HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nanning hostels

Reviews of Green Forest hostel

Hostel | 3F No.3 Jiefang Road, Nanning, China 530007

91.9% Overall Rating

37 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/12/2013)

Julius Krunglevicius thinks…

"Clean and spacious room with a table, comfy bed and hot shower. Looked more like a hotel than hostel. The staff arranged for our Vietnamese visa in a timely manner and was helpful with travel…"

Read all Green Forest hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.24
  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nanning?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

37 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Forest hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near to shopping area.

Disliked: Pillow a bit thin and air-con filter needs proper cleaning for full functioning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were great.

Disliked: dorm room a little small, air-con didn't really do a great job with ventilation, therefore stuffy - had to keep windows open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leon Sutherland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: Good common area and lovely rooms

Disliked: Very very difficult to find but a member of staff came to fetch us!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julius Krunglevicius

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Julius would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and spacious room with a table, comfy bed and hot shower. Looked more like a hotel than hostel. The staff arranged for our Vietnamese visa in a timely manner and was helpful with travel advices. The lounge downstairs is great for a relaxing read and there's a good collection of postcards that you can buy and the staff will mail them for you.

Disliked: The food wasn't something special and a bit overpriced.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big room, clean, perfect location and helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean spacious double room Air con

Disliked: No kitchen (but staff did boil kettle and allow us to use fridge - that is all we needed)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie McGrane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet at night. Has many excellent amenities. Staff are wonderful.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicity Holloway

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Yummy food in the kitchen. Staff are friendly and helpful. Great stay here.

Disliked: Taxi drivers get really confused about where you are. And no one in nanning speaks very good English. Get the hostel to email you the hostel address in chinese characters before you arrive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here only for a night. But it's very comfortable. Thanks to the cleanliness. Also all the essentials were provided by hostel. Location was good. Will be back again on the last day of my trip here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modem. Wifi accessible in rooms. They sorted out our Vietnamese visas for us at a reasonable rate. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Directions on the website were not very good. Maybe contact the hostel for more thorough instructions if you don't intend on getting a taxi. The staff will surely help you as they were very friendly and their English was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celia Robb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic, the rooms were immaculate and the beds were so comfortable. The shower was the best I'd experienced in a hostel for a long time. Plus the common room was uber funky and a nice space to relax in. Also great value for money.

Disliked: No free towels to use.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DAVID YAMADA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was located near shopping and places to eat. The showers were hot and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The stairs leading to the hostel were ugly until you got to the hostel and then it was fine

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nic Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Nic would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places I've stayed. The design is super modern, minimalist with wood furniture and chinese paintings. Loved that. Hangout area is great with lots of couches and a pool table. The staff are super friendly and the best including: July and Elaine. Elaine tried to help me get my dong exchanged with other travellers who were going to Vietnam because there are no banks who exchange dong. They were both super talkative and funny and made me feel at home. Not to mention their english is perfect. The location is close to everything and there are big lockers where you can put all your important goods. Right across the street was a good restaurant too; as well, there is everything you need close. I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: The internet is finicky.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to minsheng walking street and the awesome, helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: the entrance is quite hidden and confusing, and once you find stars, reception is three floors up. Also very dirty and unkempt stairwell

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Torres

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, new, confortable, the rooms are big, the girl in the reception is very nice and cute. This hostel is a real international hostel.

Disliked: The food isn't very good.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there just for 2 nights, but I found it really clean and nice. They have a bar which serves some food as well. They also provide lockers along the corridor if you need, so that's great. There wasn't much activity going on when I was there since it's low peak season, but generally I like the hostel for my needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melissa Jacka

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 January 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a great location to get out and about on foot. The staff are extremely helpful and rooms are spacious and secure. There were heaps of breakfast options and the food was excellent. The communal lounge/bar area is spacious and inviting.

Disliked: The room was a bit smelly - suspect it was the sewerage pipe. Stairwell to the entrance on the 3rd floor is dark and dirty. It was really hard to find - make sure you have the address written in chinese if you plan to take a taxi from the bus station!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and cleaness of the hostel.

Disliked: It takes 10 minutes taxi ride to airport bus terminal.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Close to the train station, supermarket and u can find cheap food easily. The wifi is good and the room is very clean.

Disliked: The atmosphere is just so so. Sometimes they played loud music in the lobby.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zuhdija Dolovac

As a family with children

City break

24 October 2012 Zuhdija would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,very central,and close to the shopping haven in Nanning,the Nanning pedestrian street. Frankly,the location is almost unbeatable. The rooms were clean, and the bed was one of the most comfortable one I've come across in the hostels I stayed at. It's so comfy,you do not feel like getting out of it.

Disliked: No lift.The hostel was on the third floor,and the rooms on the fourth and the fifth. The staff did not bother to empty the rubbish bins.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is nearly new so everything is very clean. Spacious dorm rooms, plenty of bathrooms, helpful staff and free laundry.

Disliked: Could do with more space to hang clothes to dry. Also, a small gripe, but hand soap in the bathrooms would be nice.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in a great location. Wonderful place to meet people and explore Nanning!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moritz Bühner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2012 Moritz would recommend this property

Liked: It is easy to forget that you're actually in China. The common room is big, clean and stylish, it would rather fit into New York than into this chaotic country. The staff was so amazingly helpful, they even accompanied us to the bikeshop to translate for hours. Due to some technical hassle with our recumbents, we needed to stay 10 days instead of the intended 2-3. However, Green Forest was the best thing that could happen to us. In the end, staff helped us order our bike parts online. We especially enjoyed the international movie collection on HDD connected to the TV, the pool table, the big wooden table with exclusive tea assortments (if you make friends with the boss...), the 15 RMB vegetable rice, our special 10 RMB ultra-simplistic toast and egg breakfast and the receptionists' excellent english. Oh yes, the location is so central, once you step out of the door China immediately comes back to you. A small night market is 3 minutes down Jiefang street, recommended for good value street food and living animals in cages waiting to be slaughtered!

Disliked: The only downturn for cyclists would be carrying your bike to the second floor through a narrow staircase. But I wouldn't think that taking your bike to a repair shop every day would be a backpacker's rule... The atmosphere in the rooms, due to the hostel being so new and so clean, seems a little clinic. However, I'm sure this will change once more pictures are on the walls and more guests have left their marks.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was new and clean, the staff did there best to help out.

Disliked: The directions given were totally wrong and we spent 4 hours wandering around and calling them to help and they didnt help much. A young girl from a cafe walked 30 mins with us to find it but it wasent easy even for her. And also there was 2 Cockroaches in the room when we walked in.

The property's response is...


See all Nanning hostels