We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sanya hostels

Reviews of Sanya Blue Sky International Youth Hostel

Hostel | NO.1 LanHai Alley, HaiYun Road, Dadonghai Sanya, China 572021

84.9% Overall Rating

121 out of 134 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2013)

Martin Rodrigue thinks…

"Loved the location, 5 minutes walk from the beach and right next to this outdoor foodcourt with live music and artisanal beer. The fact that it's in the old districe of Dadonghai in Sanya puts it in…"

Read all Sanya Blue Sky International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

According to the local legislation, guests stay in Sanya pay 2RMB per person per night as government tax. All rates listed excluding the tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sanya?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sanya

captain's house downtown
11.37 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Sanya Backpacker Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 97.7% 56 reviews
Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 89.6% 19 reviews
Sanya Lama Temple Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.2% 11 reviews
Simple love sea view hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Captain's House
4.87 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 13 reviews
Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 89.0% 13 reviews
SanYa JiaCuo Hostel
40.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

121 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sanya Blue Sky International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 94 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, soft beds!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Rodrigue

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

23 February 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, 5 minutes walk from the beach and right next to this outdoor foodcourt with live music and artisanal beer. The fact that it's in the old districe of Dadonghai in Sanya puts it in the middle of all the attractions, but it takes an hour by bus (east , west and north) to get to the new attractions.

Disliked: Had a double room with a bed you sank into, I think a too soft bed is my only complaint.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and an amazing atmosphere :)

Disliked: I have no complaints.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

roberto bignotti

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent bright double rooms.

Disliked: roberto left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, free towls, close to the bus station

Disliked: 100 yuan deposit per key, only one bathroom with shower and toilet for the 10 bed dorm (but it wasnt a problem for us since not all beds were occupied)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Lincoln

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location, staff are very friendly, helpful and honest! Rooms are big with very comfy beds. Lots of facilities near by, very close to the beach, tourist and convenience shops.

Disliked: Not the easiest to find, but then they did send a map with the booking confirmation!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

raphael ZERBATO

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

09 April 2012 raphael would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, mostly young foreigner from every where

Disliked: raphael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Gillies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 April 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The place always had people buzzing around - very relaxed atmosphere and very friendly, helpful staff. Ross phoned me before I flew to make sure everything was ok! Really nice guy, enjoyed a beer with him.

Disliked: Can only get a 'coconut' instant coffee and yoghurt and cereal not available for breakfast. After I got over that I still had pretty good karma.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how nice and helpful the staff were.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and very comfortable. Whilst it seems to be a big place it still feels homely, safe, secure and quiet. This is my second time in this hostel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Disliked: There is nothing about this hostel that I dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, the location was great, and it felt very safe. Most comfortable bed in China!!!!

Disliked: The shower was a bit weird and the breakfast was expensive for what it was.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap price

Disliked: Toilet paper missing in public toilet...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

IKER GONZALEZ

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 IKER would recommend this property

Liked: Everythin but specially the help and facilities the staff gave us. The cook they have is also great!! If you give him food and you explain him how you want he cooks it for a few RNB!!

Disliked: Nothing really...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very friendly staff and a relaxed and familiar atmosphere! Situated very close to the beach, mainstreet and the bus station. One evening, the boss invited everyone to eat home made ice cream, which was very delicious. We really recommend the hostel to everyone! Oh, and the little dog was very nice!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free and fast internet, good laundry service, ensuite bathroom

Disliked: no free lockers, bad quality mountain bikes

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Clausen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 July 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the new owners Ross and Rachel are extremely friendly and helpful, and they take great interest in their guests. They even celebrated my birthday with cake and homemade ice cream :) There was a nice barbeque party at the hostel when we were there, with lots of seafood and icecream, it was very nice food and a good opportunity to meet the staff and other guests. The beach is only five minutes walk away and is a perfect beach for swimming and relaxing( beach towels are included in the room ) We visited in july which is low season for chinese and russian tourists, and we had the beach almost to ourselves in the daytime. Busses are close by ( 1yuan pr trip) and are well connected to the busstation and bar areas of the city. The menu contains mostly breakfast and it is served fast and of good standard. We shared a double room, nice and basic with a large bathroom and lots of hot water.

Disliked: Nothing really. Notice that you need to ask for room cleaning though - it is written on your deposit-note, but i did not read it before the last day.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

JUSTINE CAMILLERI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 JUSTINE would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. The staff all spoke English and they were wonderful. Annie and Mushroom in particular were ever so friendly. The manager was also very nice. The bed was very comfortable. The beach towels on reception were also great even though I suggest that the bath towels are placed in the dorm.

Disliked: Unfortunately at the time I was there it was very noisy. The drilling actually woke me up once ! The toilet and shower were constantly getting blocked as well. There is a shower downstairs though which I made use of. The manager did apologise to me for both inconveniences. There are no lockers in the dorms and the lockers in the common area are very small. The staff on reception are more than willing to keep your laptop etc. for you though. There was also no toilet paper in the toilet. Overall the pros just about outweighed the cons for me and I ended up staying for 8 nights. It would have been a whole lot different for me if it wasn't so noisy as I went to Sanya to relax! I would consider staying at this hostel again because of the wonderful staff and the location. It was more pricey for a bed in the dorm than most other hostels in Sanya .. keep in mind that this is because of the location. The price should have been dropped though until the building construction is finished.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2011

Liked: Close to the beach and you got free beach towels everyday

Disliked: Well, their breakfast was kind of overpriced, and they had a dog that walked around freely. Now, I don't mind dogs, but two of those whom I traveled with does, and this dog just walked around freely, and tried to bite one of my friends feet more than once and when we asked the personnel to help us get the dog away, or at least to stop biting, they just laughed and did nothing even though both of my friends were standing on chairs outside to avoid the dog. This happened more than once as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and the atmosphere was really calm and warm. You were part of a big community and it was always nice to come back to the Hostel and talk with the staff or other travellers. The staff also recommended places and tried to help as much as they could to get to those places and all this kind of stuff. And also getting free towels for the beach was a huge relief so you didn't have to bring those big towels on your own :)

Disliked: Maybe the rooms could have been cleaner, but it was okay for a hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yas Daudjee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Yas would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hostel is that it is quite close to the beach (5 mins walk). The beach is ok, but there are nicer ones in the area, and far nicer, quieter ones on other parts of the island. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast menu isn't too bad - eggs and toast for 15 Y. The staff are reasonably friendly and helpful. It has free internet.

Disliked: It has some facilities such as renting bikes, surfboards, tours to the hotsprings etc but you can get some of these cheaper elsewhere (Motorbikes for 200 Y a day, but we found cheaper in the area). There are some tables outside and inside, but it's not got a particularly cosy atmosphere.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach! This beach (Dadonghai) is also the nicest compared to the other beaches (Yalong, Sanya) in my opinion. Also I liked how people in the street assumed I was Russian and spoke Russian to me, which made me smile.

Disliked: It's a little expensive but whatever it's not that bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

09 October 2010

Liked: The English speaking staff was fantastic.

Disliked: The "head chef" (who also apparently does toilet repairs) decided to take a nap instead of cooking our order, delaying a much needed breakfast by an hour. We scheduled a ride with the "car service" (taxi) to the airport on our last day, but he was a no-show after 15 minutes, jeopardizing our return flight. We eventually took a taxi from the street for 40 kuai. The hostel charged 60 for the same trip.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Iwan Tjong

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2010 Iwan would recommend this property

Liked: I love to stay in Blue Sky Hostel. the location is very good. so many place to find foods. and then, u can meet n chat with other travellers from around the world.

Disliked: dirty a little bit

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot - right near the beach. Good common areas which usually resulted in drinking games so maybe for my liver's sake that's not a good thing.

Disliked: A little on the expensive side given it's not that 'flashy'. Also found while the staff were all pretty good people, they didn't tend to go out of their way in the work realm. Most of the time they sat around eating or doing croche (seriously).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Dodd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

23 July 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the hostel Peter is fantastic. As are the girls in the hostel. They are great fun. The rooms were ok and the showers quite clean. It is also located really close to the beach.

Disliked: No real bar.


See all Sanya hostels