HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel | Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

80.9% Overall Rating

275 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

"Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!"

Read all Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Old West Gate Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 79.5% 41 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Phoenix Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 83.9% 565 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.7% 175 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

275 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 241 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Hoj

13 August 2009 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and the staff very helpfull.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Zippaaro

11 August 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: I lived in this hostel for 3 months during the summer. The staff was very friendly, they always bent over backwards to help me with anything: exchanging small change, sending packages, translating or interpreting, extending my stay, booking small trips, or anything else I could think of to bother them with. They actually knew me by my Chinese name within the first day and always addressed me as such. Nobody was ever short or snippy, just very peppy and helpful, eager to help, in fact. The food is good and relatively cheap and the bar is very comfortable and provides an easy environment to meet people in. As far as price and location go, it is the cheapest hostel of its kind in the entire city. . Besides being across the street from the subway, the hostel is in Luwan district, which is arguably one of the best in the city- it is in between Xintian Di, Taikang Road, and an 11 kuai ride to all the bars in Huaihai Zhong Road in the French Concession. No other hostel in the city is within the starting rate for a taxi (11 kuai) to get to the main nightlife. There are a lot of restaurants nearby- at least 6 per block- that serve Dongbei, Sichuan, Hu, Lanzhou, and local cuisines. The conditions are very clean, they have quite soft beds for what is normally provided in China, and the linen is changed every day. Showers are aplenty as are western toilets and they have the only DRYER that I have ever seen in my 13 months living in China, which is quite astonishing (actually they have 2 dryers). There is no reason that you should choose not to stay here, don't waste your time at other places. I have lived in China for a long time in over 20 cities including Beijing, Shanghai, Dalian, Shenzhen, Chongqing, Benxi, Harbin, and Nanjing so I've seen them all and they really don't come better than Blue Mountain. It would be foolish to waste your time elsewhere.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

megan whittaker

11 August 2009

Liked: right next to a metro station, however inconvenient for getting into the city centre (2 metro lines and half an hour at least). OK for one or two days but the journey gets tiresome after a few trips. dorms were comfortable and quiet, clean bathrooms.

Disliked: megan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

COULET Olivier

11 August 2009 COULET would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant public room and many people there.

Disliked: COULET left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nicola ann bowen

08 August 2009

Liked: On arrival having booked a double room through hostelBookers,we were given a boxroom with a bunkbed,no window and barely space to fit two backpacks!The following day we were moved to a "mini-double",people are packed in like sardines it seems.The facilities are clean and the staff friendly,but be prepared to be woken up by builders hammering at 6am as the whole area is under construction!!!

Disliked: Nicola ann left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

03 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nearby metro station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 July 2009

Liked: Right next to subway station which was good but nothing else around in the area (except a good bakery up the road). Food in bar was AWFUL and staff were rude and miserable. Waited over hour to get food and they insinuated that I hadn't paid and needed to pay again. Food was COVERED in grease! Bar was badly laid out, way too small and not sociable. Internet was painfully slow and cut out regularly as too many people tried to use it. Two power cuts whilst we were there throughout whole hostel. V smokey atmosphere except bar which was smoke free.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Butler

18 July 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Metro but a distance from any of the main attractions in Shanghai. Clean rooms with good air-con and TV. Excellent showers and other facilities. One of the best I've stayed in.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Malgorzata Jasinska

13 July 2009 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: We had broken air-conditioning and we didnt get moved immediately, this spoiled our stay as we had to move in the middle of the night when it started heating.

Disliked: Malgorzata left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and the rooms,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

11 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well it is 5 min walk to subway train stations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at many Hostels in China and this was probably the best. The room was very nice, and the staff were very friendly and helpful (they sorted us out a place to stay in Guilin). The hostel is right next to a metro station, and is probably the best location you can get in shanghai without spending a lot more. The metro closes a bit early at around 11pm, but a taxi back doesnt cost that much from the west side of the river (about 30rmb i think). Overal highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 June 2009

Liked: Awesome staff.Being far away from either major transport hubs like train stations and the central sights of the city, the Location is the major drawback.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Sebastien Rolland

25 June 2009 Jean-Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and clean spot, 10 seconds walk to the metro station! If I go to shanghai again, i will go there!

Disliked: Jean-Sebastien left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Ignatov Kolev

23 June 2009 Martin Ignatov would recommend this property

Liked: It was perfect! Thank you!

Disliked: Martin Ignatov left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephanie Bell

21 June 2009 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of people around to meet, they have a nice lounge with food and computers...the rooms without attached bathroom are REALLY small...like, the size of the bed and nothing more...no windows either...friendly english-speaking staff...right across from the mrt station...

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice hostel, conveniently located just across the street of the subway.very helpfull staff. Clean rooms. Defenitly one of the best hostels we've stayed in during our trip in China!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable - Jason, Janie and shane made my stay memorable - they went out of their way to help me find my feet in China. Wpould definately recommend it to my friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to tube - really good for getting around. freindly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean and so was the bathroom. Although the staff weren't the most friendly or helpful ever but they were helpful enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice location (be aware that metro line 4 stops at 11 pm though), but our room was right by the washing machines, dryers, showers and kitchen, which was not ideal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith de Korte

18 April 2009 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and helpful staff. The beds are not that comfortable.

Disliked: Judith left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in and a bargain price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.