HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sanya hostels

Reviews of Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel

Hostel | A4 QingYuntai Villa, Luling Road, Da Donghai Area Sanya, China 572000

89.6% Overall Rating

18 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2013)

Daniel Rose thinks…

"The workers speak English which is great. They helo you out with anything you need such as fiding places to go or help book an activity for you. Good drinks at the bar and they are willing to give…"

Read all Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.24
  • Breakfast USD 4.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sanya?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sanya

Sanya Backpacker Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 97.7% 56 reviews
Simple love sea view hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sanya Lama Temple Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.2% 11 reviews
captain's house downtown
11.37 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Sanya Blue Sky International Youth Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.9% 134 reviews
Captain's House
4.87 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 13 reviews
Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 89.0% 13 reviews
SanYa JiaCuo Hostel
40.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

18 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.4%
Location
95.8%
Facilities
85.3%
Cleanliness
82.1%
Staff
92.6%
Value
90.5%
Safety
92.6%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013

Liked: The balcony is a Good Place to relax With a nice view

Disliked: The english of the Staff was not very Good. Moreover the Place was Dirty and has only One bathroom Toilet included.. And i saw they did Not change the blanket After every stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Rose

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The workers speak English which is great. They helo you out with anything you need such as fiding places to go or help book an activity for you. Good drinks at the bar and they are willing to give you happy hour priced drinks the whole night. Free pool table and wifi in the rooms is also nice. I enjoyed that everyone hangs out in the lobby at nights with music , drinks , and karaoke. The hostel location is very convinient with less than a 1 minute walk to the beach.

Disliked: I have nothing that i disliked about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and the staff was super friendly! We loved the convenience to shopping, food and the beach! The air-conditioned rooms were spacious and the beds were extremely comfy. The staff will even coordinate day tours and private transportation to the airport! I definitely recommend this hostel to any visitors to Sanya!

Disliked: It was a little hard to clean out the bathroom showers when they were full of sand.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Schitter

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and it is a very nice place to hang out. Really close to the beach - and everything else can be reached quitequickly by bus.

Disliked: Only that you can' tmake your own food or bring your own drinks. But they've got quite a good collection of tasty food and affordable drinks so that's ok :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Please complete what you liked

Disliked: Please complete what you disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAVID JOSEPH

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

04 July 2012 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for 4 nights in Sunshine hostel and I lived in both 4 bed dorm and 6 bed dorm. The air conditioner and Wifi works really good in my room. The receptionists were kind and friendly. I went to the beach everyday-the hostel is just 1 min from the beach! I love Sunshine hostel! I will be back.

Disliked: DAVID left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Waters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I stayed in this hostel for a week and this experience was great. We stayed in a a 6-bed-dorm which is clean and scure. Everyone got a locker in the room and the air conditionary works good in the room. People there are funny and we went to the Nanshan Temple together - not far from the hostel. Close to the nice beach, close to the ATM and easy to go to the downtown. Excellent!

Disliked: Alice left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephane Peyron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 June 2012 Stephane would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay!They got a lovely puppy, fantastic drinks, clean rooms and good facility. The double room with balcony was where I stayed, it is just awesome. Unfortunately I have to stay in the 4 bed dorm for 1 night but it was still good though. Not really close to the downtown but extremely close to the beach which is what I want.

Disliked: Stephane left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hongzhou Li

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Hongzhou would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing and very accommodating. We stayed for 2 nights and found out that our plane tickets was cancelled. So we rescheduled on an earlier flight. The staff ultimately reimbursed us a portion of the scheduled third night even though most hostels I've stayed at has a "no refund for any reason" policy. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Hongzhou left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brenna Peterson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

22 April 2012 Brenna would recommend this property

Liked: It's literally a two minute walk from the beach, and not a crowded beach, a more secluded beach.

Disliked: You have to hop a bus to get into town, but it is very close to the bus stops.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and they all can speak some English, there's wifi all around the property, they keep a lot of cold beer and zero coke and that's very hard to find in China. The mixed drinks were very good too. And they also had a very cute puppy. It's close to the best beach to my taste.

Disliked: The food, the laundry, and the people were kinda noisy at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

28 February 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Go enjoy chilling in the hostel! Personally I love to sit in the yard and doing nothing but you can also go to the beach within 1 min. Highly recommend- Hainan chicken rice

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was extremely close to the beach of Sanya Bay. The staff was more than helpful. The breakfast (not included) was good with free coffee refill. The drinks at the bar are great and the food good. You can rent a beach towel (1 Yuan for the whole stay). You can sit outside, lay in the hammock or chill on one of the couches in the common room/bar.

Disliked: Over the Chinese New Year Holidays the hostel was booked out every night and although cleaned daily, the rooms and especially the bathrooms were dirty. I booked 7 nights in a 6-bed doem but when I arrived they told me that they didn't have one for all the nights so that I had to move twice within one week. For a stay at the beach the hostel is ideal. It is however a 20 - 30 minutes ride on the bus to get into the city and in the evenings and at night traffic is terrible on the costal highway. There is no big/cheap supermarket nearby. The computer is very old and painfully slow. If you have to use it (some more bokkings or just checking your e-mails) you need to be very patient. The coordination of the booking is very insufficient.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james hickman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel i've stayed at... good surf trip etc, all the staff are awesome x

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JERITA LAHTEENMAKI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011 JERITA would recommend this property

Liked: Maybe the best hostel i´ve ever stayed at! Very helpful and friendly staff. It feels like home during the stay. I stayed for 9 days and I´m so glad i chose this hostel. I´m also happy I chose Sanya bay, not Dadonghai or Yalong bay. Sanya bay was my favourite of those three. Yalong is full of expensive hotels, Dadonghai is grouded. From the hostel it´s like three minutes walk to the beach and it´s quiet and not so many people there on this beach. At least it was in the end of August. At the beach there is also a beach bar with cheap beer. And they make excellent coctails at the hostel! Only thing negative is that the menu should be better. For example for me as a vegetarian there was nothing to eat. But it was easy to go somewhere else for dinner. Thank you Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel!!

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: maybe a little too far out of the city center, but very close to the probably calmest beach of Sanya.

Disliked: Very poor English level of nearly all staff except the owner and manager. They sell tours at a too expensive price and the bath is very dirty. Toilet didn't work and there was not even a sink in the bath of the 8-bed dorm and no possibility to lock the door while being inside!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location for the not crowded beach, great value for money. Super helpful and friendly staff, tried to teach me Chinese, always good for a talk. Great Cocktails, and best Billiard table I have seen in China.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kami Fone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2011 Kami would recommend this property

Liked: This is very cleaning newly furnished hostel in Sanya.It is very close to beach, just 5 minutes walk to the beach; The location was good for who like quiet and sun. Good place to relax and do nothing; It would be valuable to stay there for a vocation. The hostel are managed by a young couple; Very nice couple, like to make friends with us; Strongly recommand cocktail created by young boss. It was unique and special, actually, my friends and me all love it. The food, that was great. Rooms are cleaning and cozy. The staff is helpful and friendly, Hopefully, I could reture soon.

Disliked: The weather is a little bit too hot.


See all Sanya hostels