HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel | Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

80.3% Overall Rating

273 out of 303 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

"Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!"

Read all Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Old West Gate Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 82.2% 38 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Phoenix Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 81.0% 554 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 78.7% 226 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 87.8% 639 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 82.6% 163 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

273 out of 303 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 239 of 244 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a nice place and the staff can speak good english, but some work was going on in the house

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is really nice and new renovated, rooms are small but space is used really effectively. The fact that is close to metro is helpful for traveling around the city ( and in the evening when people are going back :) ). Would definitely recommend the hostel as it was really pleasant to stay there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

antonios manesis

22 November 2009 antonios would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: antonios left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It ist close to a metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff, clean rooms, would recommend to others

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kindly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tamara Killer

24 September 2009 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people at the front desk.

Disliked: Tamara left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, but ours did not have a window. Although not very close to the centre, it is conveniently located close to a subway station. Staff was very helpfull. Lot's of young people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean and a fun

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Blue Moutain is a nice place, as good as staying at home. Nice room with special style. The stuff in Blue Mountain are much better than the stuff in any hostels where I lived before. They speak quite good English, some of them are even professional in English. I will defenitely come there again next year.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Callery

10 September 2009 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great common room!

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love Blue mountain youth hostel. I had a great stay. The stuff are nice, kind and friendly. Their English is excellent. If I have any chance of going to shanghai again I would like to stay in Blue mountain again. I miss the stuff there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

09 September 2009

Liked: Not very much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

LUIS RICARDO MARMOL VIVES

08 September 2009 LUIS RICARDO would recommend this property

Liked: The first night the room was very very little (nº 232) and expensive. The most I have ever seen. The second day was better. The tube is very close.

Disliked: LUIS RICARDO left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Silversten

03 September 2009 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Nice "hangout area" with good food, internet, tv, pool and bar.Friendly staff. Close to subway.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: only single rooms i cannot recommend, they are small and smelly and just with shared bathroom. double/twin rooms are very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Davide Murri

22 August 2009 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff (JJ we miss You!) and good food! Great place to see zombie movie!Davide and Maria.

Disliked: Davide left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luca Di Somma

20 August 2009 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and Lynn is great, sweet and everithing u need, will be her need.. thank you very much Lynn

Disliked: Luca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, friendly staff. Overall very good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second time at Blue Mountain Hostel - i came back because the service was great, people were helpful, and the environment was great to have fun and meet new people - on both occasions i was fully satisfied.. will definitely go back the next time i am in Shanghai!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a diverse variety of travellers from all over the world and is a good place to meet people from all around. However the cleanliness of the showers and rooms could be improved. Also, certain shower rooms did not have any hooks or place to hang your clothes when you are bathing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Hoj

13 August 2009 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and the staff very helpfull.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Zippaaro

11 August 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: I lived in this hostel for 3 months during the summer. The staff was very friendly, they always bent over backwards to help me with anything: exchanging small change, sending packages, translating or interpreting, extending my stay, booking small trips, or anything else I could think of to bother them with. They actually knew me by my Chinese name within the first day and always addressed me as such. Nobody was ever short or snippy, just very peppy and helpful, eager to help, in fact. The food is good and relatively cheap and the bar is very comfortable and provides an easy environment to meet people in. As far as price and location go, it is the cheapest hostel of its kind in the entire city. . Besides being across the street from the subway, the hostel is in Luwan district, which is arguably one of the best in the city- it is in between Xintian Di, Taikang Road, and an 11 kuai ride to all the bars in Huaihai Zhong Road in the French Concession. No other hostel in the city is within the starting rate for a taxi (11 kuai) to get to the main nightlife. There are a lot of restaurants nearby- at least 6 per block- that serve Dongbei, Sichuan, Hu, Lanzhou, and local cuisines. The conditions are very clean, they have quite soft beds for what is normally provided in China, and the linen is changed every day. Showers are aplenty as are western toilets and they have the only DRYER that I have ever seen in my 13 months living in China, which is quite astonishing (actually they have 2 dryers). There is no reason that you should choose not to stay here, don't waste your time at other places. I have lived in China for a long time in over 20 cities including Beijing, Shanghai, Dalian, Shenzhen, Chongqing, Benxi, Harbin, and Nanjing so I've seen them all and they really don't come better than Blue Mountain. It would be foolish to waste your time elsewhere.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.