HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nanjing hostels

Reviews of Nanjing Time International Youth Hostel

Hostel | Yong Park, Plum Village Plum, No. 6-5, Nanjing, China -

77.9% Overall Rating

21 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Great location: close to sights and metro, lots of small restaurants nearby, convenience store down the street, nice area. Nice lobby/lounge area."

Read all Nanjing Time International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nanjing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nanjing

HI-Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel
9.72 USD

Hostel 78.2% 134 reviews
Nanjing Fuzimiao International Youth Hostel
8.10 USD

Hostel 60.1% 94 reviews
Traveler's Soul Inn Nanjing
6.48 USD

Hotel 71.1% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

21 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nanjing Time International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: close to sights and metro, lots of small restaurants nearby, convenience store down the street, nice area. Nice lobby/lounge area.

Disliked: Thin walls, one wall in room near window had mold.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kevin Smith

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Ten minute walk from metro (Xi An Men Station) and close to quite a few sites (Presidential Palace, Mei Hua Yuan (sp?) and the former Communist Party sites, two stops from Nanjing Museum, Purple Mountain and Song Mei Ling's villa, one stop from famous Da Pai Dang on Zhongshan Road (highly recommend - classic Nanjing atmosphere with musical performance throughout the evening and tasty, authentic cuisine at a very respectable price.)

Disliked: Walls and ceilings were incredibly weak, had to hear every door open and close, every footstep reverberate through the ceiling. Lobby/lounge had a hostel feel - the hotel itself looked like a cheap business hotel As per norm, staff were hit or miss - friendly or sullen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice lounge area

Disliked: Shared bathrooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beds best in China so far

Disliked: cost of food and drink

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, nice common area, feels safe

Disliked: Sometimes the loft has a strange smell

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double en-suite, which had a lovely bed, the room was a good size, and we had a nice view out the window. The main lobby of the hostel was very atmospheric and a great place to relax in. A good range of drinks at the bar. The entire hostel smelt wonderful. There was a menagerie of plants and flowers in the lobby and garden area. Location was quite near the metro (15 - 20 minutes walk) and there were shops nearby.

Disliked: The shower door was missing in our bathroom, evident by the tape over where the hinges should have been. This resulted in water all over the bathroom floor, and the bathroom door didn't close properly, but no major issue. The hostel does not offer a Chinese Character address on the Hostelbookers website. I found one on the hostelworld website which I gave to two taxi drivers, and both got lost, taking us to the larger hotel up the road. I suggest contacting hostelbookers directly for a character address if arriving by taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For hostel standards, the rooms are very big and very nice equipped, felt more like a hotel rather than a hostel. Plus great common rooms!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013

Liked: Hot showers and warm room.

Disliked: The mould on the walls of the room was bad. It almost covered the wall next to my bed. The lockers could have been bigger.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Havard

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and friendly. The common room area is really nicely decorated and is such a nice place just to sit and relax. The best thing about this place is the tiny poodle puppy -the cutest thing I have ever seen!

Disliked: Didn't have any English maps on offer, or even a metro map...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed

Disliked: There was a mix-up with the type of room booked and the first room we got. The second room we were moved to was the right type, but hadn't been cleaned yet, so third times a charm and we got a room. One little not so good thing: Bad smell from the bathroom and noise from the court yard was loud

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Laurel Baum

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: I was able to meet people in the lounge easily.

Disliked: There were a lot of stairs to climb, which was difficult because I have a larger suitcse The bathroom facilities were dirty/smelly They gave me a bed in a corner of the room next to the window, where cold air was coming through and there there was a lot of mold above me.  When I asked them if I could change beds, they made it very difficult, telling me that I can to make completely new reservations.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Collins-Wongkee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: It was interesting. Very cold when we entered the room, but we eventually got warm. It is winter after all. Shower was very, very good. I still think that there is a lot of electricity wasted in the hostels here through very leaky windows with badly fitting doors that allow masses of cold air into a room while the heater is running. The common area was lovely. The staff was wonderful. Their English was excellent and they were very polite and kind . They gave us directions to our locations and wrote them down in Chinese. They found my wallet when I misplaced it and returned it immediately.

Disliked: Again, the cold air coming in through spaces in doors and windows.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice staff

Disliked: our room was a bit expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Dawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorms. Character and history of the building. Location. Bar area. Great staff.

Disliked: Dorm bathrooms could do with more attention. Eg, the replacement of toilet roll.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine. Best location of hostels in Nanjing. Close to 1912.

Disliked: The nightguard who has to open the door slept very well as we stood in front of a closed door.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kris Mampaey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Kris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quit location bit close to subway

Disliked: They put to many beds in One room. Not Nice to smell somebody's fret

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Supat Watthanakuljarus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: Cafe' but I did not come to hostel for cafe' where sells expensive drinks.

Disliked: 1) The noise inside the 27 bedrooms dormitory. All footstep can be heard the tremble because the floor was made with a cheap material. I stay for 2 nights and I could not sleep until everyone has gone to bed. 2) The explanation of the direction as well as the map to the hostel was so confusing. 3) The loft is very hot during the day and the hostel turns on the air conditioner quite late. Unbearable heat is killing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jerome Boucher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. A bit far from the center, but it is very clean.

Disliked: They overbooked the hostel and for our second night, me and my two friends were put in a two-single bed bedroom instead of a family room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage des Hostels ist super. Es ist sehr ruhig, man hat jedoch die Moeglichkeit schnell in einem belebten Bar/Club-Viertel zu sein. Wenn man sich im Hostel Fahrraeder ausleiht, kann man die Stadt sehr schnell und unkompliziert erkunden.

Disliked: Das Zimmer an sich, jedoch besonders das Bad koennte etwas sauberer sein. Wobei dies im Vergleich zu anderen Hostels in China meckern auf hohem Niveau ist :-)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the outside deck

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

hungchee chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 hungchee would recommend this property

Liked: Closeness to some attractions and subway station

Disliked: Could be cleaner

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 April 2012

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Location was incredibly hard to pin-point. Directions given by staff are not clear as well. Private rooms were rather pathetic. Their private rooms are definitely not worth the price that i paid. I have personally seen better private rooms at Hangzhou West Lake Youth Hostel (with skylights) at a much competitive rate).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, very decent bathrooms and good showers. What else do you need as a backpacker?

Disliked: Might be nice if they would have told me the museum and the mausoleum were closed, but don't know if they knew. A bit more enthusiasm would be nice. The dorms are literally a showroom of Ikea, no atmosphere, but clean and tidy, it must be said. It's low season, so there aren't many people, that would add to the atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a pretty new place so the beds are still new and comfortable. I stayed in the 17 bed dorm. Yes, 17 beds in 1 large room.

Disliked: In the winter time, prepare to freeze if you don't have a big jacket. They don't turn on the heat in the dorm. Also, forget about sleeping in... the staff starts their cleaning early and they're cleaning the dorms by 9am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PAUL WONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderfull lobby and a very convenient staff! From the first moment I arrived, the girl at the front desk told me "you're going to love our hostel!". I thought that was emphasis, but actually that was real! :) The 17 bed dorm is great (private beds on top floor - very charming, and 6 plugs each with adaptors!!). I slept in a 6 bed dorm as well (private bathroom). All beds have a lamp and a small shelf (usefull for top beds...) The cleanliness was amazing, honestly. Certainely the most charming hostel I saw in a 4 month trip in Asia!

Disliked: well, I am not working for this hostel, but everything was just great!


See all Nanjing hostels