HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 32.10USD
  • Breakfast 4.81USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

Showing 11-20 of 53 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, with incredible food at the restaurant on the ground floor and at most other places on the street, we had a double private and it felt like a mid-range hotel. We were really impressed.

Disliked: Could have had better breakfast in their own bar, but doesn't really matter as so many choices on the street, also the laundry facilities were good but expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Reasonably good location, 2 minutes from metro, plenty of restaurants nearby. 10-15 minutes walk from Nanjing Road.

Disliked: At times a funny smell coming from the room (not sure if it was from the toilet, shower or outside). Toilet and shower cubicles were surrounded only by transparent glass which was kind of strange.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The hostel was located close to a major central metro station. The staff was also really helpful.

Disliked: Maybe the hostel was quiet when I stayed there because there wasn't much atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, newly renovated rooms, helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was really clean, I loved the shower (strong water pressure and hot!). The staff was very friendly and helped us with all our questions. The bar in the 5th floor is really nice (probably in summer even better!). Downstaires there is a good restaurant if you are tired from the day. The wifi ist good and stable. Very good location, you can walk to most of the imported spots or take the nearby subway....Just loved it!

Disliked: The bar is a little overpriced, but really just a little!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location: close to center.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellently located hostel near excellent food street. Walkable to lots of Sights and metro lines. Has a lift! And a cool little bar upstairs. The Shaanix restaurant on the ground floor is so good!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I slept in a dorm and they have huge lockers to keep your stuff.

Disliked: Is not very clean. They never clean under the beds and just mop occasionally.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: As it was our first stop in China we were a little nervous about finding the place. But it was easy to find, and fantastically located right by People's Park, and on one of the best food streets in town. Lots of the city's headline attractions are in easy walking distance, and the restaurant downstairs is tasty and veg friendly. Excellent Chinese debut for us.

Disliked: It would have been nice if the folks turnng the floor below our room into a bar didn't start work at 7:30am!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms are clean and the food in the restaurant on the groundlevel is realy good. Good internetco ection

Disliked: Not realy negative points, the prices in the terracecafe are a little high.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability