We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Phoenix Hostel

Hostel | 17 South Yunnan Road, Shanghai, China 200433

90.4% Overall Rating

544 out of 587 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2015)

MARK MCCULLUM thinks…

"Great location, with incredible food at the restaurant on the ground floor and at most other places on the street, we had a double private and it felt like a mid-range hotel. We were really impressed."

Read all The Phoenix Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.41
  • Breakfast USD 4.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 82.3% 235 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.71 USD

Hostel 84.0% 206 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 87.0% 259 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
35.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Shijia Inn by the Bund
20.88 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.21 USD

Hostel 84.6% 657 reviews
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 109 reviews
Old West Gate Hostel
8.64 USD

Hostel 79.7% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

544 out of 587 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Phoenix Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 509 of 567 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We chose The Phoenix after reading some of the reviews on this forum and well aware what to expect. We stayed there for 4 nights.On our first day, we didn’t have cold water in the shower and had to shower using very very hot water. Needless to say, it was a very quick shower and we felt icky after. The people minding the front desk were genuinely surprised that we do not have cold water in our room. We suspect that we were the only ones up early on the 4th floor ( or perhaps, the only ones needing a shower!). The cold water was back when we returned in the afternoon though and we didn’t have the same problem during the rest of our stay.The hostel staff try to keep our room in order but not necessarily clean. The moulds in the bathroom floor is hard to ignore. The towels have seen better days, some are even thread-bare. The pillowcases are not holding up and are thread-bare as well. The bed could be softer.There were 3 computers in the bar on the 5th floor and another one on the lobby. The hostel claims to have free wi-fi on the 5th floor bar - I tried but it didn’t work for me, though I saw someone using his laptop.There is also an attached restaurant in the ground floor of the hostel serving local fares. Not sure though if the restaurant is owned by the hostel.Having said that, The Pheonix is very central. We found out that it’s about 30 mins or so walk to The Bund, less so to Xin Tian Di, about 15 mins walk to the night market in Nanjing Road East, a few minutes walk to the Shanghai Museum and less than 5 minutes walk to a Line-8 subway station in Jinling East Road. The hostel is on the street with numerous restaurants and hole-in-the-wall type of places to snack, if you don’t mind the very oily Shanghainese food. Some restaurants are open until the wee hour of the morning and could get particularly noisy when it’s time to close shop, when boxes and boxes of seafood are dragged and dropped with complete disregard to the time. The hostel is also a few feet away from the elevated highway which gets noisy from time to time. I am a light sleeper so it was really a problem but my friend didn’t seem to mind. If only for the location, it was good value for the money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natasha Phun

04 April 2010 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: The Phoenix is really well located, with a lot to offer just locally in terms of food choices and proximity to the metro station and the city centre.The staff were really helpful and friendly and there is a restaurant and bar which is frequented by locals as well as tourists. I really like this concept rather than being in hostel and bar which is used primarily by backpackers and tourists. Rooms are clean, and I had a great view overlooking the street and a traditional buildings across the road. You really feel amoungst the locals here. I love it and would recommend it any of my friends. When I'm back I'll definitely be back, if I can get a room...Its very a popular place and for a very good reason.

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly, good english speaking team. The location is close to the bund and have very good restaurants in the street.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benoit De Nobele

28 March 2010 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location, clean rooms, good showers, ...Nothing negative to mention!

Disliked: Benoit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, great staff, two cute bars, free internet, spotless rooms, very safe and secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Torpong Trakuldee

20 March 2010 Torpong would recommend this property

Liked: nice place but now under construction..towel for free doesn´t exist here so bring your own and they should correct the website about it

Disliked: Torpong left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. Clean and affordable. Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for Peoples' Square and a really lively street. Important note however is that you must show your passport on arrival! We live in China and left ours at home and had to get friends to bring them over the next day but the hostel refused to even take our copies. We also saw another guy in the same situation so it may be quite common.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sophie Thibodeau

08 March 2010 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean room with great location, staff is really friendly.The hostel is in a quiet area which is nice to be able to sleep at night.Would definitly come back. Thanks Sophie

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead O'Callaghan

27 February 2010 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a private double, ensuite. You obviously pay a bit more for this but we were not disappointed. The bathroom was brilliant, the beds very comfortable, and the tv and air-con were both working. On the down side, when we arrived they didn't seem to be expecting us which is a bit worrying. However, they got us into our specified room quickly with no problems.

Disliked: Sinead left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the good price and it's pretty quiet in the rooms as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location 2 minutes from People's Square, very friendly staff, the rooftop bar was great for meeting other travellers, also the street it's on has plenty of good places eat. Only slight complaint was the mattresses on the beds in the mixed dorm were very thin so a little uncomfortable but the room was spotlessly clean and overall the atmosphere, the extremely helpful staff and the central location of the hostel more than made up for it. Great value!!! Would defintely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 February 2010

Liked: Beds were so hard. They didn't clean the room much. Some night the room was freezing cold. The door has an alarm that makes an annoying sound until you hit it enough. We had no water in our WC during one day. The Wi-Fi signal was bad in the dorms and if you went to the bar they would make you order something to stay there.The restaurant on the first floow was good. The hostel is placed in a good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Buckner

19 February 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The cafe was nice, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was decent, but awfully crowded.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Borja Hidalgo

18 February 2010 Borja would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.Very good restaurant in the 1st floor, althought a little expensive for China.Also, the hostel/hotel is a little expensive for China. I am sure that if you arrive by yourself without booking thought websites, you can bargain and get half price.Definetly, I recommend you this hostel, it is very good located, kind staff and good rooms (I was in a double bed room)

Disliked: Borja left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chris Wolsey

17 February 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff were very helpful. Also the restaurant downstairs was really good and seriously good value. Try the Chinese sloppy Joe!

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

hernan correa garlot

16 February 2010 hernan would recommend this property

Liked: The best in the hostel is the staff!!! They are always willing to help!

Disliked: hernan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Trizzia Zuluaga

16 February 2010 Trizzia would recommend this property

Liked: Great time during Chinese New Year. The restaurant downstairs was cheap and delicious. Too bad about the dorm beds though, it was like sleeping on boards.

Disliked: Trizzia left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cara Norman

16 February 2010

Liked: Clean, spcacious rooms, excellent location but there were no secure lockers, nowhere to meet other travellers (the bar was closed and under renovation despite the posters stating otherwise), The food and drink was very good value for money, but after speaking to others, I think there are better options available.

Disliked: Cara left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hard bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Youngsu Kim

09 February 2010 Youngsu would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price, Perfect Location ( close to all of the tour spots in the city )Absolutely Recommendable

Disliked: Youngsu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TEOH MOOI CHENG

05 February 2010 TEOH would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: TEOH left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brett Morgan

05 February 2010 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and great looking hostel. Very clean and fantastic showers. Lockers in dorms which was great. Downside to room was the beds were like sleeping on a rock. Common room was very nice but drink prices were a bit expensive. Retaurant downstairs had great dumplings. Great value for money and would recommend to other travelers.

Disliked: Brett left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally, it is more advantage than its disadvantage to stay in this hostel. The only matter for improvement is the sound proof system. You can hear some noise from next door, car horn (as near to the main road) and some construction work). If you are light sleeper, you may need to think about how this factor affect you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.