We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sanya hostels

Reviews of Sanya Lama Temple Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.7, Dazhenling Alley, Sanya, China 527000

85.2% Overall Rating

10 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2014)

"The staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. They have a nice kitchen and common areas. They have a really lovely cat. I can't say enough about how great the staff was. I got to spend a lot of time hanging out…"

Read all Sanya Lama Temple Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sanya?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sanya

Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 89.6% 19 reviews
Sanya Backpacker Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 97.7% 56 reviews
captain's house downtown
8.12 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Sanya Blue Sky International Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 84.9% 134 reviews
Simple love sea view hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 89.0% 13 reviews
Captain's House
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 13 reviews
SongTaoGe Inn
10.07 USD

Hostel 89.6% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.2%

Overall Rating

10 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sanya Lama Temple Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.5%
Location
74.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
92.7%
Value
92.7%
Safety
90.9%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. They have a nice kitchen and common areas. They have a really lovely cat. I can't say enough about how great the staff was. I got to spend a lot of time hanging out with them. The girl speaks English fairly well. The guy doesn't at all. Both of them are super helpful to advise you on how to get around and some local foods. It's walking distance from the beach and not too far from the bus stop. They have a pool which hardly gets used since they are so close to the beach of dadonghai bay. Warm, inviting, comfortable atmosphere

Disliked: The property is a little hard to find but if you call from the bus stop they'll walk you to the place. It's more than halfway up a big hill. I'm talking San Francisco kind of hill that you should walk up and down wherever you go somewhere. This is a note to foreigners who may be unfamiliar with things here. This is China so don't expect a plush western mattress. This thin or hard mattress is common for China. There is no toilet paper. Again, a fairly standard China thing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly and kind. They showed me around and gave me advice about what to visit. As I was travelling alone they were kind enough to envolve me in their everyday life (dinners, trips, nights out etc.). The hostel has a very good atmosphere and the rooms are clean and comfy. Very close to the beach (about 10 minutes walking) and to the "bars street". For this price I couldn't be more satisfied !!

Disliked: It's a bit hard to find it as it's up on a hill and there are no signs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very friendly

Disliked: The hostel is a little bit messy and unclean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location near Dadonghai Bay. Friendly helpfull staff

Disliked: At the moment there is a big construction site outside

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice, and had a big bathroom. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was no water in the pool, and it was not possible to rent bikes (as posted on hostelbookers) but we didn't mind. The city center was not far, and we rented a scooter elsewhere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iryna Titova

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Iryna would recommend this property

Liked: Home atmosphere, friendly personal, free Internet, clean, market near the hostel

Disliked: the way from the beach up to the mountain - but all another - very nice

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and clean rooms

Disliked: we didn't get exactly the room we booked over hostelbookers 2 days in advance. but we got an upgrade to a private room at very low costs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location: Equal distance between main town centre and Dadonghai beach. Facilities: Good WiFi and computers; kitchen and refridgerator available. Property: New, open-aired (the balconies were always open). Good air-conditioners. The private rooms are great, but dorm rooms are significantly smaller. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Currently (Feb/March 2011), there is a construction site next door so it can be a bit noisy, and doesn't give a nice view from the balcony.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had clean bathrooms, clean and fully equipted self-service kitchens, free internet and air-conditioning. very quiet in the evening and there is a food street just 1 minute away.

Disliked: no lockers, but security lockers for money etc. are available for free. The sauna didn'T work, the pool was empty and the private rooms don't have private showers, at least if you want to have hot water. it was very hard to find because there are no signs showing the way and it is hidden upon a hill.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and specially the male owner could speak very good English specially when compared to the average knowhow of English among Chinese. They offered a lot of free-of-charge services, and they had a wide knowledge about the surroundings. They cooked us delicious dinners, and when our time schedule was changed, the male owner helped us to book the flights from Sanya to Guangzhou, as we did not have Chinese credit card (which was needed to be able to book).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sanya hostels