HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nanjing hostels

Reviews of HI-Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.7 He Qun Xin Chun, Nanjing, China 210024

78.2% Overall Rating

113 out of 134 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/03/2014)

"A 4-bed dorm is always nice. Lockers and foosball table, freely available, easy walk to the subway station once you know the way."

Read all HI-Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nanjing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nanjing

Nanjing Time International Youth Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 77.9% 25 reviews
Nanjing Fuzimiao International Youth Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 60.1% 94 reviews
Traveler's Soul Inn Nanjing
6.48 USD

Hotel 71.1% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

113 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI-Nanjing Jasmine Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 120 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014

Liked: Decently priced, fait location, good noodle & wonton place nearby, beer on site.

Disliked: The room I booked was not available, the heater was broken in the room I did get and the hostel was under construction (we had to walk on planks to avoid stepping on the newly stained floor which made the whole place smell of stain. To be fair, there was a problem with the room we initially booked and the hostel staff was very nice about arranging an alternative and giving us a very good deal on the room we ended up with which would have been an alright room if it had a working heater.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A 4-bed dorm is always nice. Lockers and foosball table, freely available, easy walk to the subway station once you know the way.

Disliked: The directions to get there are terrible, if you ask locals they won't understand an English "Wutaishan north station" - show them 五台山北 (or simply figure it out yourself at the bus stop, where only characters are written). Also the coordinates on Hostelbookers' map are wrong (the address is ok though). You have to cross a patio to get to the showers, a bit cold in the winter!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kody Moleschi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Kody would recommend this property

Liked: I quite enjoyed my time at the Jasmine in Nanjing. The lobby and hang out area are great. Lots of places to sit and big enough to meet people. It's pretty close to a bus stop and the metro is just a little farther. Despite the distance to the shower, they were well kept and clean. The staff was very friendly. It's always nice to have decently priced beer on hand too.

Disliked: The Wifi was a little spotty and didn't reach to the rooms. Showers were also a bit distant from the rooms. I didn't eat here, but I overheard their cook took time off, so the kitchen was closed anyways.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was nice--it's really hidden BUT if you ask any foreigner on the street they know exactly where it is located. Maybe they could make a bigger sign at the end of the alley.

Disliked: You can't buy train or bus tickets, and the directions to the bus station were not very descriptive. The shop to buy tickets in is on the same walking route to the subway, on the left side of road, just after the French Bakery. If you see McDonalds, you've gone too far.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashley Brittain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 June 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and accomodating for my late check in time and early check out time. The patio area is extremely nice to sit in during the afternoon, wifi was reliable, bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: A sign on the street or even a better sign outside the property would be useful and helpful for when you arrive really late and can't see a thing. Other than that, it was great!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Karina Vejlin

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cheap place to stay and the location was not to bad.

Disliked: Very loud at night, so if you do not want to be up all night this is not the best place to stay. I found the staff a bit rud and not very helpfull when you had problems.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a nice lounge area, a locked luggage storage room, and friendly staff. The hostel was right off of Shanghai Lu, with Pisa Pizza (the best pizza I've eaten yet in China!) and Behind the Wall (Mexican food) close by. The dorm rooms had just four beds, instead of the typical six to eight.

Disliked: The hostel was a twenty minute walk from the subway station (Zhujiang Lu), which is a little far. There weren't walking directions on the website (you need to take Exit 3, go up the stairs, and turn right. Turn right at the second light. Turn left down the alley after the bus stop, and walk until nearly the end of road, and the hostel is on your left). The heater in my four bedroom dorm didn't work very well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and pleasant location

Disliked: First thing in the morning no access to common room or facility to make hot drinks.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay in Nanjing. Really god value for money (specially staying in a dorm).

Disliked: You have to go through the yeard to get to the shower ... (but its just 10 mmeters, so its not a biiig problem even if it was cold outside).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cecilia Aumanen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cosy atmosphere

Disliked: The showers were out in the garden. I guess it's no problem during the summer. But now, late November it gets pretty cold :S

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012

Liked: + The location of the Hostel is central so you can reach all sights by Taxi or Subway very fast! + Nice garden and idyllic atmospehere outside the Hostel. + Cheap Drinks (Tsnigtao 6RNB)

Disliked: - Basicly: I would not recommend this Hostel for winter layover. - There was no heater in the lounge so it was very cold to stay there. (In my mind a nice lounge is very important bec. thats the best way to get know foreign people. - Shower are locate outside. (One day there was no water availible) - Insulation of the building is very bad. Im was glad that there was thick blankets thus we didnt have to freez at nigth. ----------------------------------- Conclusion: For Summer stay O.K but not for i wouldn't recommend it. And too expensive in contrast to other nice Hostels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the calm lobby area, the division of sleeping space and hangout, so you can always sleep well

Disliked: The bathrooms are not very convenient, across the courtyard

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice courtyard, nice dorms (4 people), a little bit small but I was only sharing it with one more person, so it's more than enough. Very clean (the cleanest I've seen in China). And very helpful night recepcionist (she called me twice to tell the adress to the taxi driver, as I arrived quite late at night). Very good English level, at least this night's recepcionist's (better than mine's). The place is so beautiful, an old house very nice decorated.

Disliked: They can't give you a good price if you want to stay longer (like some weeks or a month...). The showers are in the other side of the courtyard, it's not a problem on summer but I guess it can be on winter time...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool building, everything was nice

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Agustina palacio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Agustina would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a very nice old building with a beautiful courtyard. Rooms and bathrooms were extremely clean and confortable. Reception and common áreas were beautifully decorated and internet wireless was very fast. Location is very convenient, once block from bus stop.

Disliked: Staff was not friendly at all and prices were a little expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the homely feel to the place.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dan Rogers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorm rooms. Wifi good connection. Able to leave bags after checkout for the day. Cute charm and friendly feeling with foosball table and outside patio (had there been more people). Relatively clean sheets (probably just mine) and shower facilities.

Disliked: Bus stops are not in English. Bus 13 takes you there but maybe 15-20 stops along the way you will see a jasmine youth hostel sign (I asked bus driver multiple time with the correct pronunciation of the stop but he didn't care). Hostel gave me a crude map of the top sites which didnt help much so bring a proper map. Showers across the quad outside (not bad for me but I imagine during the winter it would be a problem). If you're on the third floor, the toilet is one floor down (still not unbearable). Reception is open at 8am so don't plan on checking out early in morning. No cold free water (hot water readily available) on the hot days.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: in the middle of the student district with plenty of bars

Disliked: under construction right now and the showers are realy old

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice garden, good location, cute dog,wonderful lounge area with good music.

Disliked: If you are planning to go there in winter, don't stay at dorms, cause showers are located outside (across the garden). Towel is offered for a deposit of 50 yuan, but it was not too clean. Not enough light in the room, sometimes too noisy. But nice experience overall.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was large and clean.

Disliked: Heating was not very good. No towels available to rent as they had run out. Shower took a long time to become hot. Not much help available reguarding local sighteeing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haris Saeed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Haris would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in 4 room dorm, had individual beds which were very comfortable and nice! Quilts provided were big and warm! Heater in room was great and rooms had lockers. Common area was decent size with ample seating. Some staff were pretty helpful. WiFi in common room was pretty fast and BLT sandwhich was very different/delicious! Lots of restaurants within 15mins of walking. Great directions provided in email to hostel's location. Felt safe. Hot shower! Good map of city with decent recommendations on what to do.

Disliked: Common room was too cold and staff denied request to turn it up (something to do with cleaning, didn't get it. ). Main receptionist had a weird/indifferent approach to dealing with issues, I saw 2 people complaining about something, and she was like ohhh..okayyy...uhhh..yeaaaa. Hard to find shower room (reception was closed before 8AM, but found one). Food choices were very limited and closed early (8-9PM I believe). Atmosphere was laid back, but nothing to talk about. Something like a Hookah would help with the social environment.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jose A Fernandez Freire

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 December 2011 Jose A would recommend this property

Liked: i really like the living room, and the staff.

Disliked: i have no coments, about it

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2011

Liked: Can't think of any.

Disliked: Ongoing painting of rooms/building obstructed activities. Plenty of mosquitoes causing sleepless nights. Under beds dusty. Only one computer and extremely slow with an almost non functioning keyboard.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 October 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: The mattresses were really thin. There had the rule to be quite between 23 and 11, but at 7 in the morning they were already renovating one of the rooms with a lot of noice.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, they were able to find me the best train route for my next destination. Comfortable beds. Mini map designed by the hostel showing the Chinese directions and bus routes of popular tourist sites.

Disliked: Showers were downstairs and across the courtyard. My room was a bit crowded, not much floor space.


See all Nanjing hostels