We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

84.6% Overall Rating

531 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

Roy Delaney thinks…

"As it was our first stop in China we were a little nervous about finding the place. But it was easy to find, and fantastically located right by People's Park, and on one of the best food streets in…"

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.1% 86 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

531 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 501 of 556 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rune Tøttenborg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Rune would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good and the staff is friendly and helpful

Disliked: Don't like that there is badroom and toilet in the 6 and 8 persons dorms becauce i think it desturbs to much. If one is taking a shower the toilet can't be used and the other way around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jose Daniel Valdivia Navarrete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Jose Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not far from Bund, French concession area, Xintiandi, Nanjing Rd, People Square... Nice rooftop lounge area and nice staff. Also laundry service at good price.

Disliked: As most chinese hostels: toilet not working (this was even worse than most places not sucking almost anything at all), a little smelly old room and strange smell to humidity at the corridors of the floor I was staying.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Rueda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: Este hostel me ha fascinado, de los 4 hostel que visité en China, Este ha sido el mejor por la ubicación, limpieza, servicios. Queda a pocos minutos a pie de la famos calle comercial Nanjing lu, también se puede ir caminando a Peoplés Square, Schanghai Museum y al Bund. Por la calle del hotel hay pequeños restauranres y salas de masajes. El hostel tiene su propio restaurante, muy bueno! y en la 5 planta hay una cafetería-bar donde puedes conocer gente, atomar cerveza y.....conectarte a Facebook!!!!

Disliked: Todo perfecto!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Gee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay. Central location, clean and friendly... Roof top bar does the best cup Of coffee.... Would really recommend on a budget.. Take a city map none in hotel...

Disliked: Wall are slightly thin!!!!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yuen Sing Mya

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Yuen Sing would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Run-down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy and clean rooms. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location location, location.

Disliked: It was grungy :-(

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2013

Liked: Location's pretty central, though it's only really on line 8, which is not super convenient, and the 2 is pretty far. Restaurant downstairs is good.

Disliked: Staff ranged from not-super-friendly to just plain rude. Bed was board-hard, even by China standards. I've stayed here in the past and found the dorms horrid but private rooms quite nice, but the standard for the latter has dropped. Peeling paint, not-actually-cleaned undersides (as of the bed and faucet), and one more thing: cockroaches. I killed two.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Kyla Marie Partridge

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Kyla Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar is the place to be, even if you don't stay in the hostel. You will meet lots of other travelers there. Cici and Fly... you guys are great. The place has a nice atmosphere overall and a good priced restaurant on the ground level. Location was great, walking distance to most sights! The area around the hostel is very interesting with tons of food options. People there are nice and you meet a lot of Westerners to party with! Lockers are provided and if you don't have a lock you can pay a deposit to get one.

Disliked: The maid did a shit job, sorry. Even for a cheap hostel I was disappointed. She would clean the bathroom upon request, but little effort was made to keep the room itself clean. Hair and dust everywhere, especially under the beds was disgusting!! Some of the girls working downstairs have poor English which was frustrating at times. Expensive and unprofessional laundry services and the air conditioning broke several times during my stay. Toilet paper is not supplied and the toilet also kept breaking. Many of the bed lights also didn't work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Buchwieser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely perfect, with everything in walking distance and the metro just around the corner.

Disliked: The rooms towards the yard smell a little from the dumpsters downstairs if you keep the window open. but theres nothing the hostel can do about it i think.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Andrew Smith

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013

Liked: It was cheap and the location was fairly good. You can walk to the Bund but it takes a little longer than suggested on Hostel Bookers.

Disliked: It was very dirty, and the atmosphere was rather depressing. Perhaps I came at the wrong time, but I have visited many hostels before, and I wouldn't recommend this place to other travelers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Great location and it is good for meeting people and partying, or even just roaming the city on your lonesome. Great city, great hostel. Thanks!

Disliked: Wifi wasnt great in our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best part about this property is the rooftop bar. It's a great place to chill and escape the heat, there's internet, Cici and Fly speak great English and are amazing hosts, and they make a mean fried egg sandwich!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As an avid back packer and veteran foreign resident of China, I was very impressed by the level of service. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating. The room I had originally purchased had been overbooked and I was placed in a single room at no extra charge. The manager/owner of the roof top restaurant and bar, CeCe, was very friendly and hospitable. Overall, I will be making sure to stay at this hostel when I fly back into Shanghai.

Disliked: The only negative feedback I can make is....The bed sheets were not sanitary! I had stains ridden throughout the bed sheets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Itziar Oquillas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Itziar would recommend this property

Liked: Buena situiación, personal amable, una terraza para relajarte y tomar unas cervezas con unas vistas increibles y junto a un restaurante de comida china de chuparse los dedos

Disliked: Itziar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shelley Morris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop bar was a great place to meet people, the rooms were really big and well kept, there was also another common area which was nice. Close to lots of good restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near People's Square, Nanjing Dong Lu, the Bund and Xintiandi. The French Concession is a short bus ride away. Lots of decent Chinese restaurants on the street. Staff was friendly and efficient. Cici on the roof bar is especially nice. I had a double room with a private bathroom, which was pretty clean (minus a few odd stains on the towels).

Disliked: The room was pretty small with the bed taking up most of the space. There was a desk but no chair. Also not much space to hang clothes. I stayed for almost 3 weeks though, so this is probably not an issue for short-term travelers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jacob Liverman

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a summer camp, but with more poverty.

Disliked: Some places had a feet smell. But all of shanghai sometimes has a feet smell...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Prince

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, very helpful booking tickets and giving advice. The roof top bar is a great place to meet people, it has a great atmosphere about it and the rooms were spacious.

Disliked: Bathroom not cleaned everyday but the cleaner happily changed my bed when I asked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BUPINDER DOSANJH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2013 BUPINDER would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Helpful staff. Great breakfast at the rooftop bar. Laundry service. Close to many restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kevin Ziegler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: very good location near the subway and near the bund

Disliked: rooms are a bit old and quite small but that's okay for the price

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The one exceptional thing about this property is the location. It is in the middle of Shanghai and close to everything a new visitor would want to see. The rooftop bar is nice, and the bar staff are friendly.

Disliked: The rooms could use a repaint and less battered furniture. Also, power-points were hard to find in my private room. The entrance and reception is small, and information is hard to find.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hannah Bickerton

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

24 June 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The room was one of the nicest I had stayed in. The staff were really helpful and nice and the location was really good, as you were quite central and surrounded by lots of restaurants. A 15 minute walk away from the bund.

Disliked: Not much really. The atmosphere could have been slightly better.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location very convenient walk to subway station and people's square. Rooftop bar was decent. Room was clean with ax, quiet (I got the more expensive private room at $258/night).

Disliked: Maybe a few paint splatters on the floor in my washroom, not a bit deal. The sink was slow to drain but that's not a big deal either. They don't accept American Express.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tyler Moyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013

Liked: Good location and value for your money. This hostel has a lot of negatives in my opinion. From the expensive bar upstaris to the deposits to the not so helpful staff. Try finding somewhere else to stay...

Disliked: 1. Bring your own towel! Mine somehow disapeared while I was out sightseeing and the staff refused to give me my 50RMB=$8. The most expensive cheap towel.. 2. The Bar upstaris is VERY EXPENSIVE and rips you off! 15RMB RMB for cheapest beer and 25RMB for a corona or bacardi. There is a mart next door that sells beer for 3RMB and bacardi for 13-15RMB. The food is expensive as well! Eat the subway or Mcdys instead... 3. Wifi is ok and goes in and out sometimes.... 4. Staff was not very helpful in my opinion. I have experienced far better hostel service where the staff goes out of their way to help out their customers and make sure that they are satisfied 5. You have to put down deposits. 100RMB for key card and 50RMB for a towel. Better not lose that key card or towel(if you need one)