HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Raintree Backpacker Hostel Sanya Hostel

4th floor, Shan Shun Yun Tian Tower, He Dong Road, Sanya, China

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 85%

Location 80%

Safety 88%

Staff 89%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sanya?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 85%

Location 80%

Safety 88%

Staff 89%

Value 85%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There were several decent restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Well the worst was the staff, I wish I could rank them worse then just 'bad', something closer to abysmal or atrocious. Even though they were refusing to honor our reservations, they never apologized and overall were unhelpful (at points it felt like spiteful incompetence). They constantly lounged about the bar (which was never open) and slept on various pieces of furniture around the hostel. There was also a young child, who I assume was the owner's son, who had a very small puppy. This puppy looked too young to be away from it's mother and constantly whimpered, in part because the young boy frequently held it upside down. So the nights we stayed in the hostel we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the puppy crying.The rooms were also pretty terrible. Although we had booked at private double room with a riverside view for nine nights, they could only host us for two nights. They put us in a cleaning supply room with a bunkbed and a questionable bathroom. The second day they showed us the room we had booked and said if we payed 50 dollars more we could have it for a night. We did not take it and found other lodgings, since we believed they would just keep asking for more money.The beds we slept on were hard and squeaked constantly. The bathroom was even worse, the shower didn't have a suitable drain so water had to be swept (literally swept with a broom) into a hole in the floor on the other side of the room. It was probably one of the reasons the whole place constantly smelled of mildew. The 'common areas' were turned into makeshift dorms, so they were unusable by all the other inhabitants. Therefore unless we wanted to be lying in our beds the only places to relax in the hostel were where the staff was already smoking or sleeping. Not to mention the whole place was covered in pictures of half naked girls playing soccer. One picture is questionable, over twenty five pictures is just trashy.With an exception of a couple decent restaurants there was nothing close by. The beach was at least a fifteen minute walk through heavy traffic and there were no bars or clubs we could find. Overall the whole place was a nightmare and it was probably a blessing in disguise that they refused to honor our reservations.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I really liked the price 49 kuai a night, I just wanted a comfortable bed to sleep at night:) It was great:D

Disliked: It was difficult to find on Hedong Lu, perhaps a sign outside in Pinyin would be a good idea.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice and clean, comfortable bed, relatively quiet.

Disliked: There is nothing nearby, expect to walk, bus or taxi anyplace from here.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: This was the cheapest I found during chinese new year holidays. It's just 300 m from the clubs and bars area.

Disliked: My room has never been cleaned even if I asked. It was small and didn't have windows. But the rooms on the river side are really good, big and with a nice view. Try to change if you can. For me it was too far from DaDongHai, 15 to 20 minutes by walk.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good folks. Good service. Nice place

Disliked: Next to the street. Very noisy....

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The Raintree is located in downtown Sanya, so it's close to bars and clubs, shopping areas and restaurants. It's also halfway between the two public beaches and you can take a bus to either one from the nearby bus stop. Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was noisy, both from the other guests and from the street noise. But I was there to enjoy the beach during the day, so this probably wouldn't be an issue if you're there for the night life. Also, my room didn't have an outside window, so it was sort of like a dark cave.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it's central location, the view on the riverside

Disliked: do not take the dorm because it is in fact a staff room, it is rarely/never cleaned, room can't be locked, people walk in/out every hour of the day

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: perfect location can go anywhere easily, supermarket, bar street, restaurants are in walk distance. many buses pass by. tasty decoration, wonderful amenities. had great time there. by the way, the BBQ is best i have ever ate!!

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: i like this hoste very muchl and the owner-Justin, he is a sweet and thoughful guy. since when i booked the room, he sent me the address details and some information i might need in Sanya by email immediately. He introduced lots of his friends to me, i had great fun there with them. kinda of cool place to stay in Sanya.

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: nice hostel, great staffs, very clean, lovely atmosphere, good value for money.The owner- Justin is a nice guy, helps me a lot. introduce me several nice place to go and interesting people to know. i love my vacation in Sanya

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability