HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Captain's House Sanya Hostel

Opposite "Sanya Royal Garden Resort", Lu Ling lu(Rd), Da Dong Hai, Sanya, China

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 89%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 16.06USD
  • Breakfast 3.21USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 06:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sanya?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 89%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 96%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good location for not a lot of money! Owner speaks english fluently andis very helpful!

Disliked: Staff besides the owner is not very helpful even if you speak chinese ( check in and information not provided)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owners of the Captains house were really nice and helpful. There was a problem with the hostel so we ended up staying at the Captains house downtown. However it was a great experience and we never had a problem even when we arrived at 2am! The rooms were clean and the location is perfect. One time we were lost in Sanya and I texted the owner and he gave us the address we needed!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The store environment is good, the boss who is also very friendly, from the sea close to the store. I love Sanya

Disliked: Facility is not perfect,but it's enough

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: They had Towels and sheets for free but they were not clean

Disliked: No toilet paper, check in at night is not possible, no one ist there and everyone can go into the building, because it is not locked.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway

Liked: We are more than happy that we stayed there! Everything was just great! Helpful stuff- recommended places to go and made us feel that we are welcome.Location was amazing, just next to locals and fishing village, so you can eat delicious food!Room was just great, with shower and air conditioner! Also there is a room for watching movies and garden on the roof you can take a beer and relax. We definitely recommend this place!Thank you, thank you , thank you!!!

Disliked: No bad words at all!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The wifi was strong even on the 1st floor couches, which was great since we were out there at around midnight or so. Tom was pretty helpful with directions and places to go.

Disliked: We booked two dorm beds several days before and arrived at 2 PM. Robert said there was only one dorm bed available and that "didn't know much about the dorm situation" so he told us to wait for Tom. He told us to just leave on our stuff on the one bed that had nothing but a pillow without a pillowcase. We went out for five hours hoping that they would have figured out the rooming situation for us. However, to our surprise, when we got back, nothing had changed at all. They asked us to wait for Tom again since he was still "out"? Tom came about 5 minutes later and his solution was to put a lock on the commons area and let one of us stay in there. Even his cleaning lady had the better idea of letting us stay in a private room since it was pretty obvious that they didn't have any more dorm beds for one of us. Anyway, he eventually agreed to let us stay at another hotel's double private room for the same price we booked our dorms for. Pretty inconvenient though since there were even more downsides to that place. ex: no internet, or roosters RIGHT outside our windows waking us up at 6 AM. Don't get me wrong, Tom and Robert are super nice guys, but they don't run the place very well. He gave up our dorm bed for another traveler who didn't book a dorm at the hostel in advance which pretty much made our last day of living in San Ya not so great.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Tom & Robert the two guys who work at the hostel were EXCELLENT :) really friendly & full of advice! just a 5-10 min walk to the awesome beach & 5min walk from the fishing village for local street food. had the best time staying here!! could of stayed for a month! def recommend this hostel to other travellers!!

Disliked: actually.......nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: When it just comes to facilities or cleanliness, I have been to better hostels. However, in this hostel you completely forget about that because the atmosphere and especially the kind and extremely helpful staff is like i've never experienced before. If I would come back to Sanya I would definitely stay here again, met some great people as well!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: 100% the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Perfect location near tourist beach, meticulously clean, friendly staff, the owner treat you as familly members. All in all I hope every traveler has the opportunity to stay here. I only wish I could have stayed here my entire trip. Stay here!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location was fantastic as it is very convenient to beach as well as bus lines that can easily get you to the train or bus stations for longer journeys. The hostel has a good atmosphere , and the dorms are spotlessly clean and have sturdy and comfortable bunks. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful when it came to arranging tours and providing information about the city.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability