HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

80.2% Overall Rating

512 out of 555 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Great location, close to everything. Good Xianese restaurant connected with the hostel. There's a rooftop bar with decent prices. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel overall was nice."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.37
  • Breakfast USD 4.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 93.5% 231 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.26 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
17.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 73.9% 32 reviews
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 77.0% 775 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

512 out of 555 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 537 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Eduard Cachet

22 October 2009

Liked: The location and helpfullness of the staff. The room was clean and just renewed. The rooftop chill out was nice, but the bar closed at 11pm. Too early for most travellers.

Disliked: Eduard left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice roof terrace, cheapish drinks and easy to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds in the dorms were quite tough... The rest was perfect!The bar on the roof is absolutely wonderful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Phoenix had a cool rooftop bar, an excellent location and the friendliest staff! Would definately stay again. - Julia from Finland

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saad Salim Ali

11 October 2009 Saad Salim would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, especially Zair :-).Super good location. Clean. only negative thing is the hard beds in the dorm.First, I booked only 2 days, but I continue more days because I feel good here.

Disliked: Saad Salim left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb. We had wanted something closer to the Bund, but actually this is a better spot: right by People's Square in the centre of town, so easy to access all tourist sights. The staff were VERY helpful, particularly as I lost my bankcard at the airport and they let me stay the first few nights on trust until I sorted it out. The street is full of good restaurants, and had a beautiful light display. We stayed in a private room and it was more like a hotel. All in all, couldn't have asked for anything more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svetlana Epifanova

08 October 2009 Svetlana would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect - on the food street and in the very heart of the city. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Svetlana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent room, clean, great view, helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julie de brito

04 October 2009 julie would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great, staff really nice and helpful.

Disliked: julie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Nanjing Lu, and People's Square. The roof top bar is a great place to hang out after a long day of sight seeing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anca Gindulescu

02 October 2009 Anca would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoy my stay there. The hostel is very nice and clean. Not to say that the staff is always very friendly and keen on helping you. They even have chinese classes and other options if you are interested in. The twin room was very quietm there was air conditioning which came in great help considering the weather outside. I highly recommend it, very good for the little price you're paying.

Disliked: Anca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great??Thank you for your kindness??

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very nice -- especially the staffs. They were all very helpful and friendly, even offer very discounted one-day zhouzhuang tour package (on wed only, and you may want to call them in advance to see if the pacakge is still available). There are total of 3 computers for usage, which I think is more than enough. The overall environment is very clean, and the bathroom is clean too. It has elevator -- which is a plus for me since I had a "wheeled" carry-on luggage. I would totally stay there again - bargain for the money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was on a street with lots of good authentic food and the stafff were very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, beautiful room, friendly, nice bathroom,... everything OK!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CAMILO AVELLA

09 September 2009 CAMILO would recommend this property

Liked: totally recomended, used to be a hotel, very commfortable, best location imposible.

Disliked: CAMILO left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Rudorfer

08 September 2009 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: we had a really great stay! had a twin room with huge and soft beds, very clean.the stuff was very helpful and friendly, there even was a BBQ party at saturday night!i would really recommend the phoenix, with its great location, really good restaurant and helpful staff!

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 September 2009

Liked: The location was really goog

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Greenwood

04 September 2009 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This is the nicest and cleanest hostel we've stayed at so far in China, and it's our 3rd, it's more of a 2/3* hotel. The girl on reception was very helpful and spoke good english. The street location is very good, lots of restaurants nearby, 5 minute walk to the subway (Starbucks 2 minute walk away). Room was a good size, with decent shower, clean with towels and toiletries supplied. The bar on the roof is quite pleasant for a couple of beers and a snack, it's not particularly lively or a place to party, but quite pleasant for an evening drink - it's open until 11pm.There are 2 computers with internet in the bar and 1 in reception. All the rooms have Ethernet (Wired) internet connection, I believe the dorm rooms have wireless - we had a double ensuite. The internet connection is however what really let this place down a little, it was incredibly slow, even by China standards, we were regularly waiting 3 minutes for pages to load on sites like lonely planet (It was almost like dial up days!). In fact the hostelbookers website was one of the most difficult to access!The other thing that let it down for us was the laundry service, we dropped off a bag of laundry and paid the 25RMB, and were told it would be ready the following day, when I went to collect it, it hadn't even been washed. They promised it would be ready first thing the following morning as we were leaving, so I got up to collect it at 09:00 and it was still very wet and I had to wait another hour and half whilst they dried it in their rather small and not very powerful dryer machine.Overall though, I would recommend this place to the budget traveller as I believe it was good value for money and a pleasant and comfortable base for our 5 days in Shanghai.*******CAUTION****As a side note though, be careful around the tourist areas of anybody that tries to befriend you and asks if you would like to go to a tea house/ceremony. They will probably claim to be students. These people aren't dangerous and come across as so nice and friendly, but just don't go with them, it's a very commen and effective scam used in the area to con tourists out of money. We got conned out of 450RMB for 15 minutes and 3 THIMBLES of tea!!!! but people have been conned out of 1000's. You can google or search the scam on various travel forums.Enjoy Shanghai :)

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claudia Costa

31 August 2009 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was fantastic

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Ingwersen

30 August 2009 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at the Phoenix was great; the location is amazing, the lounge is great, the room was clean. The people were friendly and happy to help with everything from train tickets to directions. I would recommend the Phoenix to anyone.

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bath towel is bad, you need to prepare your own towel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff, Inet-roof-top-bar, laundry, rooms clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.