We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel

Hostel | Bldg. 36, 319 Jiaozhou Road, Shanghai, China 200040

79.4% Overall Rating

173 out of 186 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Marco Allegri thinks…

"The reception staff is not really friendly. Part of the hostel is under refurnish and there is smell of solvent everywhere. They trying to charge you up to 3% extra money if you pay with debit or…"

Read all Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.86
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
9.75 USD

Hostel 77.7% 1010 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 90.5% 169 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.7% 181 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

173 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 167 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Williams

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff , quiet and excellent air conditioning

Disliked: Towels having to pay for breakfast which was. Expensive and cold

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marco Allegri

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 April 2014

Liked: The reception staff is not really friendly. Part of the hostel is under refurnish and there is smell of solvent everywhere. They trying to charge you up to 3% extra money if you pay with debit or credit card because of the bank commission, that's ridiculous... Just trying to get extra% profit Around the hostel there are several hotels where you can book a better room for a lower price and no problem to pay by cards

Disliked: Extra fee to pay by domestic Chinese Union pay debit card

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Birgit Braasch

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Birgit would recommend this property

Liked: Well organised and clean. Great location. Totally recommendable.

Disliked: Birgit left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very centrally located.

Disliked: They promise a safe place to keep valuables, but then when I got here provided no such service, so I had to carry my computer, iPad, passport with me the whole time I was in town. They also have construction going on and started jackhammering very early in the morning. Also, check the snack expiration dates-I purchased two things that both expired about 6 months ago.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle Reeder

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, convenient location, a reliable place to stay for a traveling through a big city.

Disliked: Hard to keep warm in the winter months.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, open 24h, nice location, room is clean and bed sheet super soft!

Disliked: The bathroom/shower is not the cleanest. Nothing too dramatic don't worry but it would definitely be a plus if they can find a way to keep it clean longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, friendly stuff

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alex Cairns

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013

Liked: The airconditioning worked, bed not too bad.

Disliked: Shabbiness, poor location and street appeal, draconian and distrustful staff.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff. Can't go wrong.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic. Very close to a major metro stop. Nice neighborhood with cheap food and lots of trees. Rooftop terrace was a nice place to relax. There were banks nearby. Staff was helpful.

Disliked: Wifi was iffy at best. The bathroom didn't have a fan and smelled musty. Private rooms were too expensive. The bed was hard.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nina Sjoblom

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: DVD Room, Table tennis and pool table, very sociable!! Up stairs cafe and roof terrace cute!

Disliked: Quite large so dosent have the small homely hostel feal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, warm rooms (it was snowing)!!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEN YU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 CHEN would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,5 mins walk to Metro line 2 and line 7,room is warm and clean. they have a big public area,can play table pool and table tennis.will stay there again if i go to Shanghai next time

Disliked: CHEN left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well located.

Disliked: a bit disappointed when I saw the room but was clean and staff was nice so not the end of the world!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hot shower.

Disliked: Staff weren't helpful at all. Roof bar was a bit expensive.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a good size and the bathroom had a nice hot shower.

Disliked: Staff were really unhelpful with any questions we had and nit the most friendly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a renovated linen factory so it has a lot of character.

Disliked: The floors in my room were dirty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andy Ray

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about his location is that you can get a shuttle bus straight to Jin'an Temple (also local underground station) for £2.50 and when jet-lagged you dont want to be messing around on a new Tube system or going down stairs. Its also in an area thats not all touristy so you get a broader feeel while being on a major yube line to ehe main tourist drag. Get a One Day travel pass for £2. I booked a twin room.still cheap, it had airconditioning, TV shower with free shampoo/Soap and Towel and decent bed. It has a pool and Table tennis roomdownstairs and a tv room and an internet/treading room. It also has a bar upstairs and a large terrace balcony. best thing about roon was NO PUCTURES so you didnt have to suffer bad taste/or someone elses taste images like in English B& Bs

Disliked: No cooking facilities, though my room had kettle, cups, glasses and a table, but strangely only one chair. It meant you had to go and eat out, in turn good to try new cuisine an again very good value.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriana Hoak

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: It was perfect. Staff was helpful, everything was clean, breakfast at the hostel was great.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Terence Parker

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2012 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: It was spacious, and clean. Aside from a couple squashed mosquitoes on the wall by my bed (it looked fresh) - the rooms and bathrooms were regularly cleaned and were pleasant to use. There was a pool table, and separate rooms for reading, watching TV, or using Internet. Plenty of options for lounging. The rooftop bar/restaurant is also great when the weather is good (though F&B options weren't great). Internet speed was OK - not great, but then it rarely is in China.

Disliked: Requires walking down an alley to reach - the alley felt perfectly safe, however. Food options could be better, and at present you can only dine/drink on the roof - nothing is served on the ground floor. No WiFi coverage in rooms either, though free and fine in the common areas.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful if not overly friendly. I'd describe them as some of the most professional hostel staff I've dealt with. Beds are super comfortable, the rooms are very clean. The rooftop bar and the property overall is really nice. Ping pong table, pool table, free magazines, wifi and DVD collection are a real plus. Location is excellent.

Disliked: No real complaints.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I come here for years and I love the place...nicely tucked away in an area that is convenient for the subway and has some nearby winebar's and restaurants, cafes.

Disliked: The staff was recently changed and they made checking in a living hell..I arrived at 2.20 in the morning and they finally got me a room at 4.00. When I got the room aircon was broken and no working internet...No apologies at all only a girl who got mad at me because I hadn't let the hostel what time I should arrive. Which I stated the day before clearly to the staff and even made a phonecall to tell my flight was delayed. So no points for that. Old staff are still great but only 2 left :-(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great feel to the hostel, very spacious with pool table and ping pong downstairs. Really good breakfast buffet. Helpful staff. Double bedroom with private bathroom was a very good standard.

Disliked: WIFI did not always work, was down in the evenings.