HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Qingdao hostels

Reviews of Qingdao Kaiyue youth hostel

Hostel | No.31 Jining Lu, Qingdao, China 266000

83.0% Overall Rating

214 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

"Very welcoming and friendly. Enjoyed my stay very much. Bar has nice atmosphere and good (mostly Western) food ththat's not too expensive. Staff were helpful and kind, eg helped me book ferry, recommended nice places to…"

Read all Qingdao Kaiyue youth hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.19
  • Breakfast USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Qingdao?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Qingdao

Sea on Sea Hostel
6.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Man Cheng Hostel
4.86 USD

Hostel 83.1% 12 reviews
Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (YHA)
6.48 USD

Hostel 82.7% 112 reviews
Big Brother Guesthouse Jiangxi Lu
6.48 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

214 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Qingdao Kaiyue youth hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 182 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, and the atmosphere.

Disliked: Not much. My favorite hostel in Qingdao.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: toliet was not that clean...smells bad...but I think almost every toliets in China are like this so....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff

Disliked: Bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and friendly. Enjoyed my stay very much. Bar has nice atmosphere and good (mostly Western) food ththat's not too expensive. Staff were helpful and kind, eg helped me book ferry, recommended nice places to go. Well located for the station and old town.The free map of the local area is really useful and thoughtfully prepared. Wifi in common areas.Stayed in 7 bed dorm: sheets were cleam, locker with key, access to hot drinking water, laundry (160 yuan) worked ok and they gave me detergent for free. Some nice common areas including library up in the roof for quieter time.

Disliked: Bar often smokey in the evening. Wifi not the greatest.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura tardy

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 November 2013

Liked: Location, price and bar on the hostel.

Disliked: Rooms could use a touch up paint and decoration.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well situated and has a lot of charms.

Disliked: The room needs to be repaint and redecorated.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very organized and well spoken English, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing really, except some horrible snoring guests.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Hall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, staff were really helpful and the bar underneath serves very good food and the beer is priced ok. the hostel is opposite a BBQ place which serves beer in a bag with a straw for 6Yuan or you can sit and get a pint for 4yuan (great value). room was ok as were bathrooms. we felt very chilled and even extended our stay to expericne more of Qingdao.

Disliked: room could do with a bit of a face lift

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Seo kyong Jo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Seo kyong would recommend this property

Liked: It's Location and reasonable price. It is near bus stop that can make you go almost all around the city(228,231 bus) so comfortable.

Disliked: The deposit 100 yuan....because we didn't prepare enough money, so we had to endure those hard moment without enough money......I think it's too heavy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to live. nice room and bar.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wang Ying

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 wang would recommend this property

Liked: Kaiyue is based on the old german church, so from the architecture is very ncie. It is four floor hostel so it is very big. wifi covers every well. First floor is a bar&cafe. nice environment . every friday and sunday they have live band even. For the people live in ,they have 10 yuan free beer coupon . at the top floor is a reading rood. the outside be cony is great!

Disliked: maybe the coffee is not that good ~

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a nice small roof terrace and a bar where you can get something to eat and drink.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Sisson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, friendly staff, good coffee, nice location

Disliked: If I would have to name something... perhaps better shower facilities. Just basic things like putting hooks in the showers so you can hang your stuff up would be an improvement.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar and restaurant atmosphere, convenient location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet others, for chinese circumstances very good and affordable breakfast, nice staff.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katie Mooney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great for walking to the sea front etc....

Disliked: Lots of Chinese workers clearly working in Qingdao and living at the hostel, so not a good place to meet other travellers. Showers were unpredictable! And heavy smoking in the bar area!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, they pointed us in the right direction for the night market, city centre and nice, cheap food close to the hostel. I stayed in a private room which I wouldn't usually do, and it was clean, spacious, with pretty comfortable beds. The bar was pretty good, you get a free beer every night if you book online, the food was alright and the pool table was good but cost money to use, not too much, about 15 yuan/hr.

Disliked: The air conditioner was a bit hard to use, would help if I could read Chinese.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the stay and would be happy to go there again. The city of Qingdao was truly lovely and the hostel is right in the center of it. In their leaflet there's a very useful map on which restaurants, markets and other interesting places are marked. Everyday they give u free beer + the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Haopeng Wang

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Haopeng would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and location are excellent and convenient for tourists.

Disliked: The hostel was a church years ago and fourth floor is a little noisy because of its wooden structure.The price is a bit high during Chinese National Festival.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value for money, every guest gets one free Tsingtao beer a night, staff are very helpful and have a free left luggage facility and free internet, the hotel's bar/restaurant has a great range of food (both Western and Chinese) as well as a good list of cocktails and imported alcohols, a pool table and free DVD room. They also provide free maps of the local area.

Disliked: When I stayed there it was an 8 day national holiday and one of the busiest weeks of the year, and they had accidentally double booked one of the beds in my dorm room, but provided somewhere else for that guest to stay free of charge. Although they were very helpful in letting me use the phone, they didn't have any tours on offer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly english speaking staff, nice bar with live music (on sundays), free beer, map of surrounding sights and restaurants and street markets, quite clean bathroom

Disliked: big area with mildew in the private room, wifi very weak in the rooms (but ok in the public area)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anna Wilders

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Building was nice and the showers were good - you could also put your own padlock on the lockers which gave me some piece of mind re security

Disliked: No towels provided if you are in a dorm but you can buy one for 20RMB. Rip off. They claim they will help you with train reservations but when we asked they said they couldn't and we had to go to the train station The directions from the train station are not good at all - make sure you know exactly where you are going ! The bar and common room are lovely but, as with all the hostels we have stayed in in China the bar /food is way too expensive


See all Qingdao hostels