HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel | Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

79.5% Overall Rating

275 out of 306 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

"Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!"

Read all Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Old West Gate Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 79.5% 41 reviews
The Phoenix Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 85.6% 567 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 85.6% 652 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.4% 178 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
12.17 USD

Hostel 92.6% 241 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

275 out of 306 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 242 of 247 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: cleanless

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Short way to the EXPO, nice food places around

Disliked: We want to leave our luggage there during our check-out day. But they said it's not allowed during the EXPO because the chinese goverment prohibit, but we can check-out later. So we leave the luggage in the room and check out in the afternoon. When we want to check out they want that we pay half room-rate because of the late check out. After discussion we don't need to pay, but nobody told us before. And by the way one month before we stayed in same hostel and it was no problem to leave the luggage there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Antunovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent. They were very helpful & friendly. A great place to meet people. Location was good as well.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Allan Yasser Abdula

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010 Allan Yasser would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooms, they are very secured. The location was near a subway station. The people are also friendly, from the staff to the guests.

Disliked: I dislike the toilet, which are rather cramped and dirty.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CHIA-WEN CHEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

04 October 2010 CHIA-WEN would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean with spaces bed!!

Disliked: I was about to pay my stay with credit card; however, I only notice that this is the CASH ONLY staying since they don't even have the credit card machine!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Ellis Maerker

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 September 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay if going to EXPO. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere with quite hard but ok beds and AC. Good food stalls close by!

Disliked: The hostel was a bit too quiet for us, with not much going on during the evenings. Also a bit far from downtown.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, modern, with a nice bar to chill and socialise. Staff are very helpful and the rooms are all air conditioned and have free lockers for each person staying

Disliked: The breakfast was majorly overpriced (though maybe only because it was western food and the expo was on)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Russell

Alone

City break

12 September 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Quality place and everyoneis super friendly

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chia Heng Tung

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

12 September 2010 Chia Heng would recommend this property

Liked: good place ,staffs are nice!

Disliked: Chia Heng left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hsin Yi Tseng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Hsin Yi would recommend this property

Liked: clean, helpful staff

Disliked: not enough lockers in the room I stayed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebekah Gordon

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010 Rebekah would recommend this property

Liked: Right across from the subway station. Super friendly, kind staff!!

Disliked: Rebekah left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

15 August 2010

Liked: Location is next to MTR and in walking distance of EXPO.Good for individual budgettravelers.

Disliked: Not suitable for family with children. There are rooms without windows, which are not mentioned on the website. Notice this when making a booking. We had problems with a leaking airco. Problems were solved, but one of the staff was rude to my wife and just told us that if we didn't like the room then just go somewhere else, because they had enough customers to fill the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went out of their way to help with anything such as directions, bookings for shows and the language.Nice atmosphere and I was lucky enough meet some decent traveller's in my dorm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for Shanghai Expo, Cleanliness & Nice staff

Disliked: Not particularly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are big and clean.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff that go out of their way to help guests. Room is clean and spacious. The common room is a nice to relax and meet travellers, with Internet, pool table and a bar, good place to start and end the day.

Disliked: Shared bathroom. Standing in the same spot brushing your teeth with four other strangers is not something Im accustomed to. But hey you might get a kick out of observing how others do their stuff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Philip Velasco

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2010 John Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location bigger than expected room

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jacob clausen

Alone

City break

18 July 2010 jacob would recommend this property

Liked: close to a metro station

Disliked: far from the bund

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Remco Bogaard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Remco would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel. Lots of foreign travelors and the staff is helpfull! Internet is free, although the computers suck. Great location next to a subway station.

Disliked: Remco left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the counter are helpful

Disliked: The lounge does not operate 24 hours.... so the computers could not be used after 1:00am

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel. a bit expensive but expected since it is shanghai and world expo is happening

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeow Teck Sim

18 June 2010 Yeow Teck would recommend this property

Liked: Wireless Signal weak in room, only available at the Lobby.

Disliked: Yeow Teck left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 June 2010

Liked: Some Mainland Chinese stayed at hostels for a long time. I stayed at a 4-bed female dorm. One of my roommates stayed for half year, another stayed for 1 year. They were inconsiderate to occupy majority of common area for putting their belongings. The roommate who stayed for 1 year slept naked & disallowed me to open air conditioner. They kept the room a bit dirty also.For the facilities, small kitchen was not clean enough, & the showeres seemed without ventilation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bjorn Zettersten

31 May 2010 Bjorn would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for visiting Expo2010. Nextdoor to Metro stn Luban.

Disliked: Bjorn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pit Kai Keung

30 May 2010 Pit Kai would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet impressive. Very kind and helpful staff. Cool location very near to Expo entrance No.1. Plenty of cheap and good Chinese restaurants around so I'd definitely suggest here if anyone if coming to visit Shanghai, whether or not Expo is part of the itinerary.

Disliked: Pit Kai left no negative feedback.