We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sanya hostels

Reviews of Captain's House

Guesthouse | Luling Road, Dadonghai, Sanya, China 572000

89.7% Overall Rating

11 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2014)

Erika Somogyi thinks…

"The owners of the Captains house were really nice and helpful. There was a problem with the hostel so we ended up staying at the Captains house downtown. However it was a great experience and we…"

Read all Captain's House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.24
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sanya?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sanya

Simple love sea view hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 89.6% 19 reviews
Sanya Backpacker Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 97.7% 56 reviews
SanYa JiaCuo Hostel
40.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Captain's House Ⅱ
11.37 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Sanya Lama Temple Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.2% 11 reviews
Sanya Blue Sky International Youth Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.9% 134 reviews
Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 89.0% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

11 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Captain's House'

Atmosphere
90.8%
Location
89.2%
Facilities
87.7%
Cleanliness
84.6%
Staff
90.8%
Value
95.4%
Safety
89.2%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Somogyi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: The owners of the Captains house were really nice and helpful. There was a problem with the hostel so we ended up staying at the Captains house downtown. However it was a great experience and we never had a problem even when we arrived at 2am! The rooms were clean and the location is perfect. One time we were lost in Sanya and I texted the owner and he gave us the address we needed!

Disliked: Erika left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

l timo

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2014 l would recommend this property

Liked: The store environment is good, the boss who is also very friendly, from the sea close to the store. I love Sanya

Disliked: Facility is not perfect,but it's enough

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2014

Liked: They had Towels and sheets for free but they were not clean

Disliked: No toilet paper, check in at night is not possible, no one ist there and everyone can go into the building, because it is not locked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We are more than happy that we stayed there! Everything was just great! Helpful stuff- recommended places to go and made us feel that we are welcome. Location was amazing, just next to locals and fishing village, so you can eat delicious food! Room was just great, with shower and air conditioner! Also there is a room for watching movies and garden on the roof you can take a beer and relax. We definitely recommend this place! Thank you, thank you , thank you!!!

Disliked: No bad words at all!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 February 2013

Liked: The wifi was strong even on the 1st floor couches, which was great since we were out there at around midnight or so. Tom was pretty helpful with directions and places to go.

Disliked: We booked two dorm beds several days before and arrived at 2 PM. Robert said there was only one dorm bed available and that "didn't know much about the dorm situation" so he told us to wait for Tom. He told us to just leave on our stuff on the one bed that had nothing but a pillow without a pillowcase. We went out for five hours hoping that they would have figured out the rooming situation for us. However, to our surprise, when we got back, nothing had changed at all. They asked us to wait for Tom again since he was still "out"? Tom came about 5 minutes later and his solution was to put a lock on the commons area and let one of us stay in there. Even his cleaning lady had the better idea of letting us stay in a private room since it was pretty obvious that they didn't have any more dorm beds for one of us. Anyway, he eventually agreed to let us stay at another hotel's double private room for the same price we booked our dorms for. Pretty inconvenient though since there were even more downsides to that place. ex: no internet, or roosters RIGHT outside our windows waking us up at 6 AM. Don't get me wrong, Tom and Robert are super nice guys, but they don't run the place very well. He gave up our dorm bed for another traveler who didn't book a dorm at the hostel in advance which pretty much made our last day of living in San Ya not so great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

charlie wagland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 charlie would recommend this property

Liked: Tom & Robert the two guys who work at the hostel were EXCELLENT :) really friendly & full of advice! just a 5-10 min walk to the awesome beach & 5min walk from the fishing village for local street food. had the best time staying here!! could of stayed for a month! def recommend this hostel to other travellers!!

Disliked: actually.......nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When it just comes to facilities or cleanliness, I have been to better hostels. However, in this hostel you completely forget about that because the atmosphere and especially the kind and extremely helpful staff is like i've never experienced before. If I would come back to Sanya I would definitely stay here again, met some great people as well!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 100% the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Perfect location near tourist beach, meticulously clean, friendly staff, the owner treat you as familly members. All in all I hope every traveler has the opportunity to stay here. I only wish I could have stayed here my entire trip. Stay here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xdee asnc

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 October 2012 xdee would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic as it is very convenient to beach as well as bus lines that can easily get you to the train or bus stations for longer journeys. The hostel has a good atmosphere , and the dorms are spotlessly clean and have sturdy and comfortable bunks. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful when it came to arranging tours and providing information about the city.

Disliked: xdee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew mnui

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

12 October 2012 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Overall very good hostel. Staff spoke English better than at my 5-star in Beijing. Very helpful with booking tours. Great value, great location walking distance to bars, beach ! the fisher village is good places for local food.

Disliked: andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael kl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 September 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: captain's house was a wonderful trip experience in every way possible. Great value for the extremely cheap hostel price. the location is also good too!The staff were extremely useful at helping me plan trips around sanya, especially the lovely trip adviser tom. English abilities were great. Would stay here again for sure

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.


See all Sanya hostels