We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nanjing hostels

Reviews of HI-Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.7 He Qun Xin Chun, Nanjing, China 210024

73.9% Overall Rating

118 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Rafael disfrutar thinks…

"This was a cosy little hostel with very nice and friendly staff. They were very helpful and always there if you had a question. The Community Room inside as well as outside was very good. I…"

Read all HI-Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nanjing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nanjing

Nanjing Time International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 74.5% 31 reviews
Nanjing Fuzimiao International Youth Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 60.1% 94 reviews
Traveler's Soul Inn Nanjing
6.50 USD

Hotel 71.5% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

118 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI-Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 129 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rafael disfrutar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: This was a cosy little hostel with very nice and friendly staff. They were very helpful and always there if you had a question. The Community Room inside as well as outside was very good. I Highly recommend this Hostel!

Disliked: It was a bit too far located from the Train station (About 20min walk)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: The common area was quite nice and compared to other hostels in china, there was toiletpaper available. The internet connection was not bad.

Disliked: The common bathroom and shower facilities were in another building and you had to cross the yard to get to them which wouldn't a big problem but since there was no light on the way and it was raining and therefore the path was VERY slippery and therefore one could have easily slipped. Although notes all over the hostel said that the hot water would be going to be switched off at 11 pm, there was no hot water at 10 pm. They mixed up our reservation and we ended up in seperate rooms because the staff was very misorganized. We then changed into another room together but the doorlock of this room was broken and anyone could enter without a key or anything. The staff didn't know how to get to the most popular tourist attractions.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014

Liked: Nothing much. Just had one night stay and left this horrid place.

Disliked: Showers are located a distance away. Only three are functional and poorly maintained. Dirty and always clogged up. Had to cross an openair courtyard. You'll be drenched if there's rain and you may tend to fall in the pool and the area is poorly lit. Internet is virtually non existent as the speed is painstakingly slow and only available at the common area.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jerry Ruth

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: The staff was, on the whole, friendly. The location was pretty good.

Disliked: I've stayed in hostels throughout Asia, most of them in China, and this is by far the worst yet. It is not really an international hostel, because only one person on staff can speak anything but Chinese (not really a problem for me since I'm fluent in Mandarin, but just be forewarned). The staff -- owner included -- are lazy and not inclined to help anyone, and they surely don't spend any time cleaning. The place was *filthy* -- from the common areas to the rooms. The owner spent all his time sitting under the one working air conditioner, smoking cigarettes and occupying the only comfortable seat in the whole common area. He spends zero money on maintenance or upkeep, and the whole thing just feels run down. The garden and courtyard touted in the advertisement are completely run down and unusable, and the WiFi is pathetic. Worst of all, no one on staff knows anything about the local area, so they are useless when it comes to getting advice on sightseeing. It seems that the owner just tried to imitate what other "successful" hostels in China have done, including getting a big nasty dog that sits in the middle of the floor panting, but didn't want to put any effort into running a decent establishment. I feel cheated out of my vacation in Nanjing.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Matthew Ireland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014

Liked: Lockers were secure. When they had food it was ok.

Disliked: Advertised pickup from station but would.not provide it. The map and directions given are next to useless for finding the hostel and even the locals dont know it's there mostly. Food was unavailable most of the time I was there, don't know if that's typical. The staff were largely unhelpful and/or uninterested in helping. The showers are disgusting and crude, even by chinese hostel standards. My bed was unavailable on arrival so I had to spend the first night on a foldout bed and then moved around 3 ties the next day. Door to the room was broken and had to be forced open.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre but in a quiet neighbourhood

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthew Gibb

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: There is a comfortable common area that is well lit by daylight with good wifi. They also serve food, although I didn't try it, it still looked pep retry good.

Disliked: This street is poorly marked. It is located between Guangzhou and Han zhong lu. Without the map you can't see this clearly. The hostel should put a sign up on shanghai lu to help travelers find its nice peaceful setting about two blocks in from it. The showers are a bit hidden, but we're nice and warm and private

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is very cool, the beds are comfortable, the common area is very sweet, and the prices are very reasonable. Apparently in the winter getting to the bathroom is uncomfortable, but I was here in the spring and it was fine.

Disliked: My only complaint was that the check-in process took like 20 minutes for some reason.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014

Liked: Decently priced, fait location, good noodle & wonton place nearby, beer on site.

Disliked: The room I booked was not available, the heater was broken in the room I did get and the hostel was under construction (we had to walk on planks to avoid stepping on the newly stained floor which made the whole place smell of stain. To be fair, there was a problem with the room we initially booked and the hostel staff was very nice about arranging an alternative and giving us a very good deal on the room we ended up with which would have been an alright room if it had a working heater.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A 4-bed dorm is always nice. Lockers and foosball table, freely available, easy walk to the subway station once you know the way.

Disliked: The directions to get there are terrible, if you ask locals they won't understand an English "Wutaishan north station" - show them 五台山北 (or simply figure it out yourself at the bus stop, where only characters are written). Also the coordinates on Hostelbookers' map are wrong (the address is ok though). You have to cross a patio to get to the showers, a bit cold in the winter!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kody Moleschi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Kody would recommend this property

Liked: I quite enjoyed my time at the Jasmine in Nanjing. The lobby and hang out area are great. Lots of places to sit and big enough to meet people. It's pretty close to a bus stop and the metro is just a little farther. Despite the distance to the shower, they were well kept and clean. The staff was very friendly. It's always nice to have decently priced beer on hand too.

Disliked: The Wifi was a little spotty and didn't reach to the rooms. Showers were also a bit distant from the rooms. I didn't eat here, but I overheard their cook took time off, so the kitchen was closed anyways.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was nice--it's really hidden BUT if you ask any foreigner on the street they know exactly where it is located. Maybe they could make a bigger sign at the end of the alley.

Disliked: You can't buy train or bus tickets, and the directions to the bus station were not very descriptive. The shop to buy tickets in is on the same walking route to the subway, on the left side of road, just after the French Bakery. If you see McDonalds, you've gone too far.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashley Brittain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 June 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and accomodating for my late check in time and early check out time. The patio area is extremely nice to sit in during the afternoon, wifi was reliable, bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: A sign on the street or even a better sign outside the property would be useful and helpful for when you arrive really late and can't see a thing. Other than that, it was great!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Karina Vejlin

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cheap place to stay and the location was not to bad.

Disliked: Very loud at night, so if you do not want to be up all night this is not the best place to stay. I found the staff a bit rud and not very helpfull when you had problems.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a nice lounge area, a locked luggage storage room, and friendly staff. The hostel was right off of Shanghai Lu, with Pisa Pizza (the best pizza I've eaten yet in China!) and Behind the Wall (Mexican food) close by. The dorm rooms had just four beds, instead of the typical six to eight.

Disliked: The hostel was a twenty minute walk from the subway station (Zhujiang Lu), which is a little far. There weren't walking directions on the website (you need to take Exit 3, go up the stairs, and turn right. Turn right at the second light. Turn left down the alley after the bus stop, and walk until nearly the end of road, and the hostel is on your left). The heater in my four bedroom dorm didn't work very well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and pleasant location

Disliked: First thing in the morning no access to common room or facility to make hot drinks.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay in Nanjing. Really god value for money (specially staying in a dorm).

Disliked: You have to go through the yeard to get to the shower ... (but its just 10 mmeters, so its not a biiig problem even if it was cold outside).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cecilia Aumanen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cosy atmosphere

Disliked: The showers were out in the garden. I guess it's no problem during the summer. But now, late November it gets pretty cold :S

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012

Liked: + The location of the Hostel is central so you can reach all sights by Taxi or Subway very fast! + Nice garden and idyllic atmospehere outside the Hostel. + Cheap Drinks (Tsnigtao 6RNB)

Disliked: - Basicly: I would not recommend this Hostel for winter layover. - There was no heater in the lounge so it was very cold to stay there. (In my mind a nice lounge is very important bec. thats the best way to get know foreign people. - Shower are locate outside. (One day there was no water availible) - Insulation of the building is very bad. Im was glad that there was thick blankets thus we didnt have to freez at nigth. ----------------------------------- Conclusion: For Summer stay O.K but not for i wouldn't recommend it. And too expensive in contrast to other nice Hostels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the calm lobby area, the division of sleeping space and hangout, so you can always sleep well

Disliked: The bathrooms are not very convenient, across the courtyard

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice courtyard, nice dorms (4 people), a little bit small but I was only sharing it with one more person, so it's more than enough. Very clean (the cleanest I've seen in China). And very helpful night recepcionist (she called me twice to tell the adress to the taxi driver, as I arrived quite late at night). Very good English level, at least this night's recepcionist's (better than mine's). The place is so beautiful, an old house very nice decorated.

Disliked: They can't give you a good price if you want to stay longer (like some weeks or a month...). The showers are in the other side of the courtyard, it's not a problem on summer but I guess it can be on winter time...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool building, everything was nice

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Agustina palacio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Agustina would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a very nice old building with a beautiful courtyard. Rooms and bathrooms were extremely clean and confortable. Reception and common áreas were beautifully decorated and internet wireless was very fast. Location is very convenient, once block from bus stop.

Disliked: Staff was not friendly at all and prices were a little expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the homely feel to the place.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dan Rogers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorm rooms. Wifi good connection. Able to leave bags after checkout for the day. Cute charm and friendly feeling with foosball table and outside patio (had there been more people). Relatively clean sheets (probably just mine) and shower facilities.

Disliked: Bus stops are not in English. Bus 13 takes you there but maybe 15-20 stops along the way you will see a jasmine youth hostel sign (I asked bus driver multiple time with the correct pronunciation of the stop but he didn't care). Hostel gave me a crude map of the top sites which didnt help much so bring a proper map. Showers across the quad outside (not bad for me but I imagine during the winter it would be a problem). If you're on the third floor, the toilet is one floor down (still not unbearable). Reception is open at 8am so don't plan on checking out early in morning. No cold free water (hot water readily available) on the hot days.


See all Nanjing hostels