HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lijiang hostels

Reviews of Garden Inn in Lijiang

Hostel | No.7 Yishang Wenming Alley, Wuyi Street - Old Town Lijiang, Lijiang, China -

83.5% Overall Rating

138 out of 153 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

Daniel Tries thinks…

"the best about garden inn was the friendlynes and helpfullnes of the very good english speaking staff and the ability to organize an awesome trip to tiger leaping gorge."

Read all Garden Inn in Lijiang reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lijiang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lijiang

Lijiang Gesang meiduo Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Enjoy Inn
6.49 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 74 reviews
Old Town Garden Resort
145.93 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 91 reviews
Sleepy Inn Lijiang
24.16 USD

Hotel 93.2% 8 reviews
Lijiang Sina Hotel
74.59 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.7% 10 reviews
International Youth Hostel Lijiang
5.68 USD

Hostel 82.7% 38 reviews
LiJiang Wang Jia Courtyard Inn
17.84 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
House & Wite Lakeside Lodge
8.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

138 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Garden Inn in Lijiang'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 148 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poorly designed showers. Nowhere to hang clothing, nor dry changing area. All facilitiesvery basixc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Tries

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the best about garden inn was the friendlynes and helpfullnes of the very good english speaking staff and the ability to organize an awesome trip to tiger leaping gorge.

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellen Sun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014

Liked: It was quiet at night.

Disliked: They didn't serve any drinks at night when they had a menu for tea and coffee . The door to the room didn't close all the way and had no lock. The bathrooms weren't clean.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: xxx

Disliked: xxx

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in a quite place in the historic center. Nice court yard. Friendly and helpful staff (English!).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kyle Gifford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here was incredibly helpful, and even responded to emails after we had checked out. They were a fantastic resource for traveling in this part of China. The room was fine, wifi worked well, and the electric blankets kept us warm. The breakfast was also tasty. They were able to organize bike rentals.

Disliked: There were no maps of the city or the surrounding area available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Carruthers

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 January 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, comfortable place to hang out, pool table, good food at a good price, helpful with bookings, great coffee (only Y10).

Disliked: Music from a cd shop across the street was only trouble as our room ba ked onto the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Corpe

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were so helpful. Especially Nicholas who helped me survive Lijiang and hike the Tiger Leaping Gorge. Thanks so much Nicholas!

Disliked: No bad comments. But Lijiang, as a place, is very cold at sundown. Beware.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

cheryl Berry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, heloful people, when I couldnt find it after walking round for ages they came and found me. Extremely welcoming, helped book my onward journey and arrange bus to collect me from end of road it was located on.

Disliked: Although in a quiter part of Ancient town, there was alot of noise between 12pm and 1am that kept me awake

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Harvey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This place is wonderful. Lovely courtyard with plenty of flowers. Is set in an ancient building. George and his colleague could not have been more helpful with arranging bus transport to TGR and onward travel. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Not so easy to find. No problem if the taxi driver drops off at the correct entry of the hill, but otherwise a map would be very useful.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, good connection to public transport, helpful staff

Disliked: Lonely Planet described the rooms as "bright and airy" and "top choice", but that definitely does not hold true for the ground floor rooms. Our room was dark with the only window to the courtyard were people were chatting right in front of the window even late at night. The beds were hard as floorboards (worst of all hostels we slept in). The bathroom looked as if the tiles had not been cleaned for a long time. The towel had several disgusting brown spots on it, and when I asked for a change I was offered one with fewer brown spots with the excuse that the towels are old and the spots don't wash out anymore.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Danielle R K Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2013 Danielle R K would recommend this property

Liked: George was super helpful and fixed/figured things out for us very quickly. The staff were friendly and polite.

Disliked: Well, because of the rainy season, it was wet, but our room (the family room) was especially wet and mildewy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and so quiet compared to the rest of the town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, big room. very clean. relaxed, quiet atmosphere away from the maddening crowds at the center of the old town.

Disliked: Overly confusing directions: They're either the may garden, the garden, or the wisteria garden, and the address above their door doesn't match their directions. My recommendation is just follow wuyi jie east from sifang square for about 10 minutes and it will be on your left.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful, and they spoke English well, which made trip planning convenient and easy.

Disliked: The beds were a little hard and the rooms were slightly damp.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was quite calm, close to the main streets of Lijiang, internet was ok, when I wasn't feeling ok, the cleaning lady shared rice with me for free, which was really nice of her.

Disliked: There's just one toilet for all the dorms and other rooms with shared bathroom and this toilet is combined with one of the only two showers, so sometimes it might be quite difficult to get there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: George is very helpful at assisting you on tours and adventures you want to go on from the hostel. The common room is a lovely hang out living room with music constantly playing in the background. There is a pool table and food served all day.

Disliked: It was noisy until after midnight, from people walking by.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nic Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Nic would recommend this property

Liked: Great guesthouse!! I stayed there in March so I cannot remember the name of the guy who helped me but he was absolutely amazing. He helped with all the buses and every question I asked. All day and night he would be working so hard that it made me wonder if there are any other staff working. Great place to stay before doing Tiger Leaping Gorge.

Disliked: The guy at reception was amazing but I think they need more than 1 person working at a time. He seemed very busy.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Bed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Damian Krainski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Atnosphere. Pool table and bar. Staff attitude.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, very nice patio and lounge room, near to walk through "old town"

Disliked: We had bad luck with our double room, which was next to the lounge on the ground floor and thus a little noisy at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Babbage

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: It's quiet, Lijiang can get really busy and this is away from where all the crazy tourists are shopping. Nice outside area to relax in. Can buy bus tickets there easily.

Disliked: the toilets can get a little cold as they are outside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gary harron

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2013 gary would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice cosy little hostel which felt like a home with a pool table in courtyard. friendly, relaxed and nice staff.

Disliked: I sat on some chewing gum on a seat! ha. but there was a ground of high school students who were staying at the same time - so may have been them

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wolfgang Krüll

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Wolfgang would recommend this property

Liked: I was my 3rd stay in Garden Inn. It's alwas great!!! Very friendly staff, especially the hostel owner May ... she always helps you, has good ideas for travelling around Lijiang, staff dinner is perfect ... great location in the old town of Lijiang ... quiet, but close to a lot of restaurants, pubs and shops ... you shouldn't miss that hostel! Thanks a lot!

Disliked: Wolfgang left no negative feedback.


See all Lijiang hostels