HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 96%

Staff 90%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 30.01USD
  • Breakfast 4.50USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 96%

Staff 90%

Value 96%

Showing 181-44 of 44 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely staff, very clean, nice little restaurant on 1st floor.

Disliked: Only thing I would request would be a safe in the room!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel! Dumpling restaurant is fantastic and the bar on the roof is very cheap and a great place to meet fellow travelers.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good room, everything very clean. Very helpfull staff, Excellent rooftop bar with nice staff. We did our laundry here. Good value for the money we paid.The room wall were a bit thin, so when on the 2nd night a drunk Chinese couple got back to their room they kept us awake for the rest of the night. that was most annoying. We talked to the staff about this. They immediatelly offered us another room and spoke to the Cinese couple. Everything in order the night after. Nice Chinese restaurant downstairs. Good food. Excellent location!

Disliked: A bit noisy

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff as well as brilliant location. Excellent in house restaurant.

Disliked: Internet was working well in the room. Bathroom facilities were of medium standard.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fabulous staff with excellent English. They helped us with bus and train tickets, sim cards, directions, ordering food, etc. Lovely clean room with drinking water provided. Good internet access in rooms. Fantastic restaurant (maybe the most popular in all of Shanghai). Laundry service. Roof top bar. Again, the staff were great.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean. Great atmoshere. Great Location.

Disliked: Awesome. Roof rulez.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: its location very near to metro and walking distance to people's square

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very friendly

Disliked: ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location,friendly staff.especially for the bar staff-crystal.nice rooftop bar. enjoy breakfast...

Disliked: the hostel can provide more convenient service.like bike hire.stamp sales...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, safe, convenient to the Bund and other attractions. The staff also offered suggestions on where to go and booked them for us. We loved the rooftop bar and the laundry service. They were very friendly especially the receptionists and bar staff.

Disliked: Nothing. I was happy with everything and would recommend it to my children and my friends. It was very safe for single travellers.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability