We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel

Hostel | Bldg. 36, 319 Jiaozhou Road, Shanghai, China 200040

79.4% Overall Rating

173 out of 186 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Marco Allegri thinks…

"The reception staff is not really friendly. Part of the hostel is under refurnish and there is smell of solvent everywhere. They trying to charge you up to 3% extra money if you pay with debit or…"

Read all Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.86
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Shanghai City Central Youth Hostel (Utels)
13.81 USD

Hostel 77.9% 1009 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Shanghai Soho International Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 76.3% 67 reviews
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 90.5% 169 reviews
Mayson Shanghai Zhongshan Park Serviced Apartment
51.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.39 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New Harbour Service Apartments
48.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.6% 179 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

173 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Le Tour Travel's Rest Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 167 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Design and facility

Disliked: location, a little bit far from metro

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good youth hostel with really tasty breakfast-buffet.Enjoyed our stay!Walking distance to Metro (10Min), awesome little sushi-bar around 1km away (next to BurgerKing at Temple)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Methold

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: There are several communal games rooms and rooms for chilling. The staff were really helpful with everything from our rooms to sightseeing and travels. The biggest room is only for 8 so nice and small.

Disliked: Our beds were rock solid!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce Wakefield

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay!

Disliked: Bruce left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quality Pillows and quilts ensured a good nights sleep. Rooms were bright and reasonably maintained.

Disliked: Dead plants all over the rooftop outdoor area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Markus Hausammann

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

09 September 2010 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: It has everything a good travellers place has to have and more. Especially things like the Ping Pong table, train booking assistance or cable internet on the room stuck out for us.

Disliked: During the EXPO it IS too expensive. Otherwise a great place to which I would come back any time!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010

Liked: the location

Disliked: not clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities

Disliked: unfriendly staff, extremely miserable (maybe their cat just died) apart from one fella who was very helpful. also there were 5 beds in a 4 bed dorm, room wern't exaclty big either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rosario barresi

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

31 August 2010 rosario would recommend this property

Liked: ()

Disliked: ()

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, very friendly stuff and great athmosphere - a place I will go again if I am in Shanghai!

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location in a nice alley, close to supermarket, metro and restaurants. Big lounge with computer facitlities and place to relax and meet fellow travellers. Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: The dorm rooms are quite small, might be difficult to find a place for your luggage. Rooms have no windows or really small ones, the air con is right next to one upper bed (try not to get that one).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elise Vollweiler

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 August 2010 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, the staff were knowledgeable and helpful, and the beds were comfy. Overall, a pretty slick operation. Conveniently near to the trainline for the expo and both airports. There's also a gorgeous little cafe/restaurant five minutes walk down Jiaozhou Lu, towards the train station. Mid-range place with great food and amazing hot chocs!

Disliked: My only complaint would be that the charges for extras like laundry (30RMB for wash and dry) and booking fees (30RMB per expo ticket) seemed a little high - perhaps this is standard for Shanghai?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good, not too far away from the subway station, and the staff is really really helpful. Apart from the dorm rooms on the ground floor, which are quite small, dark and damp, everything else was really great! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilites and helpful staff

Disliked: Small room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marek Domanski

With my spouse / partner

11 August 2010 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: comfort, facilities, atmosphere

Disliked: Marek left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean room.

Disliked: It was good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Anne Lee

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2010

Liked: Staff and Location

Disliked: Rooms dark and needed painting.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 July 2010

Liked: It was in an excellent loccation.

Disliked: It was very expensive at 100 yuan a night for what was a very bog standard hostel in a good location.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Nadja Vetter

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2010 Nadja would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage ist relativ zentral, also ein guter Ausgangspunkt für Aktivitäten aller Art.Schöner Dachgarten zum Chillen!

Disliked: Badezimmer nicht optimal, Duschvorhang verschimmelt und zu kurz, also permanent alles unter Wasser. Handtücher rochen schon vor Gebrauch modrig. Flecken an den Wänden. Für China-Neulinge ist die Gasse, in der das Hostel liegt, ein echter Schocker - wenn man schon länger im Land ist, hat man sich schon an den Ekel- und GruselFaktor gewöhnt ;o)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Indranil Kongar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010

Liked: It's location is good

Disliked: The staff at the hostel are the rudest and most unhelpful staff I have encountered in almost 10 years of travelling. The manager Simon, was aggressive and abusive to us when we tried to discuss the issue of not being able to stay in a mixed dorm. No attempt at an apologise or sympathise, just told us it was our problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location! Line 2 is a great starting point to go most places in Shanghai. Was easy to get to the Metro and see the sights of Shanghai quite easily. Costs under 20 RMB to the Shanghai Main Railway Station. Love that they have DVD rental and several movies and tv shows to choose from. Didn't use their internet facilities but was nice to know that they had it available--either via your own laptop or desktop stations.

Disliked: The bed (deluxe double ensuite) was a bit too firm for our liking (a usual experience throughout Asia) and the AC, while it worked quite well, was not a good location. Paying 5 RMB for a map that, had we known, we could've gotten from a tourist centre for free . Staff could have been more eager to help and friendlier. They were attentive to our needs but have definitely experienced warmer hospitality elsewhere. Cleanliness was not a problem and we felt comfortable (apart from the bed) throughout our stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Van Aelten

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neigbourhood but plenty of shops/places to eat, 10min walk to subway. Very clean and always fast feedback to my mails and calls.Not much contact with other travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leanne Khan

17 June 2010 leanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near metro and good line.Very cleanStaff great. rooms quietRecommended

Disliked: leanne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and lovely interior. A bit expensive (during expo), but worth the price! Best hostel we stayed in in china so far...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Cutler

09 June 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Good comfy bed, nice big cabinet to stash my stuff, in a very pleasant (albeit not terribly exciting) area, very good facilities, nice lounge area to hang out during down time.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.