HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

81.0% Overall Rating

511 out of 554 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.39
  • Breakfast USD 4.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.29 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.65 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.10 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

511 out of 554 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shelley Morris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar was a great place to meet people, the rooms were really big and well kept, there was also another common area which was nice. Close to lots of good restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near People's Square, Nanjing Dong Lu, the Bund and Xintiandi. The French Concession is a short bus ride away. Lots of decent Chinese restaurants on the street. Staff was friendly and efficient. Cici on the roof bar is especially nice. I had a double room with a private bathroom, which was pretty clean (minus a few odd stains on the towels).

Disliked: The room was pretty small with the bed taking up most of the space. There was a desk but no chair. Also not much space to hang clothes. I stayed for almost 3 weeks though, so this is probably not an issue for short-term travelers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jacob Liverman

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a summer camp, but with more poverty.

Disliked: Some places had a feet smell. But all of shanghai sometimes has a feet smell...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Prince

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, very helpful booking tickets and giving advice. The roof top bar is a great place to meet people, it has a great atmosphere about it and the rooms were spacious.

Disliked: Bathroom not cleaned everyday but the cleaner happily changed my bed when I asked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BUPINDER DOSANJH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2013 BUPINDER would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Helpful staff. Great breakfast at the rooftop bar. Laundry service. Close to many restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kevin Ziegler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: very good location near the subway and near the bund

Disliked: rooms are a bit old and quite small but that's okay for the price

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The one exceptional thing about this property is the location. It is in the middle of Shanghai and close to everything a new visitor would want to see. The rooftop bar is nice, and the bar staff are friendly.

Disliked: The rooms could use a repaint and less battered furniture. Also, power-points were hard to find in my private room. The entrance and reception is small, and information is hard to find.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hannah Bickerton

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

24 June 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The room was one of the nicest I had stayed in. The staff were really helpful and nice and the location was really good, as you were quite central and surrounded by lots of restaurants. A 15 minute walk away from the bund.

Disliked: Not much really. The atmosphere could have been slightly better.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location very convenient walk to subway station and people's square. Rooftop bar was decent. Room was clean with ax, quiet (I got the more expensive private room at $258/night).

Disliked: Maybe a few paint splatters on the floor in my washroom, not a bit deal. The sink was slow to drain but that's not a big deal either. They don't accept American Express.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tyler Moyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013

Liked: Good location and value for your money. This hostel has a lot of negatives in my opinion. From the expensive bar upstaris to the deposits to the not so helpful staff. Try finding somewhere else to stay...

Disliked: 1. Bring your own towel! Mine somehow disapeared while I was out sightseeing and the staff refused to give me my 50RMB=$8. The most expensive cheap towel.. 2. The Bar upstaris is VERY EXPENSIVE and rips you off! 15RMB RMB for cheapest beer and 25RMB for a corona or bacardi. There is a mart next door that sells beer for 3RMB and bacardi for 13-15RMB. The food is expensive as well! Eat the subway or Mcdys instead... 3. Wifi is ok and goes in and out sometimes.... 4. Staff was not very helpful in my opinion. I have experienced far better hostel service where the staff goes out of their way to help out their customers and make sure that they are satisfied 5. You have to put down deposits. 100RMB for key card and 50RMB for a towel. Better not lose that key card or towel(if you need one)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kin yin lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 kin yin would recommend this property

Liked: It close proximity to the Metro station, ease of getting food, and short distance to people park, and Yuyuan.

Disliked: Air conditioner not as cool as it should during the hot days.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kenneth Heng

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2013 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good place for its price.

Disliked: Kenneth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Simpson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful, cici & fly especially. Location was good, comfortable decent rooms good food!

Disliked: The street workers banging at 7am!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Lukey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar was great. Good place to meet people and a view of the city.

Disliked: Our room was a bit pokey, but it worked. Other rooms seemed a bit more spacious, so it might have been the luck of the draw.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karl-Heinz Ring

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Karl-Heinz would recommend this property

Liked: There was no place better for me and my wife - in the centre of Shanghai

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location right in the heart of Shanghai, easy walk to metro and museum. Comfy and warm beds and clean. Great rooftop bar/ restaurant and the breakfast sandwich is not to be missed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacious rooftop bar with good breakfast, many tables + fast wifi. people are friendly but relaxed. all-Chinese bar staff are friendly + always introducing you to other guests, will even help you learn Chinese. beds are very clean, spacious locker. really great cheap Xian restaurant on the 1st floor. 1 block from metro + People's Square, walkable to Old Town + Bund.

Disliked: bathroom is dirty: mold on shower wall, floor needs a good scrubbing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm room was comfortable, quiet and clean, good price for Shanghai.

Disliked: Laundry service was very expensive, more than 50 RMB for a load and not professional, took a day and a half and half my clothes were still damp when I collected them, also they got someoneone else's clothes mixed in. Better to provide self-service machines. Bar would have been better if they had some cheaper local beers as well as expensive imports.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Kolodina

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing here. Location, accomodation, bar in the roof.. I`ll definitely stay here next time. Really good place!

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellant and the staff in the rooftop bar were really helpfull. I would gladly stay at this hostel again if i return to Shanghai.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: ery clean- no bathroom smells. Close to everything. Water dispenser in room. Non-slip mat in shower.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Conneely

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop garden is amazing as well as the cafe downstairs

Disliked: They don't provide free water, from a filter when you are staying in a dorm. :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nina Sjoblom

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: EVERY THING!! I have been to this hostel 4 times and enjoy my stay there every time! The Staff are helpful and freindly!! The guy who works in the bar 'Fly' took us out to a market the first time we stayed and a few of the other guys have hepled us out when we have been looking for other places in shanghai! We have stayed in the 8 bedroom dorm and a twin room. Both great size's and good lockers. The bar up stairs is small but great place for pre drinking before a night out! We made loads of freinds every time we stayed from all over the world, so its a really sociable place! My freinds Mum came and visted us in shanghai and even stayed in the hostel with us! She thought it was a great place to, value for money and location.

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marijn Witte

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Marijn would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel! I stayed seven nights and every morning I enjoyed going up to the rooftop bar for coffee and a delicious sandwich! Met some great people there. Also I really loved the friendly staff working there! Had nice conversations with them! The nice girl working there (Cici) even helped me carrying my luggage to the metrostation...How sweet is that! :-) I totally recommend this hostel as it is also in a great convenient location. Metrostation is just around the corner! Loved my stay + hope to come back one day! All the best to the great people working there!!!

Disliked: Didn't really like my first room (as it was very small and didn't provide an outside view) but was able to change to a nicer room after just 1 night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2013

Liked: Very good location, nice bar, nice atmosphere, staff spoke very good english.

Disliked: Broken things in the room