We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lijiang hostels

Reviews of Maple Leaf Inn

Guesthouse | Shuhe Old Town Zangqing st, (Walk into Shuhe main gate, about 500 meters on the right) Lijiang, China 674100

92.0% Overall Rating

16 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

Sebastianus Ten Bosch thinks…

"Friendfullnes and helpfulness of the staff. The pleasant atmosphere of the total accomodation. The delisious home-made bananabread."

Read all Maple Leaf Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.74
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lijiang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lijiang

House & Wite Lakeside Lodge
8.12 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Lijiang Sina Hotel
74.72 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.7% 10 reviews
Sleepy Inn Lijiang
24.20 USD

Hotel 93.2% 8 reviews
October Inn
4.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lijiang Gesang meiduo Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Garden Inn in Lijiang
5.69 USD

Hostel 83.5% 153 reviews
International Youth Hostel Lijiang
4.55 USD

Hostel 82.7% 38 reviews
Old Town Garden Resort
146.19 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 91 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

16 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maple Leaf Inn'

Atmosphere
90.5%
Location
89.5%
Facilities
85.3%
Cleanliness
92.6%
Staff
97.9%
Value
92.6%
Safety
95.8%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpfull.Room very comfortable.Good location.

Disliked: N.B

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable rate, cleanliness, friendly & helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastianus Ten Bosch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Sebastianus would recommend this property

Liked: Friendfullnes and helpfulness of the staff. The pleasant atmosphere of the total accomodation. The delisious home-made bananabread.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabian Muecke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere. Helpful staff. Amazing sel f-baked banana bread

Disliked: No kitchen facilities

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very helpful and friendly staff, and atmospheric location in Shuhe Old Town.

Disliked: There is no direct public transport route from the airport, making it slighlty inconvenient to get to with luggage. But once inside Shuhe Old Town, all is well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, lovely covered courtyard, nice comfortable rooms and great homemade banana bread!

Disliked: Wifi wasn't that great and their typical customer isn't really the budget traveller and that is reflected in their prices for other services (i.e laundry is 25 yuan per kg and breakfast is 35 yuan). Our room was also a bit dark and also you have to wait 30-40 mins for the boiler to heat up when you want a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All. The owners of the hostel, a very, very nice Chinese young lady and his husband are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. They give you information about everything you need, they even take you to local restaurants to help you with the language. The room was fantastic, very clean, very cousy and well decorated. They have a beautiful interior patio to relax. Our only critic is that the wifi wasn't working very well in the room. Totally recommended.

Disliked: wifi wasn't working very well in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathan Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011

Liked: The staff were fantastic. Very friendly and exceptionaly helpful. Jason, Will and a women whose name I unfortunately don't know were all great people. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. As stated in the description they all come with hot showers and a TV. I stayed in two different rooms during my time there and they were both of good quality with decent space. One of them was particularly spacious. Backpacking around China I have stayed in a number of different places. This hotel whilst very firendly in terms of staff is not very atmospheric and isn't what I would class as a backpacker style hotel so don't go hear expecting to meet travelling companions. Not a negative point as such - just an observation. All in all I would recommend Maple Leaf Inn to others. It would be hard to feel disapointed with your time there. If you are planning trips or onwards travel then you will find the staff to be no end of help. Clean, safe and good value for money.

Disliked: I was a little disapointed that they did not serve any food as on hostelbookers they state that there is a restarant. This unfortunately wasn't the case. My only other slight dissapointment was the location. As I already knew - the hostel is located in Schue old town and not the main old town. This would probably appeal to some people so I wouldn't necessarily list as too much of a negative point. For me however I felt that Schue was just a much smaller version of the main old town with much less on offer. It meant that I needed to get a cab (readily available nearby) into town and back again at least once a day. Each journey cost 20Yen which isn't much but if you're on a tight backpackers budget then it can add up if you want to do the journey multiple times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful, friendly and comfortable

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wil, Anna and Jason are very helpful and friendly. Banana cake is delicious.

Disliked: The detail of tour provided by the hostel is not enough clear.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

serena humphries

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011

Liked: Friendly couple own it and in a good location. Friendly pick up on arrival.

Disliked: I was a little disappointed with our room, the room didn't quite look as nice as the picture on the website. The bathroom I felt could do with a bit of a clean and there were a couple of times when we had no hot water. There was also the smallest soap in the world to use and it was no good anyway. During our stay there was no housekeeping of any kind and we had to ask to have the overflowing bin emptied (not nice to not have the bathroom bin emptied everyday at least) Although the young boys who worked there were friendly, I felt that instead of lounging around doing nothing they could be put to better use by doing some housekeeping. I felt the breakfast was overpriced and I had to ask for a number of things, eg, butter, sugar, salt, ketchup.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura de Nijs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest rooom and the best staff we had in whole China! Good location also! Also Shuhe town is wayyyyy better to stay then Lijiang old town. Sleep here and visit Lijiang old town from there it's close by. Lijiang old town is so crowded that even Chinese people flee too Shuhe :).

Disliked: Uhm, nothing actually.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011

Liked: The staff were the best thing about this property. They did help us arrange transport to Tiger Leaping Gorge and flights to Chengdu.

Disliked: Although the room itself was fine it was located directly above the water pump which made an awful noise from 7am until midnight! It was so loud that ear plugs had to be worn all night! They advertised a great western breakfast with home made bread and local coffee at 30 yuan, it turned out to be the worst breakfast I have had yet in China with sweet shop bought bread cheap awful bacon 1 egg and instant coffee, basically a rip off!! Shuha itself should generally be avoided! it is a disney type theme village created for Chinese tourists and day trippers, basically all that is there is souvenier shops and over priced restaurants that really don't cater for western tourists! If you are looking for a taste of real chinese village life I would just go to Baisha about 5 ks further out of lijiang, this was the one saving grace of the whole of our lijiang experiance. Baisha has several little home stays and you can easily turn up and get a room without the need to prebook.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

simone wolf

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 simone would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly! We felt welcome and were picked up by the owner at the main entrance. He also helped us with finding nice tea in the shops in Shuhe. The hotel is located in the district Shuhe. The hotel offers great tours for a good value! We can recommend the horseriding trip in the moutains, even if you dont have any experience with horseriding :) The rooms are spacious and the beds are the finest bed we have had in China! The bathroom was basic, but fine.

Disliked: The bathroom had a water heater.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniele Bonfanti

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2011 Daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely best place we stayed in China! Perfectly clean, perfect location, really quiet and relaxing, very nice facility. The room (we took one with bathroom) had nothing less than the one of a good hotel by western standards, while the atmosphere was much warmer and friendly. Staff is extremely helpful and Wil helped us with useful suggestions for a trip. The place is also a travel agency, so you will be able to arrange tours and minitours just there, or simply make your bookings and tickets. English is no problem - the Inn is run by a chinese-dutch couple, and everybody in the staff speaks it. We had a real nice stay even if the weather was bad. Shuhe is not only a charming place to visit, but also I think best choice if you want to visit LiJiang: prices are cheaper, and it is much quieter and hospitable.

Disliked: There I disliked nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christian Gsteiger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very friendly and helpful people are working at the hostel! Good atmosphere and location, nice and clean rooms. We felt like at home during our stay at the Maple Leaf!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie VanNoord

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome faciity in the heart of Lijiang. Wonderful, English-speaking owner-operators. They helped us arrange several side trips. Very sweet.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

monique egan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 monique would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the hotel was beautiful, it had a lot of Character. The rooms were really nice and spacious. The breakfast was lovely, amazing home made bread and all the tea you could want to warm up your hands. You have amazing views of the dragon snow mountain where ever you walk in the ancient town. Also a big thank you to Anna and Will for making us feel so welcome and a special thank you to Jason who helped us any time we needed it. So Good food, good location, good sight seeing, fantastic family. We loved it.. I was sad to leave. Thank you Maple Leaf Inn

Disliked: Absolutely Nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zane lee

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 zane would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time with our family at Maple Leaf Inn. We felt home fare away from home. The staff and family who run the place were friendly and very helpful. They also run a travel agency so it was very convenient to book our tours with them. Maple Leaf Inn is located in Shuhe Old Town what is more nice than very touristy Lijiang Old Town. We really want to recommend Maple Leaf Inn and Travel Agency to all people who want to visit Lijiang. God Bless the family, Wil, Anna, and the lovely kids!

Disliked: none.


See all Lijiang hostels