85 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

512 out of 555 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location surrounded by a lot of restaurants. Room standard ok given the price they charge. No quilt was provided and it was cold at night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 March 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: the staff

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ci Ci and Fly who operate the roof top bar are top notch people, very friendly and helpful! Breakfast is up there is a great deal and as a fellow traveler has written on the wall, the coffee is better than starbucks, which I know isnt saying much, but the coffee is the best we found in the local vicinity. Got dumplings downstairs too!

Disliked: nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location in the heart of the city, close the metro stations.

Disliked: people smoking in the downstairs lobby...smoke outside!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Evans

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay, exactly what I expected for the price.

Disliked: Great location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cleaned daily, decent restaurant downstairs

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff. Heating in the room worked well and was needed! Clean rooms.

Disliked: The shower took a long time to heat up but was lovely once it got going.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to a metro station and in walkable distance of People's Square (where more metro lines connect). Can also walk to East Nanjing Road (next to P.'s Sq.) and even the Bund is only about 1.5 km away, which can still be walked but a taxi will be much quicker and is relatively cheap (there's no metro station for that).

Disliked: The air conditioner in my private room was rather old and noisy. Also, it could not warm up the room anymore once it was below ~5C outside. I set it to 30C and the highest level but it would reach 20C tops. Also, I heard rats(?) either in the floor or wall and in the ceiling. Never saw any (or traces of any), though. Oh, and the bathroom has one of those showers that have no separate tub but shares the floor with the rest of the room, i.e. after a shower the whole bathroom floor is a bit wet. Not under water, but not dry either.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elena Anishchenko

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 November 2012 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, there is an elevator

Disliked: the enter is not so noticeable + i don't like the conditioner in our room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location! Nice rooftop terrace with bar, friendly and helpful staff, popular chinese restaurant in the building

Disliked: internet works on the terrace, but not in every room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Boel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! I had a nice 1-person room, with a clean well-equipped bathroom, at a great location in the city. I would recommend it even to my parents!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was the remote control of the TV, it showed only Chinese characters. After some random button presses, I messed up the system, and didn't get it to work any more :-). But given the fact that this was the only negative point, you can guess I had a great stay.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012

Liked: Location - great to be within local community

Disliked: We had train tickets sent here in an express post parcel, the staff opened this and didn't keep the papers associated with the travel and had placed the train tickets in the desk drawer. No attempt to give them to us prior to our request for them.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a popular restaurant downstairs, and a convinience store next door which is handy.

Disliked: Shower and air conditioning did not work properly, but other than that the room was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Seavey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how centrally located the Phoenix was and how accommodating the staff was.

Disliked: My bathroom smelled pretty bad most days. This is not uncommon in my experience but it isn't pleasant either.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica Vivian

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top patio was great!

Disliked: My Ipod Nano was stolen from my room. The manager was helpful but unable to put it back in my pocket....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftop bar! Good and cheap restaurant inside the hostel.

Disliked: Room had no windows, so it was quite wet and stinky.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marcin Goettig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012

Liked: Situated in the very centre of Shanghai

Disliked: The hostel is big, which negatively affects the atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Kendrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Use of computers was pretty good, roof top bar was cool. I liked the pet rabbit. Overall the place was good, I found an awesome restaurant quite close where I could eat every day.

Disliked: ...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, restaurant downstairs

Disliked: stayed in private room: dark room with mould.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nr subway and shopping, good local, cheap restaurant downstairs

Disliked: stayed in private room: room was dark and some mould. a bit run down and sad. staff assistance was mixed. some friendly, some unfriendly

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar was awesome and the staff that worked there were really nice. Laundry service was handy too.

Disliked: Room smelt quite bad sometimes. Seemed fairly quiet given it was the middle of summer when I visited - they claimed that the hostel was full though..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessica Hook

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very close to People's Square and so is easy to get around Shanghai. It also has a very nice roof top bar and a nice cheap restaurant downstairs. Good value for a single room in the middle of the city.

Disliked: Was kept awake most of the night with noises from things running around the floor boards / walls. I'm guessing mice / rats...maybe as they are doing some building work on the side i was staying. I didn't see any in the room or hostel but it did put me off staying again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Greenwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A very well kept hostel; good affordable restaurant and bar; reasonable prices; helpful staff with good knowledge of the city.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful with all the different questions I had and helping me to find the travel agent where I could buy my Japan Rail Pass. The staff on the rooftop bar aIs very friendly and I enjoyed spending time with them, teaching them French while they tried to teach me Chinese. Nice place, good location and I met some nice travellers also...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.