HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Phoenix Shanghai Hostel

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 33.13USD
  • Breakfast 4.97USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 90%

Value 95%

Showing 181-72 of 72 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff as well as brilliant location. Excellent in house restaurant.

Disliked: Internet was working well in the room. Bathroom facilities were of medium standard.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fabulous staff with excellent English. They helped us with bus and train tickets, sim cards, directions, ordering food, etc. Lovely clean room with drinking water provided. Good internet access in rooms. Fantastic restaurant (maybe the most popular in all of Shanghai). Laundry service. Roof top bar. Again, the staff were great.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean. Great atmoshere. Great Location.

Disliked: Awesome. Roof rulez.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: its location very near to metro and walking distance to people's square

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very friendly

Disliked: ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location,friendly staff.especially for the bar staff-crystal.nice rooftop bar. enjoy breakfast...

Disliked: the hostel can provide more convenient service.like bike hire.stamp sales...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, safe, convenient to the Bund and other attractions. The staff also offered suggestions on where to go and booked them for us. We loved the rooftop bar and the laundry service. They were very friendly especially the receptionists and bar staff.

Disliked: Nothing. I was happy with everything and would recommend it to my children and my friends. It was very safe for single travellers.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: The bathroom of the 6 bed dorm room I stayed in was terrible. The sink was blocked, the toilet wouldn't flush and the shower only had burning hot water (no cold at all), so I couldn't shower. There were people "living" in the dorms for 4 months at a time, which was a bit uncomfortable and strange!The hostel lacked a backpacker atmosphere, I think it is more suited couples not solo backpackers.No toilet paper or hand soap provided in bathrooms.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: all staff were helpful and friendly including the cleaners. location was great with a good quiet room. nice upstairs bar w cheap drinks. dowstairs restaurant tasty and good value

Disliked: internet sucked all over china not just this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability