HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel Shanghai Hostel

2F Building No1 1072 Nong QuXi Lu, Shanghai, China

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 74%

Location 79%

Safety 86%

Staff 81%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2.41USD

Important Information

Please note that the windows are not guaranteed for any room type, subject to availability. Thanks for your understanding .

Unfortunately, for visitors booking multiple beds, we can't guarantee allocation of dorm beds in same room .

Our bar opens from 8am to 1am during weekdays, and 8am to 2am during weekends. No outside food and beverage allowed in the bar. Thanks for understanding!

Cash Only Upon Arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 74%

Location 79%

Safety 86%

Staff 81%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The common room is awsome, lots of books in different languages, nice sofas and places to rest. Tea kitchen, a lot of bathrooms and washing basins. Friendly staff. This place makes you feel at home. If you arrive before check-in you can stay at the common room, take a shower in the bathrooms, ask staff about places to visit. Subway station 'Luban' just outside the hostel. There are good restaurants at the main street next to subway station which are not expensive and run by nice people.

Disliked: you can leave your luggage at the reception but its not put in a locker so it's not so safe.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: 员工很nice,公共区活动不断,很有青旅的感觉。位置好,下楼即是地铁站,楼下好吃的不少。

Disliked: 设施略微陈旧,但还比较干净整洁。

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: common room was ok

Disliked: Firstly, wifi does not work in most of the rooms, nor did my 3g (with chinese sim)I booked a 6 person dorm for 6 people, MONTHS in advance. When we got there we were told we needed to split up, and that it was ridiculous that we had thought we could stay together in one dorm, they said we booked 6 beds in 6 bed dorms, but those could be spread out over all 6 bed dorms, if they wanted to (something we did not have any problems with in all the other hostels in the month we stayed in China). It was a very big hostel, with many 6 bed dorms, they could have easily arranged for us to stay together, but most of the staff were some of the most unhelpful and unfriendly people I met in China.After much insistence on our part we were ultimately promised that we could move to a five person dorm with an extra bed the next day, but when we got there, there was no extra bed. We went to ask if they could put in the bed but nothing happened. When we went to ask again later, the staff told us that they had looked, but come to the conclusion that another bed did not fit............................... and that was it. They expected us to come up with a solution and did not want to put in any effort for us. Ultimately one staff member (who was absolutely the nicest one) decided to come with us and I moved the furniture myself to make room for the extra bed. Worst staff in China!Ps. To the staff: "later" does not mean within 5 or 10 minutes. Then you need to say "soon" or "right away." If you say "later" people think you mean in a few hours or more.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A very friendly atmosphere with an array of different rooms to suit your budget as well as your comfort. I've come here multiple times and have never had a bad experience.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good hostel.Clean, made kind of for western people.A few locals life there.Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The stairs you have to climb before entering the Hostel. But that's alright, you're in China, so get used to stairs!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: located opposite metro station.

Disliked: unfriendly member of staff. bathrooms not really clean. common area is very dark.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff and the people

Disliked: showers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Near Subway Station

Disliked: The hostel is located on 2nd floor but no lift. The stairs got slippery when wet.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!

Disliked: A little bit far from the city center. But only 50CNY, good value!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice stairs in the entryway, bar on site, great meat on stick place super close thats really cheap.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability