HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel | Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

80.9% Overall Rating

275 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

"Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!"

Read all Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Old West Gate Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 79.5% 41 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Phoenix Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 83.9% 565 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.74 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 83.7% 175 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.35 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

275 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 241 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlyness of the staff and cost of room

Disliked: no wifi in room and wifi not always working in common room. could be a little cleaner

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girls that work here are very friendly and helpful. Nice place to hang out.

Disliked: dorm room was a little small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are incredibly helpful and went out of the way to help us out with things that were nothing to do with the hostel (changing flights etc) even when this was quite time consuming. The location is good, right next to a metro station which meant we could get around this huge city quickly and easily. Our private room was clean and bright and the shared bathrooms were kept clean too. The price was also pretty good for Shanghai, which is more expensive than other places in China.

Disliked: The internet's a little slow, but that's to be expected when 20 people are on the wifi at once! Also, I think they were working to improve this as we saw new routers being installed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011

Liked: right next to a metro stop

Disliked: Paying 20Yuan for breakfast and then when i asked where my toast was, I was shown a toaster so i could make it myself!! I also asked if they could book us acrobat tickets which were advertised at reception to be told they didn't know how to do that. Our room was right next to the washing machines and dryers which ran all night, even though there was a sign saying not after 9pm. Paying 15 for City Map which was rubbish. The girl at reception hanging up the phone on me on an expensive long distance call. I could go on but i won't.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best I stayed at in China. Very attentive staff, excellent facilities.

Disliked: Ascent of staircase to reception rather steep for the disabled.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Godelet

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2011 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: This location is soo convenient, really, and the staff is really cool and friendly, rooms nice and clean, really recommendable

Disliked: The bar was a little bit boring

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was extremely clean and the staff were very helpful

Disliked: The heater in our room wasn't very good, so our room was freezing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly. Rooms were comfy and warm

Disliked: loved it all!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Magdalena Paciorek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is not in the city center but very convieniently located just opposite the metro station. Our twin room ensuite was very nice, bright and clean. Good bathroom with hot water. Nice common area, where you can meet people. Helpful staff. We've enjoyed our stay in Blue Mountain EXPO.

Disliked: I can't really think of anything we disliked.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed atmosphere, premiership football on large screen

Disliked: Not enough working computers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: common room, food, metro right in front of the entrance, private room, free internet(LAN in room and WIFI in common room)

Disliked: beds are hard, internet very slow!, open door ... therefore very cold in lobby and around

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was directly across the street from the train station, clean, cheap and breakfast if you like. Staff is also helpful

Disliked: The only place in my 8 months of traveling that i had to pay for a citymap. It was cold in the lobby, hallways and rooms. But the rooms have a heater that works well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

migle aleksonyte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 migle would recommend this property

Liked: most of it

Disliked: It was very cold in corridors, main room, showers, sometimes there was no electricity in the showers. If u want a map, pay 2 $.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Staff. Good location.

Disliked: Very cold in winter!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robbie Hastie

Alone

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2011 Robbie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, great big bed (i had a private double) clean, friendly, food looked good and cheap prices.

Disliked: It was January 1st and they had ran out of all the good beers!!! :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

max larson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 max would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent. Very friendly people. We watched a movie every night on a projector. Conveniently located across from a subway station. Get the fried rice with black pepper beef, my favorite.

Disliked: It's a hostel, you get what you pay for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHUN-YI LIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2010 CHUN-YI would recommend this property

Liked: price, staff, showers

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Surina Mac

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Surina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very nice and helpful. Even though the hostel isn't close to many tourist attractions, it is just opposite Luban Station which made it very convenient for us to travel around Shanghai. The communal area is very social and lively, great for meeting other travellers. We had a private room, which was small but clean. The communal showers, sink area and toilets were also very clean.

Disliked: Not much to dislike. It would have been nice to be able to get wifi in our rooms but it wasn't a big deal. The dryer isn't amazing and most of clothes were still slightly damp but we were just happy to get laundry service!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cheap

Disliked: The internet was very slow, no wired internet in the room, the two-person room (without sanitary) has no window

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and speaks very good english.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: services provided by staff is good especially on the transportation between hostel and sight-seeing points

Disliked: it should be better if wifi can be provided in the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tom Starr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, they all spoke great English and were always happy, lively and smiling. Our room was clean, the washing/drying facilities are good and there is a communal kitchen area to eat takeout in/drink beer. DVD service and selection proved very popular with the guys I was with, loads of choice.

Disliked: Nothing major. Food was in true hostel style, overpriced and not served all day. The drinks at the bar were overpriced especially when you could go downstairs and buy a bigger (and stronger) beer nextdoor for a third of the price.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near at the 2010 shanghai Expo

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Booked a bed in a 4-bedroom dorm but got a 2-bedroom dorm instead. Staffs were really helpful as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: cleanless