HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travelers' Soul Inn Nanjing Nanjing

Hostel

B5, Chengguan Science and Creativity Park, Nanjing, China

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 69%

Location 61%

Safety 81%

Staff 78%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nanjing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 69%

Location 61%

Safety 81%

Staff 78%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They forgot our booking so we got an upgrade to a luxurious suite for the same price. Very cheap and very comfortable!!

Disliked: It was a little bit complicated to find the hostel. The nearest metro station is not the one mentioned in the description. The hostel is located in a park, but the direction hints are easy to see and to follow

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It has lots of rooms so you can book only shortly before you arrive. The rooms aren't a bad size, and the beds are comfortable. The WiFi is okay although it is stolen from the attached bar. Its also pretty cheap.

Disliked: Its pretty far out from the city center an not that easy to find from the directions. It feels too big and has little to no atmosphere. The attached bar has drinks priced higher then the room rates. It also feels a little run down and the bathrooms aren't the cleanest places I've ever been.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is interesting, inside an old factory complex, nice design. It is close (but not a stone throw away of it) to the Confucius temple area, Qinhuai river and Zhonghuamen, and the metro station is fairly accessible. Coming from the airport or south train station it is quite convenient.

Disliked: The Internet is decent, but having stayed there over a year ago, I was disappointed to see how badly it has been kept. The common toilets and showers are not as clean as they were before. The worst of all is that my bunk bed sheets and quilt were full of hairs, giving me the impression that they were not changed after the last guest left. Won't likely stay here again....

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very clean and helpful staff - they organised a taxi for us at 4am for our flight out and were there to check it had arrived and made sure the driver knew where he was going and wouldn't overcharge us

Disliked: It isn't brilliantly located in Nanjing - you have to either get a taxi or walk 15 minutes to a metro station to get to the city centre and it is very close to a very noisy railway.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very clean, the showers were excellent. The staff were helpful if you gave them time to understand what you wanted. It was in a quiet area.

Disliked: Wifi did not work in the rooms. The locker did not have a key. The directions to the hostel were not the best.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Really good hostel with a wonderful garden and terrace ! Love it :)

Disliked: A bit far from subway station.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing. Dirty rooms, dirty bathrooms.

Disliked: Everything,

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This hostel is just awful. I never review my hostels after my stays because generally I have positive experiences and the existing reviews capture the quality of the hostel well, but this one I must comment to WARN other travellers. I am a well travelled individual and have stayed at hostels around the world. Do yourself a favour, DO NOT STAY HERE. The location of this hostel is not only highly inconvenient (as it is far from the city), furthermore to try and find it when you get to Zhonghuamen Station is close to impossible without having to call the hostel. I can speak intermediate mandarin, and even the taxi drivers have no knowledge of the hostels existence. That is really saying something in China. The bathrooms are not particularly well kept and smell heavily of urine, the beds are a thin mattress on wooden slats that creak every time you move (you can literally feel your bones on the slats). Apart from waking up with a very sore back, I hardly slept as the hotel is close to a highway and a rail line which is noisy throughout the night. It is also a 15min walk from the closest railway station. This is particularly unsafe at night time when walking back, especially as a lone female traveller. The staff are unsympathetic and speak limited English. Furthermore there were no foreign backpackers in sight. I hope other travellers will read this review and choose to stay elsewhere, as I had an awful experience here at this hostel (if you could call a hostel, in my option it is a shabby add on to a sub par hotel). If you do choose to stay here, DO NOT use the address provided in the hostel world generated email in google maps, it is wrong and will take you 20km out of Nanjing city in a taxi.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: price is cheapclose to the metro (15 minutes to walk)beds are very comfortable

Disliked: bathroom was really hard and difficult to find because the "park" is huge! they should change their address or write a better instruction how to get thererooms are very smallno towelsbreakfast very expensive

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The rooms were clean and the hostel itself was big. They have a restuarant/bar which is nice and convenient. Although, the prices are a little high, the food was good. Overall, I like this hostel and will probably stay here if I visit Nanjing again.

Disliked: The location is outside the city center, but the area it was in is nice and clean. It's a 15 min walk to the metro, which I don't mind I walk the same amount where I am staying now in Shanghai.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability