We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sanya hostels

Reviews of Sanya Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | No.1 Type 1 Villa, Lu Ming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai Sanya, China 572021

97.7% Overall Rating

56 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Matthew Foster thinks…

"Very friendly, helpful and outgoing staff. Very clean and convenient location for things such as public transport, fast food and the beach and bars. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to…"

Read all Sanya Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Full payment of balance in cash only upon arrival Hostel door is closed between 2359hrs to 0800hrs Please call us for late check in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sanya?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sanya

captain's house downtown
11.37 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 89.6% 19 reviews
Sanya Blue Sky International Youth Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.9% 134 reviews
Sanya Lama Temple Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.2% 11 reviews
Simple love sea view hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Captain's House
4.87 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 13 reviews
Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 89.0% 13 reviews
SongTaoGe Inn
8.45 USD

Hostel 89.6% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.7%

Overall Rating

56 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sanya Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 56 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Foster

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

06 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful and outgoing staff. Very clean and convenient location for things such as public transport, fast food and the beach and bars. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to other fellow travelers!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hai Shan Xie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Hai Shan would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay, as warm as family.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby Stirling

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: Staying in this hostel was honestly the best decision we could have made. I came with a group of 12 girls, and we all loved staying here. It was a very relaxed and friendly environment. We loved the outdoor common area, the information about things to do and places to visit, the cleanliness, and the close proximity to the beach. Chris, Linda, and Ava could not have been more helpful and personable.

Disliked: Abby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location to the beach and train station. However far from others natural destinations in Sanya. This is quite normal though. Hostel does assist in planning day tours tourist spots in Sanya. Stay here if you want to walk to the beach!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great location, staff did everything they could to work around problems after the typhoon. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svetlana Renans

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

27 October 2013 Svetlana would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect stay! Our private double room was very big, clean and comfortable. The hostel is hidden from the noise of the big road, so it's quiet at night, while being very close to restaurants, shops, bus stops. Hosts were very helpful and kind. I definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Svetlana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, less than 5 minute walk to the beach. It's really clean, the sheets are changed daily and you're also given a clean towel each day. There are also beach towels available for you to use, which saves you trying to dry your own sandy towel. Nice little cafe/bar outside, the food is cheap and OK. The staff are very helpful and friendly, generally a very comfortable place to stay. Would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicia Williams

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Felicia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing! The staff was so friendly and made an effort to be friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Had giant towels for blankets.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anne-Christin Fuertjes

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

10 April 2013 Anne-Christin would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place. :)

Disliked: Anne-Christin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great!

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were not great. They were clean but the shower toilet and sink were all in one and the water pressure was bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanna Andrea Sand

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2012 Hanna Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! You're just 5min away from the beach, a nice massage place is just around the corner and a lot of restaurants too. Its easy to find, public transport is also not far and very conventient. You arrive at that place and just feel at home, dont know any reason why not to stay there again!

Disliked: Nothing really...oh well the breakfast perhaps but no big deal there, you can also go outside if you want to have something different.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kendra Moran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2012 Kendra would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever! We originally booked only 4 nights but ended up staying 10! The hostel is very clean and is located only 2 blocks from the beach. Sanya backpackers has the vibe of a hostel but the amenities of a hotel. The rooms are cleaned daily which is basically unheard of at any other hostel and they even give you new towels each day. Both my husband and I got sick during our stay (from food poisoning elsewhere) and the hostel owers were super kind and took care of us and even made us homemade soup! Seriously, come here...its a wonderful place to stay.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful people. Great location, just bit difficult to find first. Very clean and silent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel van den Brekel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for 4 nights in Sanya Backpackers and we had a realy pleasant stay. The owners Linda and Chris are great, aswel as the vibe in the hostel. Chris can take you surfing in a deserted beach. A day with surfing lessons, jetskiing, ATV driving, banana tubing and a delicious bbq. He also provides a rainforest trip to a waterfall and many more. All well organised and a great way to see the nicest things of Sanya next to all the resorts and commercial beaches. Also a great thing..the location. It's located 2 minutes walking from Dadonghai Bay.The smallest but most fun beach of Sanya where also the locals go in the sea with their umbrellas. At last...the hostel: as I said the owners realy make the joint and make your stay different than other hostels. For instance..they send us pictures from our surfingtrip for memories after we left. I can tell more...just find out yourself.

Disliked: Could'nt think of one thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Bulash

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very-very-very friendly staff, big clear room with big window, air conditioning, TV, comfortable bed, clear towels)) Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought that the staff were really friendly and helpfull, the hostel was the cleanest i have stayed in whilst in China. Great location with a 5 min walk to the beach and many quaity restaurants. Overall excellant value for money and a great place to make friends.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the deluxe family room with ensuite and balcony which was lovely. The hostel is set back from the road in a quiet cul-de-sac, about a 2 minute walk to the beach and is very clean with a relaxed friendly atmosphere. I think it provides excellent value for money and would have enjoyed staying longer and trying some of the day trips available.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kellie Rhymes

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe, comfortable, the owners and staff were friendly, and it was conveniently located. The room was cleaned and fresh towels were provided on a daily basis.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANTHONY ROBINSON

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2012 ANTHONY would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and staff are ultra-friendly and genuinely want to help and enjoy the company of the guests. They really make the difference and I will be recommending the place to my friends and planning to return. The dorms are clean with comfy beds and secure lockers. Location is a few mins walk to the beach and to a bus stop which can take you pretty much anywhere.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit cramped but pretty much what you would expect in a hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a pleasure to stay in this clean and neat hostel ( please remove youe shoes before entering to keep the rooms clean.) daily roomclaining! Friendly and helpfull staff. Free dumpling cooking course. The only point was the high price during spring festival.

Disliked: Higher price during spring festival.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Hagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for a hostel in sanya, do yourself a solid favor by staying at the sanya backpackers hostel. You will immediately feel at home in this clean, comfortable, and safe hostel. More than anything else, you want to stay here because of the owners, Chris and Linda. They. Are. The. Best. They will welcome you with open arms and treat you like family your entire stay - and I guarantee you will want to stay longer. Here you will also meet great people and make easy friends, you will walk 3 minutes to the beach, eat good food across the street at dolphin bar, and sleep well in their comfortable beds. Stop reading and book here now, you will not regret it!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and personal staff. The kind of people that simply makes you happy.

Disliked: A bit costly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to get to know people from all around the world. The owners are very very very friendly. They also offer a great variety of outdoor activities ranging from surfing to visiting the rain forest located in that area. If you ever get the chance to visit Sanya than this should be the first adress on your list!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Tan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: This is a 5'C's hostel. Clean, Cosy, Comfortable, Cost-friendly and Convenient! Food and the beach is just a stone's throw away. Public buses to bring you to the popular town and some scenic spots.. Oh ya, one more 'C' added to this hostel, that will be 'Chris'! The friendly and hard-working owner! Highly recommended hostel in Sanya..

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johannes Krause

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really easy to describe. "just amazing". i've been there for two times and i m already looking forward for the third time. chris and linda are some easy going folks. they help and support you with any questions and problems you might have. because the hostel is not to big you are able to get to know a lot of people from around the world. especially when you traveling alone. also chris is one of only a few dive instructors on that island. so if you wanna hit the reefs he is the men. i recommend this place for anybody who wants to stay in a friendly environment with a lot of fun guaranteed.

Disliked: none


See all Sanya hostels