We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanghai Koala Garden House

Hostel | 240 Duolun Road, Shanghai, China 200081

71.8% Overall Rating

20 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

"Beds were clean with linen provided. Café in reception area was cosy and good for chatting to people. Food and drink seemed good (although I didn't try any). Possible to get (buy/rent?) lock from reception to store…"

Read all Shanghai Koala Garden House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.1% 86 reviews
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 73.9% 17 reviews
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews
Shijia Inn by the Bund
16.24 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.8% 33 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

20 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanghai Koala Garden House'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were clean with linen provided. Café in reception area was cosy and good for chatting to people. Food and drink seemed good (although I didn't try any). Possible to get (buy/rent?) lock from reception to store things in locker in room. WiFi access in lounge and rooms (relatively good connection). There was a water dispenser. It was near to two metro stops.

Disliked: The showers were a little grimy, although not terribly so. The room I was in was quite small. The air conditioner was positioned over my bed (top bunk) and condensation from it dripped onto the bed where my head should have been, forcing me to sleep with my head the other end and avoid the wet patch with my feet. Some of the staff were really friendly but one person in particular seemed a bit impatient.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is out of the ordinary. It has the old world charm. Close to Dongbaoxin Metro station but a bit tricky to find your way for the 1st time. You will enjoy your walk up thro' beautiful area. Hongku Football Stadium is lot further away. Lots of small super markets close by. I was in the best dorm. 6 bed dorm in the front which is better than 4 bed one which is crammed up.

Disliked: Showers were dirty, 2 of them unusable due to stagnating water. Most of the time no toilet paper. No kitchen. Can't even heat up food. Only hot water available.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: the hostel staff, as well as the manager, always shout. a noisy place.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Linda Klein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool and cozy location, the bar and the whole lobby are beautiful and have their own special style. Rooms (upstairs) don't have that touch and are quite simple but okay to stay. Nice and friendly staff. Free wifi but no computer to use.

Disliked: Not very clean. Showers and bathrooms okay, staff laying around verywhere, some cobwebs under the bed. Sheet were very clean.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: 多伦路 (duolun streat) is a really charming place to be. the bar is not open the whole night through, but you can sit there in the dark at night surfing the internet. It is very cheap, hard to find a bed for 50 kuai per night in shanghai. they speak english.

Disliked: Booked a 4 person room but got a 6 person room. The 4 person room was converted to a female only room but was still advertised as available on hostelbookers. Even the 6 person room was smaller than any room I ever saw in a hostel. Its cramped and dark, just one small window. Toilet, sink and shower where filthy and even looked provisional. It looks like a really really cheap student dorm once you get upstairs from the nice lobby. This place is more like a nice bar that offers cheap rooms on the 2nd floor! It gets very noise at around 6-7 in the morning as you can hear everything going on outside, the window doesn't really help keeping noises outside. I booked for 2 nights, when I asked for another night in a 2 bed room with my girlfriend that followed the 3rd day, they said they will shut down the hostel for a wedding that booked the whole place? Bring your own locks for lockers. You will not likely find cheaper accommodation, but for slightly more money you will get a LOT more bang for the buck in other places if you keep looking.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a nice property clean and good location. Staff are reasonably helpful. Food in the cafe is good but bit expensive. Location best quality really close to metro

Disliked: Atmosphere is not good if you want to meet travellers I was the only non chinese staying so not hugely sociable

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 June 2013

Liked: The location is good. The reception kind.

Disliked: No recommend . There was a fight at night.Too noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a Chinese environment the place is nice if you like to integrate the culture. If you prefer western environment don't come here. Proximity to Hongkou Plaza (which owns a Carrefour and many restaurants) at 10 minutes walking. Metro line 8 a Hongkou Stadium is about the same distance. You can find many good and cheap Chinese restaurants around. Rooms are pretty clean.

Disliked: Internet connection is very slow and sometimes it doesn't even work which is a lit bit boring if you need it. I think that's the only boring thing here, but not so bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michalec Monika

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Michalec would recommend this property

Liked: Vewy good price to quality ration, nice staff.

Disliked: It was cold i the common areas and washrooms. Very expensive restaurant.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010

Liked: The communal areas of the building itself are really lovely. The location on Duolun Road is good too.

Disliked: We booked through Hostelbookers. The hostel 'lost' our booking and then tried to fob us off with one dorm bed for two people (one of whom is 6'4''...) because they had overbooked. We said no. They finally agreed to give us a double room but it smelt like overpowering foot odour and it was so damp it gave me an asthma attack. Really poor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the guests are foreigner and the atmosphere is nice. Good common area and cafe (although it's a bit overpriced). I love its location...just on a cultural street (Dolun Road), 5 mins walk to lusun park and you can find some local streets, supermarket and convinent shops around. Don't miss the comtemporary art museum and gellary on Dolun Rd and try the Korean resturant opposite the hostel...brilliant! I also love the old book shop on Dolun Rd...take a look on the great collection if you know Chinese...or you can also find some nice stuff like the Mao's dialogue, posters and pins if you have no interest on the books.

Disliked: I stayed at the 6-beds mixed dorm so have to use the public toliet and shower...toliet is fine but the shower rooms are not too good...one have no shower curtain and one with poor drainage...only one of the three is ok so I always waited for that one.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean , great staff and a very good location. The bar and restaurant is stylish but very pricey and I would say the hostel lacks the common spaces where budget travelers are used to hang out, drink beer or watch movies.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The design

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stef Hoffer

08 June 2010 Stef would recommend this property

Liked: Good and friendly staff, rooms were clean (although the dorms a little small). It's a bit out of the main tourist sites but the subway is closeby. The street it's on is nice and quiet.

Disliked: Stef left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuela Prokoph

03 November 2009 Manuela would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, nice place, house with atmosphere..

Disliked: Manuela left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

16 September 2009

Liked: Leaving.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

SEGERS PIERRE

27 July 2009 SEGERS would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is very expansive

Disliked: SEGERS left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was my birthday while I was at the hostel, and they gave me cake. I certainly appreciated it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philip Bowes

11 March 2009 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: staff were great!

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jemma Young

13 February 2009 Jemma would recommend this property

Disliked: Jemma left no negative feedback.