HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Maple Leaf Inn Shuhe Lijiang

Hostel

Zangqing Road, Shuhe Old Town, Lijiang, China

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 84%

Location 88%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 22.82USD
  • Breakfast 5.70USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lijiang?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 84%

Location 88%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff very helpfull.Room very comfortable.Good location.

Disliked: N.B

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Reasonable rate, cleanliness, friendly & helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendfullnes and helpfulness of the staff.The pleasant atmosphere of the total accomodation.The delisious home-made bananabread.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice atmosphere. Helpful staff. Amazing sel f-baked banana bread

Disliked: No kitchen facilities

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The very helpful and friendly staff, and atmospheric location in Shuhe Old Town.

Disliked: There is no direct public transport route from the airport, making it slighlty inconvenient to get to with luggage. But once inside Shuhe Old Town, all is well.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Helpful staff, lovely covered courtyard, nice comfortable rooms and great homemade banana bread!

Disliked: Wifi wasn't that great and their typical customer isn't really the budget traveller and that is reflected in their prices for other services (i.e laundry is 25 yuan per kg and breakfast is 35 yuan). Our room was also a bit dark and also you have to wait 30-40 mins for the boiler to heat up when you want a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: All. The owners of the hostel, a very, very nice Chinese young lady and his husband are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. They give you information about everything you need, they even take you to local restaurants to help you with the language. The room was fantastic, very clean, very cousy and well decorated. They have a beautiful interior patio to relax. Our only critic is that the wifi wasn't working very well in the room. Totally recommended.

Disliked: wifi wasn't working very well in the room

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were fantastic. Very friendly and exceptionaly helpful. Jason, Will and a women whose name I unfortunately don't know were all great people. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. As stated in the description they all come with hot showers and a TV. I stayed in two different rooms during my time there and they were both of good quality with decent space. One of them was particularly spacious. Backpacking around China I have stayed in a number of different places. This hotel whilst very firendly in terms of staff is not very atmospheric and isn't what I would class as a backpacker style hotel so don't go hear expecting to meet travelling companions. Not a negative point as such - just an observation. All in all I would recommend Maple Leaf Inn to others. It would be hard to feel disapointed with your time there. If you are planning trips or onwards travel then you will find the staff to be no end of help. Clean, safe and good value for money.

Disliked: I was a little disapointed that they did not serve any food as on hostelbookers they state that there is a restarant. This unfortunately wasn't the case. My only other slight dissapointment was the location. As I already knew - the hostel is located in Schue old town and not the main old town. This would probably appeal to some people so I wouldn't necessarily list as too much of a negative point. For me however I felt that Schue was just a much smaller version of the main old town with much less on offer. It meant that I needed to get a cab (readily available nearby) into town and back again at least once a day. Each journey cost 20Yen which isn't much but if you're on a tight backpackers budget then it can add up if you want to do the journey multiple times.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: helpful, friendly and comfortable

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Wil, Anna and Jason are very helpful and friendly. Banana cake is delicious.

Disliked: The detail of tour provided by the hostel is not enough clear.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability