We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel | Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

80.3% Overall Rating

277 out of 309 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Rafael disfrutar thinks…

"Very good hostel. Clean, made kind of for western people. A few locals life there. Friendly and helpful staff."

Read all Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Old West Gate Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 79.5% 43 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 575 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 80.1% 231 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.7% 654 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.7% 181 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 91.1% 244 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

277 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 245 of 250 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Leonie van Breeschoten

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014

Liked: common room was ok

Disliked: Firstly, wifi does not work in most of the rooms, nor did my 3g (with chinese sim) I booked a 6 person dorm for 6 people, MONTHS in advance. When we got there we were told we needed to split up, and that it was ridiculous that we had thought we could stay together in one dorm, they said we booked 6 beds in 6 bed dorms, but those could be spread out over all 6 bed dorms, if they wanted to (something we did not have any problems with in all the other hostels in the month we stayed in China). It was a very big hostel, with many 6 bed dorms, they could have easily arranged for us to stay together, but most of the staff were some of the most unhelpful and unfriendly people I met in China. After much insistence on our part we were ultimately promised that we could move to a five person dorm with an extra bed the next day, but when we got there, there was no extra bed. We went to ask if they could put in the bed but nothing happened. When we went to ask again later, the staff told us that they had looked, but come to the conclusion that another bed did not fit............................... and that was it. They expected us to come up with a solution and did not want to put in any effort for us. Ultimately one staff member (who was absolutely the nicest one) decided to come with us and I moved the furniture myself to make room for the extra bed. Worst staff in China! Ps. To the staff: "later" does not mean within 5 or 10 minutes. Then you need to say "soon" or "right away." If you say "later" people think you mean in a few hours or more.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael disfrutar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. Clean, made kind of for western people. A few locals life there. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The stairs you have to climb before entering the Hostel. But that's alright, you're in China, so get used to stairs!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Giardino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly atmosphere with an array of different rooms to suit your budget as well as your comfort. I've come here multiple times and have never had a bad experience.

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: located opposite metro station.

Disliked: unfriendly member of staff. bathrooms not really clean. common area is very dark.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and the people

Disliked: showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near Subway Station

Disliked: The hostel is located on 2nd floor but no lift. The stairs got slippery when wet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!

Disliked: A little bit far from the city center. But only 50CNY, good value!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stairs in the entryway, bar on site, great meat on stick place super close thats really cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014

Liked: no positive words for this hostel

Disliked: This property is not a hostel as it is local Chinese occupying this place as long time residents. Very dissapointed in the service and unfriendly staff that are not willing to help tourists and can barely speak a word of English. Having stayed in over 500 different hostels, this most have been the worst hostel as it is also very dirty and needs some serious cleaning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

stanley chiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 stanley would recommend this property

Liked: Good!

Disliked: stanley left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Variety of chilled beers available. Good directions provided and large sign on the entrance made it easy to find. Spacious double-room with a large and comfortable bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kumiko Hirosaka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013

Liked: Good for location and price. Good cofee at cafe.

Disliked: Staffs were rude especially girl! Some staff doesn't understand English. It was my second time to stay this hostel becourse of the price, but NEVER coma back again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great to meet people

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Campbell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2013 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is awesome! Lots of fun decoration everywhere. The staff greeted me with wide grins on every visit to the front desk. The rooms were quite clean with BIG lockers (and locks that come with the room.) The showers were exceptional. Big showers, loads of water pressure and hot water. The breakfast you can buy is alright. It is not a lot of food, but not a bad value for the price (at least for SH anyway.) The coffee also is pretty good, but you can get better for the same price at a coffee shop. One of the best parts? It is RIGHT across the street from a metro station. Line 4, too, which is a very handy line. So, it' a wee bit out of the way, but easy to get to and from.

Disliked: Encountered no problems.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Hongqiao Airport and WIFI in the rooms.

Disliked: It was great!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

fang kuo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 fang would recommend this property

Liked: it was a short and good stay, the staff were young and helpful good for money and nearby has many tranditional foods.... location is just opp. Metro but a bit far away from center tourist zoon which I prefer. thanks help me to carry my luagage up stairs.

Disliked: the entry high stairs....nothing really.....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff, lovely common room and brilliant food/menu. Facilities were clean and shared bathrooms great.

Disliked: Small bedroom, but somehow it had enough storgage for its size. But 70% of the room was the bed!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Abbott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: good location next to metro

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012

Liked: it is right opposite to the mtr.

Disliked: room and facilitaties look old. People screaming outside at 5am. Felt extremely uncomfortable to stay in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here multiple times and always choose this hostel because its right across from the Luban Road station, next door to an amazing noodle house and easy access to supermarkets, fruit stands and misc stores. Nice staff, clean areas, and for what I want, it fits fine.

Disliked: faster Internet and access in all rooms not just common area only

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Joe Grimes

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

14 May 2012

Liked: Very close to Metro stop, A/C in room worked great.

Disliked: Room was very very small and bare, no windows. Woke up to some terrible construction noises around 7:30 a.m. (Sounded like someone was drilling on our wall - not the Hostel's fault)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Susana Del Pilar Aranda Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Susana Del Pilar would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very good location

Disliked: the stairs are really hard when you hace a lot of package

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alois Haupt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Alois would recommend this property

Liked: Next to a metro station so it was a good starting point to explore the city

Disliked: nothing to say

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Clean garbage from rooms a bit more frequently

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The makers obviously made an effort to implement what is known to work in other hostels (bar, wooden floor, snooker table) and this shows, at least to a certain level. There are plenty of showers, with lots of hot water, and the bathrooms have a well maintained atmosphere (which even excuses the temporary construction shutdown of one of them at the time of our visit).

Disliked: Unfortunately the WiFi is only available in the lobby and common area, the rooms are not covered, making the bar a place of people staring into their laptops - despite being rather nice. Rooms are (even given the comparably low price) really small, to an extend that two people with backpacks have trouble finding a place to stand in a double room... maybe they should have tried to pack in one or two rooms less. Windows would be lovely, too. Compared to other hostels and given the amount of rooms, a second TV corner in the common room would be nice (maybe we are spoiled here by Suzhou's Watertown Hostel).