We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nanjing hostels

Reviews of Nanjing Time International Youth Hostel

Hostel | Yong Park, Plum Village Plum, No. 6-5, Nanjing, China -

74.5% Overall Rating

26 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"Staff were helpful when our room card didn't initially work. WIFI was really strong (there was a router right outside our door)."

Read all Nanjing Time International Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nanjing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nanjing

HI-Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 73.9% 144 reviews
Nanjing Fuzimiao International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 60.1% 94 reviews
Traveler's Soul Inn Nanjing
6.50 USD

Hotel 71.5% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.5%

Overall Rating

26 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nanjing Time International Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful when our room card didn't initially work. WIFI was really strong (there was a router right outside our door).

Disliked: Had to slam our room door to get it to shut, and had to move one of the beds slightly to get the door to open or close. It's about a 10 minute walk to either the metro or the bus.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Leonie van Breeschoten

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Leonie would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. They had a cute puppy.

Disliked: They refused to serve food, even though the menu said it was until 13.30. Also, it would be nice if they could train the puppy a bit...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bettina Fahrni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: - nice hostel - well located, near the metro - friendly staff

Disliked: - nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Communal lounge area nice and relaxing, air con mostly efficient, some staff great, good location (when we found it) good laundry facilities

Disliked: Nowhere to eat/ drink your own food. 'Kitchen' was a microwave and hot water dispenser- no bin, no sink. Too few showers and toilets (all of which not very clean- long black hair covered the wet floor). Some staff less helpful.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, not far from metro.

Disliked: A bit difficult to find if you take a taxi. From metro station is easy to reach. Even tho they have a board with prices for breakfast and coffee, it's not available.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mark Emptage

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014

Liked: had a washing machine

Disliked: Room was in the back building and the stairway was UNSAFE to get to the room. All the back building rooms had a very bad sewer smell. Staff was awre of the issue but said they had not been able to repair it. They let me use a can of air freshener. It took almost an hour for 7 people to check in. Drinks and food very expensive. The property is difficult to find and staff speaks poor english. DO NOT SYAY HERE.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: close to sights and metro, lots of small restaurants nearby, convenience store down the street, nice area. Nice lobby/lounge area.

Disliked: Thin walls, one wall in room near window had mold.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kevin Smith

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Ten minute walk from metro (Xi An Men Station) and close to quite a few sites (Presidential Palace, Mei Hua Yuan (sp?) and the former Communist Party sites, two stops from Nanjing Museum, Purple Mountain and Song Mei Ling's villa, one stop from famous Da Pai Dang on Zhongshan Road (highly recommend - classic Nanjing atmosphere with musical performance throughout the evening and tasty, authentic cuisine at a very respectable price.)

Disliked: Walls and ceilings were incredibly weak, had to hear every door open and close, every footstep reverberate through the ceiling. Lobby/lounge had a hostel feel - the hotel itself looked like a cheap business hotel As per norm, staff were hit or miss - friendly or sullen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice lounge area

Disliked: Shared bathrooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beds best in China so far

Disliked: cost of food and drink

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, nice common area, feels safe

Disliked: Sometimes the loft has a strange smell

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celia Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double en-suite, which had a lovely bed, the room was a good size, and we had a nice view out the window. The main lobby of the hostel was very atmospheric and a great place to relax in. A good range of drinks at the bar. The entire hostel smelt wonderful. There was a menagerie of plants and flowers in the lobby and garden area. Location was quite near the metro (15 - 20 minutes walk) and there were shops nearby.

Disliked: The shower door was missing in our bathroom, evident by the tape over where the hinges should have been. This resulted in water all over the bathroom floor, and the bathroom door didn't close properly, but no major issue. The hostel does not offer a Chinese Character address on the Hostelbookers website. I found one on the hostelworld website which I gave to two taxi drivers, and both got lost, taking us to the larger hotel up the road. I suggest contacting hostelbookers directly for a character address if arriving by taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For hostel standards, the rooms are very big and very nice equipped, felt more like a hotel rather than a hostel. Plus great common rooms!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013

Liked: Hot showers and warm room.

Disliked: The mould on the walls of the room was bad. It almost covered the wall next to my bed. The lockers could have been bigger.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Havard

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and friendly. The common room area is really nicely decorated and is such a nice place just to sit and relax. The best thing about this place is the tiny poodle puppy -the cutest thing I have ever seen!

Disliked: Didn't have any English maps on offer, or even a metro map...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed

Disliked: There was a mix-up with the type of room booked and the first room we got. The second room we were moved to was the right type, but hadn't been cleaned yet, so third times a charm and we got a room. One little not so good thing: Bad smell from the bathroom and noise from the court yard was loud

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Laurel Baum

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: I was able to meet people in the lounge easily.

Disliked: There were a lot of stairs to climb, which was difficult because I have a larger suitcse The bathroom facilities were dirty/smelly They gave me a bed in a corner of the room next to the window, where cold air was coming through and there there was a lot of mold above me.  When I asked them if I could change beds, they made it very difficult, telling me that I can to make completely new reservations.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Collins-Wongkee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: It was interesting. Very cold when we entered the room, but we eventually got warm. It is winter after all. Shower was very, very good. I still think that there is a lot of electricity wasted in the hostels here through very leaky windows with badly fitting doors that allow masses of cold air into a room while the heater is running. The common area was lovely. The staff was wonderful. Their English was excellent and they were very polite and kind . They gave us directions to our locations and wrote them down in Chinese. They found my wallet when I misplaced it and returned it immediately.

Disliked: Again, the cold air coming in through spaces in doors and windows.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice staff

Disliked: our room was a bit expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Dawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorms. Character and history of the building. Location. Bar area. Great staff.

Disliked: Dorm bathrooms could do with more attention. Eg, the replacement of toilet roll.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine. Best location of hostels in Nanjing. Close to 1912.

Disliked: The nightguard who has to open the door slept very well as we stood in front of a closed door.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kris Mampaey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Kris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quit location bit close to subway

Disliked: They put to many beds in One room. Not Nice to smell somebody's fret

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Supat Watthanakuljarus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: Cafe' but I did not come to hostel for cafe' where sells expensive drinks.

Disliked: 1) The noise inside the 27 bedrooms dormitory. All footstep can be heard the tremble because the floor was made with a cheap material. I stay for 2 nights and I could not sleep until everyone has gone to bed. 2) The explanation of the direction as well as the map to the hostel was so confusing. 3) The loft is very hot during the day and the hostel turns on the air conditioner quite late. Unbearable heat is killing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jerome Boucher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. A bit far from the center, but it is very clean.

Disliked: They overbooked the hostel and for our second night, me and my two friends were put in a two-single bed bedroom instead of a family room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage des Hostels ist super. Es ist sehr ruhig, man hat jedoch die Moeglichkeit schnell in einem belebten Bar/Club-Viertel zu sein. Wenn man sich im Hostel Fahrraeder ausleiht, kann man die Stadt sehr schnell und unkompliziert erkunden.

Disliked: Das Zimmer an sich, jedoch besonders das Bad koennte etwas sauberer sein. Wobei dies im Vergleich zu anderen Hostels in China meckern auf hohem Niveau ist :-)


See all Nanjing hostels