We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sanya hostels

Reviews of Sanya Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | No.1 Type 1 Villa, Lu Ming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai Sanya, China 572021

97.7% Overall Rating

56 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Matthew Foster thinks…

"Very friendly, helpful and outgoing staff. Very clean and convenient location for things such as public transport, fast food and the beach and bars. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to…"

Read all Sanya Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Full payment of balance in cash only upon arrival Hostel door is closed between 2359hrs to 0800hrs Please call us for late check in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sanya?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sanya

captain's house downtown
11.37 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Sanya Sunshine International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 89.6% 19 reviews
Sanya Blue Sky International Youth Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 84.9% 134 reviews
Sanya Lama Temple Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 85.2% 11 reviews
Simple love sea view hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Captain's House
4.87 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 13 reviews
Sanya Raintree Backpacker Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 89.0% 13 reviews
SongTaoGe Inn
8.45 USD

Hostel 89.6% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.7%

Overall Rating

56 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sanya Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 56 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and helpful staff e.g. good recommendations of activities and restaurants for visitors. Clean environment e.g. we were provided with clean bed sheets and towels every day. The garbage was emptied frequently.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked everything there. From the beginning on, when we got help with the taxi from the airport, over planned activities during the stay and really nice breakfast, clean towels everyday and a nice room. Also the staff was really helpful, answered all our questions and made our stay perfect. You will feel like home there...

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoffer carlsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 Christoffer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great atmosphere, safe place! Great location close to the beach, bus stop and restaurants. Go to Sanya and stay here, one of the best hostels I've Ever stayed at!

Disliked: no

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Junbo Ke

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2011 Junbo would recommend this property

Liked: great location, great people - esp chris and his wife=)

Disliked: not really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles C Lampe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2011 Charles C would recommend this property

Liked: This was definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in my fair share. First off, Chris and Linda are amazing, two of the nicest people I have ever met. They treat you like family, and they would sit and talk with us while we were at the hostel. Chris even came out with us one night! Chris plays popular music throughout the day and it makes for a very chill experience. Their staff is very friendly and they make amazing amazing food! The hostel is 3 minutes near the beach and a surf shop, and you can come and go as you please. It also is near the clubs and bars. I can't say enough how awesome an experience it was staying at Sanya Backpackers. If you don't book your stay in Sanya here, you are out of your mind!

Disliked: NOTHING!!!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharifah Radhiah

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

22 June 2011 Sharifah would recommend this property

Liked: Great and sincere hospitality from Chris and his wife! Near a great beach and an awesome place to meet other travellers. Place was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: NIL

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Chris & his wife are great hosts, & the staff are very friendly & helpful. Together they really know how to make you feel relaxed & at home. The hostel's in a great location & places of interest are easily accessible by bus (1-6RMB). What we liked about the hostel the most was how quiet & clean it was (room cleaned every day). I also went scuba diving with Chris, just me & him, a 1-1 dive, but also on the boat were a load of Chinese tourists (doing their own thing), & it turned out to be a cracking day. What I learnt whilst in Sanya was Chris is probably the only English speaking diving instructor, so if you're after scuba then this is the place.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere! Friendly staff, very clean, everything was perfect.

Disliked: everything was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillaume Tassetto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 May 2011 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colleen O'Brien

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 February 2011 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik Walenza-Slabe

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Work / volunteering

19 January 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: SBH was super clean and convenient.

Disliked: From the rooftop terrace I could count four building being constructed within a stone's throw - as per the Chinese ethic they work 24/7. Nothing like being lulled to sleep by the crack of a pile driver! On the plus side, the blistering pace of construction should have the building completed within the year, then silence will return.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yi-Chang Kuo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Yi-Chang would recommend this property

Liked: location is great. The owner and staff are very friendly.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Kovalskaya

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Backpackers hostel was great: thanks to it's owner and stuff atmosphere is very heartful and easy. They make us feel like at home and help with all your plans around Sanya with good advice, arrangements and all you need. The 150% cleanliness and safety of the place make it great to stay with children. It's the first hostel where the stuff changed snow white towels everyday and the lining every other day. The owner is a professional diving instructor so if you are to sea deepth - it's your place to stay. The hostel was started about half a year ago, and it's developnig so probably you'll find there even more services.

Disliked: Everything was just excellent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Chris is an awesome guy. He runs a very well organized, clean, and safe hostel. I've stayed in other hostels and hotels in Sanya and this is most definitely the most value for your money, I would recommend this place to all.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, all positive!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Rolfsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2010 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is superclean and located only a couple of minuties walk from the beach. Owner Chris and his awesome staff are superfriendly and very helpful. We felt like home!

Disliked: There is absolutley nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff! Chris, the manager even offers scuba diving!

Disliked: Everything was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Hunter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 July 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Owner Chris is an excellent host and really makes this hostel stand out from others - he is happy to organise excursions or just to get everyone together for drinks or a meal. Easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: There is, in all honesty, very little to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Being at Sanya Backpackers really felt like being at home! Spotless rooms and super friendly staff. Owner Chris goes out of his way to advise, help and welcome you. Location is perfect, near the beach and buses go everywhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergii Stetsyk

30 May 2010 Sergii would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, 3 mins from the beach. There is a big Summer Mall nearby. Easy to get to from the airport. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Sergii left no negative feedback.


See all Sanya hostels