HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 97%

Staff 91%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 29.08USD
  • Breakfast 4.36USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 97%

Staff 91%

Value 97%

Showing 21-30 of 35 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: As it was our first stop in China we were a little nervous about finding the place. But it was easy to find, and fantastically located right by People's Park, and on one of the best food streets in town. Lots of the city's headline attractions are in easy walking distance, and the restaurant downstairs is tasty and veg friendly. Excellent Chinese debut for us.

Disliked: It would have been nice if the folks turnng the floor below our room into a bar didn't start work at 7:30am!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms are clean and the food in the restaurant on the groundlevel is realy good. Good internetco ection

Disliked: Not realy negative points, the prices in the terracecafe are a little high.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Newly renovated and very clean rooms.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice rooftop bar and clean rooms. Good location very close to subway.

Disliked: Staff were unfriendly and never smiled. Cleaners were very noisy whenever they came in, even if people were sleeping.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A couple of days after my stay I found myself 'stranded' in Beijing for 12 hours between trains. Went to Dragon King and asked if they had a room. They didn't as they were fully booked. However, they let me hang about and even gave me a towel for a shower. When I asked what should I pay for this, they said nothing- happy to help.Wasn't this nice of them

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is great and the staff is friendly. There is always an English speaking person to help. They are renovating each room and they look great. They have a roof top garden place to eat, drink, and socialize. It is within walking distance of People's Square, the Museum, Pedestrian Walk, and the Bund.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean nice room

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: The most thing that I love and I care about is the working staffs there are very friendly and hospitable. I tried many different kinds of hostels before and nothing is more important than feeling welcome and homely-like. They talk to me very often and ask me any improvement needed to be done in order to accommodate me better. One of the most good things is they won't give you the look if you don't feel like drinking in the bar.

Disliked: No kitchen room. Kind of inconvenient for someone like me who wants to cook sometimes. To be fair, they don't have that facility in most of the hostels in China.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great location nearby many attractions of Shanghai. the hostel just finished the renovation as room facilities are perfect. i always stay in the dorm during my journey ,the bed is the most soft i have ever stayed. rooftop bar is good for drink and breakfast. friendly staff,i would recommend this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability