HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel

Hostel | Building #1, 1072 Nong, Qu Xi Road, Shanghai, China 200023

80.9% Overall Rating

275 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

"Perfect hostel! I left my Pad in the lobby, one of the cleaning lady pick it up and gave back to me. Thank you so much! The manager is really cool, had an interesting conversation with him!"

Read all Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Shanghai?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Shanghai

Asset Hotel - Shanghai
29.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Old West Gate Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 79.5% 41 reviews
Jitai Hotel
16.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Phoenix Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 83.9% 565 reviews
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 81.4% 229 reviews
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
11.35 USD

Hostel 89.4% 647 reviews
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.3% 174 reviews
Kingtown Riverside Hotel Plaza
36.33 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

275 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Mountain LuWan Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 241 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ninja Speit

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011

Liked: This hostel was the only clean hostel I have been to in China. The atmosphere is very nice and there is free internet access.

Disliked: Our room didn't have a window and was extremely small. The aircon didn't work very well (either freezing cold or very hot) and the bed was unbelievably hard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff

Disliked: breakfast they offered was overpriced

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet

Disliked: Small room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oyuna Baldakova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Oyuna would recommend this property

Liked: rather good location, friendly and helpful staff, nice library and lounge

Disliked: slow wi-fi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff! Perfect location as it is next to the metro station!

Disliked: We had a room without windows (this doesn't seem to be unusual in Asia, it happened to us twice) The aircondicion was blowing directly into your face.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to subway. Free internet. Safe and secure.

Disliked: English level of staff is really bad. I luckily can speak some Chinese, but it takes a long time for them to understand you and also to process check-ins and check-outs. Most of the time, they would just clump around and weren't helpful. Service in the cafe was really bad too. You've got to order at least 30mins before you get hungry.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: Location - close to metro Big rooms with ensuite bathroom

Disliked: Room had not been fully cleaned - walked in to find an open pack of condoms on the tv stand. Common room - not a fun atmosphere. Not allowed to bring in your own drinks or even snacks (you had to buy from their limited drink and snack collection and they would say something if you brought your own in). We had a bottle of water at the computer with us and they told us to remove it because we didn't buy it from they (they charge 5 for water while the convenient store charges 1 for the same thing. They also double the prices of anything you could buy right next door. Staff - not helpful at all. We asked how to get places and basic tourist questions about sights that they could not answer. It was very frustrating. Their day trips are ridiculously priced too. We found out from another guest (since staff had no clue) how to get to the water city - total costs for us was 160 each while they charge 600 to go with a group. Onsite restaurant has limited food and limited hours

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Solovieva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Good sleep for good money!

Disliked: Could have been a more lively and social atmosphere

25.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Antonov

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

03 August 2011 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: The location near the subway was really convenient. The staff was nice and helpful. Almost everything was good.

Disliked: The food is not good. The location is not central as described (but it is less than 20rmb for a taxi to the main attractions). The atmosphere is lacking a bit because a lot of the guests there stay for long periods (even 2 years), so there are not into talking with every guest. The staff seem to lack knowledge about shanghai (don't know which buses go you Yuyuan gardens or any bars/clubs names and etc.)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: team very helpfull and rooms clean

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, very nice hostel

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in dorms and opposite underground.

Disliked: The only communal area was the bar and you were only allowed to eat/drink items purchased from the bar in that area (which were quite expensive).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent room, good value.

Disliked: nothing in particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station and taxis always outside. Extremely helpful staff. Great value for money.

Disliked: The free internet was pretty slow and unreliable due to the number of people in the communal area using it. The only reason people seemed to be in the communal area was for the internet...almost nothing happening in the way of socialising. If I hadn't been out in Shanghai before it would have been quite difficult to find a good time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, adorable hostel cat:) Clean rooms and bathrooms. Location isn't right in the city centre but the Metro station right across the street makes the location good. Very safe and secure.

Disliked: Impossible to use the internet in the evening because the lounge area is overcrowded with Wifi-users. Annoying when you have to make bookings, transfer money etc.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's location is great, you are next to a metro station there is a small supermarket

Disliked: --

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, 10 min by metro from the People's Square, clean rooms, helpful English speaking stuff, atmosphere in the bar

Disliked: It is very noisy outside (at nights), they should have better windows then, carpets were dirty, common shower wasn't super clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was perfect for our 3-day holiday weekend trip (we are ex-pats living in another Chinese city....older married couple and two younger singles.) . If you are looking for a party place, then this is not for you. If you want a clean, safe, quiet place, which is what we wanted, then this is the place for you. (This survey has the question: "Fun place to meet people?" - well, not everyone wants or needs to meet people. I think you can here, but that was not our purpose. I could have easily talked to more people though. I still ranked it high because it met our purpose.) We had either a double room or double twin room (the hostel actually gave two of us a triple room at no extra charge singe they did not have enough double twin rooms.) It was clean and the bonus was that the rooms had a hair dryer and also some shower shampoo and even towels, all rare at hostels. I'm not sure if this applies to dorm rooms, which I usually stay in, but these were a pleasant surprise. Although our rooms were central in the building and did not have windows, there was A/C if needed and also a TV if you wanted to watch TV. The game room had a pool table and books to read, plus places to lounge, and a small food bar. Rooms with bathrooms ensuite are separate from the dorm rooms. It was also nice and quiet at night. The staff was eager to help and stored our bags on our last day while we were out and about the city before our flights. Maps and toiletries are available for purchase. A Metro line is really right across the street (diagonally) - very handy, though you are 4-6 stops or more away from any major sites in the city. The hostel is in a quieter "locals" neighborhood so that is also nice. There is a decent Chinese bakery a block away as well.

Disliked: The double twin/triple room had plenty of extra floor space - a small table would have been nice in there. But really, nothing to complain about.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Larranaga

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms , location right in front of metro station, friendly staff and good food

Disliked: Wifi only avalible in lobby

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yildiray Berber

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Yildiray would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, because of the Metro station in front of the hostel and the BBQ restaurant close to the hoste.

Disliked: The showers and toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Chiba

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: We like the location as it is very close to the metro station. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rom we occupied (ywin room) was very spacious and it even has a hanging cardboard which is very useful.

Disliked: The room we occupied was windowless and the PC provided was pretty useless.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Fish

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011

Liked: Good size room and good showers.

Disliked: Everyone was on their laptop so it's very hard to meet people. They take up all the bar space so there is nowhere to sit. The toilets smell really bad. The lockers are a joke and our room mate always left our door open so people could walk through the front door of the hostel and into our room. The map is overpriced - don't buy it, it's not much help. Food is okay but breakfast is overpriced. We had to wait 50 minutes for our food!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rahmat Saleh Lim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 May 2011 Rahmat Saleh would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: noise from the road at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in a basic double with shared bathroom. The room was clean and had a big bed..quite a small room but fine for a short stay (we stayed 3 nights) hot clean showers..the toilets were clean but always had a pretty bad smell! common room was nice and breakfast was good value. staff were really friendly and helpful, location was pretty good opposite the luban road subway. would stay here again.

Disliked: The common room got very crowded..was a nice atmosphere but too small for the size of the hostel..this wouldn't have been a problem but it was the only place we could get wifi as we couldnt get it in the room. Also there was some work being done in the hostel when we stayed so there was a lot of noise from 7am..felt they could have held off till a bit later!!