HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Qingdao hostels

Reviews of Man Cheng Hostel

Hostel | No.88 Dagu Road, Shinan District, Qingdao, China ----------------

77.3% Overall Rating

11 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

"Extremely helpful staff, incredible value for money (especially as we could book a private room with ensuite), free wifi, easy to find from train station. Perfect budget stay."

Read all Man Cheng Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Qingdao?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Qingdao

Sea on Sea Hostel
6.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Qingdao Kaiyue youth hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 82.7% 235 reviews
Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (YHA)
9.73 USD

Hostel 81.8% 114 reviews
Big Brother Guesthouse Jiangxi Lu
6.49 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 11 reviews
Hostel Marina
9.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

11 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Man Cheng Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.3%
Location
87.5%
Facilities
66.3%
Cleanliness
67.5%
Staff
86.3%
Value
78.8%
Safety
78.8%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014

Liked: Really close to train station and easy to walk to other places.

Disliked: Staff could barely speak English. Really unclean; rubbish just swept under the bed. Some of my dormmates even brought in a broom to sweep things away. Bathroom was bad and common area was just 2 sofas filled with junk wherever they could find room. I left after the second night with 2 other dormmates; we bonded over how bad the hostel was.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: Nothing except that it was walkable from train station.

Disliked: The ensuite bathrooms are a pipe over a toilet. The place was absolutely filthy and we left as soon as we could find another hostel. There was dirt, rubbish and filth everywhere and the room or bathroom wasn't cleaned for the entire stay. There was no bar, only a fridge with a few old bottles of drinks. No common area, WiFi didn't work on all devices. Staff were rude and unfriendly, and noisy very early in the morning. Do not stay here!!! Stay at one of the other hostels in the "old town" part of Qingdao.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient for the train station & places I wanted to visit. Easy to find.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The toilet and shower is in the same space.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff, incredible value for money (especially as we could book a private room with ensuite), free wifi, easy to find from train station. Perfect budget stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Wright

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: The location was convenient to some areas but a bit far from the city center

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013

Liked: close to station

Disliked: no windows, dirty, smallest blanket ever

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple and friendly.

Disliked: Bathroom slightly small, no window in the room.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012

Liked: It's close to the station and the bus stops for the beaches. The staff is friendly.

Disliked: All the room haven't got windows. The room I stayed in was dump, dirty and smelly. They won't change the bins even if you ask them to do it.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012

Liked: It is located just a few minutes from the train station: really convenient if you have a lot of luggage and are not going to stay in Qingdao that long to make it worth travelling all over the city to sleep for one night.

Disliked: The toilets are in the dormitories: ours was broken. Once you flushed it, the water would keep running for hours, emitting a really TERRIBLE noise. It's not some discreet dripping we are talking about, more like an aeroplane engine screaming in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were always incredibly friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to help us with anything we asked for. They recommended good places to eat, gave me medicine and insect repellent when they saw I had mosquito bites, and gave us a private room for a couple of hours when we needed somewhere quiet to make an important phone call. Location was also excellent - easy walking distance from the train station, beach, and loads of good places to eat. Dorm room was very clean and comfortable (although the private rooms didn't look quite as nice). All round an excellent place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Bennett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2012 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent and so helpful. I asked where i could get a foot massage and they gave me directions and wrote down instructions for the taxi, as well as approximate fare. Also, they were very helpful in planning a hiking trip to lao shan, with exact bus instructions and timing. They also played jenga with us, offered us tea, gave directions to the airport shuttle, recommended restaurants, etc. Another note: this hostel is very well located near the train station, beach, airport shuttle, lots of restaurants.

Disliked: The only problem i had was that there was a loud party in the lobby (everyone was watching the soccer game) until 1am or so on that sunday night. Since the hostel is quite small, the conversation and cigarette smoke both drifted into my room and kept me awake when i was trying to get some sleep before my big hike the next day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the staff helpful. It was very convenient to the train station which is why I chose it and the directions to get there were accurate

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jana Schumann

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2011 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was super helpful and spoke English!

Disliked: bathrooms not especially clean in group rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Vazquez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Bobo, the manager, is very kind and helpful, like the whole staff.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Qingdao hostels