We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Qingdao hostels

Reviews of Qingdao Kaiyue youth hostel

Hostel | No.31 Jining Lu, Qingdao, China 266000

83.1% Overall Rating

219 out of 238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Alex Frew thinks…

"Superb staff, very helpful. Free daily beer!! Nice and clean and the dorms are huge, nice that they haven't crammed in loads of beds."

Read all Qingdao Kaiyue youth hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.24
  • Breakfast USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Qingdao?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Qingdao

Sea on Sea Hostel
6.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Man Cheng Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 77.3% 16 reviews
Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (YHA)
4.87 USD

Hostel 79.8% 116 reviews
Big Brother Guesthouse Jiangxi Lu
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 11 reviews
Hostel Marina
5.69 USD

Hostel 97.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

219 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Qingdao Kaiyue youth hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 181 of 187 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Frew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Superb staff, very helpful. Free daily beer!! Nice and clean and the dorms are huge, nice that they haven't crammed in loads of beds.

Disliked: Whilst the attached restaurant was nice, it's not cheap.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It takes you few minutes to get to the attractions, restaurants,bus stop. You also can experience how local people live in the old town.

Disliked: windows can't open, so it's quite humid in the room. got mosquito bites at nights... the facilities are not that good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shin jeongheon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 shin would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic hostel! Great place! Really friendly staff, nice environment. everything was very good!!! The rooms were clean! Great tour of the qingdao in kaiyue hostel!!! if you want to do sightseeing, shopping, eating, seeing, drinking, perfact hostel!!!.

Disliked: shin left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christina Hahn

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

18 August 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The old church bar

Disliked: The rooms where quite steril, and the beds very hard.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpfull and friendly and speak good English, the private rooms are very nice and clean too.

Disliked: The shared bathroom for dorms is smelly and should have toliet paper in each toilet, also more western toilets would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, and the atmosphere.

Disliked: Not much. My favorite hostel in Qingdao.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: toliet was not that clean...smells bad...but I think almost every toliets in China are like this so....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff

Disliked: Bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and friendly. Enjoyed my stay very much. Bar has nice atmosphere and good (mostly Western) food ththat's not too expensive. Staff were helpful and kind, eg helped me book ferry, recommended nice places to go. Well located for the station and old town.The free map of the local area is really useful and thoughtfully prepared. Wifi in common areas.Stayed in 7 bed dorm: sheets were cleam, locker with key, access to hot drinking water, laundry (160 yuan) worked ok and they gave me detergent for free. Some nice common areas including library up in the roof for quieter time.

Disliked: Bar often smokey in the evening. Wifi not the greatest.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura tardy

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 November 2013

Liked: Location, price and bar on the hostel.

Disliked: Rooms could use a touch up paint and decoration.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well situated and has a lot of charms.

Disliked: The room needs to be repaint and redecorated.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very organized and well spoken English, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing really, except some horrible snoring guests.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Hall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, staff were really helpful and the bar underneath serves very good food and the beer is priced ok. the hostel is opposite a BBQ place which serves beer in a bag with a straw for 6Yuan or you can sit and get a pint for 4yuan (great value). room was ok as were bathrooms. we felt very chilled and even extended our stay to expericne more of Qingdao.

Disliked: room could do with a bit of a face lift

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Seo kyong Jo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Seo kyong would recommend this property

Liked: It's Location and reasonable price. It is near bus stop that can make you go almost all around the city(228,231 bus) so comfortable.

Disliked: The deposit 100 yuan....because we didn't prepare enough money, so we had to endure those hard moment without enough money......I think it's too heavy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to live. nice room and bar.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wang Ying

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 wang would recommend this property

Liked: Kaiyue is based on the old german church, so from the architecture is very ncie. It is four floor hostel so it is very big. wifi covers every well. First floor is a bar&cafe. nice environment . every friday and sunday they have live band even. For the people live in ,they have 10 yuan free beer coupon . at the top floor is a reading rood. the outside be cony is great!

Disliked: maybe the coffee is not that good ~

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a nice small roof terrace and a bar where you can get something to eat and drink.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Sisson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, friendly staff, good coffee, nice location

Disliked: If I would have to name something... perhaps better shower facilities. Just basic things like putting hooks in the showers so you can hang your stuff up would be an improvement.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and restaurant atmosphere, convenient location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet others, for chinese circumstances very good and affordable breakfast, nice staff.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katie Mooney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great for walking to the sea front etc....

Disliked: Lots of Chinese workers clearly working in Qingdao and living at the hostel, so not a good place to meet other travellers. Showers were unpredictable! And heavy smoking in the bar area!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, they pointed us in the right direction for the night market, city centre and nice, cheap food close to the hostel. I stayed in a private room which I wouldn't usually do, and it was clean, spacious, with pretty comfortable beds. The bar was pretty good, you get a free beer every night if you book online, the food was alright and the pool table was good but cost money to use, not too much, about 15 yuan/hr.

Disliked: The air conditioner was a bit hard to use, would help if I could read Chinese.


See all Qingdao hostels